# State Unit on Aging Alzheimer's Disease and Other Dementia Advisory Council Meeting Friday, December 8, 2023 WebEx Virtual Meeting

**Public meeting location:** Nebraska State Office Building, 3rd Floor Conference Room H

Voting Members Present: John Croghan, Christopher Kelly, Tracy Lichti, Julie Masters, Julie

Paladino-Kaminski, Kierstin Reed, Corie Sass, Mary Ann Stallings, David Thompson

Voting Members Absent: Lisa Marks

Non-Voting Members Present: Penny Clark, Timothy Tesmer

Non-Voting Members Absent: Kathy Scheele

SUA Staff Present: Joni Dulaney, Ben Stromberg, Gene Hogan, Cheryl Kirby, Jessica Harris

Guests Present: Charity Menefee

The meeting called to order at 10:04 am.

Charity Menefee, Director of the DHHS Division of Public Health, opened the meeting and welcomed the members. Thereafter, Joni Dulaney, staff to the Council, presided over the meeting in the absence of a Chair and Vice Chair.

Roll call was conducted and members and staff introduced themselves.

### **Nebraska Open Meetings Act Announcement**

Joni announced that the Council meetings fall under the Nebraska Open Meetings Act. A copy of the Act was available in the conference room and was emailed to members prior to the meeting.

#### **Public Comment**

Joni announced that all public meetings must allow time on the agenda for people who are not members of the Council to comment. Due to the amount of work needing to be completed in this first meeting of the Alzheimer's Council, comments were requested to be two minutes or less.

Nick Faustman with the Alzheimer's Association – Nebraska Chapter spoke about their proposed legislative updates to the statute that created the Council. Updates would include changing the date that the State Alzheimer's Plan is due to the Governor and Legislature, and staggering the current terms of membership so not all the members rotate off at the same time when their term is up. The draft of the proposed changes will be emailed to members after the meeting.

#### **Legislative Intent**

Ben Stromberg provided background information on 2022's LB752, which became Nebraska Revised Statute (NRS) 71-564 through 71-567. He noted specifically:

 Section 30 of the bill names the Alzheimer's Disease and Other Dementia Support Act.

- Section 31 creates the Alzheimer's Disease and Other Dementia Advisory Council.
- Section 34 states the purpose of the Council.
- Section 35 details the responsibilities of the Council.
- Section 36 provides reporting requirements.

Ben referenced documents that were emailed to members prior to the meeting. The 2016 Alzheimer's State Plan provides background and a potential bridge between work that was completed in 2016 and the obligations for this Council. A chart after the 36-page Plan compares what was required in the 2016 plan with what is required in current statute.

#### **Election of Chair and Vice Chair**

Per statute, the Council is required to have a Chair and Vice Chair. Officers may serve a maximum term of four consecutive years. Only voting members of the Council vote for the Chair and Vice Chair positions.

Nominations for Chair were as follows:

- Chris Kelly nominated David Thompson for the Chair position. John Croghan seconded the nomination.
- Julie Masters nominated Corie Sass for the Chair position. Mary Ann Stallings seconded the nomination.
- Julie Kaminski nominated Tracy Lichti for the Chair position. Kierstin Reed seconded the nomination.

Nominees were allowed time to explain why he or she should be elected Chair.

Voting was conducted using the Chat box in WebEx. Members sent their vote to Ben to ensure anonymity. David Thompson will be the Chair of the Council for a maximum four-year term. (David -5 votes; Corie -2 votes; Tracy -2 votes).

Nominations for Vice Chair were as follows:

- David Thompson nominated Chris Kelly for the Vice Chair position. Kierstin Reed seconded the nomination.
- John Croghan nominated Tracy Lichti for the Vice Chair position. Corie Sass seconded the nomination.
- Mary Ann Stallings nominated Julie Masters for the Vice Chair position. John Croghan seconded the nomination.

Nominees were allowed time to explain why he or she should be elected Vice Chair.

Voting was conducted using the Chat box in WebEx. Members sent their vote to Ben to ensure anonymity. Tracy Lichti will be the Chair of the Council for a maximum four-year term. (Tracy -4 votes; Julie -3 votes; Chris -2 votes).

#### **Next Steps**

This topic was not discussed due to time constraints.

## **Future Meetings**

A Doodle poll will be sent to members with date and time options to schedule the next meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 11:04 am.