bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Applications
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Board Information
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Brochures
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Certification/Verification
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Complaints
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Contact Information
     Contact Us
     Other Contacts
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Continuing Education
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Duplicates/Reissue
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Examination Requirements
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Fees
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) License Lookup
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Licensee Assistance Program
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Listings and Labels
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Name and Address Change
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Reinstatement
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Renewal Information
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Requirements for Licensure
bullturk.gif (1392 bytes) Regulations
Statutes

Athletic Training
Requirements for Licensure

To qualify for licensure based on education you must submit:

  1. A completed pdf iconapplication;
  2. Licensure fee;
  3. Evidence of being at least 19 years of age (i.e.: driver’s license, birth certificate, marriage license, school transcript, US State ID card, Military ID, or similar documentation);
  4. An official transcript (official means issued and sealed by the issuing institution) showing graduation from a college or university accredited by the Joint Review Committee on Educational Programs in Athletic Training (JRC-AT) of the National Athletic Trainers Association, Inc., in collaboration with the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) or equivalent, with completion of the athletic training education program requirements; or
  5. An official transcript showing graduation from a college or university accredited by North Central Association of Colleges and Schools with a 4-year degree and documentation of completion of at least 2 consecutive years of student athletic training, military duty excepted. The form used to verify student athletic training is incorporated with the application;

Student Athletic Training must:

  • Have been completed under the supervision of an athletic trainer who was licensed in Nebraska or who met Nebraska licensure requirements at the time the student athletic training was performed;
  • Have occurred at an educational institution, professional athletic organization, or an amateur athletic organization where the supervising athletic trainer and student athletic trainer were performing athletic training activities;
  • Have included the presence of the supervising athletic trainer at the site where the student trainer was performing athletic training activities; and
  • Have required that the supervising athletic trainer completed regular evaluations of the student athletic trainer’s performance to include review of physical modalities to assure the proper techniques were being utilized; and
  1. Official documentation of passing the Board of Certification Examination. Scores must be sent directly from the Board of Certification, Inc, You may contact them at www.bocatc.org
  2. Citizenship, lawful permanent residence, and/or immigration status Information: You must submit a copy of at least one of the following documents:

    (1) A U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired);

    (2) A birth certificate issued by a state, county, municipal authority or outlying possession of the United States bearing an official seal;

    (3) An American Indian Card (I-872);

    (4) A Certificate of Naturalization (N-550 or N-570);

    (5) A Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561);

    (6) Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350);

    (7) A Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of America (FS-240);

    (8) Certification of Birth Abroad (FS-545 or DS-1350);

    (9) A United States Citizen Identification Card (I-197 or I-179);

    (10) A Northern Mariana Card (I-873);

    (11) An Alien Registration Receipt Card (Form I-551, otherwise known as a “Green Card”);

    (12) An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport;

    (13) A document showing an Alien Registration Number (“A#”) with Visa status;

    (14) A Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) with Visa status.

  3. Conviction Information: If you have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, you must submit:

    (a) A copy of the court record, which includes charges and disposition;

    (b) Explanation from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions you have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions;

    (c) All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; and

    (d) A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on probation;

  4. Other Credentialing Info: If you hold or have held a credential to provide health services, health-related services, or environmental services in Nebraska or in another jurisdiction, you must have the licensing agency submit to the Department a certification of your credential;

To qualify for licensure based on reciprocity from another state you must submit:

  1. A completed pdf icon application;
  2. Licensure fee;
  3. Evidence of at least 19 years of age (i.e.: driver’s license, birth certificate, marriage license, school transcript, US State ID card, Military ID, or similar documentation);
  4. A certification that the applicant is duly licensed or certified, that his/her license or certificate has never been suspended or revoked, and that so far as the record of the agency is concerned, the applicant is entitled to its endorsement. The form to send to the licensing or certifying agency is included in the application.

    In addition, if the jurisdiction does not provide the examination and education information on their certification, you must submit the following:

  1. An official transcript (official means issued and sealed by the issuing institution) showing graduation from a college or university accredited by the Joint Review Committee on Educational Programs in Athletic Training (JRC-AT) of the National Athletic Trainers Association, Inc., in collaboration with the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) or equivalent, with completion of the athletic training curriculum requirements; and
  2. Official documentation of passing the BOC Exam, sent directly from BOC.
  3. Citizenship, lawful permanent residence, and/or immigration status Information: You must submit a copy of at least one of the following documents:

    (1) A U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired);

    (2) A birth certificate issued by a state, county, municipal authority or outlying possession of the United States bearing an official seal;

    (3) An American Indian Card (I-872);

    (4) A Certificate of Naturalization (N-550 or N-570);

    (5) A Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561);

    (6) Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350);

    (7) A Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of America (FS-240);

    (8) Certification of Birth Abroad (FS-545 or DS-1350);

    (9) A United States Citizen Identification Card (I-197 or I-179);

    (10) A Northern Mariana Card (I-873);

    (11) An Alien Registration Receipt Card (Form I-551, otherwise known as a “Green Card”);

    (12) An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport;

    (13) A document showing an Alien Registration Number (“A#”) with Visa status;

    (14) A Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) with Visa status.

  4. Conviction Information: If you have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, you must submit:

    (a) A copy of the court record, which includes charges and disposition;

    (b) Explanation from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions you have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions;

    (c) All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; and

    (d) A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on probation;

  5. Other Credentialing Info: If you hold or have held a credential to provide health services, health-related services, or environmental services in Nebraska or in another jurisdiction, you must have the licensing agency submit to the Department a certification of your credential;

crl divider

Professions and Occupations Home

Licensure Unit Home

Documents in PDF PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader
which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.