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Applicant for Licensure as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse-Nurse Practitioner (APRN-NP) 
 

We are pleased that you wish to practice nursing in an advanced role in Nebraska.  Authority to practice in Nebraska as an Advanced 
Practice Registered Nurse – Nurse Practitioner is based upon two criteria: 

1. Requirements for Licensure as an APRN-NP; and 
2. Requirements Prior to Commencing Practice 

 
REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE:   To qualify for licensure in a Nurse Practitioner role in Nebraska you must: 

 
1. Have a current Registered Nurse license in Nebraska or a multi-state license from another compact state under the Nurse 

Licensure Compact Act 
2. Provide proof of age:  Evidence of at least 19 years of age  
3. Provide proof of lawful presence in the United States 
4. Have completed an approved program which included both a didactic component and a preceptorship of five hundred contact 

hours, and includes instruction in biological, behavioral, and health sciences relevant to practice in a specific clinical specialty area. 
You must have a master’s or doctoral degree to qualify to practice. 

5. Have successfully completed thirty (30) contact hours of academic education in pharmacotherapeutics 
6. In addition to the pharmacotherapeutics coursework, you need to have separate coursework in Advanced Health Assessment and 

pathophysiology or psychopathology. 
7. Have taken and passed a national credentialing examination pertaining to the specific Nurse Practitioner role in nursing that has 

been approved by the APRN Board 
8. Within the previous five years, have graduated or practiced a minimum of 2080 hours within the specific Nurse Practitioner role 
9. Complete a criminal background check by fingerprint 
10. NEW REQUIREMENT FOR LICENSURE:  You must have current Professional Liability Insurance OR You must have a binding 

agreement  that Professional Liability insurance will be effective on the day that you have been issued an APRN-NP license.  
 

REQUIREMENTS FOR PRACTICE  
 
In addition to the above requirements for licensure, you will need to have practiced as an APRN-Nurse Practitioner for a 
minimum of 2000 hours (attestation on application) or submit a Transition to Practice form (attached). 

 
To apply for licensure, you must submit the following: 

 
1. APPLICATION 
2. FEE – see schedule 
3. PROOF OF AGE:  Evidence of at least 19 years of age (i.e.: driver’s license, birth certificate, marriage license, school transcript, 

US State ID card, Military ID, or similar documentation); 
4. PROOF OF LAWFUL PRESENCE IN THE UNITED STATES:  You must submit a copy of at least one of the following documents:  

(1) A U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired); 
(2) A birth certificate issued by a state, county, municipal authority or outlying possession of the United States bearing an off icial 

seal; 
(3) An American Indian Card (I-872); 
(4) A Certificate of Naturalization (N-550 or N-570); 
(5) A Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561); 
(6) Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350); 
(7) A Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of America (FS-240); 
(8) Certification of Birth Abroad (FS-545 or DS-1350); 
(9) A United States Citizen Identification Card (I-197 or I-179); 
(10) A Northern Mariana Card (I-873); 
(11) An Alien Registration Receipt Card (Form I-551, otherwise known as a “Green Card”); 
(12) An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport; 
(13) A document showing an Alien Registration Number (“A#”)  
(14) A Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record)  

4. OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPT.  We require an official copy of your transcript documenting completion of a master’s/doctorate degree in 
nursing or a post master’s certificate in a nurse practitioner program.  If you have a post master’s and your master’s/doctorate 
degree is from a different institution, we will need an official copy of your transcript documenting the master’s/doctorate degree as 
well.  Transcripts must be submitted directly from the institution where you completed your advanced course of study.  The 
institution may charge a fee for this service. 

5. NATIONAL CERTIFICATION.  Verification of having passed a national credentialing examination and verification of current 
national certification must be submitted from the national certifying organization.  If you are a new graduate, please make 
arrangements for the examination results to be sent to our office directly from the national certifying organization. 

6. ACTIVE RN LICENSURE VERIFICATION.  If active RN licensure is in Nebraska, no action is required to meet this requirement.  If 
your primary state of residence under the Nurse License Compact is Nebraska and your Nebraska RN license is inactive or lapsed, 
you must reinstate your Nebraska RN license.  If your primary state of residence is a compact state other than Nebraska and you 
have a multi-state RN license in that state, please purchase a verification report at www.nursys.com and include a copy of the 
receipt with your application.  If your primary state of residence is a non-compact state, you must apply for RN licensure in 
Nebraska. 

http://www.nursys.com/
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7. ACTIVE PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE.   Attest that you have current Professional Liability Insurance or Attest that you 
have a binding agreement that Professional Liability Insurance will be effective on the day that you are licensed.  (on the 
application).  

