Registered Nurse/Licensed Practical Nurse
Licensure by Endorsement
Licensure by endorsement means the granting of active status and the authority to practice to an individual who has been licensed in another jurisdiction.
You must have a Nebraska license or temporary permit, or a multi-state privilege from a compact state prior to commencing practice as a nurse in Nebraska.
To qualify for licensure by endorsement in Nebraska, you must:
- Be of good moral character;
- Have completed the basic curriculum and graduated from an approved program of practical or registered nursing for LPN licensure or registered nursing for RN licensure;
- Proof of Age/Citizenship
- Be currently or previously licensed in another state or jurisdiction;
- Meet one of the following practice requirements for continued competence:
- Graduated from an approved nursing program within the previous two years; or
- Practiced nursing for a minimum of 500 hours within the previous five years; or
- Completed a review course of study within the previous five years; and
- Have taken and passed the NCLEX ® or the State Board Test Pool Examination (SBTPE).
To apply for licensure by endorsement, you must submit the following:
- An official transcript showing graduation; and
- Certification of having passed the NCLEX or SBTBE from the applicant’s original jurisdiction of licensure.
! NEW LICENSURE REQUIREMENT FOR RNs and LPNs:
LB 129 passed this last legislative session requiring criminal background checks for all initial RN and LPN applicants. The law becomes effective August 30, 2015. This includes licensure by exam or by endorsement. If you are applying for an initial RN or LPN license and anticipate taking the NCLEX and receiving your license after August 30, you will be required to have a criminal background check. If you are applying for licensure by endorsement and anticipate being licensed after August 30, you will be required to have a criminal background check. To accomplish this, you will need to have your fingerprints taken at a Nebraska State Patrol Office or other law enforcement agency. The Nebraska State Patrol has obtained authorization from the Federal Bureau of Investigations to conduct the background checks for nurses. You may now make an appointment with a Nebraska State Patrol Office to have your fingerprints taken (see link above to Criminal Background Check Information). HOWEVER, the Nebraska State Patrol cannot process the criminal background checks until after August 30.
Please be aware that standard processing time is 8-10 weeks for the fingerprint background check. Please REFRAIN FROM CONTACTING THE STATE PATROL REGARDING THE STATUS OF PRINTS.
Please be patient as we begin this new process.
Nurses currently licensed in another state or jurisdiction may be issued a temporary permit pending completion of application for Nebraska licensure. An applicant must have submitted an application, paid the fee, proof of age/citizenship, and submit verification of active license in another state. The temporary permit is issued for 60 days.
Nurses currently or previously licensed in another state or jurisdiction who have not graduated within the past 2 years or who have not practiced nursing for at least 500 hours within the 5 years immediately preceding the date of application may be issued a temporary permit for purposes of taking a refresher course. An applicant must have submitted an application, paid the fee, and be enrolled in a refresher course.
Continued Competence Requirements for Licensure by Endorsement
All applicants for licensure by endorsement in Nebraska must have graduated within the previous 2 years or practiced a minimum of 500 hours within the previous 5 years. An applicant for licensure by endorsement who can not meet the graduation or practice requirement must take a review course of study. Applicants who have obtained licensure by endorsement will be required to have completed 20 contact hours of continuing education within the previous two years in order to qualify for renewal.
Under the terms of the Nurse License Compact Act, applicants for licensure by endorsement who have a multi-state privilege from a compact state and who plan to declare Nebraska as their primary state of residence may practice on their multi-state privilege from the other compact state for 30 days while their application is being processed. At the end of 30 days, the nurse must have obtained either a Nebraska temporary permit or nursing license.