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RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 
 

YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO:  
 
 Apply and discuss any action taken on your application 

or case with a worker or a supervisor. 

 Be assisted in the application process by the person of 

your choice. 

 Referral to other private or public agencies. 

 See a copy of the program regulations. 

 Have an interview in your home, at a mutually agreed 

upon location, or by telephone. 

 Reasonably prompt action on your application for benefits. 
 Adequate notice of any action affecting your application or 

case. 
 Have program requirements and benefits fully explained to 

you. 
 Have your application for SNAP processed in accordance 

with SNAP procedures including within 7 days of the 
application received date for expedited benefits and 30 
days of the application received date for regular benefits. 

 Have your application for SNAP benefits considered, 
regardless of whether or not you have been denied 
benefits from other programs. 

 
 
YOU HAVE THE RESPONSIBILITY TO:  
 
 Provide complete and accurate information. You may be 

subject to criminal penalties under applicable state or 
federal laws if you do not provide complete and accurate 
information.  

 You are primarily responsible for providing proof of your 
household situation, but a worker will assist you in 
obtaining verification if you cooperate with the 
application process. 

 Apply for and accept any potential benefits or income 
you may be eligible for if requested to do so by DHHS. 

 Pay a co-pay for certain medical services if required to 
do so. 

 Pay a fee to your child care provider if required to do so 

based on your income. 

 Cooperate with state and federal personnel in a Quality 

Control review. 

 Cooperate with Nebraska Managed Care Program for 

certain recipients of medical services. 

 Cooperate with Nebraska Child Support Enforcement. 

 Ask questions if you do not understand something about 

medical assistance 

 
 
REPORTING CHANGES FOR AABD, ADC, RRP AND SDP PROGRAMS  
Report all changes within ten days to DHHS such as:  
 Changes in the household, such as when someone 

moves in or out. 
 If you move. 
 New employment. 
 Termination of employment, including job training or 

other work activities. 
 Change in the amount of monthly income 

 Reduction or increase in the number of hours worked 
per week. 

 Changes in disability or incapacity. 
 A change in health insurance. 

 A change in a resource, (such as getting a new vehicle 
or a change in your bank account). 

 
You may report these changes online: www.ACCESSNebraska.ne.gov. Click on "Report Changes". 
 
REPORTING CHANGES FOR CHILD CARE SUBSIDY PROGRAM 
Changes in income that exceed 85% of the State Median Income must be reported to the agency within 10 days of 
the change. The State Median Income Limits can be found at http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Guidance-
Documents.aspx.  
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If your current need for service ends and it is not a temporary change, this must be reported to the agency within 
10 days of the change.  
 
If you move out of the state of Nebraska you must report this to the agency within 10 days of the change.  

 
REPORTING CHANGES FOR SUPPLEMENTAL NUTRITION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (SNAP) BENEFITS  
There are two reporting categories in the SNAP Program: Simplified Reporting (SR) and Transitional Benefits 
Reporting (TBR). The reporting category to which you will be assigned is determined by your household situation. 
You will be informed of the reporting category, certification period and reporting requirements on your Notice of 
Eligibility. You will receive the Notice of Eligibility by mail. If your SNAP benefit reporting category changes during 
the certification period, you will receive another notice with the reporting requirements for the new category. If you 
have any questions, or need help in understanding your notice or reporting category, contact DHHS or go online 
and select Change Reporting at ACCESSNebraska.ne.gov.  
 
ELECTRONIC BENEFITS TRANSFER (EBT) CARD  
SNAP benefits are issued on an Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) card. If you have lost or misplaced your EBT 
card, please call 1-877-247-6328 to request a replacement card.  
 
If a retailer has to complete a manual transaction, called a voucher, due to a problem with the host system and 
they obtain authorization for the transaction; the voucher will be presented for payment of funds from your EBT 
account. If you have insufficient funds to cover the payment, you will be notified and the voucher may be re-
presented for payment in a subsequent month(s). Re-presentation of vouchers is not allowed due to problems with 
EBT card, PIN Pad or card reader errors, or POS terminal malfunction.  
 
If you believe you have been overcharged for SNAP benefits by a retailer, you may file a dispute with the card 
vendor. To do so, call EBT Customer Service at (877) 247-6328, and from the main menu choose your food 
transactions. Find the transaction you would like to dispute and select the option to dispute the charges.  
 
If you received goods but were not charged by the retailer, the retailer may request an adjustment to your account 
by filing an adjustment request with the card vendor. You will be notified of the retailer adjustment request. If you 
agree to the adjustment, you do not have to take any action. If you request a fair hearing within 15 days of the 
notice, you will receive a provisional credit pending the hearing.  
 
RESTRICTIONS ON THE USE OF ELECTRONIC BENEFITS NOTICE: 
If you receive your ADC, AABD, SDP, RRP or LIHEAP benefits via the ReliaCard-debit card, please know that it is 
a violation of federal law and/or state regulation to access these funds from an ATM located at or via a point-of-
sale purchase at the following types of businesses:  

1. Liquor stores;  
2. Casino, Gambling Casino or Gaming Establishment; or  
3. Any retail establishment which provides adult-oriented entertainment in which performers disrobe or 

perform in an unclothed state for entertainment  
 
CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT (CSE)  
Eligibility Requirements: As a condition of eligibility, ADC, SNAP, Foster Care and Child Care Subsidy recipients 
are required to receive CSE services and do not have the option to refuse any of these services. The CSE office 
will mail you a document that outlines your Rights and Responsibilities as they apply to the Nebraska CSE 
Program. 
 