8. ADVANCE PRACTICE LICENSURE VERIFICATION. If you are currently licensed as a Nurse Practitioner in another state, 

advance practice licensure from the original state of licensure must be verified. Please submit the Advanced Practice Licensure 
Verification form (enclosed) to your original state of advanced practice licensure. They may charge you a fee.  
 
*****Other Licensing Information:  If you hold or have held a license/certificate/registration to provide health related services in a 
state/jurisdiction other than Nebraska (such as nurse, med aide, nurse aide, pharmacy tech, EMT, etc.), you must submit 

verification of the license.  The NURSYS verification would verify most RN/LPN Licenses.   
 

9. COMPLETED CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK BY FINGERPRINT (instructions enclosed). It may be several weeks before 
your background check is complete and received by our department.  NOTE: We cannot send your fingerprint card(s) to the State 
Patrol to get the process started before your application arrives.   
 

Temporary Permits.  A temporary permit, as part of the licensure process, may be issued to: 

 
1. Graduates, for 60 days or until the results of the examination are known, who have not previously taken an approved credentialing 

examination and who meet all of the requirements for licensure as an APRN except having passed an approved examination. 
2. Applicants, for 120 days, who are lawfully authorized to practice in an advanced role in another state pending completion of the 

application process; or  
3. Applicants for purposes of completing the clinical portion of a reentry program. 
 
To apply for a temporary permit as a new graduate, you must submit the following: 

 
1. Application for licensure 
2. Application fee (this fee also covers the permanent license) 
3. Proof of Age 
4. Provide proof of lawful presence in the United States 
5. An Official Transcript from an approved advanced practice program 
6. Verification that you are authorized to take the certification examination (a notarized copy of your authorization will meet this 

requirement) 
7. Verification of an active RN license. If active RN licensure is in Nebraska, no action is required to meet this requirement.  If your 

primary state of residence is a compact state other than Nebraska and you have a multi-state RN license in that state, please 
purchase a verification report at www.nursys.com and include a copy of the receipt with your application.  If your primary state of 
residence is a non-compact state, you must apply for RN licensure in Nebraska. 

8. Completed criminal background check by fingerprint  
 
To apply for a temporary permit if you have current advanced practice licensure/recognition in another state, you must submit 
the following: 

 
1. Application for advanced practice licensure 
2. Application fee (this fee also covers the permanent license) 
3. Proof of Age 
4. Provide proof of lawful presence in the United States 
5. A notarized copy of active advanced practice licensure/recognition in another state 
6. A notarized copy of proof of current national certification 
7. Verification of an active RN license. If active RN licensure is in Nebraska, no action is required to meet this requirement.  If your 

primary state of residence is a compact state other than Nebraska and you have a multi-state RN license in that state, please 
purchase a verification report at www.nursys.com and include a copy of the receipt with your application.  If your primary state of 
residence is a non-compact state, you must apply for RN licensure in Nebraska. 

8. Criminal background check by fingerprint that is currently being processed by the State Patrol 
 

To apply for a temporary permit if you have not graduated or practiced 2080 hours within the past five years and need to 
complete a reentry program, you must submit: 

 
1. Application for licensure 
2. Application fee (this fee also covers the permanent license) 
3. Proof of Age 
4. Provide proof of lawful presence in the United States  
5. An official transcript from an approved advanced practice program 
6. Verification of board approval for your reentry program from the APRN Board 
7. Verification of an active RN license. If active RN licensure is in Nebraska, no action is required to meet this requirement.  If your 

primary state of residence is a compact state other than Nebraska and you have a multi-state RN license in that state, please 
purchase a verification report at www.nursys.com and include a copy of the receipt with your application.  If your primary state of 
residence is a non-compact state, you must apply for RN licensure in Nebraska. 

8. Completed criminal background check by fingerprint 
 

http://www.nursys.com/
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APPLICATION COMPLETION REMINDERS 

Have you completed your application? 
Have you submitted proof of age and proof of lawful presence in the United States? 
Have you submitted the required fee? 
Have you requested an official transcript(s)?  
Have you requested verification from your national certification program? 
Have you submitted the appropriate requirements for a temporary permit if you are requesting one? 
Have you had your fingerprints submitted according to the instructions enclosed? 
 
