Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


​                           

School Age Only Centers

 

School Age Only Centers are programs that care for 13 or more children who are in or have attended school. School Age Only centers can be located in the residence of the provider or in any other approved location.

squig blue line
 squig red line
 
 
squig green line
 
Initial Licensure/Provisional License
 
 
Once the Department receives the approvals, conducts the pre-licensing inspection and verifies compliance with all regulations, a provisional license will be issued. Provisional licenses are issued to all newly licensed school age only centers for the first year of operation. This license may be extended for one six month period.
 
Top of Page
 
 squig red line
 
 
Once a school age only center completes their provisional license year and are in compliance with all regulations, they must apply for an non-expiring operating license if they wish to continue to provide care. In order to receive an operating the license, the licensee must apply for an operating license. Licensees will receive written notice 90 days prior to their expiration of their provisional license.
 
Once a non-expiring license is issued, the licensee will not need to renew the School Age Only Center license. The license will remain in effect until the program closes or the Department revokes the license due to serious violation of regulations. Licensees, however, need to send in appropriate license fees each year to maintain the operating license.
 
Top of Page
 
squig yellow line
 
Top of Page
 
squig blue line 
 
 
Top of Page
 
squig green line 
 
 
Before a provisional license can be issued, School Age Only Center directors must complete Orientation Training developed by the Department. The training consists of written materials that discuss relevant issues specific to School Age Only Centers. Directors in Washington, Douglas, Sarpy, and Cass counties may obtain this training by contacting the Omaha office at 402-595-3348. Directors in the rest of the state may obtain this training by contacting the Lincoln office at 402-471-9562.
 
Top of Page
 
squig red line
 
 
* Provisional License Fee (capacity less than 30)  $25
* Provisional License Fee (capacity 30 or more)  $50
* Yearly License Fee (capacity less than 30)  $25
* Yearly License Fee (capacity 30 or more)  $50
* Fee must be received before a license will be issued
* License Fees are Non-refundable
* Fees must be paid by check or money order 
* Cash is not accepted
 
Top of Page
 
squig yellow line 
 
 
School Age Only Centers are required to have pre-licensing inspections before they can begin operation. Nebraska law also requires the Department to make at least one unannounced inspection to all School Age Only Centers who have capacities of less than 30 and two unannounced inspections to programs who are licensed for 30 or more two times each year. Other visits conducted to School Age Only Centers include:
  1. Complaint investigations (these are unannounced) 
  2. Change of location
  3. Consultation/Technical Assistance (these are scheduled and conducted only at the request of the provider)
Top of Page
 
squig blue line 
 
 
Child Care Center, School Age Only Center, and Preschool regulations require Directors to have background checks conducted on both the Nebraska Central Registry of Child Abuse and Neglect and the Adult Protective Services Central Registry before a staff person is hired. Directors can use the following steps to request the checks be completed:
 
  1. The completed release of information form must be forwarded to the Department in order to have the background checks completed. Requests for background checks can be mailed or faxed to:
     
    Children's Services Licensing
    Department of Health & Human Services
    Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit
    PO Box 94986
    Lincoln, NE 68509-4986
    Fax: (402) 471-7763
  2. In response to requests, the Department will conduct the background checks and notify programs, in writing, if the person’s name appears. If the name of the applicant does not appear you will receive the completed form with "No Report Found" indicated.
     
  3. When submitting completed Release of Information forms by mail, please include a self-addressed envelope with your requests. One envelope per mailing is sufficient IF all forms will fit in the envelope to be returned to you.

Please remember that all information you receive from the registries is confidential!
 

Top of Page
 
squig green line
 
pdf icon 391 NAC 1 Family Child Care Home I
pdf icon 391 NAC 2 Family Child Care Home II
pdf icon 391 NAC 3 Child Care Centers
pdf icon 391 NAC 4 School-Age-Only Centers
pdf icon 391 NAC 5 Preschools
pdf icon Statutes relating to Child Care Licensure 

Top of Page
 
squig red line 
 
Documents in PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, IncGet Adobe Acrobat Reader
 
 
 
​