Benefits of Child Support Services: Your cooperation with the CSE Unit may be of value to you and your child 
because it could result in the following benefits: 

 Establishing your child’s paternity 
 Establishing/Enforcing and collecting child and/or medical support judgments; and 
 You and your child may qualify for future Social Security, veterans, other government benefits, or medical 

coverage 
 
What is Cooperation?  
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Cooperation includes any actions relevant to, or necessary for, the achievement of child support enforcement 
objectives. You are required to cooperate with CSE, unless good cause (see below) has been determined for not 
cooperating. You are required to cooperate with CSE in obtaining the following:  
ADC recipients are required to cooperate with CSE in achieving the following objectives:  

1. Identification and location of the parent(s)/alleged father of a child who receives ADC grant payments; 
2. Establishment of paternity; 
3. Establishment/Enforcement of a support order; 
4. Modification of a support order; and  
5. Collection and distribution of support payments.  

Child Care Subsidy recipients referred for child support services are required to cooperate with Child Support 
Enforcement in achieving the following objectives: 

1. Identification and location of the parent(s) or alleged father of a child who receives child care subsidy 
benefits; 

2. Establishment of paternity; 
3. Establishment/Enforcement of a support order; 
4. Modification of a support order; and 
5. Collection and distribution of support payments.  

SNAP recipients referred for child support services are required to cooperate with Child Support Enforcement in 
achieving the following objectives: 
Custodial Parents and Non-Custodial Parents: 

1. Establishment of paternity; and 
2. Establishment, modification, or enforcement of an order 

Good Cause Circumstances: You should contact your Child Support Enforcement worker immediately if at any 
time you believe that cooperation, or proceeding to establish or secure support is against the best interest of your 
child(ren), parent/needy caretaker relative, and/or guardian/ conservator for whom support is sought. You will need 
to file a good cause claim in order to not cooperate with the child support requirements. The following are 
circumstances under which you may be exempt from the cooperation requirement: 

1. Cooperation is anticipated to result in serious physical or emotional harm to you or the child; 
2. The child was born as a result of forcible rape or incest; 
3. Court proceedings are pending for adoption of the child; or 
4. You are working with an agency helping you to decide whether to place the child for adoption. 

Proving Good Cause: It is your responsibility to: 
1. Provide evidence needed to determine whether you should be exempt from the cooperation requirement. 
2. Give the necessary evidence to the agency within 20 days after claiming good cause.  

The Child Support Enforcement office may: 
1. Determine your claim based on the evidence which you give to the agency; or 
2. Decide to conduct an investigation to further verify your claim. If it is decided an investigation is needed, 

you may be required to give information, such as the noncustodial party’s name and address, to help the 
investigation. 

3. If it is necessary to contact the non-custodial parent as part of the investigation, the worker will inform the 
custodial party that such contact will be attempted.  

If you do not cooperate and you do not have Good Cause, you risk the penalties of: 
1. 25% reduction of your ADC grant 
2. No medical assistance for yourself 
3. Loss of child care subsidy benefits 
4. Loss of SNAP eligibility for yourself  

Assignment of Support for ADC cases approved on or after October 1, 2009: When ADC cash assistance is paid to 
an individual or family unit, the State has the right to receive and keep child/spousal/medical support payments due 
to any persons listed in the application for assistance. This process, known as an assignment, includes support 
that becomes due while an individual is receiving ADC cash assistance. Support collections will be paid according 
to State and Federal laws and rules. Any child/spousal/medical support payments received directly by an ADC 
recipient in the same month as ADC cash assistance must be reported and returned to the State immediately.  
 
Child Support Enforcement (CSE) Yearly Fee: The payee of the support order will be charged a $35.00 yearly fee 
once $550 of support has been disbursed, unless the payee meets one of the exemptions below. When a 
minimum of $550 has been disbursed, the next collection(s) will be retained by the Nebraska Department of Health 
and Human Services, and applied towards the $35.00 fee. 
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Exception to being charged the fee: 
 Previously have, or currently are receiving Aid to Dependent Children (ADC) and/or Temporary Assistance to 

Needy Families (TANF); 
 CSE IV-D case(s) which include child(ren) who are currently and/or previously received IV-E foster care 

services; 
 Fee was assessed and collected in another state during current Federal Fiscal Year; or 
 SNAP recipients subject to cooperation provisions for SNAP eligibility.  
 
It is your responsibility to notify the CSE office if your case qualifies as an exception as listed above.  
 
Use of Social Security Numbers: Privacy Act of 1974 Notice; Disclosure of your social security number and the 
social security numbers of your child(ren) is required by federal law 42 U.S.C. 666 (a)(13). Child Support 
Enforcement will use these social security number only for the purpose of establishing and enforcing support. 
 
NEBRASKA LOW INCOME HOME ENERGY ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (LIHEAP)  
LIHEAP payments will be sent to utility providers in most circumstances. If a household receives LIHEAP 
payments directly, they must agree to take full responsibility for paying utility bills. By applying for or receiving 
LIHEAP, the household understands that the information collected for LIHEAP program eligibility and the 
household’s LIHEAP eligibility status may be disclosed to energy programs, utility providers, weatherization 
providers, and fan providers. DHHS may share and use information collected for purposes of evaluating and 
administering LIHEAP.  
 
