Any person intending to establish, operate, or maintain a hospital must first obtain a license from the Department. A facility must not hold itself out as a hospital or as providing health care services unless licensed under the Health Care Facility Licensure Act. An applicant for an initial or renewal license must demonstrate that the hospital meets the care, treatment, and operational and physical plant standards contained in 175 Nebraska Administrative Code (NAC) 9 Sections 006 and 007.
A license is issued only for the premises and persons named in the application and is not transferable or assignable.
The first stage consists of the applicant's submission of affirmative evidence of the ability to comply with the operational and physical plant standards contained in 175 NAC 9 Sections 006 and 007. The application is not complete until the Department receives documents specified in 175 NAC 9 Section 003.01B.
The second stage consists of the Department's review of the completed application together with an inspection of the hospital. The Department determines whether or not the applicant for an initial license meets the standards contained in 175 NAC 9 and the Health Care Facility Licensure Act.
An applicant must:
- Submit a written application to the Department which includes the
information required by 175 NAC 9 Section 003.01B.
- Pass an on-site inspection as specified in 175 NAC 9 Section 005.01-02E.
Upon receipt of a completed application, an initial inspection date will be scheduled. A hospital cannot operate until the inspection has been completed and the Department determines a license can be issued.
All hospital licenses expire December 31st of each year.
All application materials must be submitted to:
Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Public Health
Acute Care Facilities
P O Box 94986
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986
Hospital licenses expire on December 31st of each year.
Renewal process: Notice of renewal is sent to the licensee’s preferred mailing address no later than 30 days prior to the license expiration date. This notice includes an application form with the current facility information. To renew a license the following must be submitted:
- The application form with updated facility information, as applicable and as required by 175 NAC 9 Section 003.02A.
- Required licensure fee specified in 175 NAC 9 Section 004.10
- List of names and addresses of all persons in control of the facility. The list must include all individual owners, partners, limited liability company members, parent companies and members of boards of directors owning or managing the operations and any other persons with financial interests or investments in the facility. In the case of publicly held corporations, the individual owners listed must include any stockholders who own 5% or more of the company’s stock
- Current Certificate of Occupancy issued by the Nebraska State Fire Marshal or delegated authority dated within the 18 months prior to the license expiration date.
- Completed Fee Worksheet. All hospitals must also pay with their renewal licensure Fee an additional fee under the Outpatient Surgical Procedures Data Act. Neb. Rev. Stat. 81-6,111 to 81-6, 119
Final notice: If a renewal application is not postmarked or received by January 1, the hospital will be sent a final notice.
If a renewal is not received by February 1, the license will be placed on lapsed status. During lapsed status, the facility may not operate until the license has been reinstated.
Refusal to renew: The Department can refuse to renew a license. (See 175 NAC 9 Section 008.)
Initial License Application