EXAMINATION INFORMATION

Testing Format: The examination will be administered in 2 formats and the applicant will determine the method s/he wishes to test, either computer based or pencil/paper.

To assist you in determining which format to take the examination, refer to the following application processes:

COMPUTER BASED  


LaserGrade will administer the computer-based examination at sites in Nebraska in the cities of Kearney, Lincoln, Omaha, and Sidney, as well as other locations throughout the United States.

  1. To apply for the examination, you must submit to the Department:
    1. A complete application for a license
    2. The request pdf icon form to take the computer based format
    3. The licensure fee of $41.00 or $42.00 as stated on application
    4. All required documents (includes information regarding convictions and requests for accommodations for testing in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act).
  2. When the department determines that your application is acceptable, we will send you an authorization letter advising that you are eligible to take the test and we will also provide the phone number and web site address to contact LaserGrade in order to schedule your test date and the city where you wish to test. Authorization to take the test expires on the date stated in the letter.
  3. You must contact LaserGrade within the authorization period, to schedule a test date and location. You must also pay the $70.00 fee for the computer-based test either by:
    1. Credit card at the time of the phone call; or
    2. Check or money order. If paying by check/money order you must send $70.00 to LaserGrade. Once LaserGrade receives the money, you can then schedule the examination date and testing location.
  1. You will be given same day results, however, the testing company will send an official score report to the Department. Within 5-10 days from receipt of the official score report, the Department will notify applicants of licensure or denial.
  2. Applicant’s who are not successful in passing the examination will be sent a new authorization letter when they reapply and they will be required to again pay the $70.00 fee for the computer based test.

PENCIL AND PAPER

  1. To apply for the examination, you must submit to the Department:
    1. The complete application for a license
    2. The request pdf icon form to take the pencil/paper test format
    3. The licensure fee of $41.00 or $42.00 as stated on the application
    4. The examination fee of $12.50
    5. All required documents (includes information regarding convictions and requests for accommodations for testing in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act).
  2. Complete applications must be postmarked on or before the deadline date (15 days before the scheduled examination).
  3. Examinations will be administered in Lincoln, Nebraska (State Office Building) only once a month on the following dates in 2004:
Examination Date Deadline Examination Date Deadline
January 12 January 5 July 12 June 26
February 9 January 24 August 9, July 24
March 8 February 21 September 13 August 28
April 12 March 27 October 18 October 2
May 10 April 24 November 8 October 23
June 14 May 29 December 13 November 27
  1. Individuals unable to attend on the scheduled date or failing the examination will be advised how to reapply. A new admission letter will be sent to the applicant when they reapply.

CHANGING TESTING FORMATS:

An individual who took the test in the pencil paper format and failed may request the computer based format when they reapply for examination; as well as an individual who took the test in the computer based format may request the pencil paper format when they reapply for examination.

TEMPORARY LICENSES:

Individuals making initial application for a license by examination in either format may also apply for a temporary license. The temporary license expires for the following reasons (whichever comes first):

  1. Individual does not take the next scheduled test
  2. Upon receipt of examination results
  3. Upon the date of expiration stated on their temporary license
  4. Upon changing salons

IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS:

Any questions you have regarding the examination or information contained in this memorandum, should be directed to Carol Ann Gray at the HHS R&L Licensing & Regulatory Affairs Division, (402) 471-4920.

Cosmetology Page

Electrology Page

Esthetician Page

Mental Health and Consumer Services Page

Licensure Unit Page