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NEBRASKA PHYSICAL THERAPIST (PT) APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
 

IF YOU ARE APPLYING TO TAKE THE NATIONAL EXAMINATION, YOU MUST SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION WITH 
REQUIREMENTS ATLEAST ONE (1) MONTH PRIOR TO YOUR GRAUDATION OR ONE (1) MONTH PRIOR TO FSBPT’S 

REGISTRATION & PAYMENT DEADLINE 

 
Examinations:  All applicants for physical therapist licensure are required to pass the two examinations listed below.  Both 
examinations are administered by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT): 
 

 Pass the National Physical Therapist Examination (NPTE) with a scaled score that is greater than or equal to 600. 
  

 Pass NELAW Examination (Jurisprudence exam) with a scaled score that is greater than or equal to 600.   

(The NELAW examination covers the laws governing the practice of physical therapy in Nebraska.) 
 

Examination(s) eligibility requires:  
 

 a completed application with requirements; and  
 

 proof of graduation from an approved physical therapy education program; or (education in a foreign country)  
requires proof of completion of a course of professional instruction substantially equivalent to an approved physical 
therapy education program. 

 

Read the step by step instructions pertaining to the basis of your application for a physical therapist license prior 

to completing your application requirements 
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Effective June 23, 2012: 
 

If you passed the National Physical Therapist Examination (NPTE) more than three years and have not practiced within the 
three (3) years preceding your application to Nebraska, you must: 
 

 Retake the NPTE and pass with a scaled score that is equal to or greater than 600. 
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Physical Therapist License by Examination: 

 applicant who has not taken the NPTE or has not successfully passed the NPTE; or 

 applicant who has been licensed in another jurisdiction - and has not practiced within three (3) years of application; or 

 applicant who is unlicensed - and passed the NPTE more than three (3) years of application 

Step 1 –   DETERMINE AND SELECT YOUR NATIONAL THERAPIST EXAMINATION (NPTE) - TEST DATE.  Test dates are located 
online at  Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) at:  https://www.fsbpt.org/index.asp   
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
When selecting your National Physical Therapist Examination, you must consider the following: 
* To be eligible for a specific test date, your official PT graduation date must be prior to that test date’s FSBPT ‘Registration & Payment Deadline’;  

* Applicants will not be made eligible to sit for the National Physical Therapist Examination (NPTE) until after their official date of graduation from a PT  

  Educational program has occurred.  When selecting a test date, you must have graduated prior to  the FSBPT Registration & Payment Deadline .; and 

* Applicants will not be made eligible to test if they have not completed the application requirements prior to the FSBPT Registration & Payment 

  Deadline.  

A Register and pay your National Physical Therapist Examination (NPTE) fee of $400.00 online to FSBPT at the website above. 

B Register and pay your Nebraska Jurisprudence (NELAW) exam fee of $65.00 online to FSBPT at the website above. 

STEP 2 – APPLICATION FOR PHYSICAL THERAPIST LICENSURE  

A Mail your completed Application for Physical Therapist Licensure to the Licensure Unit immediately after completing Step 1. 
Applications must be submitted with the following: 

(1) A copy of your proof of age.  Refer to page 6 of the application for acceptable document. 

(2) Documentation of proof of United States citizenship, lawful presence, and/or immigration status in the United States.  Refer to 

page 6 of the application for acceptable document.  A copy of your driver’s license, Hospital birth certificate or SSN card is not 
proof of citizenship.) 

(3) Appropriate application fee payable to the Licensure Unit. (Refer to Section A of the application for fee amount.)  

(4) If you have been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, you must list all convictions in Section C of the application and submit 
the following with your application 

(a) Copy of the court record(s), which includes charges and disposition 

(b) Written explanation of the events leading to the conviction(s)  

(c) All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction(s) involved a drug and/or alcohol related 
offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; 

(d) A letter from your probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on probation.  

Applications with convictions will be held for Board approval. 

(5) Foreign trained PT applicants must submit additional information.  Refer to Section E2 of the application. 

(a) Foreign trained physical therapy education must be substantially equivalent to an approved education program.  Education 
credentials prepared by ICD, ICA, IERF or FCCPT must be submitted directly to the Licensure Unit by the agencies.    