LIHEAP WARNING 
Individuals who have knowingly provided false information may be subject to disqualification from LIHEAP due to 
an Intentional Program Violation (IPV). A person who commits an IPV is ineligible as follows:  
 A person is ineligible for LIHEAP during the period the person is disqualified from receiving other economic 

assistance benefits due to an IPV in another program. 
 A person who commits a LIHEAP IPV is ineligible as follows:  

 For a first IPV, the person becomes ineligible for any LIHEAP benefits for the remainder of the program 
year and the next full program year.  

 For a second IPV, the person becomes ineligible for any LIHEAP benefits for the remainder of the program 
year and the next three full program years.  

 For a third (and any subsequent) IPV, the person becomes permanently ineligible for LIHEAP benefits. 
  

The entire household is ineligible for LIHEAP crisis assistance to pay any bill incurred during any period a 
household member is under a sanction for an IPV. 
 
AID TO DEPENDENT CHILDREN (ADC) AND CHILD CARE PENALTY WARNING 
Individuals who have knowingly provided false information in order to qualify for ADC or Child Care subsidy 
benefits may be subject to disqualification due to an Intentional Program Violation (IPV). For the ADC Program, 
only the individual found to have committed the IPV shall be disqualified. For the Child Care subsidy, the individual 
found to have committed the IPV and his/her family shall be disqualified. The period of disqualification shall be: 
 
a. For a first violation, up to one year; 
b. For a second violation, up to two years; 
c. For a third violation, permanent disqualification.  
 
These penalties shall also be imposed if an individual is found by a court to have violated NEB. REV. STAT. § 68-
1017.  
 
NOTICE: If you receive your TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families – ADC) benefits via an electronic 
benefit transfer/debit card (ReliaCard), please know that it is a violation of Federal law to access these funds from 
an ATM located at or via a point-of-sale purchase at the following types of businesses:  

 Liquor stores;  
 Casino, Gambling Casino or Gaming Establishment; or  
 Any retail establishment which provides adult-oriented entertainment in which performers disrobe or 

perform in an unclothed state for entertainment.  
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ADC WORK REQUIREMENTS  
If you receive ADC cash assistance, you must participate in approved work activities unless you qualify for an 
exemption. If you do not cooperate with the work requirements, your benefits may be reduced or ended. ADC 
recipients will be required to develop and sign an individualized Self Sufficiency Contract that will identify the goals 
and list the steps necessary to become economically self-sufficient.  
 
ADC INFORMATION DISCLOSURE  
By applying for the ADC Program, the applicant(s) understands that the information collected on the application 
form, as well as ADC program eligibility information may be disclosed to partners of the Workforce Innovation and 
Opportunity Act (WIOA) programs pursuant to 34 CFR 361.38(e). DHHS may share and use information collected 
for purposes of referral, research, evaluation and analysis.  

ASSISTANCE AVAILABLE FOR VICTIMS OF SEXUAL HARASSMENT AND SURVIVORS OF DOMESTIC 
VIOLENCE, SEXUAL ASSAULT, OR STALKING 
If you are a victim of sexual harassment or a survivor of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking and need 
assistance for services available in Nebraska, contact ACCESSNebraska at 1-800-383-4278, your assigned DHHS 
worker, or your Employment First Case Manager. 

SUPPLEMENTAL NUTRITION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (SNAP) PENALTY WARNING  
The information provided on this application is subject to verification by federal, state, and local officials. 
If any is found inaccurate, participation in SNAP may be reduced, terminated, or denied.  Individuals who 
have knowingly provided false information may be subject to criminal prosecution.  

 Any member of a household who breaks any of these rules on purpose may be barred from SNAP 
for 12 months for the first violation, 24 months for the second violation, and permanently for the 
third violation. Additionally, individuals may be fined up to $250,000, imprisoned for up to 20 years, 
and subject to prosecution under other applicable federal laws.  

 A court can also bar an individual from the program for an additional 18 months. Individuals 
convicted of trafficking benefits for an aggregate amount of $500 or more will be permanently 
ineligible to participate in SNAP upon the first occasion of such violation. Individuals found guilty 
of using and/ or receiving and/or attempting to use and/or receive SNAP benefits in exchange for 
firearms, ammunition, or explosives, will be permanently ineligible for SNAP upon the first 
occasion of such violation.  

 Individuals convicted of a misdemeanor or felony for trading or attempting to trade SNAP benefits 
for drugs will be ineligible for SNAP for 24 months for the first violation, and permanently ineligible 
for the second violation. If you are found to have made a fraudulent statement or representation 
with respect to the identity or place of residence in order to receive multiple SNAP benefits 
simultaneously, you will be ineligible to participate in the Program for a period of 10 years.   

 
DO NOT:  

 Give false, incorrect, or incomplete information to obtain or continue to obtain SNAP benefits.  
 Trade or sell SNAP benefits or Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) cards.  
 Use other people's SNAP benefits or EBT cards unless designated.  
 Use SNAP benefits to buy nonfood items, such as alcohol, or cigarettes, or to pay on credit accounts.  
 Use SNAP benefits to buy illegal drugs, firearms, ammunition, or explosives.  
 Pay for food purchased on credit with SNAP benefits. Doing so could result in disqualification.  

 
Individuals found guilty in federal, state, or local court of the following offenses will be disqualified from participating 
in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP):  

 Use of SNAP benefits in the sale of a controlled substance, after September 22, 1996-disqualified for 24 
months for the first violation, permanently for the second violation.  

