Family Child Care Home I

The Department of Health & Human Services, Division of Public Health has the responsibility to regulate child care programs that serve more than three children from different families. Family Child Care Home I programs:

  • Are located in the provider's place of residence;
  • Can care for up to eight children of mixed ages, plus two additional school age children during non-school hours or;
  • Provide care to four babies if providing infant care ONLY

squig blue line 

squig green line 

Initial Licensure/Provisional License

New page content coming here soon. 

Top of Page

squig red line 

Applying for an Operating License

Once a non-expiring license is issued to you, you do not need to renew your license. The license will remain in effect until you decide to close or the Department revokes the license due to serious violation of regulations. You will, however, need to send in appropriate license fees each year to maintain your operating license.

Top of Page

squig yellow line 

Changes in the License

New page content coming here soon. 

Top of Page

squig blue line 

Forms

pdf icon Provisional Application
pdf icon Operating Application 
pdf icon Rules Compliance Checklist
pdf icon Health Information Report
pdf icon Report of Law Enforcement Contact 
pdf icon Parent Brochure
pdf icon Compliance Guide (pgs 1-50)  (pgs 50-90)
pdf icon Children’s Records
pdf icon Immunization Record
pdf icon Independent Study Documentation
pdf icon Consent and Authorization for Release of Information
pdf icon Alternative Compliance Request
 

Top of Page

squig green line 

Orientation Training

Before a provisional license can be issued, the Family Child Care Home I provider must attend a two hour Orientation Training delivered by the Department. The purpose of this training is to give an overview of the licensing process, regulations, and inform providers of available resources in their area.

pdf icon Orientation Training List

Top of Page

squig red line 

Licensee Fees

*Provisional License Fee $25
*Operating License Fee $25
Yearly License Fee $25

* Fee must be received before a license will be issued

*Fees are non-refundable

*Checks  or money orders must be made out to the State of Nebraska

*Cash is not accepted

Top of Page

squig yellow line 

Inspections

Nebraska law requires the Department to visit newly licensed Family Child Care Home I providers within 60 days after the issuance of a new license. Nebraska law also requires the Department to make at least one unannounced inspection to all Family Child Care Home I programs each year. Other visits conducted to Family Child Care Home I include:

  1. Complaint investigations (these are unannounced)
  2. Change of location

Top of Page

squig blue line 

Rules and Regulations/Statutes

pdf icon 391 NAC 1 Family Child Care Home I
pdf icon391 NAC 2 Family Child Care Home II
pdf icon391 NAC 3 Child Care Centers
pdf icon391 NAC 4 School-Age-Only Centers
pdf icon391 NAC 5 Preschools
pdf icon Statutes relating to Child Care Licensure

Top of Page

squig green line

Documents in PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.  Get Adobe Acrobat Reader

Child Care Licensing Page

Licensure Unit Home Page