(b) Proof of Proficiency in the English Language required.   

B Request your Physical Therapy School mail your Official transcript showing proof of graduation be mailed directly to our office.  
E-mailed or faxed transcripts are not acceptable.  

STEP 3 – Review  

A Review the FSBPT candidate handbook at:  https://www.fsbpt.org/index.asp   

B Wait for our office to respond to you in writing regarding the status of your Application and then complete any noted incomplete 
requirements by the deadline given.  At this time you will also be mailed the NELAW Study Material CD.   

C Decide which Prometric Test Center you would like to test at by viewing the test centers and locations at:  
http://www.prometric.com/FSBPT/default.htm  

D Upon completion/receipt of all requirements listed above (and approval from the Board, if applicable), our office will make you eligible 

for both exams and notify you in writing.  The business day after we make you examination eligible, #1 and #2 below will occur:   

(1) FSBPT will E-MAIL you an “Authorization to Test” (ATT) letter for the NPTE which will include instructions on how to schedule 
your examination with the Prometric Test Center.  Note:  At the time you schedule your NPTE with the Prometric Test center, you 
will be required to pay the test center $85.00 for the NPTE.  

(2) FSBPT will E-MAIL you an “Authorization to Test” (ATT) for the NELAW Examination which will include instructions on how to 
schedule your examination with the Prometric Test Center.  Note:  At the time you schedule your NELAW examination with the 
Prometric Test center, you will be required to pay the test center $25.00 for the NELAW examination.  

(a) NE Law/Jurisprudence Exam Study Materials (NE Law Exam Candidate Handbook)   It is necessary for you to 
have reviewed study materials which includes:  1) Candidate Information Booklet for the NE Law Examination; 2) 

Study Guide-Nebraska Law Examination Content Outline; 3) Statutes Relating to Physical Therapy; 4) Statutes 
Relating to Medical Records; 5) Regulations relating to the Practice of Physical Therapy-172 NAC 137; 6) Statutes 
relating to the Uniform Credentialing Act;  7) Statutes relating to the Uniform Credentialing Act for Mandatory 
Reporting; and 8) Regulations relating to Mandatory Reporting.  The study material is located on the Physical Therapy 
website.  You will also be sent a Nebraska Candidate Handbook CD upon receipt of your application. 

STEP 4 - We will notify you in writing of your examination results once we have received both results 

* If you pass both licensure examinations and have met all requirements, your credential will be issued and mailed to you.  

* If you fail the NPTE, your application will be denied.  You may re-apply for licensure by resubmitting a PT application with 
application fee and also re-paying your NPTE fee to FSBPT.  The NPTE can only be taken three (3) times within a 12-month 
period. 

* If you fail the NE LAW Exam and pass the NPTE examination, you must re-pay your NE Law exam fee to FSBPT and our office 
will make you eligible to re-take that examination. 

https://www.fsbpt.org/index.asp
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Instructions for Physical Therapist Licensure Based on A License issued in Another Jurisdiction (State) or Unlicensed 

Applicant: 

 applicant who is currently practicing or practiced within previous three years of application; or 

 applicant who is licensed in another jurisdiction (state) and has not practiced within three (3) years of application – passed 
the NPTE within three (3) years of application; or 

 applicant who is Unlicensed – passed the NPTE within three (3) years of application 

STEP 1 –  Transfer your  National Physical Therapist Examination (NPTE) to Nebraska and register/pay your NELAW Examination fee for 
Nebraska online to the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) website:  https://www.fsbpt.org/index.asp  

A Have FSBPT transmit your National Examination score to Nebraska.  Nebraska's passing score is scaled score of 600 or greater.)    

B Register and pay your NELAW exam fee of $65.00 online to FSBPT at the website above.   

STEP 2 – APPLICATION FOR PHYSICAL THERAPIST LICENSURE 

A Mail your completed Application for Physical Therapist Licensure to the Licensure Unit immediately after completing Step 1.  
Applications must be submitted with the following: 

 (1) A copy of your proof of age.  Refer to page 6 of the application for acceptable document. 

