Physician and Surgeon/Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon
All medical licenses expire on October 1 of each even-numbered year. In order to renew a medical license, the licensee must pay the $121 renewal fee. Nebraska statute allows applicants whose license will be issued within 180 days of the renewal period (October 1 of each even-numbered year) to pay 1/4 of the initial licensure fee. The license will expire on October 1 and the full renewal fee of $121 will need to be paid.
At this time you may decide to choose an inactive status – The licensee shall not engage in the practice of medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery in the State of Nebraska. There is no fee for inactive status. The license remains on inactive status until such such time that the license is reinstated. In order to move a license from inactive to active status, an individual shall complete a reinstatement application, pay the renewal fee which is in effect at the time he or she wishes to reinstate the license and meet additional requirements as specified by regulation.
Continuing education is required for renewal. Complete information on continuing education is found here.