#### **Provider Bulletin 25-01**



To: All Providers Participating in the Nebraska Medicaid Program

From: Drew Gonshorowski, Director

**Date:** January 14, 2025

Re: Coverage Policy Updates: Breast Pumps and Lactation Counseling

This provider bulletin is being issued to notify Nebraska Medicaid providers of changes to the coverage of electric personal-use breast pumps for eligible fee-for-service members, **effective January 1, 2025**, and to share information on Medicaid's recent coverage changes related to lactation counseling.

During the 2024 legislative session, <u>LB1215</u> was signed into law by Governor Pillen, which changed Nebraska Medicaid's coverage of electric personal-use breast pumps for fee-for-service members and coverage of lactation counseling. Medicaid now covers the cost of an electric personal-use breast pump and 10 lactation counseling visits per child. Prior to this change, Medicaid covered the cost of renting a hospital-grade pump for eligible Medicaid members and 5 lactation counseling visits per child.

## **Breast Pumps**

#### **Coverage Requirements**

Electric personal-use breast pumps are covered for pregnant women, or for a Medicaid-eligible child whose mother is not Medicaid-eligible, beginning at 36 weeks gestation or the child's date of birth, whichever is earlier.

The electric personal-use breast pump must be provided by an authorized durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, and medical supplies (DMEPOS) provider. The pump must be capable of:

- 1) Sufficiently supporting milk supply,
- 2) Double and single side pumping, and
- 3) Suction power ranging from zero millimeters of mercury (mmHg) to 250 mmHg.

### **Billing and Reimbursement**

The Nebraska Medicaid fee schedule, effective January 1, 2025, will include rates for electric personal-use breast pumps.

Nebraska Medicaid will reimburse HCPCS code E0603 (Breast pump, electric) with use of the NU modifier for the purchase of a personal-use electric breast pump at the rate of \$155.33. All additional breast pump accessories will be reimbursed using previously established codes and rates.

Providers treating Medicaid members enrolled in a managed care plan should refer to that member's health plan guidelines for personal-use breast pump coverage.

# **Lactation Counseling**

Nebraska Medicaid will be updating its coverage of lactation counseling visits effective January 1, 2025, for all eligible mothers and their children to cover up to 10 lactation counseling visits per child. These services received a 145% payment rate increase on July 1, 2024.

For more information on the reimbursement of breast pumps and lactation consultation, please refer to the Nebraska Medicaid Fee Schedules which can be found online at: https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx.

More information and resources on Maternal Health for members and providers can be found online at: <a href="https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Maternal-Health.aspx">https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Maternal-Health.aspx</a>.

If you have questions regarding this bulletin, please email <a href="mailto:DHHS.MLTCMaternalHealth@nebraska.gov">DHHS.MLTCMaternalHealth@nebraska.gov</a>.

Provider Bulletins, such as this one, are posted on the DHHS website at <a href="http://dhhs.ne.gov/pages/Medicaid-Provider-Bulletins.aspx">http://dhhs.ne.gov/pages/Medicaid-Provider-Bulletins.aspx</a>. Please subscribe to the page to help you stay up to date about new Provider Bulletins.