Special Virtual Meeting of the Nebraska Opioid Settlement Remediation Advisory Committee (NOSRAC) November 25, 2024

Nebraska Association of County Officials (NACO) Offices, 1335 H Street, Lincoln, NE 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Meeting Minutes DRAFT

1. Call Meeting to Order:

Chairperson Todd Stull called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m. and welcomed all attendees to the meeting. In accordance with § 84-1411(2)(b) of the Open Meetings Act, a copy of all documents being considered at the meeting, an electronic copy of this agenda, and a current copy of the Open Meetings Act are available at the Nebraska Opioid Settlement Remediation Advisory Committee's webpage at https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Opioid-Settlement-Workgroup.aspx. The Open Meetings Act is also located at the front of the meeting room.

- a) Chairperson Stull reminded Committee members that for virtual meetings, Committee members may attend virtually or be physically present at the meeting site to be counted for quorum, and to vote.
- b) Roll call was conducted, and a quorum and majority was determined to exist, with 21 voting members present.

Voting Members

Members in Attendance: Ann Anderson-Berry, Kevin Borcher, Mary Ann Borgeson, Amy Holman, Brandon Kelliher, Jerome Kramer, Christopher Kratochvil, Paul Lambert, John Massey, Charity Menefee, Paul Price, Amy Reynoldson, Cory Schmidt, Jason Scott, Riley Slezak, Kevin Spencer, Todd Stull, Mike Tefft, Bill Tielke, Paul Vrbka, Christa Yoakum.

Members Absent: Susanna Batterman, Rick Hickstein, Sara Howard.

Others in Attendance: Thomas Janousek, Delainie Johnson, Jeri Keller-Heuke.

- c) Chairperson Stull stated that on November 20, 2024, a notice of this meeting with the agenda and other materials were provided to the public and all members of the Committee. Notice of this meeting with the agenda and other materials were available for public inspection at the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Division of Behavioral Health (DBH), 301 Centennial Mall South, 4th Floor in Lincoln, Nebraska. An electronic copy of the agenda, all documents being considered at the meeting, and a link to the current version of the Open Meetings Act were posted on the DHHS website at https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Opioid-Settlement-Workgroup.aspx.
- d) Chairperson Stull informed attendees about the location of the Open Meetings Act, which is accessible to members of the public in the meeting room, and at https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Opioid-Settlement-Workgroup.aspx, along with a copy of all reproducible written materials to be discussed at this meeting.
- e) Public Comment: Pursuant to the Open Meetings Act, the Chair of the Committee reserves the right to limit comments on agenda items. Pursuant to § 84-1412(3), any member of the public desiring to address the body shall identify their name, including an address and the name of

any organization represented by such person. Public members may sign up on the list at the front of the room or submit their name via the virtual chat box if attending virtually.

2. Consider a motion to approve the amendments to the bylaws which include a reduction of the number of members to the Opioid Settlement Remediation Advisory Committee.

Chairperson Stull opened the floor for a motion to approve the amendments to the bylaws, which include a reduction of the number of members of the Opioid Remediation Settlement Advisory Committee.

Motion was made by Mike Tefft and seconded by Kevin Spencer to approve the amended bylaws as written. Chairperson Stull opened the floor for discussion. It was clarified that the bylaws would be changed so that the Committee size would be reduced from 24 voting members to 12 voting members. The Attorney General's Office, Nebraska Association of County Officials (NACO) and the Nebraska League of Municipalities have made recommendations as to who will make up the proposed 12-member voting Committee as follows:

Attorney General's Office: Christopher Kratochvil, Ann Anderson-Berry, Mike Tefft, Jason Scott, Amy Holman, and Todd Stull.

NACO: Mary Ann Borgeson, Paul Vrbka, and Christa Yoakum.

League of Municipalities: Cory Schmidt, Brandon Kelliher, and Riley Slezak.

Current voting Committee members not listed above are welcome to remain on the Committee as non-voting members. It is also recommended that the six Behavioral Health Regional Administrators join the Committee as non-voting members: Holly Brandt, Katie McCarthy, Tiffany Gressley, Ingrid Gansebom, Patrick Kreifels, and Patti Jurjevich.

Committee members were reminded that the changes noted in Article II resulted from the passing of LB1355 and are already written into the bylaws.

Hearing no further discussion, the motion to approve the amended bylaws as written passed with the following results:

Yay=21: Ann Anderson-Berry, Kevin Borcher, Mary Ann Borgeson, Amy Holman, Brandon Kelliher, Jerome Kramer, Christopher Kratochvil, Paul Lambert, John Massey, Charity Menefee, Paul Price, Amy Reynoldson, Cory Schmidt, Jason Scott, Riley Slezak, Kevin Spencer, Todd Stull, Mike Tefft, Bill Tielke, Paul Vrbka, Christa Yoakum.

Nay=0

Abstain=0

Absent=3: Susanna Batterman, Rick Hickstein, Sara Howard.

3. Public Comment Period

L. Lynn Rex, Executive Director of the Nebraska League of Municipalities, thanked all Committee members for their hard work, and reminded everyone of the importance of this Committee.

Joseph LeDuc, Nebraska citizen, also thanked Committee members for their continued efforts.

4. Consider a Motion to Adjourn:

The meeting agenda having been completed, Chairperson Stull asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Motion was made by Mike Tefft and seconded by Mary Ann Borgeson. Roll call vote was conducted. The motion passed with the following results.

Yay=21: Ann Anderson-Berry, Kevin Borcher, Mary Ann Borgeson, Amy Holman, Brandon Kelliher, Jerome Kramer, Christopher Kratochvil, Paul Lambert, John Massey, Charity Menefee, Paul Price, Amy Reynoldson, Cory Schmidt, Jason Scott, Riley Slezak, Kevin Spencer, Todd Stull, Mike Tefft, Bill Tielke, Paul Vrbka, Christa Yoakum.

Nay=0

Abstain=0

Absent=3: Susanna Batterman, Rick Hickstein, Sara Howard.

Chairperson Stull reminder all attendees of the special in-person meeting on Tuesday, November 26th at 1:00 p.m. at NACO.

The meeting adjourned at 1:25 p.m.