Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
  
  
Answer
  
  

No, applying makeup for weddings, photo shoots, bridal fairs, fashion shows or similar events fall under the theatrical exception in Nebraska, so it DOES NOT require a license.

Practice
  

Due to high volume of applications received in our office each day, we cannot provide same day processing and issuance of licenses.

Application
  

​5 years

Application
  

Call (402) 471-2399 to have the Licensure Unit send you a new Authorization Letter or fax a copy of your Authorization Letter to the exam site.

Application
  

Call (402) 471-2399 to have a new Authorization Letter sent to you.

Application
  

Nebraska graduates who have submitted a complete examination application and have not taken their examination for the first time are eligible to apply for a temporary license.

Application
  

A Nebraska graduate who has submitted a complete examination application and has not taken their examination for the first time is eligible to apply for a temporary license.

A foreign-trained cosmetologist or esthetician who has submitted a complete application and has not taken their Nebraska state board examination for the first time is eligible to apply for a temporary license. 

Application
  

No.  A completed examination application must first be submitted in order to be eligible to apply for a Temporary License.

Application
  

If you have a misdemeanor or felony conviction or credential discipline, you must report such actions to the Office of Investigations within 30 days of the conviction/action.  Failure to disclose any such convictions/credential discipline could result in disciplinary action.

Conviction Reporting
  

Yes, if the conviction was a misdemeanor or felony and you were sentenced or paid a ticket through Traffic Court.  (Infractions are not required to be reported.)  Some examples are: No valid registration, no driver’s license on person, and driving under suspension.

Conviction Reporting
  

A photocopy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, annulment papers, adoption papers, or a court order verifying that a name change has occurred.

Other
  

Any correspondence and renewal notices will be sent to the last known address. It is the responsibility of the licensee to keep the department informed of changes.

Other
  

In order to reinstate your license you will need to complete a reinstatement application, pay the applicable fee and have completed the required number of continuing education hours for your profession.

Reinstatements
  

$153 for a cosmetologist or esthetician

$85 for instructors

 

Reinstatements
  

8 within the past 24 months

Reinstatements
  

You do not have to take an exam to have your license reinstated.

 

Reinstatements
  

No. Only 8 hours of continuing education credit is required. These 8 hours must be earned during the 24 months immediately prior to the reinstatement application being submitted.

Reinstatements
  

Yes.  You can count any hours you earned during the 24 months immediately prior to the renewal date.

Reinstatements
  

No.  You must submit the reinstatement application via U.S. Mail or Fax/E-Mail. Please note that your application will not be reviewed until the required fee has been paid.

Reinstatements
  

Complaints should be directed to Investigations at 402-471-0175 or emailed to: DHHS.InvestigationsPOL@nebraska.gov.

Salons
  

Expired salon licenses cannot be reinstated. You must apply for a new license by submitting a new application, sketch of the premises, insurance verification, and the fee of $150.

Salons
  

A salon application must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the opening date.  If you're remodeling/building a home salon, you must submit a floor plan for pre-approval to be certain it meets state licensing requirements before any construction begins.

Salons
  

No, alcohol cannot be in the salon premises at ANY TIME.  Even if the salon is closed, or it’s a special event (bridal shower, open house, etc.) alcohol is not allowed to be served.

Salons
  

When a salon changes locations, a new license is required as the former license is not transferrable.  A new application, sketch of the new premises, liability insurance verification, and fee of $150 must be submitted and approved before operation can begin at the new location. 

Salons
  

The new owner must submit a new application, sketch of the salon, liability insurance verification, and fee of $150.

Salons
  

No, the Nebraska Cosmetology Board does not regulate booth rental. 

 

Salons