Rules and Regulations

Nebraska Lead-Based Paint Regulations

Contractors and firms conducting lead-based paint activities in the state are required to be licensed in Nebraska. Learn more about laws, rules, and regulations regarding lead and lead-based paint.

Active Lead-Based Paint Regulations
Title 178, Chapter 23- Regulations effective April 10, 2005

Lead-Based Paint Words & Definitions
Page of words and correlating definitions used in the lead rules and regulations manual. 
 

Reporting Requirements for Blood Lead Tests

All blood lead tests, regardless of the patient and the test result, are required by law to be reported to the department. These apply to physicians and/or laboratories and require certain demographic information to be included with the blood lead test result. Visit the Health Care Professionals Resources page to learn more about the Reporting Requirements for Blood Lead Tests.

Nebraska Statutes
 
71-2518
Establishes lead poisoning prevention program in Nebraska.

71-6318 – 71-6331.01
Residential Lead-Based Paint Professions Practice Act.
 
Federal Rules

EPA Renovation, Repair and Painting (RRP) Rule
Renovation and repair activities like sanding, cutting, and demolition can create hazardous lead dust and chips by disturbing lead-based paint, which can be harmful to adults and children. By following recognized lead-safe practices during these projects, contractors can minimize the amount of lead dust generated.

EPA’s Renovation, Repair, and Painting (RRP) Rule requires contractors to be RRP certified if they disturb lead-based paint in pre-1978 homes, childcare facilities and schools.

For more information about the RRP Rule, visit the EPA's web site.

HUD/EPA Lead-Paint Disclosure Rule

Sellers:

Disclosure of Information on Lead-Based Paint and/or Lead-Based Paint Hazards
Sellers have to disclose known information regarding lead-based paint and/or hazards before selling a house.  Sales contracts must include a disclosure forms; buyers have up to ten days to check for lead hazards.

Lessors:

Disclosure of Information on Lead-Based Paint and/or Lead-Based Paint Hazards

Before renting pre-1978 housing, a lessor must disclose the presence of known lead-based paint and/or hazards in the dwelling.  Lessees must also receive a federally approved pamphlet regarding lead poisoning prevention.

Brochure produced by the EPA and mandatory to be provided to buyers and renters.

Medicaid Requirements for Blood Lead Testing

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services requires that “all children receive a screening blood lead test at 12 months and 24 months of age. Children between the ages of 36 months and 72 months of age must receive a screening blood lead test if they have not been previously screened for lead poisoning. A blood lead test must be used when screening Medicaid-eligible children.”

For more information on Medicaid Requirements, visit: 


 
Documents in PDF PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader
which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.