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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

 
State/Territory: Nebraska 

 
It should be noted that States can select one or more options in imposing cost sharing 
(including co-payments, co-insurance, and deductibles) and premiums. 
 
A. For groups of individuals with family income above 100 percent but below 150 

percent of the FPL: 
 

1. Cost sharing 
 

a. X No cost sharing is imposed. 
b.  Cost sharing is imposed under section 1916A of the Act as 

follows (specify the amounts by group and services (see below)): 
 

Type of Charge 
Group of Item/Service Deductible Co-insurance Co-payment *Method of 
Individuals Determining 

Family 
Income 
(including 
monthly or 
quarterly 
period) 

 
*Describe the methodology used to determine family income if it differs from your methodology 
for determining eligibility. 
 
Attach a schedule of the cost sharing amounts for specific items and services and the 
various eligibility groups. 

b. Limitations: 
 The total aggregate amount of cost sharing and premiums imposed under section 

1916A for all individuals in the family may not exceed 5 percent of the family income 
of the 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

 
State/Territory: Nebraska 

 
family involved, as applied on a monthly and quarterly basis as specified by the 
State above. 

 Cost sharing with respect to any item or service may not exceed 10 percent of the 
cost of such item or service. 

 
c. No cost sharing will be imposed for the following services: 

 Services furnished to individuals under 18 years of age that are required to be 
provided Medicaid under section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i), and including services furnished 
to individuals with respect to whom aid and assistance is made available under part B 
of title IV to children in foster care and individuals with respect to whom adoption or 
foster care assistance is made available under part E of such title, without regard to 
age; 

 Preventive services (such as well baby and well child care and immunizations) 
provided to children under 18 years of age, regardless of family income; 

 Services furnished to pregnant women, if such services relate to the pregnancy or to 
any other medical condition which may complicate the pregnancy; 

 Services furnished to a terminally ill individual who is receiving hospice care, 
(as defined in section 1905(o) of the Act); 

 Services furnished to any individual who is an inpatient in a hospital, nursing 
facility, intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, or other medical 
institution, if such individual is required, as a condition of receiving services in such 
institution under the State plan, to spend for costs of medical care all but a minimal 
amount of the individual’s income required for personal needs; 

 Emergency services as defined by the Secretary for the purposes of 
section 1916(a)(2)(D) of the Act; 

 Family planning services and supplies described in section 1905(a)(4)(C) of the 
Act; and 

 Services furnished to women who are receiving Medicaid by virtue of the 
application of sections 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XVIII) and 1902(aa) of the Act. 

 
d. Enforcement 

 
1.  Providers are permitted to require, as a condition for the provision of care, 

items, or services, the payment of any cost sharing. 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

 
State/Territory: Nebraska 

 
 

2.  (If above box selected) Providers permitted to reduce or waive cost sharing 
on a case-by-case basis. 

 
3. State payments to providers must be reduced by the amount of the 

beneficiary cost sharing obligations, regardless of whether the provider 
successfully collects the cost sharing. 

 
4. States have the ability to increase total State plan rates to providers to 

maintain the same level of State payments when cost sharing is introduced. 
 
2. Premiums 
 

No premiums may be imposed for individuals with family income above 100 percent but 
below 150 percent of the FPL. 

 
B. For groups of individuals with family income above 150 percent of the FPL:  

1. Cost sharing amounts 

a. X No cost sharing is imposed. 
b.  Cost sharing is imposed under section 1916A of the Act as follows 

(specify amounts by groups and services (see below)): 
 

Type of Charge 
Group of Item/Service Deductible Co-insurance Co-payment *Method of 
Individuals Determining 

Family 
Income 
(including 
monthly or 
quarterly 
period) 

 
*Describe the methodology used to determine family income if it differs from your methodology 
for determining eligibility. 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

 
State/Territory: Nebraska 

 
Attach a copy of the schedule of the cost sharing amounts for specific items and the various 
eligibility groups. 
 

b. Limitations: 
 The total aggregate amount of all cost sharing and premiums imposed under section 

1916A for all individuals in the family may not exceed 5 percent of the family 
income of the family involved, as applied on a monthly or quarterly basis as specified 
by the State above. 

