Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact - Proposed Rules and Notice of Public Hearing

Update on new LPN law 

Locations for IV Therapy class NEW!

Types of credentials issued by Nebraska:

Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN)

  • Clinical Nurse Specialist (APRN-CNS):  An RN who holds a master's or doctoral degree in a nursing clinical specialty area and has successfully completed a graduate-level clinical nurse specialist education program.
  • Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (APRN-CRNA): An RN who has advanced education and certification to work in the field of anesthesia.
  • Nurse Practitioner (APRN-NP): An RN who has advanced education and licensure to manage common health problems and chronic conditions including prescribing treatments and medications.
  • Certified Nurse Midwife (APRN-CNM): An RN who has advanced education and certification to attend cases of normal childbirth in hospitals and birthing centers, and provide normal obstetrical and gynecological services to women. A CNM may not attend a home delivery. CNMs may also prescribe treatments and medications.

Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)

Nine months to one year of education in a community college. Must always practice under the direction of a registered nurse or other licensed practitioner.
Registered Nurse (RN)

Two to four years of education at a college or university. Registered nurses may practice independently.  

Documents in PDF PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader
which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.
Good Life. Great Mission.