bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Veterinarian Home Page
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Applications
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Application Procedures
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Board/Advisory Council Information
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Brochures
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Certification/Verification
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Complaints
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Contact Information
     Us
     Other Contacts
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Continuing Education
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Duplicates/Reissue
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Fees
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Grounds for Denial/Disciplining a License
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Examination Requirements
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) License Lookup
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Licensee Assistance Program
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Listings
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Name and Address Change
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Regulations and Statutes
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Renewal Information
bullred.gif (1398 bytes) Unprofessional Conduct

Veterinarians
Application Procedures

Veterinarians can be licensed by either "examination" or "reciprocity". These terms are specific to this state, so please read the definitions and requirements below.

Licensure by Examination

To qualify for licensure by examination you must:

1.   Have graduated from a school of veterinary medicine and surgery that is accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA); OR hold a certificate issued by the AVMA Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) or AAVSB Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE); and

2.   Pass the National Board Examination (NBE) with a converted score of at least 70 and the Clinical Competency Test (CCT) with a converted score of at least 70 within the last five years, OR pass the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE) with a converted score of at least 70 within the last five years. All of these examinations are administered by the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners; and

3.   Pass the Nebraska Jurisprudence Examination which relates to the statutes and regulations that govern veterinary medicine and surgery in Nebraska with an average score of at least 70; and

4.   Have good moral character and have attained at least the age of 21 years.

To apply for licensure by examination, you must submit the following:

1.   Completed application form and pdficon.gif (914 bytes)Criminal Background Check (now required for initial licensure);

2.   Fee of $250;

3.   Official transcript from an accredited school of veterinary medicine sent directly from the school OR verification of holding an AVMA ECFVG Certificate or AAVSB PAVE Certificate sent directly from the program;

4.   Official documentation of passing score obtained on the NBE OR the NAVLE, sent directly from the AAVSB Veterinary Information Verifying Agency;

5.   Official documentation of passing score obtained within the last five years on the CCT OR the NAVLE, sent directly from AAVSB Veterinary Information Verifying Agency;

6.   A completed Nebraska State Jurisprudence Examination;

7.   Verification of age, i.e., a copy of birth certificate or drivers license;

8.   Photocopy of current Federal DEA Certificate if you prescribe, administer or dispense controlled substances.

Licensure by Reciprocity

An applicant who is licensed as a veterinarian in another jurisdiction may apply for licensure in one of two ways:

1.   By examination if he or she has passed the CCT or the NAVLE with a converted score of at least 70 within the last five years and must meet the criteria and submit the documentation listed above for licensure by examination;

OR

2.   Must apply by reciprocity if he or she has not passed the CCT or the NAVLE with a converted score of at least 70 in the last five years.

To qualify for licensure by reciprocity you must:

1.   Have graduated from a school of veterinary medicine and surgery that is accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA); OR hold a certificate issued by the AVMA Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) or the AAVSB Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Equivalence (PAVE); and

2.   Pass the NBE or the NAVLE with a converted score of at least 70; and;

3.   Pass the Nebraska State Jurisprudence Examination with an average score of at least 70;

4.   Be duly licensed in another state or territory of the United States or the District of Columbia which maintains standards regulating the profession equal to those maintained in this State;

5.   Have been in the active and continuous practice of veterinary medicine and surgery in another state or territory of the United States or the District of Columbia for at least one year of the three years immediately preceding the date of application for Nebraska license; or, have been in an accepted residency or graduate training program for at least one of the three years immediately preceding the date of the application for Nebraska licensure; and

6.   Have good moral character and have attained at least the age of 21 years.

To apply for licensure by reciprocity, you must submit the following:

Please note: if you passed the CCT or the NAVLE within the last five years, you should apply for licensure by "Examination".

1.   Completed application form and pdf iconCriminal Background Check (now required for initial licensure);

2.   Fee of $250;

3.   Official transcript from an accredited school of veterinary medicine sent directly from the school OR verification of holding an AVMA ECFVG Certificate or AAVSB PAVE Certificate sent directly from the program;

4.   Official documentation of passing score obtained on the NBE OR the NAVLE, sent directly from the AAVSB Veterinary Information Verifying Agency;

5.   A completed Nebraska State Jurisprudence Examination;

6.   Verification of age, i.e., a copy of birth certificate or drivers license;

7.   Certification of license from the licensing agency of the jurisdiction where the applicant was initially licensed, including the nature of disciplinary actions, if any, taken against the applicant’s license;

8.   Documentation that the applicant has been actively engaged in the practice of veterinary medicine and surgery or in an accepted residency or graduate training program for at least one of the three years immediately preceding the date of the application for Nebraska licensure. (A space for you to list this information is provided on the application and unless notified otherwise, no further documentation is required).

  1. Photocopy of current Federal DEA Certificate if you prescribe,
    administer or dispense controlled substances.

crl divider

Professions and Occupations Home

Licensure Unit Home

Documents in PDF PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader

which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.