 Cost sharing with respect to any item or service may not exceed 20 percent of the 
cost of such item or service. 

 
c. No cost sharing shall be imposed for the following services: 

 Services furnished to individuals under 18 years of age that are required to be 
provided Medicaid under section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i) of the Act, and including services 
furnished to individuals with respect to whom aid and assistance is made available 
under part B of title IV to children in foster care, and individuals with respect to 
whom adoption or foster care assistance is made available under part E of such 
title, without regard to age; 

 Preventive services (such as well baby and well child care and immunizations) 
provided to children under 18 years of age regardless of family income; 

 Services furnished to pregnant women, if such services relate to the pregnancy or to 
any other medical condition which may complicate the pregnancy; 

 Services furnished to a terminally ill individual who is receiving hospice care (as 
defined in section 1905(o) of the Act); 

 Services furnished to any individual who is an inpatient in a hospital, nursing facility, 
intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, or other medical institution, if 
such individual is required, as a condition of receiving services in such institution 
under the State plan, to spend for costs of medical care all but a minimal amount of 
the individual’s income required for personal needs; 

 Emergency services as defined by the Secretary for the purposes of 
section 1916(a)(2)(D) of the Act; 

 Family planning services and supplies described in section 1905(a)(4)(C) of the 
Act; and 

 Services furnished to women who are receiving Medicaid by virtue of the application 
of sections 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XVIII) and 1902(aa) of the Act. 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

 
State/Territory: Nebraska 

 
d. Enforcement 

1.  Providers are permitted to require, as a condition for the provision of care, 
items, or services, the payment of any cost sharing. 

 
2.  (If above box selected) Providers permitted to reduce or waive cost sharing on 

a case-by-case basis. 
 

3.  State payments to providers must be reduced by the amount of the beneficiary 
cost sharing obligations, regardless of whether the provider successfully collects 
the cost sharing. 

 
4.  States have the ability to increase total State plan rates to providers to maintain 

the same level of State payments when cost sharing is introduced. 
 
2. Premiums 
 

a.  No premiums are imposed. 
b.   X Premiums are imposed under section 1916A of the Act as follows (specify 

the premium amount by group and income level. 
 
   Group of Individuals     Premium Method for Determining Family  

Income 
(including monthly or quarterly 

Children enrolled in the 
autism waiver with family 
income at or above 
185% FPL who are:  
 Optional targeted low 
income Children under 
1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XIV). 
OR 
 Children receiving 
home and community 
based services eligible 
under 42 CFR 435.217. 
 

For all individuals 
described, premiums shall 
begin at 1% of  family 
income for those with 
family income at or above 
185% of FPL on a sliding 
fee scale as described on 
Page 5a. Total premiums 
imposed in a family shall 
never exceed 5 % of 
family income. 

Different methodology is used for  
determining family income for premium  
by program.  The premium is imposed 
monthly.  No disregards are allowed. 
 

In addition, both the parents’ and the 
child’s income are counted when 
determining the family income 
available for paying the premium for 
the 217 children, while only the child’s 
income is counted when determining 
the child’s eligibility.  

 
 

 

TN No.  NE-10-01 

Supersedes Approval Date   Mar 18 2010  Effective Date  Jan 1 2010 

TN No. NE-08-10 



 
 

Attachment 4.18-F  
Page 5a 

 
STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

 
State/Territory: Nebraska 

 
 

Premium Schedule  
 
 

If gross income is this % of FPL:           Premium is this percent: 
 

185 – 204.99%        1.00% of 185% FPL 
205 – 224.99%       1.25% of 205% FPL 
225 – 244.99%       1.50% of 225% FPL 
245 – 264.99%       1.75% of 245% FPL 
265 – 284.99%       2.00% of 265% FPL 
285 – 304.99%       2.25% of 285% FPL 
305 – 324.99%       2.50% of 305% FPL 
325 – 344.99%       2.75% of 325% FPL 
345 – 364.99%       3.00% of 345% FPL 
365 – 384.99%       3.25% of 365% FPL 
385 – 404.99%       3.50% of 385% FPL 
405 – 424.99%       3.75% of 405% FPL 
425 – 444.99%       4.00% of 425% FPL 
445 – 464.99%       4.25% of 445% FPL 
465 – 484.99%       4.50% of 465% FPL 
485 – 504.99%       4.75% of 485% FPL 
505 – 524.99%       5.00% of 505% FPL 
525 – 544.99%       5:00% of 525% FPL 
545 – 564.99%       5.00% of 545% FPL 
565 – 584.99%       5.00% of 565% FPL 
585 – 604.99%       5.00% of 585% FPL 

