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Parental Portion

Extra Care for Children with Disabilities, the child

care service on the Aged and Disabled (AD) Waiver, KEY POI NTS
provides the specialized care needed for waiver

participants ages 18 years and under. ° PARENTS ARE

The parent(s) or guardian is responsible for paying RESPONSIBLE FOR THE
routine child care costs directly to the provider as COST OF ROUTINE CHILD
their parental portion of the fees. The AD Waiver CARE.

does not provide routine child care but does cover
the additional cost of care for the participant's

physical, medical, or personal care needs due to their ° THE AD WAIVER PAYS FOR

disability. NEEDED EXTRA CARE.
Routine child care rates are determined based on the

Nebraska Child Care Subsidy Program and the e THE ROUTINE CHILDCARE
results of the Nebraska Child Care Market Rate RATE IS DETERMINED
Survey. FROM THE CURRENT

The Nebraska Child Care Market Rate Survey is NEBRASKA CHILD CARE
available on the Nebraska DHHS website: MARKET RATE SURVEY.

https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Market-Rate-Survey.aspx.

Parental Portion Rates — as of 8/1/2024
Infant Toddler Preschool School Age
Hour | Day | Hour | Day | Hour | Day | Hour | Day
Rate | Rate | Rate | Rate | Rate | Rate | Rate | Rate
Urban Counties - Lancaster, Dakota, Douglas, Sarpy
Licensed Family Child Care Homes land Il|  $4.49 | $35.50 | $4.44 | $35.00 | $4.46 | $35.00 | $4.44 | $33.00
Licensed Child Care Centers $6.50 | $58.25 | $6.38 | $51.50 | $6.15| $46.51 | $5.73 | $40.00
License Exempt Family Child Care Homes| $2.50 | $16.50 | $2.50 | $16.50 | $2.50 | $16.50 | $2.50 | $16.50
Rural - All Other Counties
Licensed Family Child Care Homes land Il|  $3.25| $30.25 | $3.25| $30.00 | $3.25| $30.00| $3.25| $30.00

Licensed Child Care Centers $4.35| $36.80 | $4.35| $35.00| 9$4.35| $34.30| 9$4.35| $35.75
License Exempt Family Child Care Homes| $2.50 | $14.90 | $2.50 | $14.90 | $2.50 | $14.90 | $2.50 | $14.90
All Counties

License Exempt Family In-Home Provider ~ $2.50 nfa*  $2.50 nfa*  $2.50 nfa*  $2.50 nla*
*In-Home is billed by the hour only.
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https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Market-Rate-Survey.aspx

Child’s Age

Infant Birth to 18 months

Toddler 18 to 36 months

Preschool 36 months to Kindergarten
School Age | Kindergarten to age 12 years
13 years + n/a*

*No parental portion since child care for ages 13
years and over is not routine.

Provider Type

Licensed Exempt

'FTdePe”de”t Family Child Care
rovider
Home rate.
Licensed Provider Rate based on type of
license.

Licensed Child Care

Agency Provider Center rate.

In Nebraska, anyone who provides child care to four
or more children from different families must be
licensed as a child care provider.

The routine child care rates, or parental portion are
set at the 75™ percentile of the current Market Rate
Survey through June 30, 2025, as outlined in
Legislative Bill (LB) 1011. Rates cannot exceed the
75" percentile, per Nebraska Revised State Statute §
43-536.

Nebraska Child Care
Market Rate Survey

This survey gathers data from all licensed child care
providers in Nebraska to determine private pay child
care rates for children with or without medical and
behavioral needs.

The 2023 survey met the required state and federal
benchmarks: (a) includes the priced child care
market; (b) provides complete and current data; (c)
represents geographic variations; (d) uses rigorous
data collection procedures; and (e) analyzes data in
a manner that captures market differences as a
function of age group, provider type, and geographic
location.
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Applicable Statutes and
Regulations

Title 480 of the Nebraska
Administrative Code 4-003.05(A)

Rates for Extra Child Care for Children with
Disabilities are set by the Department. The parent or
primary caregiver of the child is responsible for the
cost of routine child care. That amount is determined
by the provider rates published by the Child Care
Subsidy Program in Title 392 for care provided in the
provider’s home or a center. For care provided in the
child’s home, the license-exempt family child care
home rate chart applies to individual providers and
the child care center chart applies to agency
providers. The Department is responsible for
payment of the approved cost of the service above
the basic cost of routine child care.

Nebraska Revised Statute §43-536

In determining the rate of reimbursement for child
care, the Department of Health and Human Services
shall assess the market rates and costs for provision
of services of the child care providers in the state.
The department shall adjust the reimbursement rate
for child care every odd-numbered year at a rate not
less than the seventy-fifth percentile of the current
market rate.

45 Code of Federal Regulations
§98.45(a)

The Lead Agency shall certify that the payment rates
for the provision of child care services under this part
are sufficient to ensure equal access, for eligible
families in the area served by the Lead Agency, to
child care services comparable to those provided to
families not eligible to receive CCDF (Child Care and
Development Fund) assistance or child care
assistance under any other Federal, State, or tribal
programs.
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