(2) Documentation of proof of United States citizenship, lawful presence, and/or immigration status in the United States.   Refer to 

page 6 of the application for acceptable document. A copy of your driver’s license, Hospital birth certificate or SSN card is not 
proof of citizenship.) 

(3) Appropriate application fee payable to the Licensure Unit. (Refer to Section A of the application for fee amount.) 

(4) If you have been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, you must list all convictions in Section C of the application and submit 
the following with your application: 

 (a) Official court records, which includes charges and disposition 

(b) Written explanation of the events leading to the conviction(s) 

(c)  All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction(s) involved a drug and/or alcohol related 
offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required. 

(d) A letter from your probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on probation. 

Applications with convictions will be held for Board approval. 

(5) Foreign trained PT applicants must submit additional information.  Refer Section E2 of the application. 

(a) Foreign trained physical therapy education must be substantially equivalent to an approved education program.  Education 
credentials prepared by ICD, ICA, IERF or FCCPT must be submitted directly to the Licensure Unit by the agencies.     

(b) Proof of Proficiency in the English Language required.  

B Verification/Certification from other states.  (Attachment A of the Application)  Contact all states you list in Section C-4 of your 
application and have those states send a Certification/Verification of your license(s) to Nebraska.   Contact info for other state physical 
therapy licensing agencies are listed on the FSBPT website at: https://www.fsbpt.org/index.asp   

For assistance in obtaining verifications from other states, contact Irene Eckman at irene.eckman@nebraska.gov prior to contacting 

other states. When ‘requesting assistance with verifications’ via e-mail, include your name, PT or PTA license numbers and states. 

C Request your Physical Therapy School mail your official transcript showing proof of graduation be mailed directly to our office.  
 E-mailed or faxed transcripts are not acceptable. 

STEP 3 – Review 

A Review the FSBPT Candidate Handbook   https://www.fsbpt.org/index.asp  

B WAIT for our office to respond to you in writing regarding the status of your Application and then complete any noted incomplete 
requirements by the deadline given.  At this time you will also be mailed the NELAW Study Material CD.   

C Decide which Prometric Test Center you would like to test at by viewing the test centers and locations at:  
http://www.prometric.com/FSBPT/default.htm  

D 
 

Upon completion/receipt of all requirements listed above (and approval from the Board, if applicable), our office will make you eligible 

to take the NELAW examination and notify you in writing.  The business day after we make you examination eligible, #1 below will 
occur: 

(1) FSBPT will E-MAIL you an “Authorization to Test” (ATT) for the NELAW Examination which will include instructions on how to 
schedule your examination with the Prometric Test Center and that you will have a 60-day eligibility period to take this 
examination.  Note:  At the time you schedule your NELAW examination with the Prometric Test center, you will be required to 
pay the test center $25.00 for the NELAW examination. 

(a) NELAW/Jurisprudence Exam Study Materials (NELAW Exam Candidate Handbook)   It is necessary for you to have 

reviewed study materials which includes:  1) Candidate Information Booklet for the NE Law Examination; 2) Study Guide-

Nebraska Law Examination Content Outline; 3) Statutes Relating to Physical Therapy; 4) Statutes Relating to Medical 
Records; 5) Regulations relating to the Practice of Physical Therapy-172 NAC 137; 6) Statutes relating to the Uniform 
Credentialing Act;  7) Statutes relating to the Uniform Credentialing Act for Mandatory Reporting; and 8) Regulations 
relating to Mandatory Reporting.  The study material is located on the Physical Therapy website.  You will also be sent a 
Nebraska Candidate Handbook CD upon receipt of your application.  

STEP 4  -  Our office will notify you in writing of your examination results   

* If you pass the Nebraska Jurisprudence (NELAW) examination and have met all PT licensure requirements, your credential will 
be issued and mailed to you. 

* If you fail the Nebraska Jurisprudence (NELAW) examination, you must re-pay your NELAW exam fee to FSBPT and our office 
will make you eligible to re-take the examination. 

https://www.fsbpt.org/index.asp


 
 

 
State of Nebraska 
Department of Health & Human Services 
Division of Public Health 

Licensure Unit                                      Print or type application and mail to the address on the left. 