 Receipt of SNAP benefits in a transaction involving the sale of a controlled substance, after September 22, 
1996 – disqualified for 24 months for the first violation, permanently for the second violation.  

 Drug felony for sale or distribution of a controlled substance including the intent to sell or distribute – 
permanently disqualified. An individual must have committed and had been convicted of the drug felony 
after August 22, 1996.  
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 Committed and been convicted of a drug felony for possession or use of a controlled substance or for a 
crime committed while under the influence of a controlled drug substance. If the individual has had three or 
more convictions for the possession or use, after September 22, 1996, the individual is permanently 
disqualified. If the individual has had fewer than three convictions and has not participated in or completed 
a state-licensed or nationally accredited substance abuse treatment program since the date of the last 
conviction, the individual is disqualified.  

 Use of SNAP benefits to purchase firearms, ammunition, and explosives, after September 22, 1996 – 
permanently disqualified.  

 Receipt of SNAP benefits in a transaction involving the sale of firearms, ammunition, and explosives, after 
September 22, 1996 – permanently disqualified.  

 Misrepresenting residency or identity in order to receive multiple SNAP benefits – disqualified for 10 years. 
Trafficking of SNAP benefits of $500 or more, after September 22, 1996 – permanently disqualified.  

 During the time an individual is fleeing to avoid prosecution, custody or confinement after conviction for a 
crime or attempt to commit a crime that is a felony under the law of the place from which the individual is 
fleeing, or is violating a condition of federal or state probation or parole, the individual is ineligible to 
participate in SNAP.  

 
SNAP IMMIGRATION STATUS  
The alien status of applicant household members may be subject to verification by USCIS through the submission 
of information from the application to USCIS, and that the submitted information received from USCIS may affect 
the household's eligibility and level of benefits.  
 
SNAP WORK REGISTRATION 
For SNAP, the signature of the head of household, other adult in the household or an authorized representative on 
this application constitutes registering for work of all non-exempt household members.  
 
CHILD CARE SUBSIDY PROGRAM 
The purpose of the Child Care Subsidy Program is to assist low income families with child care. Care can be 
provided:  

1. To children age 12 and younger; children who turn age 13 during their eligibility period remain eligible 
through the end of their eligibility period; it is available to youth age 13 through 18 only if a physician, 
licensed or certified psychologist, or licensed mental health practitioner has provided a written statement 
that the child has a special need;  

2. Only when there is a need for child care as defined in 392 NAC 2-013 which includes:  
o Employment that has the potential to allow a family to become economically self-sufficient -this means we may not 

be able to continue to authorize child care if after a few months, the cost of child care is more than you earn. Child 
care is only authorized for those hours when the parent is actually working and reasonable travel time to and from 
work and child care;  

o Actively Seeking Employment – Each time the recipient loses employment, the recipient is entitled to three 
months of child care to seek employment. Child care for job search activities cannot be authorized at initial 
application except when job search is required by a federally funded workforce program;  

o Participation in an approved Employment First Activity -Child care may be authorized for any approved EF activity. 
This means either the DHHS worker or the case manager from the EF contractor has approved the activity;  

o For a parent to obtain medical services (such as doctor visits, Health Check, etc.) for themselves or for one of 
their children or to visit their child in the hospital;  

o Enrollment in and regular attendance at vocational or educational training to attain a high school diploma or GED 
or an undergraduate degree or certificate (including English as a second language classes) that will result in a 
parent becoming employed and self-sufficient. Child care is not allowed for those pursuing a second 
undergraduate degree or any post-graduate degrees. Child care is not authorized for correspondence courses or 
independent study. For in-person classes, it can be authorized for two hours per week for each credit hour. For 
on-line classes, it can be authorized for one hour per week for each credit hour. Child care can be authorized for 
structured individual tutoring or group preparation time (such as GED preparation, ESL, and Adult Basic 
Education). Child care is not allowed for study time (unless it is a reasonable period of time between classes).  

o Participation in on the job training;  
o Incapacitation as verified by a medical doctor -a specific form will be given by DHHS to document need for child 

care due to incapacity; and  
o Meets the definition of homeless. Child care may be authorized up to forty hours per week for the duration of the 

eligibility period to provide stability to the individual’s children and to allow the parent or usual caretaker the 
opportunity to seek out community resources.  
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Important Information:  
 Child care authorization cannot begin before the date the parent reports a need for child care or a change 

to DHHS. Example: If you start care today or change your child care provider today and do not report it to 
DHHS for two weeks, child care will not be authorized for the two weeks before you contact DHHS.  

 The parent is responsible to report the need for child care and any changes – It is not the responsibility of 
the child care provider. For two parent households, both parents must have one of the needs for child care 
listed previously for child care to be authorized.  

 Some families are required to pay a part of their child care expense. This is called a fee or obligation. This 
fee must be paid or the child care case will be closed until the parent has made a satisfactory arrangement 
with the provider for payment of the fee.  

 Child care in the child's home is called "In-Home Child Care" and can only be paid if the child has a special 
need (which must be documented by a medical doctor) OR a childhood illness OR if child care is needed 
during evening (after 7 PM or before 7 AM), overnight, weekend, or holidays hours if there are no other 
available child care arrangements OR if there are three or more children in care. The In-Home provider 
may be an individual (other than the parent) who lives with the child only if the child has a special need or 
a childhood illness.  