If after carefully reading these instructions you have questions regarding this process, or need assistance in completing the procedure, 
please call (402) 471-2666. 
 
 

Determine the month and year in which you plan to be licensed in Nebraska (keeping in mind application processing can take 8-10 

weeks).   If the month falls in the shaded area of the following chart, the fee for initial licensure is $68.00.  If the month falls in the 

unshaded area, the fee for initial licensure is $25.00 (license is issued within 180 days of the renewal). Make checks payable to “DHHS, 

Licensure Unit”. 
 

FEE SCHEDULE 
 

YEAR Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec 

Even Year 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 25.00 25.00 25.00 25.00 25.00 25.00 68.00 68.00 

Odd Year 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 

 
 
 

EXPIRATION OF LICENSES: 

All APRN-NP licenses expire on October 31 of each even-numbered year. 
This means that your nursing license may be valid for varying lengths of time, anywhere from 1 day to 24 months, depending 
on when it is issued, and must be renewed on or before October 31.  

 
 
 
Any documents written in a language other than English must be accompanied by a complete translation into the English language.  
The translation must be an original document and contain the notarized signature of the translator.  An individual may not translate 
his/her own documents. 
 
The Department has up to 150 days to act upon a complete application. After this deadline, any incomplete applications will be 
destroyed and a refund will be issued following written notification to the applicant. 

 
Mail this application, the appropriate fee and required supporting documentation to the address below. All supporting 

documentation from outside sources should also be mailed to this address:  

Department of Health & Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln Nebraska 68509-4986 
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CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS 
Instructions – Revised 07/2015 

 
Criminal Background Check Notification:  Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-131 (provided below), an applicant for an initial license to practice as a 
registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse or to practice a profession which is authorized to prescribe controlled substances shall be subject to a 
criminal background check.  Applicants are able to receive any national criminal history record that may pertain to them directly from the FBI, pursuant to 
28 CFR Sections 16.30-16.34, and may then freely disclose any such information to whomever they choose.  Applicants must authorize the 
dissemination of any national criminal history record that may pertain to them to the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) when applying 
for licensure.  Applicants are entitled to challenge the accuracy and completeness of any information contained in any such report and will be provided a 
copy of the criminal history background report, if any, received if they appear at the DHHS in person and present proper identification.  Information on 
how to challenge an applicant’s federal report can be found at FBI.gov.  To challenge an applicant’s Nebraska state record, contact the Nebraska State 
Patrol-Criminal Identification Division.  Applicants may obtain a prompt determination as to the validity of their challenge before the DHHS makes a final 
decision about their application for licensure.   
 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-131 - Criminal background check; when required. (1) An applicant for an initial license to practice as a 
registered nurse or a licensed practice nurse or to practice a profession which is authorized to prescribe controlled substances shall 
be subject to a criminal background check. Except as provided in subsection (3) of this section, the applicant shall submit with the 
application a full set of fingerprints which shall be forwarded to the Nebraska State Patrol to be submitted to the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation for a national criminal history record information check. The applicant shall authorize release of the results of the 
national criminal history record information check to the department. The applicant shall pay the actual cost of the fingerprinting and 
criminal background check.  (2) This section shall not apply to a dentist who is an applicant for a dental locum tenens under section 
38-1122, to a physician or osteopathic physician who is an applicant for a physician locum tenens under section 38-2036, or to a 
veterinarian who is an applicant for a veterinarian locum tenens under section 38-3335.  (3) An applicant for a temporary 
educational permit as defined in section 38-2019 shall have ninety days from the issuance of the permit to comply with subsection 
(1) of this section and shall have his or her permit suspended after such ninety-day period if the criminal background check is not 
complete or revoked if the criminal background check reveals that the applicant was not qualified for the permit.  Source: Laws 
2005, LB 306, § 2; Laws 2005, LB 382, § 15; Laws 2006, LB 833, § 1; R.S.Supp 2006, § 71-104.01; Laws 2007, LB247, § 60; Laws 
2007, LB463, § 31; Laws 2007, LB481, § 2; Laws 2011, LB687, § 1; Laws 2015, LB129. Effective Date: August 30, 2015 

 

FINGERPRINTING PROCEDURE – Please read and follow these instructions carefully to avoid delays in processing.   
 

