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PROVISIONAL TO OPERATING 

PRESCHOOL 

LICENSING PROCESS 

“OVERVIEW” 

 
To start the licensing process, the following items need to be completed. Refer to 

“Instructions for Applying for an Operating Preschool License” for specific 

instructions for each document: 

 

1. Preschool Application 

2. Full Disclosure of Ownership 

3. Lawful Presence in the United States Attestation , if applicable  
4. License Fee 

5. Director’s Health Information Report 

6. Director’s and Licensee’s Felony/Misdemeanor Statement 

7. Director’s Qualifications  

 

 

If any of the forms are incomplete, the packet will be returned to you.  This may cause a 

lapse in your license.   

 

 

SEND ALL THE ITEMS ABOVE TO: 

 
Douglas or Sarpy County                       OR                    All Other Nebraska Counties                                             
Department of Health and Human Services                  Department of Health and Human Services                                 

Division of Public Health                                                 Division of Public Health 

Children’s Services Licensing                                         Children’s Services Licensing 

1801 N. 73rd Street                                                           PO Box 94986 

Omaha, NE 68114                                                             Lincoln, NE 68509 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLYING FOR AN OPERATING PRESCHOOL LICENSE 

 

 Enclosed you will find forms and instructions to guide you through the licensing process.  Take 

the time to review the instructions, forms, and Preschool Standards. This process does take time, 

so start as soon as you receive this packet. Make sure you complete all forms fully and 

accurately. Incomplete forms/packets will be returned and may result in a lapse in 

your license. 
1. Preschool Application: Application needs to be current, accurate, and complete.  List all 

staff including volunteers, and substitutes.  Application must be signed by Licensee or 

Authorized agent. 

2. Full Disclosure of Ownership Statement: Instructions are on the form. Complete and 

submit one of the following forms a) Non Profit or b) For Profit. 

3. Lawful Presence in the United States:  If you are an individual owner or in a partnership 

(two or more owners) this form must be completed by each owner. Read the instructions on 

the form and submit with your application. Applications will not be processed if you are an 

individual or partner and the form is not completed and signed.  

4. License Fee:  You will need to submit a check or money order (NO CASH) payable to 

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services. 

 $25.00 License Fee for facilities with Capacity of 4-29 children.   

 $50.00 License Fee for facilities with Capacity of 30 or more children.   

 Your cancelled check will be your receipt.  (NO REFUNDS)  Please put check 

number on License Application 
5. Director’s and Licensee Felony/Misdemeanor Statement:  Instructions are on the forms.  

Please ensure the forms are completed accurately and signed/dated.    
6. Director’s Health Information Report:  The Director completes Part A of the Health 

Information Report.  A Medical Practitioner completes Part B.   

Note that if any of the answers in section B are “yes” OR the individual is on 

medication, blood pressure is not within normal range, or the urinalysis is positive, a 

signed/dated explanation written by the appropriate medical professional, regarding the 

impact of the individual’s health condition on the ability to care for children, must also 

be submitted.  

7. Director’s Qualifications:  If the Director qualified under the option of having a written 

Department approved plan, you will need to send verification of 6 credit hours or 36 clock 

hours of Department approved in-service.  Send copies of certificates or transcripts.  Do not 

send originals.   
 

Submit completed items 1-7 to the address listed on the Overview page. Submit all items 

together. 

 

If you have any questions regarding this process, contact  

Douglas and Sarpy Counties                                      All Other Nebraska Counties 

(402) 595-3348                                                              (402) 471-9562; 1-800-600-1289 

 

 