 Let DHHS know if the non-custodial parent is court ordered or pays for any of the child care costs.  
 Child care can only be used for the purpose authorized. If you use child care for another purpose, you may 

be required to repay DHHS for the unauthorized child care.  
 The parent who is requesting Child Care Subsidy must cooperate in establishing and collecting child 

support if there is a noncustodial parent. This applies only for a child who is receiving Child Care Subsidy. 
This requirement may be waived in the case of domestic violence.  

 
FAIR HEARINGS  
If you disagree with any action taken by the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) which 
affects your benefits, you may request a fair hearing in writing. Fair hearings for SNAP can be requested verbally 
by contacting DHHS. Your case may be presented by a household member or a representative, such as a legal 
counsel, a relative, a friend or other spokesperson. You may continue to receive your current level of assistance, 
known as continuation of benefits, until a hearing decision is made IF (1) you request a hearing within ten days 
from the date of the agency notice, and (2) for SNAP benefits only, your certification period has not expired. A fair 
hearing request must be made within 90 days of the action or inaction. You or your representative have the right to 
examine your case record. At the hearing you may represent yourself or be represented by another person. For 
purposes of calculating the deadlines described above, the mail date is not counted. If the last day of the 10 or 90 
day periods fall on a Saturday, Sunday, or state holiday, the deadline is extended to the next business day.  
If a hearing request is made within the notice of adverse action period and your certification period has not expired, 
participation will be continued at the same level of benefits, unless you waive continuation of benefits. If you do not 
waive your right to continuation of benefits in writing, the Department will assume you wish benefits to continue 
and will issue the benefits accordingly. If the Department action is upheld by the hearing decision, the Department 
will initiate a claim against the household for repayment of all funds received.  
Within 60 days of receipt of a request for fair hearing, the Department will assure the hearing is conducted, a 
decision is reached, and the household and agency are notified of the decision by an order. The household 
member or representative is entitled to one postponement of a maximum of 30 days of the scheduled hearing if the 
request for postponement is made at least ten days before the scheduled hearing.  
 
The household may withdraw a fair hearing request, orally or in writing, any time before a determination of the fair 
hearing is made. If the withdrawal request is made verbally, the office will provide written notice to the household 
within ten days of the household’s request to withdraw, confirming the withdrawal request and providing the 
household an opportunity to request another hearing if desired. A household is allowed one reinstated fair hearing 
per appeal.  
 
CIVIL RIGHTS  
Do Not Send Applications Here.  
 
In accordance with federal civil rights law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights regulations and 
policies, the USDA, its agencies, offices, and employees, and institutions participating in or administering USDA 
programs are prohibited from discriminating based on race, color, national origin, sex (including gender identity 
and sexual orientation), religious creed, disability, age, political beliefs, or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights 
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activity in any program or activity conducted or funded by USDA. Programs that receive federal financial 
assistance from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), such as Temporary Assistance for 
Needy Families (TANF), and programs HHS directly operates are also prohibited from discrimination under federal 
civil rights laws and HHS regulations.  
 
Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication for program information (e.g., Braille, 
large print, audiotape, American Sign Language, etc.), should contact the Agency (State or local) where they 
applied for benefits. Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech disabilities may contact USDA 
through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339. Additionally, program information may be made available in 
languages other than English.  
 
USDA provides federal financial assistance for many food security and hunger reduction programs such as the 
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), the Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations 
(FDPIR) and others. To file a program complaint of discrimination, complete the Program Discrimination Complaint 
Form, (AD-3027) found online at: https://www.usda.gov/sites/default/files/documents/ad-3027.pdf , and at any 
USDA office or write a letter addressed to USDA and provide in the letter all of the information requested in the 
form. To request a copy of the complaint form, call (866) 632-9992. Submit your completed form or letter to USDA 
by:  
 Mail: 

Food and Nutrition Service, USDA 
1320 Braddock Place, Room 334 
Alexandria, VA 22314; or  

 Fax: 
(833) 256-1665 or (202) 690-7442; or 

 Phone:  
(833) 620-1071(4); or 

 Email:  
FNSCIVILRIGHTSCOMPLAINTS@usda.gov 

 
For any other information regarding SNAP, persons should either contact the USDA SNAP hotline number at (800) 
221-5689, which is also in Spanish or call the state information/hotline numbers (click the link for a listing of hotline 
numbers by State); found online at: fns.usda.gov/snap/state-directory.  
 
HHS provides federal financial assistance for many programs to enhance health and well-being, including TANF, 
Head Start, the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP), and others. If you believe that you have 
been discriminated against because of your race, color, national origin, disability, age, sex (including pregnancy, 
sexual orientation, and gender identity), or religion in programs or activities that HHS directly operates or to which 
HHS provides federal financial assistance, you may file a complaint with the Office for Civil Rights (OCR) for 
yourself or for someone else.  
 
To file a complaint of discrimination for yourself or someone else regarding a program receiving federal financial 
assistance through HHS, complete the form online through OCR’s Complaint Portal at 
https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/.  
 
You may also contact OCR via  
 Mail:  

Centralized Case Management Operations 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 509F  
HHH Bldg. 
Washington, D.C. 20201; or 

 Fax: 
(202) 619-3818; or  

 Email:  
OCRmail@hhs.gov.  
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For faster processing, we encourage you to use the OCR online portal to file complaints rather than filing via mail. 
Persons who need assistance with filing a civil rights complaint can email OCR at OCRMail@hhs.gov or call OCR 
toll-free at 1-800-368-1019, TDD 1-800-537-7697.  
 
