ball green Certified Nurse Midwife Page
ball green Applications
ball green Board Information
ball green Brochures
ball green Certification/Verification
ball green Complaints
ball green Contact Us
ball green Continuing Education
ball green Duplicate/Reissue
ball green Examination Requirements
ball green Fees
ball green License Lookup
     License Information System
ball green Licensee Assistance Program
ball green Listings
ball green Name and Address Change
ball green Nursing News
ball green Procedures to Apply for Certification
ball green Renewal Information
ball green Requirements for Certification
ball green Requirements for Practice
ball green Regulations
Statutes
ball green Unprofessional Conduct

Certified Nurse Midwife
Renewal Information

All CNM certifications issued by the Department expire on October 31st of each even-numbered year. To renew a certification, the applicant must submit the renewal notice attesting to having met the requirements of continued competency, pay the renewal fee of $68 dollars, and have an active Nebraska RN license or a multi-state license from a compact state. CNMs who fail to renew their certification by October 31st will automatically have their state certification placed on expired status and will need to apply for reinstatement.

The continued competence requirements the CNM must meet are as follows:

  • Submission of a letter of reference from a licensed practitioner or CNM that the renewal applicant is currently competent to practice as a CNM, and the referencing licensed practitioner or CNM bases such statement on observance by that licensed practitioner or CNM of the applicant’s practice of at least 850 hours of practice as a CNM within the previous 2 years, or
  • Submission of a letter of reference from a licensed practitioner or CNM that the applicant is currently competent to practice as a CNM, and the referencing licensed practitioner or CNM bases such statement on observance by that licensed practitioner or CNM of the applicant’s practice of at least 2080 hours of practice as a CNM within the previous 5 years,

Applicants who are graduates within the previous two years are not required to provide further evidence of competence. CNMs do not have a continuing education requirement for Nebraska Certification.

 

crl divider

Professions and Occupations Home 

Licensure Unit Home

Documents in PDF PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.