January 2024



Extra Care for Children with Disabilities

NFOCUS Service Codes

Disability Related Childcare 9704

Disability Related In-Home Childcare 2500

Service Definition

Extra Care for Children with Disabilities is the portion of childcare provided to a child on the HCBS Waiver for Aged and Adults and Children with Disabilities (AD). It is for the care of their medical and disability-related needs. This service does not include the cost of routine childcare normally provided by parents/guardians in their own homes, but the extra portion needed for care.

Participants must require additional assistance beyond the routine care and supervision given to children without disabilities or special health conditions in a childcare setting. In Nebraska, due to the Nurse Practice Act, parents/guardians must train the provider on the delivery of medical treatment and therapies.

Extra Care for Children with Disabilities encompasses specialized care needs due to disability or special health condition of the child. Some examples of this include, but are not limited to, preparing, and administering a tube feeding for nutrition; suctioning a child's airway every hour to remove secretions if the child is unable to cough out or swallow; providing physical assistance needed to transfer a child in and out of a wheelchair; or changing an ileostomy or colostomy appliance and completing skin care necessary to maintain an infection-free stoma and surrounding area.

Conditions of Provision

- A. The need for Extra Care for Children with Disabilities must be identified during participant assessment and included in the person-centered plan (PCP).
- B. Extra Care for Children with Disabilities is designed to provide medically necessary care to children from birth through age 17 years old.
- C. It is provided for less than an average of 12 hours per day, but more than two hours per week on a regular basis, in lieu of caregiver supervision.
- D. Care is provided in a child's home by an approved provider or in a setting approved or licensed by the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).
- E. Payment of service above the basic cost of routine childcare is covered in accordance with the PCP.
- F. Service is only available while the usual caregiver is unavailable, and in a case with multiple caregivers, all must be simultaneously unavailable.
- G. Caregiver unavailability must be related to the caregiver's working, vocational, or educational attendance hours.
- H. Service is approved for the usual caregiver to maintain employment, seek employment, or attend in-person education classes.
 - 1. Accept or Maintain Employment:
 - a. Expenditures must be equal to or less than employment wages and benefits received by the usual caregiver.

- b. Verification of the working hours, schedule of employment, and income verification may be required.
- c. Self-employment is verified with a statement of hours worked.
- d. The average monthly income shown must meet or exceed the projected average cost of the service. (An exception may be granted when there are extenuating circumstances, which may include but are not limited to self-employment income verified by an annual tax return which also reflects business expenses or losses.)
- e. Goods or services received in place of wages are not considered in comparison to costs.
- 2. Seek Employment:
 - a. Service may be authorized up to 12 hours per week to seek employment.
 - b. Caregiver may be required to submit documentation evidencing active engagement in a search for employment.
- 3. Education Activities:
 - a. Used for usual caregiver to enroll and attend in-person, regularly scheduled vocational or educational training to attain:
 - i. High school diploma;
 - ii. High school equivalence; or
 - iii. A first undergraduate degree or certificate.
 - (1) Not for graduate degrees or higher.
 - (2) Not for classes to maintain a professional certificate or license.
 - b. Class schedule will be verified.
 - c. Service will not be authorized to provide study time.
 - d. Online classes are not considered in-person attendance.
- I. No service which is the responsibility of the school system may be provided under the AD Waiver.
 - 1. Extra Care for Children with Disabilities will not be authorized for the hours set forth in the school district's days and hours of regular attendance.
 - a. An exception can be made when a participant's school attendance schedule outlined in the Individual Education Plan (IEP) varies from the school district's normal operating hours in the event the participant is homebound due to medical reasons.
- J. The services under the AD Waiver are limited to additional services not otherwise covered under the Medicaid state plan, including EPSDT, but consistent with the waiver objective of avoiding institutionalization.

Provider Requirements

- A. All providers of waiver services must:
 - 1. Be a Medicaid provider;
 - 2. Comply with all applicable Titles of the Nebraska Administrative Code and Nebraska State Statues;
 - 3. Adhere to standards described in the Division of Medicaid and Long-Term Care Service Provider Agreement;
 - 4. Complete DHHS trainings upon request; and
 - 5. Use universal precautions.

- B. Providers of Extra Child Care for Children with Disabilities must obtain adequate information on the medical and personal needs of each child and observe and report all changes to the Service Coordinator.
- C. Service can be provided by five categories of childcare licensed or approved by the DHHS Division of Public Health:
 - 1. Individual In-Home Child Care Provider;
 - 2. License Exempt: Home Care;
 - 3. Agency Licensed Child Care Center;
 - 4. Individual Licensed Family Child Care Home I; and
 - 5. Individual Family Child Care Home II.
- D. Disability Related Childcare is provided outside the participant's home and therefore locations for care must meet standards established by the Final Settings Rule for provider-owned and operated settings and have it documented at least annually.
- E. Disability Related In-Home Childcare is provided in a participant's home and requires an operational electronic visit verification (EVV) system, which allows in-home care providers to check in and out of service appointments electronically. Providers can check in through the phone, an application, or another electronic device and record the exact date, time, and location of a visit.
- F. All Extra Child Care for Children with Disabilities Providers must:
 - 1. Demonstrate expertise required to meet the specialized physical, medical, or personal care needs of the participant.
 - 2. Ensure the home/facility is compatible with the medical and safety considerations of the participant.
 - 3. Prepare and serve meals and snacks at appropriate times to comply with the participant's dietary needs.
 - 4. Have computer skills and access to the technology needed to navigate the statemandated EVV system.
 - 5. Have at least one CPR-trained person on duty at times when children are present for all licensed providers (Child Care Center, Licensed Family Child Care Home I and II).
 - 6. License-exempt providers are not required to hold CPR training but must meet the needs of the participant and be trained in areas specified by the parent/guardian of the participant. It will include CPR training when specified by the parent/guardian.

Rates

- A. Rates are set on an individual provider basis through a negotiation process between the provider and the Resource Developer (RD).
- B. Rates are reviewed annually at the time the provider's annual agreement is scheduled to end.
- C. Providers may request renegotiation when a participant's care needs have increased.
- D. Rate negotiating considers the level of the participant's service needs, the skill level of the provider, and geographic location.
- E. Rates are established based on usual and customary rates that are not more than the provider would charge a private paying individual.
- F. The parent or primary caregiver of the child is responsible for the basic cost of routine childcare. This cost is determined by the provider rates published by the Child Care Subsidy Program in Title 392 for care provided in the provider's home or a center.
- G. The license-exempt family childcare home rate chart applies to individual providers for care provided in the child's home, and the childcare center chart applies to agency providers.
- H. DHHS is responsible for paying the approved cost of the service above the basic cost of routine childcare.
- I. Frequency of service is hourly or daily depending on the setting in which the service is provided.
 - 1. In-home service is billed hourly.

- 2. The service outside of the participant's home may be billed by hours or days.
 - a. Six or more hours provided outside the child's home must be paid at a day rate unless that option is not offered by the provider to private-pay families.