
      
 
 

  
 
 
 
 
 

 

          
 

 

             
        

 
            

 

 
                   

                 
                 

                   
               

              
 

                    
                  

       
 

         
 

 
               

               
                 

               
               

            

Not Responsible by Reason of Insanity (NRRI) FAQ

Department of Health and Human Services 

June 2023 

Working with Individuals Found Not Responsible by Reason of Insanity (NRRI) - FAQ 

What does it mean for a person to be found NRRI? 
According  to  Nebraska  Statutes,  a  person  charged  with  a  crime  can  plead  Not  Responsible  by  
Reason  of  Insanity  (NRRI).    

For someone to be found insane for an offense, the individual must be found to have had a mental 
disease at the time of the acts charged; and (2) that this mental disease impaired his/her mental 
capacity to such an extent that either: (i) s/he did not understand the nature and consequences of 
what s/he was doing or (ii) s/he did not know the difference between right and wrong with respect to 
what s/he was doing. Nebraska law specifies that insanity does not include any temporary condition 
proximately caused by the voluntary use of alcohol or other mentally debilitating substance. 

If a person is found NRRI, s/he is acquitted on the grounds of insanity and the court will determine if 
s/he poses a public safety risk and determine what kind of treatment s/he needs that is the least 
restrictive alternative consistent with public safety. 

How long will a person have an NRRI status? 
An  individual  who  has  been  found  NRRI  will  remain  under  the  jurisdiction  of  the  court  so  long  as  the  
court  finds  the  person  remains  dangerous  to  himself,  herself,  or  others  “by  reason  of  mental  illness  
or  defect.”   

What kind of information is included in initial reports (90-day evaluations) to the court? 
Nebraska  Revised  Statute  29-3701  outlines  that  the  initial  (90-day)  report  to  the  court  shall  address  
the  following  to  the  extent  that  the  available  information  allows:  (a)  The  person's  psychological  
condition  at  the  time  of  the  evaluation;  (b)  the  probable  course  of  development  of  the  person's  
condition,  with  special  attention  to  the  probable  relationship  between  the  person's  current  condition  
and  the  person's  condition  at  the  time  of  any  omissions,  threats,  or  overt  acts  establishing  
dangerousness,  including  the  crime  for  which  he  or  she  was  acquitted  on  grounds  of  insanity;  (c)  
the  probable  relationship,  if  any,  between  the  previous  omissions,  threats,  or  overt  acts  establishing  
dangerousness  and  the  person's  condition  at  the  time  of  the  omissions,  threats,  or  overt  acts;  and  
(d)  the  prognosis  for  change  in  the  person's  condition  in  light  of  available  treatment.   

The statute also indicates the individualized treatment plan shall contain a statement of the nature 
of the specific mental and physical problems and needs of the person, a statement of the least 
restrictive treatment conditions necessary to achieve the purposes of the plan, a statement of the 
least restrictive treatment conditions consistent with the safety of the public, and a description of 
intermediate and long-range treatment goals and a projected timetable for their attainment. 
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What kind of information is included in subsequent reports (annual or any other report beyond the 
90-day evaluation) to the court? 
Nebraska  Revised  Statutes  29-3701  through  29-3703  outline  reporting  requirements  for  treatment  
providers  of  NRRI  patients.  At  least  annually,  or  more  frequently  if  so  ordered,  treatment  providers  
provide  reports  to  the  court  and  prosecuting  attorney  (and  defense  attorney  should  the  court  order  
indicate  to  do  so)  regarding:  

 Opinion about mental illness and dangerousness, 
 Treatment progress of the individual found NRRI, and 
 Recommendations about least restrictive treatment consistent with the individual’s treatment 

needs and consistent with public safety. 

Treatment providers must also send a report to the court and prosecuting attorney immediately if 
the individual fails to comply with any condition specified by the court. 

Treatment providers must also send a report to the court and prosecuting attorney any time there 
are recommendations to change the treatment plan for the individual. This would include 
recommendations to change the level of care, discontinue, or add treatment services. 

An NRRI Annual Report template is available and can be provided upon request. 

How often do treatment providers need to send updates to the court? 
Treatment  providers  should  send  updates  to  the  court  on  at  least  an  annual  basis  unless  the  court  
orders  more  frequent  updates  to  be  provided.  The  treatment  plan  will  be  reviewed  at  least  annually  
by  the  court.  Providers  should  also  update  the  court  and  county  attorney’s  office  as  soon  as  
possible  should  there  be  any  significant  change  in  a  person’s  status  or  recommended  treatment  
plan.    

Who does the treatment provider contact if the client tests positive for illicit substances or 
substances they are not prescribed? 
If  an  individual  tests  positive  for  substances  that  are  not  prescribed  by  a  doctor,  the  provider  should  
check  the  court  order  for  the  conditions  of  the  client’s  treatment  and  follow  the  court  order  regarding  
reporting  a  violation  of  the  conditions.   

Illicit substance use can and should be addressed during treatment, with any changes to the 
recommended treatment plan associated with the substance use to be sent to the court and 
prosecuting attorney. 

If a client moves or their placement changes, how soon must the court be notified? 
The  court  should  be  notified  as  soon  as  possible.  If  the  move  or  change  in  placement  was  initiated  
by  the  client  and  is  inconsistent  with  the  treatment  plan  ordered  by  the  court,  Nebraska  Revised  
Statute  29-3703  indicates,  “If  the  person  fails  to  comply  with  any  condition  specified  by  the  court,  
the  court  and  prosecuting  attorney  shall  be  notified  forthwith.”  