For persons who are deaf, hard of hearing, or have speech difficulties, please dial 7-1-1 to access 
telecommunications relay services. We also provide alternative formats (such as Braille and large print), auxiliary 
aids and language assistance services free of charge for filing a complaint. 
 
This institution is an equal opportunity provider.  
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER / CITIZENSHIP  
The DHHS asks for Social Security Numbers (SSNs) of all individuals for whom assistance is requested as 
required by the federal Social Security and Food Stamp Acts. Individuals who are not applying for assistance for 
themselves are not required to have or provide an SSN. If the individual is financially responsible for others in the 
assistance unit, the SSN will be used to verify income and/or resources through computer matches as listed below 
or other contacts so that eligibility can be determined for those requesting assistance. If the SSN is not provided, 
the assistance unit must assume responsibility for providing the information needed to determine eligibility for the 
individuals requesting assistance. Any SSNs provided will be used and disclosed in the same manner as SSNs of 
eligible participants. For SNAP benefits, SSNs may be disclosed to other federal and state agencies for official 
examination and to law enforcement officials for the purpose of apprehending persons fleeing to avoid the law. If a 
household has a SNAP benefit overpayment, the information on this application, including the SSNs, may be 
referred to federal and state agencies as well as private collection agencies for overpayment collection action. The 
SSN of each person in the assistance unit who provides his/her SSN will be computer matched with the following 
programs to assist in the determination of eligibility: Vital Statistics, Unemployment Compensation, Employment, 
Child Support, Resources, Income, Social Security Benefits (RSDI), Supplemental Security Income (SSI), and 
Veterans Benefits. These services will be verified by information received from the following agencies: Department 
of Health and Human Services, Nebraska Department of Labor, Social Security Administration, Clerk of the District 
Court, Child Support Payment Center, Internal Revenue Service, and Veterans’ Administration.  
 
The information received from these agencies is used and verified and could affect the kind and amount of 
assistance individuals receive. SSNs are also used in computer matching and program reviews or audits to make 
sure each household gets the correct amount of benefits. This may result in criminal or civil action or administrative 
claims against persons fraudulently participating. Child Care Assistance, Social Services for the Aged and 
Disabled (SSAD) and Social Services for Children and Families (SSCF): An SSN is not required to apply for these 
programs and eligibility will not be denied if SSNs are not provided. If an SSN is provided, it will be used to 
assemble research data sets that do not identify individual and to verify income.  
 
If you are applying for SNAP benefits or Child Care Assistance, this application asks you to tell us about the 
citizenship and immigration status of people in your household. For Child Care Assistance, you must tell us about 
the citizenship or immigration status for the children who will receive assistance. This application also asks you to 
give us SSNs for everyone in the household. We use SSNs to help us verify information such as income. If anyone 
in your household does not have an SSN, we can help them apply for one and your application will not be delayed. 
Only those people who provide information regarding their immigration status and SSNs can receive SNAP 
benefits. If some family or household members do not wish to apply for SNAP benefits, they do not need to provide 
this information. If people in your household choose not to give us information about their immigration status or 
SSN, they must still provide us the information needed to determine the eligibility of the other persons in your 
household. You may withdraw your request for benefits for these persons or you may withdraw your entire 
application. 
 
The collection of this information, including the social security number of each household member, is authorized 
under the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008, as amended, 7 U.S.C. 2011-2036. The information will be used to 
determine whether your household is eligible or continues to be eligible to participate in SNAP. We will verify this 
information through computer matching programs. This information will also be used to monitor compliance with 
program regulations and for program management. Providing the requested information, including the SSN of each 
household member, is voluntary. However, failure to provide an SSN will result in the denial of SNAP benefits to 
each individual failing to provide an SSN. Any SSNs provided will be used and disclosed in the same manner as 
SSNs of eligible household members. 
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VOTER REGISTRATION  
Please note that the information and office to which application was made will remain confidential and be used only 
for voter registration purposes. Applying to register or declining to register to vote will not affect the amount of 
assistance or services that you will be provided by this agency. If you believe that someone has interfered with 
your right to register or to decline to register to vote, your right to privacy in deciding whether to register or in 
applying to register to vote, or your right to choose your own political party or other political preference, you may 
file a complaint with the:  

Nebraska Secretary of State 
State Capitol Building 

Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4608 
Telephone: (402) 471-2554 

 
SDP AND RRP MEDICAL 
Third Party Liability: Individuals who receive Medical Assistance assign to the Department of Health and Human 
Services (DHHS) their right to any medical support or other payment for medical care, agree to cooperate with 
DHHS in establishing paternity, and cooperate with DHHS in obtaining any available third party payments such as 
an insurance payment or court settlement. Medicare benefits are not assigned. Individuals must cooperate with 
DHHS in obtaining reimbursement for the cost of medical care and services for any members of the assistance 
unit. Refusal to cooperate will result in the termination of medical assistance eligibility for that individual. DHHS will 
waive the requirement to cooperate if it determines that the individual has good cause for refusing to cooperate. If 
any time you want to claim good cause, you must tell DHHS that you think you have good cause. Good cause is a 
finding by DHHS that cooperation is against the best interests of the child or against the best interests of the 
individual because it is anticipated that cooperation will result in reprisal against, and cause physical or emotional 
harm, to the individual or other persons. Nebraska Revised Statutes §68-716, 68-916, and 68-917.  
Medical Records Release: Upon request, any person who has medical records and information or the custody of 
such records regarding recipients must release them to DHHS. This information will be used as provided in the 
Notice of Information Privacy Practices.  
 