P.O. Box 94986                   Print the application pages one (1) sided only.   

Lincoln NE  68509-4986                                      DO NOT print application-double sided. 

 
Check below the basis for application:    

 License by Examination – Applicants who have not taken or have not successfully passed the NPTE 

 License in Another Jurisdiction (state) :  
     Current practice or practice within the preceding three (3) years of application 
     Have not practiced within the three (3) years preceding application - passed the NPTE within three (3) years of application  

    Have not practiced within the three (3) years preceding application - passed the NPTE more than three years of application 

  Unlicensed Applicant: 
 Passed the NPTE within three (3) years of application 
 Passed the NPTE more than three (3) years of application 

APPLICATION FOR PHYSICAL THERAPIST LICENSURE 

SECTION A: LICENSE FEE   

The initial Physical Therapist application fee is $133.00.  If your license is issued within 180 days of the expiration date of November 

1st of odd-numbered years, the application fee is prorated and will be $33.25.  Make your check or money order payable to 

“Licensure Unit” and mail it with your application. 

All Physical Therapist licenses expire November 1st of odd-numbered years.   

Year Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec 

Even $133 $133 $133 $133 $133 $133 $133 $133 $133 $133 $133 $133 

Odd $133 $133 $133 $133 $33.25 $33.25 $33.25 $33.25 $33.25 $33.25 $133 $133 

SECTION B: PERSONAL INFORMATION (All applicants must complete this section.) 

1 Legal 
Name 

Last: First: Middle: 
 

Maiden 
Name 

Name: Other names you are known as (AKA): 

2 Mailing 
Address 

Street/Rural Route/PO Box 
 

City: 
 

State: Zip: Country: 

Additional information requested:  (The following information is not displayed on the internet)  Submit evidence of age, i.e,:  driver’s 
license, birth certificate, marriage license, school transcript, US State ID card, Military ID, or similar documentation.  A U.S. birth 
certificate will satisfy the requirement for proof of age and proof of U.S. citizenship. 

3 Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year)                   ____________________ Age: ____________ 
(Submit proof of age of majority: i.e., copy of birth or marriage certificate or driver's license.)   

4 Place of Birth City/State/Country 
_____________________________________________________________________________  

5 
 

Check the 
Appropriate 

Box(s) 

  Social Security Number (SSN);  

  Alien Registration Number (“A#”); and/or  

  Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) number 

SSN#  

A#  

I-94#  
If you have a SSN and an A#, you must report both.  Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-123 mandates disclosure of your social security number 
to DHHS.  Although your number is not public information, DHHS may disclose it for child support enforcement purposes and to 
the Nebraska Department of Revenue. 

6 Phone #: 
(optional) 

 Fax #: 
(optional) 

 E-Mail Address: 
(optional) 

 

If you provide us with the optional information, it will allow our office to expedite communication relating to the status of your 

application and examination(s).  E-mail address must be the same one used to register for examination(s) with FSBPT. 
 

THIS BOX IS FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY 

BACKGROUND CHECK   

BOARD REVIEW   

LICENSE #   

Effective: 06/23/2012 

Revised:  12/30/2016 
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SECTION C – CONVICTION AND LICENSURE INFORMATION  - (All applicants must complete this section)  Failure 
to disclose any such conviction or disciplinary action, regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary 
action, including but not limited to, payment of a civil penalty. 

Answer each of the following questions by placing a ( ) in the appropriate Yes or No Box and completing the information requested.  
All ‘yes’ responses MUST be explained in detail and you must submit the requested documentation. 

1 Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony in any jurisdiction?  If yes, list all misdemeanor 
or felony convictions below.  (Continue on reverse or use additional sheet if space is inadequate.)  

 Yes  No 

Type of Charge/Crime Date of Charge/Crime Name/Location of Court/Entity 
Taking Action 

   

   

   

   

   

If you answered YES to the question above, you must submit the following documents with your application: 

 Copy of the court record(s), which includes charges and disposition; 

 Written explanation of the events leading to the conviction(s) (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions you have 
taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the conviction(s); 

 All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction(s) involved a drug and/or alcohol related 
offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required;  

 A letter from your probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on probation.  