Fingerprints must be obtained and submitted to the Department with your application for licensure.  The Department is 
required to verify to the Nebraska State Patrol that you have made application for licensure in Nebraska prior to the Nebraska 
State Patrol processing your request for a criminal background check.  The applicant must send the fee for the Criminal 
Background Check ($45.25) separately, directly to the Nebraska State Patrol as explained below.   

 
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2017 THE FEE FOR BACKGROUND CHECKS IS $45.25 

 

Criminal background checks are NOT expedited for any reason. 
 

1. If you received a printed application from the Licensure Unit, two fingerprint cards were enclosed.  Take the fingerprint cards (2) to any State 
Patrol office or law enforcement agency.  Contact information for the Nebraska State Patrol offices is included with these instructions.  You 
must call ahead to schedule an appointment at the Nebraska State Patrol offices.  Please note that some offices have limited hours when 
fingerprinting will be conducted.   

 

2. If you obtained your application online, fingerprint cards can be obtained by contacting the Licensure Unit.  Fingerprint cards may also be 
available at any State Patrol office or law enforcement agency.  The fingerprint cards are the standard FBI Applicant format, form number FD 
258, and are blue and white cards.   

 

3. DO NOT FOLD THE FINGERPRINT CARDS.   
 

4. Live Scan fingerprinting refers to both the technique and the technology used by law enforcement agencies and private facilities to capture 
fingerprints electronically, without the need for the more traditional method of ink and paper.  Live Scan is available at all Nebraska State 
Patrol locations.  If Live Scan is used in Nebraska to capture your fingerprints, the Nebraska State Patrol will NOT give you cards to submit 
with your application.  They will submit the cards to the Department directly for verification of application.  Although other states may have Live 
Scan available, it is common that other states will not capture fingerprints using Live Scan for persons who are being fingerprinted for 
purposes outside of that state.  Applicants outside of Nebraska may have traditional ink and paper fingerprints done where they are located, or 
they may travel to a Nebraska State Patrol location to use Live Scan.   

 

5. The Nebraska State Patrol does not charge for the service of taking your fingerprints.  However, other law enforcement agencies in Nebraska 
or in other states may charge a fee.   

 

6. You must take one form of photo ID with you when obtaining your fingerprints.  Acceptable forms of ID include a driver’s license, visa or 
passport.  If you are from a foreign country and do not have one of these forms of photo identification, provide any documentation issued by 
your country, legal sovereign or consulate. 
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7. Please print your full name, address with zip code, *Social Security Number, date and place of birth, and physical identifiers on the fingerprint 
cards. DO NOT sign the fingerprint cards until the law enforcement officer has verified your signature with the form of identification that you 
provide.  DO NOT write in the field labeled ORI.   
 

*Social Security Number:  If you do not have a United States Social Security Number, you must provide in the 
“Miscellaneous No: MNU” section a Government issued identification number, a “consulate” number or a Passport 
Number.  Please indicate the type of number provided. 
 

 

8. If you are one of the following professions: Dental, Physician, APRN*, Physician Assistant, Optometrist, Podiatrist, Veterinarian, Temporary 
Educational Permit or Wholesale Drug Distributor, put Controlled Substance License in the box labeled “Reason Fingerprinted”.  If you are 
applying for an RN or LPN license put Nursing License in the box labeled “Reason Fingerprinted”. 
 

*New APRN/RN applicants (individuals applying for both at the same time) will need to submit two different sets of cards and pay 
twice (one “Controlled Substance License” one “Nursing”).  Each license applied for requires an individual background check.* 

 

9. After the fingerprinting procedure is completed, the cards should NOT be given to you.   
 

 If you obtained the cards from the Licensure Unit, request the person who took your fingerprints to place the cards in the envelope 
provided by the Licensure Unit along with your completed application for licensure, and mail the envelope to the Department.   

 If you obtained the cards from a State Patrol office or other law enforcement agency, request the person who took your fingerprints 
to place the cards in an envelope provided by you (DO NOT FOLD THE FINGERPRINT CARDS) along with your completed 
application for licensure, and mail the envelope addressed to: Nebraska DHHS, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit, 301 
Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, NE  68509-4986 

 

The fee for Criminal Background Check is to be sent separately, directly to the Nebraska State Patrol.  The fee is $45.25 and may be 
paid by a personal check, money order, or cashier’s check made payable to the Nebraska State Patrol.  When sending payment, it is 
important to include a note that clearly identifies the name of the person for whom the criminal background check is requested, and 
the type of license for which the person is applying.   
 
