Nebraska Swimming Pool Operator Certification

Conducted by
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health (DHHS),
and the Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department (LLCHD)


Every Class A (municipality type pool) swimming pool shall be under the immediate supervision of a Nebraska swimming pool operator who shall be held responsible for compliance with all provisions of the regulations relating to equipment, pool operation and maintenance, and the safety of the bathers.  Every Class B (motel, hotel, apartment type pool) and Class F (fitness facility type pool) swimming pool must have a Nebraska swimming pool operator available (within 60 minutes of the facility).  The certified operator must supervise the operation of the facility to ensure safe water, both from a physical and bacterial standpoint.  Daily records of the pool operation including attendance, chemicals used, disinfectant residuals, pH, equipment maintenance, and accidents, must be maintained.

The swimming pool operator class and examination, which is open notes and consists of 50 questions, takes about 6 hours to complete.  The class and examination are administered and proctored by the DHHS or the Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department.  A certificate is valid for 2 years.

The first Monday of each month from July to February, the DHHS and the Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department will conduct a pool operator class.  Individuals MUST pre-register to attend the class, except at Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department location.  Please contact the appropriate office below based on your county location.

Grand Island Office | Phone:  308-390-0336 (Adams, Buffalo, Franklin, Garfield, Greeley, Hall, Hamilton, Howard, Kearney, Merrick, Nance, Phelps, Sherman, Valley, Webster, Wheeler)

Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department | Phone:  402-441-8146 (Burt, Butler, Cass, Clay, Colfax, Dodge, Douglas, Fillmore, Gage, Jefferson, Johnson, Lancaster, Nemaha, Nuckolls, Otoe, Pawnee, Platte, Polk, Richardson, Saline, Sarpy, Saunders, Seward, Thayer, Washington, York)

Norfolk Office | Phone:  402-649-5263 (Antelope, Boone, Boyd, Cedar, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Holt, Knox, Madison, Pierce, Stanton, Thurston, Wayne)

North Platte Office | Phone: 308-530-3329 (Blaine, Brown, Cherry, Custer, Dawson, Dundy, Frontier, Gosper, Harlan, Hayes, Hitchcock, Hooker, Keya Paha, Lincoln, Logan, Loup, McPherson, Red Willow, Rock, Thomas)

Scottsbluff Office | Phone:  308-436-6948 or 308-631-2475 (Arthur, Banner, Box Butte, Chase, Cheyenne, Dawes, Deuel, Garden, Grant, Keith, Kimball, Perkins, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, Sioux)

If you have a current pool operator’s certificate from the National Swimming Pool Foundation, the Aquatic Facility Operator Certificate approved by the National Recreation and Park Association, the Licensed Aquatic Facility Technician Course by the American Swimming Pool and Spa Association or an equivalent certificate, it is not necessary to also be certified under the Nebraska Swimming Pool Act.

Fees:  $40.00 for DHHS classes and $60.00 for LLCHD classes.  Payment is required the day of the class.  You will not be allowed to take the exam unless payment is made the day of the class. We cannot accept credit card payments.  Payment must be made by check or cash.

General Information
For questions regarding the status of your DHHS issued certificate (Certificate Lookup), please contact Patti Owens or Claire Covert-Bybee at 402-471-2299Click here to change request a name or address change or a duplicate certificate.

For questions concerning a LLCHD issued certificate, please call 402-441-8146


Contact Information
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Public Health
Swimming Pool Program
PO Box 95026
Lincoln NE  68509-5026
Phone:  402-471-0546


Swimming Pool Program Page
Environmental Health Page