redball3.gif (946 bytes) Dental Hygiene Page
redball3.gif (946 bytes) Board Information
redball3.gif (946 bytes) Brochures
redball3.gif (946 bytes) Certification/Verification
redball3.gif (946 bytes) Complaints
redball3.gif (946 bytes) Contact Information
     Contact Us
     Other Contacts
redball3.gif (946 bytes) Duplicate/Reissue
redball3.gif (946 bytes) Licensee Assistance Program
redball3.gif (946 bytes) Licensure Information
     Applications
     Continuing Ed
     Exam Requirements
     Fees
     License Lookup
     Procedures
     Requirements
     Renewal Information
redball3.gif (946 bytes) Listings
redball3.gif (946 bytes) Name and Address Changes
redball3.gif (946 bytes) Regulations
Statutes

Dental Hygiene
Renewal Information

Dental Hygienist renewal: All initial licenses issued by the Department shall expire on March 1 of each odd-numbered year. There are three license status choices:

Active Status –means the licensee can engage in the practice of dental hygiene in the State of Nebraska.

Inactive status-means the licensee shall not engage in the practice of dental hygiene in the State of Nebraska. The license that is placed on inactive for a one-time fee of $25.00 remains on that status until such time as the license is reinstated. In order to move a license from inactive to active status, an individual shall complete a reinstatement application, pay the renewal fee, which is in effect at the time he, or she wishes to reinstate the license and meet additional requirements as specified by regulation.

Lapsed status-means that when the lapsed status becomes effective, the right to represent himself or herself as a licensee and to practice profession in which such license is required shall terminate. To restore the license, such individual shall be required to meet the requirements for initial licensure, which are in effect at the time that he or she wishes to restore the license.

Any licensee who wishes to renew his or her license must:

  1. Meet continuing education requirements;
  2. Pay the renewal fee of $110.00; or
  3. Pay the inactive fee of $25.00; or
  4. If you choose lapsed status there is no fee.

First Notice. At least 30 days before March 1 of each odd-numbered year, the Department shall send a renewal notice which includes an affidavit for continuing education and an application for waiver of continuing education to each licensee at the licensee's last place of residence as noted in the records of the Department. It is the responsibility of the licensee prior to the renewal period to notify the Department of any name and/or address changes.

The Department may refuse to renew a license for falsification of any information submitted for renewal of a license. Such refusal shall be made pursuant to pdf icon Neb. Rev. Stat. §§38-144 thru 38-196 and pdf icon 184 NAC 1.

Audit of Continuing Education. The Board may biennially select, in a random manner, a sample of the license renewal applications for audit of continuing education credits. Each licensee shall be responsible for maintaining in his/her personal files such certificates or records of credit from acceptable continuing education activities. Licensees selected for audit shall be required to produce documentation of his/her attendance at those continuing education activities listed on his/her renewal application.

  1. The Department will send to each licensee selected for audit a notice of audit.
  2. When selected for audit, the licensee must provide satisfactory documentation of attendance at or participation in the acceptable continuing education activities listed on the licensee's sworn affidavit.
  3. Failure to comply with the audit may be grounds for non-renewal of the license. The Department, on the recommendation of the Board, may waive the continuing education requirements, in whole or in part, for any two-year license or for the period of time when a licensee submits documentation that circumstances beyond his or her control prevented the completion of such requirements.
    1. Such circumstances shall include situations in which the licensee:
      1. Is a legal resident of another state, territory, or the District of Columbia and has not practiced as a dentist or dental hygienist in the State of Nebraska during the 24 months immediately preceding the license renewal date; or
      2. Has been in the service of the regular armed forces of the United States during any part of the 24 months immediately preceding the license renewal date; or
      3. Has been suffering from a serious or disabling illness or physical disability which prevented completion of the required number of continuing education hours during the 24 months immediately preceding the license renewal date; or
      4. Has been first licensed within 24 months immediately preceding the renewal date

crl divider

Professions and Occupations Home

Licensure Unit Home

Documents in PDF PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader
which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.