Payment must be mailed directly to: Nebraska State Patrol, ATTN: CID 3800 NW 12th Street STE A, Lincoln NE 68521. 
 
New payment method available at www.ne.gov/go/nsp. This is an internet pay site through PayPort. You can pay by echeck (additional fee 
of $1.75) or credit card (additional fee of $ .90). The website will ask you to select the type of payment you are making. You need to choose 
“Controlled Substance License” or “Nursing” depending on your profession (see #8). You will then need to put in the applicant’s name, date of 
birth and the last 4 digits of social security number (optional). If a company is paying for an applicant – the applicant’s information needs to be 
submitted on this page. The second page of the website will ask for information about the payer, which may or may not be the applicant. 

 

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2017 THE FEE FOR BACKGROUND CHECKS IS $45.25 
 
10. **This process takes several weeks for the results of your criminal background check to be received by the Department.**  No 

licensing decision will be made until all information is received.   
 
Office of the Nebraska State Patrol    Days/Hours that Fingerprinting Conducted 
 
Troop A       Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
4441 S 108th ST      (no appointment necessary) 
Omaha, NE  68137 
Phone:  402-331-3333 
 
Troop B       Usually on Tuesdays 
1401 Eisenhower AVE      (appointment required) 
Norfolk NE  68701   
Phone:  402-370-3456 
 
Troop C       Mondays from 10:00 a.m. to noon 
3431 Potash      and from 1:00 p.m. to 2:45 p.m. 
Grand Island NE  68802     (appointment required) 
Phone:  308-385-6000 
 
Troop D       Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 
300 West South River Rd     from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 
North Platte NE  69101      Wednesday from 8:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. 
Phone:  308-535-8265 ext. 219     (appointment required) 
 
Troop E        Wednesdays after 1:00 p.m. 
4500 Avenue I      (appointment required) 
Scottsbluff NE  69361 
Phone:  308-632-1211 
 
Criminal Identification Division (CID)    Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. 
3800 NW 12th ST STE A     (appointment required) 
Lincoln NE  68521      Last person fingerprinted at 4:00 p.m. 
Phone: 402-479-4971 
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This form may be completed online and mailed to the address listed below. 

                                                                                                   

  
 
 Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit 
 P.O. Box 94986 - Lincoln, Nebraska  68509-4986     
 Telephone #:  402-471-4376 
 

Do you want a Temporary Permit?  YES □     NO □ _________________ Date Needed. 

(Please see requirements for issuance of a temporary permit.) 
 

SECTION A – PERSONAL INFORMATION  (All applicants must complete this section) This section is public information 
and will be displayed on the INTERNET http://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi 

NOTE:  All mailings will be sent to the address you indicate below– if you change your address, you must advise 
this office. 

 

1 Legal Name First: 

 

 

Middle: Maiden Name: Last Name: 

List any other 
names by 
which you 
have been 
known 

 

 

 

2 Mailing 
Address 

Street/PO/Route: 

 

City: 

 

State or Country: Zip: 

 

 
Additional information requested: (This information is not displayed on the internet) 
 

3 Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year): 

 

Place of Birth (City/State or Country): 

4 Phone #: 

 

Alternate Phone #: (optional) 

5 E-Mail Address: 

 

6 Social Security Number (SSN):  

 

  

SECTION  B – PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCE (All applicants must complete this section) 

 
I declare that my current primary state of residence is      . This state is referred to as my 
home state under the Nurse Licensure Compact and means that it is my declared fixed permanent and principal home for legal 
purposes and is my domicile. Indicators of a domicile include, but are not limited to, where real property is located, where the person 
pays state taxes, votes, is licensed to operate a motor vehicle, etc. If you indicated another compact state as your primary state of 
residence, will you be moving to Nebraska and declaring Nebraska as your primary state of residence?   YES □     NO  □ If yes, 
date you plan to move   .  
 
If you have declared Nebraska as your primary state of residence, what date did Nebraska become your primary state of residence? 
__________________________________________ 

 

Are you a military/federal employee?   YES □     NO □ 

APPLICATION FOR NURSE PRACTITIONER 
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SECTION C – EDUCATION Please note: if you graduated after July 1996, (or July 2007 for the specialties of Women’s 
Health or Neonatal), you must have a Masters/Doctorate degree in nursing to be eligible for practice in Nebraska. 

