Nitrous Oxide Administration by Dental Hygienists

YEAR STATUTE/ EDUCATION PERMIT
ENACTED RULES OR
CERTIFICATE
Alaska 1997 rules 3 clinical/3 didactic no
CPR
Arizona 1976 rules 36 hours no
Included in Local anesthesia course
Arkansas 1994 rules Minimum of 4 hours no
California 1974 rules board approved course no
Colorado 1997 statute 16 hours Yes
DC 2004 rules 32 hours total yes
Idaho 1979 rules degree completion No
or accredited
Illinois 1999 rules 14 hours No board certification, but 12 hour
course required. Must provide proof
of completion.
lowa 2001 rules Board approved course no
or part of degree
Kansas 1994 statute Board approved course no
12 hours




Nitrous Oxide Administration by Dental Hygienists

YEAR STATUTE/ EDUCATION PERMIT
ENACTED RULES OR
CERTIFICATE
Kentucky 2002 statute 2 hrs clinical, in ad;iition to 32 hours yes
o

local anesthesia course and 12 hours
of practical demonstration

Louisiana 2010 Statute Rules pending yes
4 didactic
ichi i yes
Michigan 2004 statute 4 clinical
Minnesota 1995 rules 16 hours of no
clinical didactic
CPR
Missouri 1994 rules Course that provides proof of yes
competence
. rules 8 hours didactic
Maine 2006 8 hours clinical yes
CODA or board

approved course
and exit exam

statute oard approva es
course or part of degree

8 hours didactic
New Hampshire 2006 statute 6 hours clinical yes




Nitrous Oxide Administration by Dental Hygienists

YEAR STATUTE/ EDUCATION PERMIT
ENACTED RULES OR
CERTIFICATE

7 didactic

New Jersey 2008 rules 7 clinical yes
CPR
New York 2001 statute

30 didactic yes

15 clinical

Ohio 2010 Rules 4 didactic
2 clinical es

Written exam v
Clinical evaluation
Oklahoma 1975 rules 12 hrs completion no
in board approved
course
Oregon 1975 rules 14 hours in N20 yes
CPR

South Dakota 1992 rules board approved course yes
Tennessee 2000 rules board approved course yes
Utah 1983 statute yes




Nitrous Oxide Administration by Dental Hygienists

YEAR STATUTE/ EDUCATION PERMIT
ENACTED RULES OR
CERTIFICATE

Virginia 8 hours didactic & yes

*on patients aged 18 and 2006 statute clinical
older only
Washington 1971 rules didactic no
clinical competency

Wyoming rules Board approved yes

course
*Most states require dentist to be present. Please check with the state licensing agencies for specific information on any one state.
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