2 Have you practiced in Nebraska as a physical therapist prior to licensure?   Yes   No 

If yes, how many days have you practiced in Nebraska as a physical therapist prior to licensure? 
Number of days 

___________ 

Name of Business:  

Location/Address of Business:  

Phone Number of Business:  

3 Have you previously held a physical therapist license in Nebraska?  If yes STOP, you must submit a 

Physical Therapist Reinstatement Application 
 Yes   No 

4 Are you or have you been credentialed to provide health services, health-related services, or 
environmental services in another jurisdiction (state)?   

 

 Yes 
 

 No 

List all other state(s) where you have a current or expired credential.  (Continue on reverse side or use additional sheet if space is 
inadequate.) 

State Type of Credential License 
Number 

Date Issued Expiration Date 

     

     

     

     

You must request a certification of your credential(s) (current or expired) be sent to Nebraska.  Submit Attachment A (Certification 
of Credential in Another Jurisdiction) to the appropriate licensing agencies. 

5 Has any disciplinary action ever been taken against your credential(s) by a state licensing agency, or is 
any currently pending?   

 Yes  No 

If yes, fill in the information below: 

Action Date of Action Type of 
Credential 

Name/Address of State  
Agency 

    

    

    

Submit a copy of the disciplinary action(s), including charges and disposition with this application to our office. 

6 Have you ever been denied a license or the right to take an examination?   
 

 Yes  No 

If yes, explain: 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________  
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________  
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SECTION D:  LICENSE APPLICATION CATEGORY - All applicants must complete either #1 or #2 below, whichever 

is applicable. 
 

1 
 

National Physical Therapist Examination (NPTE) candidates must complete all questions in item 1.  If the basis for your 

application for Physical Therapist licensure is: 
 

 License by Examination;   

 License in Another Jurisdiction (state) – Have not practiced within the three (3) years preceding application - passed the 
NPTE more than three years of application;  or 

 Unlicensed Applicant - Passed NPTE more than three(3) years prior to application 
 
You must register for an NPTE test date and pay your NPTE exam fee of $400.00 online with the Federation of State Boards of 
Physical Therapy (FSBPT).  The FSBPT website is:   https://www.fsbpt.org/index.asp   
     

a Are you applying to take the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) through Nebraska?  Yes  No 

If yes, which NPTE test date? _____/_____/_____ 

Have you registered and paid your NPTE fee to FSBPT?  Yes   No 

b Have you ever failed the National Physical Therapist Examination?   Yes  No 

If yes, list the examination dates you failed. _____/_____/_____ _____/_____/_____ _____/_____/_____ 

 
2 

 

If the Basis for your application for Physical Therapist licensure is: 

 

 License in Another Jurisdiction (state) – Current practice or practice within the preceding three (3) years of application 

 Unlicensed Applicant – passed the NPTE within three (3) years of application 

 
You must transfer your NPTE score to Nebraska; and register and pay your NELAW exam fee of $65.00 online with the Federation 
of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT).  The FSBPT website is:   https://www.fsbpt.org/index.asp  
 

a 
Have you taken and passed the National Physical Therapist Examination 
through another state? 

 Yes 
 
 No 

 
 Results pending 

b 
 
List date you passed the NPTE (or date you will 
sit for the NPTE) and jurisdiction (state): 

Exam date:   _____/_____/_____ 
Exam jurisdiction (state) 
   ___________________________ 

All applicants must complete #3 and #4 below. 

3 Have you paid your NE LAW (Jurisprudence) Examination fee to FSBPT?  Yes  No 

4 Do you have a disability that requires special accommodations for taking examinations?  Yes  No 
If yes, an Accommodation Request Form (Attachment C) must be completed and submitted with your application. 
If no, do not submit the Accommodation Request Form (Attachment C) with your application. 

SECTION E - EDUCATION - All applicants must have their official transcript mailed directly to our office 

1 Graduates of an approved Physical Therapist Program: 

Request submission of your official Physical Therapy transcript (meaning coming directly to our office from the institution under its 
seal) showing completion of an approved physical therapy program.   