 

ADVANCED PRACTICE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM 

Name of 
School: 

 

Location: (city, state or country) 
 

Date 
Completed: 

 Specialty: 

Credential: □   Masters         □  Post Masters Certificate            □   Certificate     □   Doctorate          

Do you have at least 30 academic contact hours of pharmacotherapeutics?(check one)      Yes  □          No   □   

Name and Location of program granting Masters/Doctorate degree if different than advanced practice program: 

Name of 
School: 

 

Location: (city, state or country) 
 

 
 

SECTION D – CONVICTION AND LICENSURE INFORMATION  (All applicants must complete this section)  Failure to 
disclose any such conviction or disciplinary action, regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary 
action, including, but not limited to, payment of a civil penalty. 

 
Answer each of the following questions and complete the information requested.  All ‘yes’ responses MUST be explained 
in detail and you must submit the requested documentation. 
 
NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that results in conviction or license discipline, you are 

required to report such actions to the Investigative Unit within 30 days http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/reg_invest-p.aspx 
or by telephone at 402-471-0175. 

 

# Question Yes No Type of Crime or Licensure Action Date of Action 
Name of Court/Entity 

Taking action 

1 Have you ever 
been convicted 
of a 
misdemeanor or 
felony? 
 
 

□ 

 

 

□ 

 

 

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

  

2 Do you currently 
have any 
charges pending 
which may result 
in a felony or 
misdemeanor 
conviction? 

□ 

 

 

□ 

 

 

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
If you answered YES to the questions above and have not previously submitted documentation, you must request the following 
documents be sent directly to this office: 

 A list of any misdemeanor or felony convictions;  

 A CERTIFIED copy of the Court Record, which includes charges and disposition; 

 Explanation from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions you 
have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions; 

 All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol related offense 
and if treatment was obtained and/or required;  

 A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status 

 
Not submitting all pertinent documentation can significantly delay issuance of your license. 
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The following questions relate to a credential that you hold or have held in health services, health-related 
services or environmental services in Nebraska or another jurisdiction. 
 

# Question Yes No  

3 Do you hold or have 
you held a license 
that was issued by 
Nebraska, another 
State, or jurisdiction 
to provide health 
care services, health 
related services or 
environmental 
services? 

□ 

 

 

 

□ 

 

 

 

If yes, where are you licensed or 
have been licensed? 
 

What type of license do you hold or have 
held? 

 
 

 

 
 

 

4 Have any of the 
licenses listed above  
ever been denied, 
refused renewal, 
limited, suspended, 
revoked or had other 
disciplinary 
measures taken 
against it? 

□ 

 

 

 

□ 

 

 

 

Type of Licensure Action 
 

Date of Action 
 

Name of Entity 
taking Action 

 
 

  

 
 

  

   

5  Are there any 
disciplinary charges 
pending against any 
health profession 
license? 

□ 

 

□ 

 

Please Explain: 
 

6 Have you ever been 
denied the right to 
take an examination? 

□ 

 

□ 

 

Please Explain: 
 
 

 
If you answered YES to #4, #5, or #6, you must request the following documents be sent directly to this office, unless the 
state is Nebraska: 

 Certification of your license in each state that you hold or have held a license  

 Official Documents from the State Board in which the disciplinary action was taken  
 

SECTION E – LICENSE ELIGIBILITY INFORMATION.  You must hold a current license as a Registered Nurse in 

Nebraska or hold a multi-state RN license from another compact state under the Nurse Compact Act.   

 
State: 

  
RN License #: 

 

If your primary state of residence is a compact state other than Nebraska and you have a multi-state RN license in that state, please 
purchase a verification report at www.nursys.com and include a copy of the receipt with your application.  If your primary state of 
residence is a non-compact state, you must apply for RN licensure in Nebraska. 

 

SECTION F – NATIONAL CERTIFICATION.  You must have successfully passed or be scheduled to take a national 
certifying examination to qualify for licensure in Nebraska. Verification of current national certification, or authorization to 
test must be submitted from the national certifying organization. 

Name of Certifying 
Organization: 

 

Name of Examination:  
 

Date Scheduled/Year of 
Examination 

 

Certification No.  
 

 
. 
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I have practiced a minimum of 2000 hours as a nurse practitioner. 
 

NOTE: If NO, you will need to submit a Transition to Practice Agreement before you can 
practice as an APRN-Nurse Practitioner.  

 
YES _____  NO ______ 

 

 
 
YES _____  NO ______ 

 

 
I have current Professional Liability Insurance OR  I have a binding agreement that Professional 
Liability insurance will be effective on the date that I have been issued an APRN-Nurse 
Practitioner license.  
 