If the providers’ contact information has changed how soon does the court need to be notified? 
The court should be notified as soon as possible. 
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Who should the treatment provider contact if the client leaves treatment or the placement without 
permission? 
If  the  treatment  provider  believes  the  client  is  a  danger  to  themselves  or  someone  else,  they  should  
call  law  enforcement  for  a  welfare  check.  Otherwise,  the  provider  should  check  the  court  order  for  
specifics  about  whom  to  contact  if  an  individual  elopes.  If  the  court  order  does  not  include  specific  
instructions,  the  provider  should  notify  the  court  and  prosecuting  attorney  immediately.  If  telephone  
contact  is  initiated  with  the  court  and/or  county  attorney,  a  follow-up  written  report  should  also  be  
submitted.    

What should the treatment provider do if a client refuses to attend a treatment program, such as a 
day program, therapy, or medication management? 
If  the  treatment  program  is  part  of  the  court-ordered  treatment  plan,  the  provider  should  notify  the  
court  and  prosecuting  attorney.   

What if a program that a client is ordered to participate in does not have availability or has a start 
date that is several weeks after their discharge date from the Lincoln Regional Center (LRC)? 
Generally,  the  availability  of  the  program  is  known  prior  to  discharge  from  LRC  and  can  be  problem  
solved  with  the  LRC  treatment  team  prior  to  the  discharge  date.  Should  such  a  circumstance  arise  
following  discharge  from  LRC,  treatment  providers  should  collaborate  with  the  treatment  team  at  
LRC  to  identify  alternative  treatment  options.  Providers  should  also  notify  the  court  of  the  interim  
plan  and  the  expected  start  date  for  the  court-ordered  treatment.    

What if the client wants to work with another provider in the community or change any member of 
their team? 
Treatment  providers  should  implement  strategies  to  engage  clients  and  create  a  therapeutic  
alliance.  If  a  provider  change  becomes  necessary,  the  provider  should  assist  in  finding  a  new  
provider  and  ensure  appropriate  services  are  available.  The  provider  will  then  need  to  notify  the  
court  and  prosecuting  attorney  in  writing  outlining  the  recommendation  and  information  about  the  
new  provider  and  treatment  plan.  The  current  treatment  provider  should  provide  hand-off  
information  to  the  new  treatment  provider  regarding  the  client’s  NRRI  status,  the  need  to  provide  
treatment  updates  to  the  court,  and  information  about  the  individual’s  court-ordered  treatment  plan.  

If the client has an updated evaluation in the community that recommends a treatment that differs 
from the court order, does the provider need permission from the court prior to the patient 
beginning treatment? 
The  client  is  ordered  to  follow  the  treatment  plan  adopted  by  the  court  so  any  changes  in  treatment  
must  be  consistent  with  what  is  permitted  by  the  court  order.  

Can a provider discharge an individual found NRRI from treatment for non-adherence to the court-
ordered treatment plan? 
A  provider  may  be  able  to  discharge  an  individual  from  treatment  for  non-adherence  to  a  treatment  
plan.  Notification  to  the  court  and  prosecuting  attorney  is  always  necessary  when  an  individual  is  
not  complying  with  any  condition  specified  by  the  court.  It  is  recommended  that  all  efforts  are  made  
to  engage  the  individual  in  treatment  while  simultaneously  notifying  the  court  that  the  individual  is  
not  participating  in  treatment  as  expected.   

“Helping People Living Better Lives” | pg. 3 



 
 

 

          
 

 

                
   

                 
                 

                  
                

             
                

            
 

                 
             

           
 

 

   

             
         

 

 

            
     

 

 

               
          

 

 

 

 

 

     

     

    
 

 
 

Can a provider discharge an individual found NRRI from treatment if he/she no longer meets continued 
stay guidelines? 

Providers should plan for transition and discharge to other services throughout the course of an 
individual’s treatment to ensure continuity of care and allow ample time for the court to consider 
recommendations for changes in the treatment plan. Any time it would be expected that a person may 
complete treatment within a certain timeframe, providers should be sending reports to the court and 
counsel outlining the future treatment recommendations (see above for information to include in 
progress reports) well in advance of that date and include all available information about the expected 
timeframe that the individual may no longer meet continued stay criteria. 

Should a circumstance arise in which a provider can no longer serve an individual, the court and 
prosecuting attorney must be notified immediately that the court-ordered treatment plan cannot be 
sustained with alternative treatment recommendations and/or providers identified as appropriate. 

Nebraska statutes: 

29-3701 - Verdict of acquittal; probable cause hearing; finding; referral or confinement; evaluations; 
conditions of confinement; order; preparation of treatment plan; contents. 

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=29-3701 

29-3702 - Evidentiary hearing; determination; release or court-ordered treatment; personnel at facility 
violating order of commitment; contempt. 

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=29-3702 

29-3703 - Trial court; person found not responsible by reason of insanity; review records; conduct 
hearing; evaluation; treatment program; discharge plan; compliance with conditions; reports. 

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=29-3703 

For additional information, please contact: 

Jennifer Cimpl Bohn, Psy.D. 
Director  of  Forensic  and  Justice  Behavioral  Health  Services  
DHHS/Division of Behavioral Health 
jennifer.cimplbohn@nebraska.gov 
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