ball green Certified Nurse Midwife Page
ball green Applications
ball green Board Information
ball green Brochures
ball green Certification/Verification
ball green Complaints
ball green Contact Us
ball green Continuing Education
ball green Duplicate/Reissue
ball green Examination Requirements
ball green Fees
ball green License Lookup
     License Information System
ball green Licensee Assistance Program
ball green Listings
ball green Name and Address Change
ball green Nursing News
ball green Procedures to Apply for Certification
ball green Renewal Information
ball green Requirements for Certification
ball green Requirements for Practice
ball green Regulations
Statutes
ball green Unprofessional Conduct

Certified Nurse Midwife
Procedures to Apply for Certification

To apply for certification, you must submit the following:

  1. PDF File Application and Criminal Background Check Information.
  2. Fee: See fee schedule on application.
  3. Official Transcript. Transcripts must be submitted directly from the institution where you completed your nurse midwifery course of study. The institution may charge a fee for this service.
  4. National Certification. Verification of having passed the certifying examination and verification of current national certification from the ACNM Certification Council, Inc (ACC). If you are a new graduate, please make arrangements for the examination results to be sent to our office.
  5. Active RN Licensure Verification . If active RN licensure is in Nebraska, no action is required to meet this requirement. If your primary state of residence under the PDF File Nurse License Compact Act is Nebraska and your Nebraska RN license is inactive or lapsed, you must reinstate your Nebraska RN license. If your primary state of residence is a compact state other than Nebraska and you have a multi-state RN license in that state, please refer to the instructions for verification at https://www.nursys.com. If your primary state of residence is a compact state and you have a multi-state RN license in that state and it is not covered by NURSYS, please contact the state directly for PDF File Verification of Primary State. If your primary state of residence is a non-compact state, you must apply for RN licensure in Nebraska.

Primary state of residence, under the PDF File Nurse Licensure Compact Act, means that it is your declared fixed permanent and principal home for legal purposes and is your domicile. Indicators of a domicile include, but are not limited to, where real property is located, where the person pays state taxes, votes, is licensed to operate a motor vehicle, etc.

Temporary Permits. A temporary permit, as part of the licensure process, may be issued to:

  1. Graduates pending results of the first Licensure Unit examination following graduation if a written test is given and for 60 days when computerized testing is offered;
  2. Applicants, for 120 days, who are lawfully authorized to practice in an advanced role in another state pending completion of the application process; or
  3. Applicants, who meet all of the criteria for certification as a CNM except the continued competency requirements and who require a reentry program or supervised practice.

To apply for a temporary permit as a new graduate, you must submit the following:

  1. PDF File Application and Criminal Background Check Information; Application fee: See fee schedule on application;
  2. Official Transcript or a letter attesting to completion from the program chair from your nurse midwifery program indicating completion;
  3. Verification from the ACNM Certification Council, Inc (ACC) that you are seated for the first certifying examination following graduation (a copy of your authorization will meet this requirement) or a copy of your authorization to test when computerized testing is offered.
  4. If RN licensure is other than Nebraska, verification of active multi-state RN license/temporary permit from another compact state. A notarized copy of your RN license/temporary permit will meet this requirement for purposes of a temporary permit.
  5. To apply for a temporary permit, if you have current advanced practice licensure/recognition in another state, you must submit the following:

    1. PDF File Application and Criminal Background Check Information (Call Angela at (402) 471-4376 for an application);
    2. Application fee: See fee schedule on application;
    3. A notarized copy of advanced practice licensure/recognition in another state; and
    4. If RN licensure is other than Nebraska, verification of active RN multi-state license/temporary permit from another compact state. A notarized copy of your RN license/temporary permit will meet this requirement for purposes of a temporary permit.

      To apply for a temporary permit if you have not graduated or practiced within the past 5 years and need to take a reentry program or complete supervised practice, you must submit:

      1. PDF File Application and Criminal Background Check Information;
      2. Application fee: See fee schedule on application;
      3. An Official Transcript;
      4. Verification that you are registered for a reentry program or have made arrangements for supervised practice; and
      5. If RN licensure is other than Nebraska, verification of active RN multi-state license/temporary permit from another compact state. A notarized copy of your RN license/temporary permit will meet this requirement for purposes of a temporary permit.

        You must have either a License or Temporary Permit Prior to Practicing.

        Once your credentials begin arriving in our office you have 60 days to complete your  
        PDF File Application and Criminal Background Check Information (Call Angela at (402) 471-4376 for an application). After that time an incomplete application file will be discarded.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          crl divider

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Professions and Occupations Home 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Licensure Unit Home

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Documents in PDF PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.