NOTE: You may be asked to provide documentation 

 
 
YES _____  NO ______ 

  
 

Have you completed the APRN-NP educational program within the previous five years, or have 
you practiced as an APRN-NP at least 2080 hours within the previous five years?  If you answer 
NO to this question, you will need to submit a reentry plan to the APRN Board.  

 
YES _____  NO ______ 

 
 

SECTION G – PRACTICE PRIOR TO LICENSURE  

An individual who practices prior to issuance of a license is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per 
day up to $1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing the license. 

1 □       I have not practiced as an APRN-Nurse Practitioner in Nebraska without a license before submitting the            

application.  

□       I have practiced as an APRN-Nurse Practitioner in Nebraska without a license prior to submitting the 

application. 
 

2 If yes, what are the actual number of days you 
practiced in Nebraska without a license and what is 
the business name, location and telephone number of 
the practice:   

 
# of days:   

Name of Business: 
 

City: 
 

Telephone #: 
 

 
 

SECTION H – CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES REGISTRATION.  (Check one that applies.)   
 

1 
 
 □ 

 

I have enclosed a photocopy of my current Federal Controlled Substances Registration. 
 

Federal Controlled Substances Registration #: Expiration Date: 
 
 

2 
 
 

□ 

I am currently applying for a Federal Controlled Substances Registration, and will send a photocopy of 
such when I receive the registration. 

3 
 
 □ 

I do not have nor am I applying for a Federal Controlled Substances Registration and I will not be 
prescribing, administering or dispensing controlled substances in Nebraska.  I understand that at such 
time that I do intend to prescribe, administer or dispense controlled substances in Nebraska, I will first 
need to have a Federal Controlled Substances Registration issued to me.  At that time, I am to supply a 
photocopy of the registration to the State of Nebraska. 
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SECTION I – ATTESTATION    

 

 
 

Attestation:  For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below): 
 

I attest that  

□  I am a citizen of the United States; or 

□  I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act. 

□  I am a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States.. 

 

□ Check this box if you are not a citizen of the United States nor a qualified alien or nonimmigrant under the Federal Immigration and 

Nationality Act.  
 
You may still be eligible for a credential if you provide a photocopy of your unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) 
and evidence of one of the following: 
 

a. Approved deferred action status (DACA); 
b. A pending application for asylum in the United States; 
c. A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or 
d. A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United 

             States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States. 
 

 
Alien or Non-Immigrant Status:  If you are a qualified alien lawfully admitted into the United States OR a non-immigrant lawfully present 

in the United States, you must submit evidence of lawful presence which may include a copy of: 
 
1. A “Green Card” otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card; or 

2. An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport; or 

3. A document showing an Alien Registration Number (“A#”), an Employment Authorization Card/Document is NOT acceptable; or 

4. A Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record). 

 

If you are an Alien or Non-Immigrant, your credential will NOT be issued until such proof is received by our office and your documents are 

verified by our office through the Department of Homeland Security.  This process may take four to six weeks. 

 

Criminal Background Check Notification:  Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-131, an applicant for an initial license to practice a 

profession which is authorized to prescribe controlled substances shall be subject to a criminal background check.  I understand that I am 
able to receive any national criminal history record that may pertain to me directly from the FBI, pursuant to 28 CFR Sections 16.30-16.34, 
and that I could then freely disclose any such information to whomever I choose.  By signing this application, it is my intent to authorize 
the dissemination of any national criminal history record that may pertain to me to the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) 
with whom I am applying for licensure. I understand that I am entitled to challenge the accuracy and completeness of any information 
contained in any such report, and that you will provide me a copy of the criminal history background report, if any, you receive on me if I 
appear at the DHHS in person and present proper identification.  Information on how to challenge your federal report can be found at 
FBI.gov.  To challenge your Nebraska state record, contact the Nebraska State Patrol-Criminal Identification Division.  I may obtain a 
prompt determination as to the validity of my challenge before you make a final decision about my application for licensure.   

 

 
Application Attestation:  I further attest that:    

       
1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me;   
2. All statements on the application are true and complete;  
3. I am of good character; and 
4. I have not committed any act that would be grounds for denial under 38-178 and/or 38-179.  If you have committed an  
            act(s), you must provide an explanation of all such act(s).  