Medical Reimbursement Agreement: When DHHS pays for a recipient's services, the amount DHHS has paid to 
treat the injury or illness must be included in any legal claim made against a third party. If the recipient later 
receives an insurance or court settlement, DHHS must be notified of the settlement and repaid from the settlement 
for the medical assistance DHHS has previously paid.  
 
Medical Services:  
 Present proof of your current eligibility to medical providers before obtaining services.  
 Ask your medical provider or DHHS about which services are covered.  
 Inform DHHS and your medical providers of any health insurance coverage you have (including dental 

coverage).  
 Agree to enroll in employer-based group health insurance if DHHS determines it is cost effective.  
 Agree to comply with managed care requirements.  
 Pay the costs of all non-covered medical expenses.  
 If you get any bills or statements from providers or collection agencies, you are responsible to tell them right 

away that your coverage is through DHHS.  
 Failure to follow certain conditions may result in your being responsible to pay the bills 
 
Medicaid Estate Recovery Program: Under Federal law (Social Security Act, Title 19, Sec. 1917 {42 U.S.C. 
1396P}) and State law (Nebraska Rev. Stat 68-919), the Medicaid Estate Recovery Program authorizes DHHS to 
make recovery from the estates of deceased Medicaid clients who were permanently institutionalized or were over 
the age of 55 when benefits were provided. The Federal and State laws provide for certain exemptions to the 
Medical Assistance Estate Recovery Program (471 NAC 38-000). For further information or questions about the 
Medicaid Estate Recovery Programs, you should contact DHHS.  
 
THIS NOTICE DESCRIBES HOW MEDICAL INFORMATION ABOUT YOU MAY BE USED AND DISCLOSED 
AND HOW YOU MAY ACCESS THIS INFORMATION. PLEASE REVIEW IT CAREFULLY.  
The Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) and those agencies inclusive of health care 
facilities and medical assistance programs that are affiliated under the common control of the Health and Human 
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Services Act, are required by federal law to maintain the privacy of Protected Health Information and to provide 
notice of its legal duties and privacy practices with respect to Protected Health Information. 
 
PRACTICES AND USES:  
DHHS may access, use and share medical information without your consent for purposes of: 
 Treatment: We may use your medical information to provide you with medical treatment or services. We may 

share your information with a nurse, medical professional or other personnel who are giving you treatment or 
services. For example, a doctor treating you for a broken leg may need to know if you have diabetes because 
diabetes may slow the healing process. Different agencies within DHHS may share your medical information in 
order to coordinate the different things you need, or to support and maintain your continuum of care. 

 Payment: We may use and disclose your medical information so that the treatment and services you receive 
can be billed. For example, we may use your medical information from a surgery you received at the hospital 
so the hospital can be reimbursed. 

 Operations: We may use and disclose medical information about you for health care operations. For example, 
we may use medical information to review your treatment and services and to evaluate the performance of the 
staff. 

 
OTHER PERMITTED USES AND DISCLOSURES THAT MAY BE MADE WITHOUT 
CONSENT/AUTHORIZATION: 
 Required By Law: We may use or disclose your Protected Health Information to the extent that the use or 

disclosure is required by law. You will be notified, if required by law, of any such uses or disclosures. 
 Public Health: We may disclose your Protected Health Information for public health activities and purposes to a 

public health authority that is permitted by law to collect or receive the information. 
 Communicable Diseases: We may disclose your Protected Health Information, if authorized by law, to a 

person who may have been exposed to a communicable disease or may otherwise be at risk of contracting or 
spreading the disease or condition. 

 Health Oversight: We may disclose Protected Health Information to a health oversight agency for activities 
authorized by law, or other activities necessary for appropriate oversight of the health care system, 
government benefit programs, other government regulatory programs, and civil rights laws. 

 Abuse or Neglect: We may disclose your Protected Health Information to a public health authority that is 
authorized by law to receive reports of abuse or neglect. The disclosure will be made consistent with the 
requirements of applicable federal and state laws. 

 Legal Proceedings: We may disclose Protected Health Information in the course of any judicial or 
administrative proceeding in response to an order of a court or administrative tribunal (to the extent such 
disclosure is expressly authorized), and in certain conditions in response to a subpoena, discovery request, or 
other lawful process. 

 Law Enforcement: We may also disclose Protected Health Information, so long as applicable legal 
requirements are met, for law enforcement purposes. 

 Food and Drug Administration: We may disclose your Protected Health Information as required by the Food 
and Drug Administration. 

 Coroners, Funeral Directors, and Organ Donation: We may disclose Protected Health Information to a coroner 
or medical examiner for identification purposes, cause of death determinations, or for the coroner or medical 
examiner to perform other duties authorized by law. 

 Research: We may disclose your Protected Health Information to researchers when their research has been 
approved by an institutional review board to ensure the privacy of your Protected Health Information. 

 Criminal Activity: We may disclose your Protected Health Information if we believe that the use or disclosure is 
necessary to prevent or lessen a serious and imminent threat to the health or safety of a person or the public. 

 Specialized Government Functions: When the appropriate conditions apply, we may use or disclose Protected 
Health Information of individuals who are Armed Forces personnel for military, national security, and 
intelligence activities. Protected Health Information may be disclosed for the administration of public benefits 
purposes. 

 Workers’ Compensation: We may disclose your Protected Health Information as authorized to comply with 
workers’ compensation laws and other similar legally established programs. 

