ball green RN/LPN Home Page
ball green Advisory Opinions
ball green Brochures
ball green Certification/Verification
ball green Complaints
ball green Contact Us
ball green Delegation Decision Tree
ball green Duplicates/Reissue
ball green Foreign Educated Nurses
ball green Licensee Assistance Program
ball green Licensing Information
     Continuing Ed
     Education Prgms
     Exam Info
     License Lookup
     License Requirement    
ball green Licensure
by Endorsement
by Examination
ball green Name/Address Change
ball green NCLEX®  review
ball green Nurse License Compact Act
ball green Nursing News
ball green Listings
ball green Philosophy of Discipline
ball green Practice Defined
- IV Activities
- Scope of Practice Decision Tree
ball green Refresher Course
ball green Regulations
ball green Unprofessional Conduct

Registered Nurse/Licensed Practical Nurse
Refresher Course

Applicants for licensure by endorsement, renewal, or reinstatement who have not practiced as a nurse for 500 hours within the past 5 years or who have not graduated within the past 5 years must take a refresher course in order to meet the continued competence requirement for licensure. A Board approved refresher course (see below) must consist of a least 45 contact hours of theory and at least 30 contact hours of clinical. Nurses wishing to design their own course of study should contact:

Teresa Roddy, MSN, RN, Nursing Education Consultant
PO Box 94986
Lincoln NE 68509
(402) 471-4917

Prior to participating in the clinical portion of a refresher course, a nurse must have a temporary permit.

The following is a list of refresher courses approved by the Nebraska Board of Nursing. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact our office at (402) 471-4376.  

Clarkson College
(Home Study Modules with Faculty Supervised Clinical Experience in Omaha)
101 South 42nd Street
Omaha, NE 68131-2739
Contact: Judi Dunn RN, BSN, MS
Phone # (402) 552-6123
1-800-647-5500 ext  6123
Nebraska Methodist College
(RN  Refresher Course, Home Study Modules, Supervised Clinical Experience in Omaha)
720 N 87th St
Omaha NE 68114
Contact: Jillian  Plymesser, BSN, RN
Phone: (402) 354-7129
South Dakota State University
(Home Study Program)
SDSU Continuing Nursing Education
P.O. Box 2275, SWG 207 
Brookings, SD 57007-0098
Contact: Sandy Malone, Program Assistant or Rebecca Randall, EdD, RN, Course Coordinator
Phone # (605) 688-5745 or
(888)216-9806 option 5
Keyword: Fields of Study
Southeast Comm. College, Lincoln Campus
(Classroom Program)
8800 ‘O’ Street
Lincoln, NE 68520-1299
Contact: Janette Walsh, RN, BSN
Phone # (402) 437-2706
Western Nebraska Community College
(Classroom Program, for LPNs only)
1601 E. 27th Street
Scottsbluff, NE 69361-1899 OR
1750 Sweetwater, Suite 102
Alliance, NE 69301
Contact: Anne Hippe, RN, MSN
Phone # (308) 635-3606 Ext 6060

crl divider 

Professions and Occupations Home

Licensure Unit Home

Documents in PDF PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader

which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.