 
 
 
 
_________________________                  _______________________ 

(Signature of Applicant)                                                    (Date)  

 
 

          
The Department has up to 150 days to act upon an application. After this deadline, any incomplete applications will be destroyed and 
a refund will be issued following written notification to the applicant. 
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 Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services System 
Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit 
PO Box 94986  Lincoln, NE  68509-4986 

(402) 471-4376 or fax (402) 742-2360 
 
Advance Practice Licensure verification: Please use this form to contact the state where you were originally licensed as a Nurse 
Practitioner for official verification of your license. THIS FORM ONLY APPLIES TO APPLICANTS WHO ARE ALREADY LICENSED 
AS A NURSE PRACTITIONER IN ANOTHER STATE. THIS DOES NOT APPLY TO NEW GRADUATES. 

 
PART 1: Complete Part 1 of form and forward to the ORIGINAL board of licensure DO NOT SEND TO NEBRASKA ADVANCED 
PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSING BOARD 

 

 
 

Name (Last, First, Middle, Maiden)   Previous Name (s) 
 
 

Current Address     City, State, Zip 
 
 

Date of Birth  (mo/day/yr)      Social Security Number  APRN License #  Date Issued  State   
 
 

Nursing Education Program Completed   Location  (state) Graduation Date 
 
 
I hereby authorize ___________________ Board of Nursing to release my licensure data to the Nebraska APRN Board.      
 
 
Signature       Date      
 
 

 
PART 2: To be completed by ORIGINAL state of licensure and forwarded to NEBRASKA ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED 
NURSING BOARD 

 
This is to certify that the above named individual was issued license number    Date issued    
 
To practice as: ____Nurse Practitioner                   ____ Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist  
 
                             ____Certified Nurse Midwife          _____Clinical Nurse Specialist      
  
Current Licensure Status:  ___ Active          ___Inactive          ___Lapsed     _________ Expiration Date 
      
                
Has this license ever been encumbered (denied, revoked, suspended, limited, placed on probation)? 
 
If yes please explain               
 
 
Signature________________________________________________ 
 
Title ____________________________________________________                                  seal 
 

State______________________   Date________________________ 
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Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services 
 Division of Public Health 

Licensure Unit, PO Box 94986 
Lincoln NE 68509-4986 

(402) 471-2666   Fax (402) 742-2360 
 

TRANSITION TO PRACTICE AGREEMENT 
 

 
Nurse Practitioner Name       Phone (H)   (W)   
 
Address         Nurse Practitioner License #      
 

          Specialty      
 
Supervising Provider Name        Phone        
 
Address          License Type and #     
 

          Specialty      
 
The above named parties have developed this Transition to Practice Agreement and agree to the following:  The Nurse 
Practitioner and supervising provider shall practice collaboratively within the framework of their respective scopes of 
practice; and 
 

1. The Nurse Practitioner and supervising provider shall practice collaboratively within the framework of their 
respective scopes of practice; and 

2. The Nurse Practitioner and supervising provider shall be responsible for his or her individual decisions in 
managing the health care of patients; and 

3. The Nurse Practitioner and supervising provider shall have joint responsibility for patient care based upon the 
scope of practice of each practitioner; and 

4. The supervising provider shall be responsible for supervision through ready availability for consultation and 
direction of the activities of the Nurse Practitioner within the Nurse Practitioner’s defined scope of practice to 
ensure the quality of health care provided to patients. 

5. The supervising provider and the Nurse Practitioner have a duty to notify the Department upon termination of this  
Agreement. 

 

Nurse Practitioner 
 
I       attest that I am the person referred to in this Transition to Practice Agreement as 
an Nurse Practitioner (NP) in the State of Nebraska; that the statements here in are true to the best of my knowledge and 
belief; and that I have read and understand the agreement. 
 

Signature                   Date       
  Nurse Practitioner 
 

Supervising Provider 
 
I                                                               attest that I am the person referred to in this Transition to Practice Agreement as 
the supervising provider and that the statements herein are true to the best of my knowledge and belief; and that I have 
read and understand the agreement.  
 

 I am a Nurse Practitioner who has completed 10,000 hours of practice as a Nurse Practitioner in Nebraska or 
another jurisdiction. 

 I am a Physician licensed in the State of Nebraska. 
 

Signature                                                                                          Date                                                                  
  Supervising Provider 
 
NOTE: It is your responsibility to notify the Department in writing when you have practiced 2,000 hours as a nurse practitioner. 
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