BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) 12 Core Functions and 46 Global Criteria
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Alcohol and Drug Counseling Page
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Applications
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Board Information
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Brochures
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Certification/Verification
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Complaints
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Contact Us
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Continuing Education
  2012
  2013
  2014
  Home Study
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Education for Initial Licensure
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Examinations
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Fees
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) License Lookup
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Licensee Assistance Program
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) License Requirements (LADC)
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Listings and Labels
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Map of Licensees by County pdficon.gif (134 bytes)
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Name/Address Changes
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Provisional License Requirements (PLADC)
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Reinstatement
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Reissue
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Regulations
Statutes
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Training
     To renew a license
BurgandyBall.jpg (1005 bytes) Supervisor Training 
    Psychologist
    Physician

Alcohol and Drug Counseling
Continuing Education

What is the requirement?

On or before September 1 of each even numbered year, each licensee must complete 40 hours of continuing education during the preceding 24-month period.  

At least 20 hours of continuing education must be alcohol and drug specific.  (All 40 hours of continuing education may be alcohol and drug specific.)   Continuing education is deemed to be alcohol and drug specific if it is approved by the Department or one of the following organizations: 

  1. Addiction Technology Transfer Centers (ATTC);
  2. American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM); or
  3. National Association of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC)

A licensee may earn up to 20 hours of continuing education in activities that may not be alcohol and drug specific but must be approved by the following organizations: 

  1. American Counselors Association (ACA) or National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC);
  2. American Medical Association (AMA); Nebraska Medical Association (NMA);
  3. American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation;
  4. American Psychological Association (APA):
  5. National Association of Social Workers (NASW);
  6. American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists (AAMFT); or
  7. Nebraska Nurses Association (NNA). 

Per renewal period, a licensee may earn: 

  1. A total of 15 hours of continuing education through home study programs.
  2. A total of 10 hours of continuing education through research.  This must be a peer review environment by either poster session or publications.
  3. A total of 15 hours of continuing education as the presenter of an approved continuing education programs.  Hours will not be granted for repeat presentations within the same biennial.   

Where can the list of Department-approved alcohol and drug specific continuing education be found?

Department approved continuing education can be found on this website under Continuing Education.

Where can the Applications for Approval of Continuing Education for Alcohol and Drug Counselors be found?

The Applications to obtain Department approval of alcohol and drug specific continuing education can be found on this website under Applications.   

  1. The program provider/sponsor/organization must submit the application to the Department. 
  2. A licensed alcohol and drug counselor may submit an application if the program is presented outside the State of Nebraska or for a college/university credit course.
  3. If the program provider/sponsor/organization has not submitted an application to the Department within 30 days prior to the occurrence of a program, a licensed alcohol and drug counselor may submit an application.  

Post-Program Approval: 

  1. Application for approval may be submitted after the program has occurred.
  2. Licensees assume the risk that a program may not be approved when they attend a training program that has not been approved by the Department prior to the program’s occurrence.
  3. Training that has not been approved 30 days prior to the receipt of a licensee’s renewal application will not count towards that licensee’s renewal.

Supervisor Training Relating to Psychologists and Physicians

Practical Training Supervisor - 300 hours of practical training (internship/practicum):

The practical training supervisor may be a physician or psychologist licensed under the Uniform Credentialing Act, or an equivalent credential from another jurisdiction (if the hours were earned in another state), and sufficient training as determined by the Board of Medicine and Surgery for physicians or the Board of Psychologists for psychologists, in consultation with the Board of Alcohol and Drug Counseling.

Psychologists - sufficient training includes at least 3 hours of training on the 12 core functions and 46 global criteria pre-approved by the Board of Psychologists.

Approved Trainers:

John Herdman, Ph.D.
Contact: Nebraska Psychological Association
Voice: 402-475-0709
Fax: 877-355-9234
Email: npa@nebpsych.org

Jerome Barry, LADC, LMHP
Contact: Bryan West 402-481-5881
Email: jerome.barry@bryanlgh.org

Physicians - sufficient training includes:

  1. Holding an American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology subspecialty certification in addiction psychiatry; or
  2. Holding an American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) certification; or
  3. Having significant work in substance abuse treatment, which includes 3 years with at least 20% of time working in the substance abuse treatment field. These physicians must maintain competency by demonstrating that at least 20% of their continuing medical education (CME) is focused on substance abuse issues.

In addition, these physician supervisors must incorporate knowledge of the 12 core functions and 46 global criteria of substance abuse counseling into the supervisory experience.

General Requirements Relating to all Supervisors:

The practical training supervisor:

  1. Must not be a family member; and
  2. Assumes responsibility for the performance of the individual in training and must be onsite at the work setting when core function activities are performed by the individual in training. (Onsite means readily accessible within the same building.)

Supervision includes:

  1. A minimum of 1 hour of evaluative face-to-face supervision for each 10 hours of core function performance must be documented.
  2. As a minimum, individual supervisory sessions, formal case staffings, and conjoint/co-therapy sessions. Supervision is to be directed towards teaching the knowledge and skills of alcohol and drug counseling.

Clinical Work Experience Supervisor - 6,000 hours

The clinical work experience supervisor may be a physician or psychologist licensed under the Uniform Licensing Law, or an equivalent credential from another jurisdiction (if the clinical work experience hours were earned in another state), and sufficient training as determined by the Board of Medicine and Surgery for physicians or the Board of Psychologists for psychologists, in consultation with the Board of Alcohol and Drug Counseling.

Physicians - sufficient training includes:

  1. Holding an American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology subspecialty certification in addiction psychiatry; or
  2. Holding an American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) certification; or
  3. Having significant work in substance abuse treatment, which includes 3 years with at least 20% of time working in the substance abuse treatment field. These physicians must maintain competency by demonstrating that at least 20% of their continuing medical education (CME) is focused on substance abuse issues.

In addition, these physician supervisors must incorporate knowledge of the 12 core functions and 46 global criteria of substance abuse counseling into the supervisory experience.

Psychologists - sufficient training includes at least 3 hours of training on the 12 core functions and 46 global criteria pre-approved by the Board of Psychologists.

Approved Trainers:

John Herdman, Ph.D.
Contact: Nebraska Psychological Association
Voice: 402-475-0709
Fax: 877-355-9234
Email: npa@nebpsych.org

Jerome Barry, LADC, LMHP
Contact: Bryan West 402-481-5881
Email: jerome.barry@bryanlgh.org

  1. A primary supervisor who is a psychologist must also hold an active license and his/her license must not have been disciplined, limited, suspended, or placed on probation at any time while holding his/her credential. If any of these actions are taken by the Department during the supervisory period, the supervisor must terminate the supervision immediately and notify the Department of said action.
  2. Only supervise, at one time, up to 4 individuals holding either a provisional psychology license, a provisional mental health practitioner license, or a provisional alcohol and drug counselor license.

General Requirements Relating to all Supervisors:

The clinical supervisor must:

  1. Be formally affiliated with the program or agency in which the work experience is gained;
  2. Not be a family member; and
  3. Provide at least 1 hour of evaluative face-to-face clinical supervision for each 40 hours of paid alcohol and drug counseling work experience. Face-to-face clinical supervision may include interactive video conferencing/phone conferencing up to 50% of the time. The format for supervision must be either one-on-one or small group. Methods of supervision must include case review and discussion, physical review of written records, and direct observation of a counselor’s clinical work.

crldivider.gif (3455 bytes)

Professions and Occupations Home

Licensure Unit Home

Documents in PDF PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader
which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.