 Inmates: We may use or disclose your Protected Health Information if you are an inmate of a correctional 
facility in the course of providing care to you. 
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 Required Uses and Disclosures: We must make disclosures when required by the Secretary of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services to investigate or determine our compliance with the requirements 
of 45 CFR, Title II, Section 164, et. seq. 

 
USES AND DISCLOSURES REQUIRING AUTHORIZATION: There are certain uses and disclosures of Protected 
Health Information that require your authorization. Among them are: most uses and disclosures of psychotherapy 
notes; uses and disclosures of protected health information for marketing purposes; and disclosure of protected 
health information that constitutes a sale. Other uses and disclosures not described in this notice will be made only 
WITH authorization from you. You may revoke this authorization at any time as provided by 45 CFR 164.508(b)(5). 
 
YOUR RIGHTS TO PRIVACY: 
 Right to Inspect and Copy.  

o You have the right to inspect and copy your medical information. Usually, this includes medical and billing 
records but does not include psychotherapy notes. To inspect and copy your medical information, you 
must submit a written request at the Site of Service or to the DHHS HIPAA Privacy & Security Office. If you 
request a copy, we may charge a fee for the cost of copying, mailing, and other supplies associated with 
your request. We may deny your request to inspect and copy in certain circumstances. If you are denied 
access to medical information, you may request the denial be reviewed. 

 Right to Amend.  
o If you feel that medical information about you is incorrect or incomplete, you may ask us to amend 

(correct) the information. You have the right to request an amendment as long as the information is kept by 
or for DHHS. To request an Amendment, your request must be made in writing and submitted at the Site 
of Service, or to the DHHS HIPAA Privacy & Security Office. In addition you must provide a reason which 
supports your request. We may deny your request for an amendment if it is not in writing or does not 
include a reason to support the request. In addition, we may deny your request if you ask us to amend 
information that: 
o Was not created by us, unless the person or entity that created the information is no longer available 

to make the amendment; 
o Is not part of the medical information kept by or for DHHS; 
o Is not part of the information which you would be permitted to inspect and copy; or, 
o Is accurate and complete. 

 Right to an Accounting of Disclosures.  
o You have the right to request a list of the disclosures we made of medical information about you. You must 

submit your request in writing at the Site of Service, or to the DHHS HIPAA Privacy & Security Office. Your 
request must state a time period for the disclosures, which may not be longer than six (6) years and may 
not include dates before April 14, 2003. Your request should indicate in what form you want the list to be 
provided to you. 

 Right to Request Restrictions.  
o You have the right to request a restriction or limitation on the medical information we use or disclose about 

you for treatment, payment, health care operations, and to someone who is involved in your care or the 
payment of your care, like a family member or friend. We are not required to agree to your request for 
restrictions unless it is for payment or health care operations and you use your own funds to pay, in full, for 
a health care item or service. If we do agree, we will comply with your request unless the information is 
needed to provide you emergency treatment. To request restrictions, you must make your request in 
writing at the Site of Service, or to the DHHS HIPAA Privacy & Security Office. In your request you must 
tell us:  
o What information you want to limit,  
o Whether you want to limit our use, disclosure, or both; and  
o To whom you want the limits to apply. 

 Right to Request Confidential Communications.  
o You have the right to request that we communicate with you about medical matters in a certain way or at a 

certain location. To request confidential communications, you must make your request in writing at the Site 
of Service, or to the DHHS HIPAA Privacy & Security Office. Your request must specify how or where you 
wish to be contacted. 

 Right to a Paper Copy of this Notice.  
o You have a right to a paper copy of this notice. You may ask us to give you a copy of this notice at any 

time. Even if you have agreed to receive this notice electronically, you are still entitled to a paper copy of 
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this notice. You may obtain a copy of this notice at our website, http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/hipaa_hp-1-p-
notice.aspx or by contacting us. 

 Opt out of fund-raising communications.  
o If DHHS should conduct fund-raising activities, you have a right to opt out of this communication. 

 Breach notification.  
o In the event DHHS breaches your unsecured protected health information as defined by HIPAA, you will 

receive notification of the breach. 
 
COMPLAINTS  
If you believe your privacy rights have been violated, you may file a complaint with DHHS or with the Secretary of 
the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. To file a complaint with DHHS, you may contact the DHHS 
HIPAA Privacy & Security Office. To file a complaint with HHS, contact: Secretary, Health and Human Services, 
Office of Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, SW Room 
509F, HHH Building Washington, D.C. 20201, 1-866-OCR-PRIV (627-7748), 1-866-778-4989-TTY. You will not be 
penalized for filing a complaint. 
 
CHANGES TO THE NOTICE OF INFORMATION PRACTICES 
The State of Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services reserves the right to amend this Notice at any 
time in the future. Until such amendment is made, DHHS is required by law to abide by the terms of this Notice. 
DHHS will provide notice of any material change in revision of these policies either electronically or in paper 
format.  
 
CONTACT INFORMATION  
This notice fulfills the “Notice” requirements of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 
(HIPAA) Final Privacy Rule. If you have questions about any part of this Notice of Information Privacy practices or 
desire to have further information concerning information practices at DHHS please direct them to: HIPAA Privacy 
and Security Office, 301 Centennial Mall South 3rd Floor, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, by phone at 402-471-8417, or 
by email to DHHS.HIPAAOffice@nebraska.gov. If you have question about your benefits call 800-383-4278.  


