
EMS Tuition Reimbursement Program Instructions 

The Nebraska Legislature has set aside money to reimburse EMS providers and services for EMS education.   

 

ELIGIBILITY 

In order for an individual to be eligible for reimbursement for an INITIAL or a REINSTATEMENT course they must 

hold an active (not temporary) Nebraska EMS license at the level that they are requesting reimbursement for 

AND be a member of a Nebraska licensed EMS service that is physically located in Nebraska.  Providers may 

check their licensure status at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/publichealth/Pages/lis_lisindex.aspx  

Providers may check that they are on the roster of a Nebraska service at: 

http://dhhs.ne.gov/publichealth/Documents/EMS_Roster.pdf  

Providers requesting INITIAL course reimbursement for the EMR to EMT Bridge, must have been a Nebraska 

licensed EMR during the course and at the time that they were granted an EMT license.  Providers requesting 

INITIAL course reimbursement for the “Nurse Bridge” course must have been a Nebraska licensed practical 

nurse or registered nurse during the course and at the time they were granted an EMT license. 

REINSTATEMENT requests are only for those persons that previously held a Nebraska EMS provider license at 

the level that they reinstated and are requesting reimbursement.   

Requests for INITIAL and REINSTATEMENT reimbursement must be made within 180 days of course 

completion.  Reimbursement funds are limited and will be paid on a first come, first served basis. The Office of 

EMS and Trauma does reserve the right to reimburse less than or deny reimbursement based on funding 

limitations. Reimbursement requests are the responsibility of the licensed provider (not the EMS service).   

 
REQUESTING REIMBURSEMENT 
 
Requests for INITIAL, REINSTATEMENT reimbursement must be on the request form.  Each type of 
reimbursement has a separate form and each form has certain supporting documents that must also accompany 
the request.  The simplest way to submit the forms is via email.  Forms may be completed and saved or scanned 
and sent as an attachment to the email address noted on the form.  A W-9 and ACH must be completed by the 
student if the student is being reimbursed or by the service if the service is being reimbursed.  Incomplete 
reimbursements will not be processed until completed and may be denied if documentation is not received.   
 

2016/2017 EMS REIMBURSEMENT AMOUNTS 

INITIAL EDUCATION COURSES (amounts are per eligible provider)  

Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) Course   $185.00 

Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) Course   $425.00 

Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT) Course $450.00 

Paramedic Course $1000.00 

Pre-Hospital Emergency Care Course for Nurses (Nurse Bridge Course)  $260.00 

Emerg. Medical Responder to Emerg. Medical Technician Bridge Course $275.00 

 

REINSTATEMENT COURSES (amounts are per eligible provider) 

Emergency Medical Responder Refresher Course $85.00 
Emergency Medical Technician Refresher Course $150.00 
Advanced Emergency Medical Technician Refresher Course $150.00 
Paramedic Refresher Course $200.00 

Providers that were not expired/lapsed during their refresher course are NOT eligible for reimbursement.  Only 
those providers that are reinstating may request reimbursement. 
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