           Etc.          Etc. 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
 

State/Territory: Nebraska 
 

b. Limitation: 
• The total aggregate amount of premiums and cost sharing imposed for all individuals in 

the family may not exceed 5 percent of the family income of the family involved, as 
applied on a monthly or quarterly basis as specified by the State above. 

 
c. No premiums shall be imposed for the following individuals: 

 Individuals under 18 years of age that are required to be provided medical 
assistance under section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i), and including individuals with respect to 
whom aid or assistance is made available under part B of title IV to children in foster 
care and individuals with respect to whom adoption or foster care assistance is made 
available under part E of such title, without regard to age; 

 Pregnant women; 
 Any terminally ill individual receiving hospice care, as defined in section 1905(o); 
 Any individual who is an inpatient in a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care 

facility, or other medical institution, if such individual is required, as a condition of 
receiving services in such institution under the State plan, to spend for costs of 
medical care all but a minimal amount of the individual’s income required for 
personal needs; and 

 Women who are receiving Medicaid by virtue of the application of sections 
1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XVIII) and 1902(aa) of the Act. 

 American Indians under certain circumstances and other populations 
excluded in accordance with section 1916A(b)(3)(A) of the Act. 

 
d. Enforcement 

 
1. X     Prepayment required for the following groups of individuals who are 

applying for Medicaid:   
Children receiving services through the Nebraska Autism waiver who are in 
families with income at or above 185% of the FPL. This includes children 
receiving home and community based services under 42 CFR 435.217 and 
optional targeted low income children under 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XIV). 
(Optional targeted low income children will be terminated from waiver 
enrollment, but not from Medicaid enrollment, after failure to pay the 
premium for 60 days). 

 
2. X Eligibility terminated after failure to pay for 60 days for the following groups of 

individuals who are receiving Medicaid: 
Children receiving services through the home and community based Autism Waiver 
under 42 CFR 435.217 will be terminated from waiver eligibility and Medicaid eligibility 
after failure to pay the premium for 60 days.  
  
3.   Payment will be waived on a case-by-case basis for undue hardship. 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
 

State/Territory: Nebraska 
 

C. Period of determining aggregate 5 percent cap 

Specify the period for which the 5 percent maximum would be applied.  

  Quarterly 

 
X Monthly 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

 
State/Territory: Nebraska 

 
 
D. Method for tracking cost sharing amounts 
 

Describe the State process used for tracking cost sharing and informing beneficiaries and 
providers of their beneficiary’s liability and informing providers when an individual has 
reached his/her maximum so further costs are no longer charged. 

 
Also describe the State process for informing beneficiaries and providers of the allowable 
cost sharing amounts. 

 
 
The family of a child on the autism waiver will be sent a monthly notice indicating the premium 
amount due and instructions to remit payment to the Nebraska Department of Health & Human 
Services.  Participants of the autism waiver are exempt from other co-pays and deductibles.  If 
any of the waiver participant’s family members have paid a copay under Medicaid, 
documentation of this payment will be made, and this amount will be deducted from the 
premium due, so that the family does not pay more than 5% of their total income on premiums 
and cost sharing.  
 
The family’s aggregate premiums, and other cost sharing requirements to which members of 
the family may be subject under Medicaid and CHIP, will be tracked electronically. This will be 
done by the State Medicaid program by obtaining monthly ad hoc reports from the Financial and 
Program Analysis unit of the Department of Health and Human Services. The reports will be 
based off all family members’ Medicaid identification numbers and the amount of Medicaid 
copays paid under each such Medicaid ID, to ensure the family does not pay more than 5% of 
their total income on premiums and cost sharing. 
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