Graduates of a Foreign Trained Physical Therapist Program: 
Request submission of your official Physical Therapy transcript (official meaning coming directly to our office from the inst itution 
under its seal) showing completion of the physical therapy program.  (We will also accept a copy of your official transcript 
transmitted directly from the education evaluation service you used to evaluate your education:  IERF, ICD, ICA or FCCPT.) 

https://www.fsbpt.org/index.asp
https://www.fsbpt.org/index.asp
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SECTION E - EDUCATION Continued 

2 FOREIGN TRAINED PHYSICAL THERAPISTS ONLY:  If you have been trained as a physical therapist in a foreign physical 
therapy school that is not accredited: 

 
A 

 
An applicant for a license to practice as a physical therapist on the basis of training as a physical therapist in a foreign country 
must have completed a physical therapy program of professional instruction that is substantially equivalent to an approved 
educational program.  A substantially equivalent program of professional instruction is one that consists of components 
specified in one of the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) Coursework tools.  The appropriate FSBPT 
Coursework Tool to be used by the credential agency will be determined by the year you graduated from your foreign program 
of professional instruction.  The Coursework Tools are listed on the FSBPT webpage at:  
https://www.fsbpt.org/RegulatoryTools/CWT/index.asp  
 

Request submission of an evaluation of your education credentials by one of the following approved evaluation services:  

1 International Education Research 
Foundation, Inc. 
Credentials Evaluation Service 
Post Office Box 3665 
Culver City, CA 90231 
Phone:  310.258.9451  
http://www.ierf.org/ 

2 International Credentialing Associates, Inc. 
7245 Bryan Dairy Road 
Largo, FL 33777 
Phone: (727)549-8555 
Email:  customerservice@icaworld.com  
http://www.icaworld.com/applications.html  

 3 International Consultants of Delaware, Inc 
3600 Market St Ste 450 
Philadelphia PA 19104 
(215)222-8454 ext 603 
www.icdeval.com  

4 Foreign Credentialing Commission on 
Physical Therapy (FCCPT) 
124 West Street South 3rd Floor 
Alexandria, VA 2231 
(703)684-8406 
http://www.fccpt.org/ 

B PROFICIENCY IN THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE: 
Pursuant to 172 NAC 137.01, subsection 2:  The following applicants are deemed to be proficient in the English language:  
graduates of physical therapy programs from Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ireland, New Zealand, the United Kingdom 
and the United States; and Graduates from programs accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy 
Education (CAPTE). 

 
If you graduated from a physical therapy program that is not deemed to be proficient in the English language, you must provide one 
of the following (in accordance with the Physical Therapy Regulations, 137-004.01 (2) b): 
 
Provide official documentation showing passage of one of the following examinations administered by Educational Testing Service 
which measures proficiency in the English language: 
 

(1)   Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL), paper pencil format, with a minimum passing score of 560;Test of 
Written English (TWE), paper pencil format, with a minimum passing score of 4.5; and Test of Spoken English (TSE), 
paper pencil format with a minimum passing score of 50; or 

 
(2) Internet Based English Language Proficiency Test, TOEFL iBT with the minimum passing scores as follows: 

 
Reading Comprehension     21 
Listening Comprehension    18 
Writing Comprehension       24 
Speaking Comprehension   26 
Total score 89; or 

 
 (3) Provide the official U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services’ Health Care Worker Certification issued no more than five 

years immediately preceding the date of the application 

SECTION F: PHYSICAL THERAPIST EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM INFORMATION   (All applicants must complete this 
section.) 

Name of Physical Therapy College or University  

Address  

Physical Therapy  Degree Awarded  

Date Degree Awarded (month/day/year)  

https://www.fsbpt.org/RegulatoryTools/CWT/index.asp
mailto:customerservice@icaworld.com
http://www.icaworld.com/applications.html
http://www.fccpt.org/
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SECTION G: LICENSE ISSUED ON BASIS OF A LICENSE IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION (STATE) – all applicants with 

an active, inactive or expired license in another jurisdiction (state) must fill out this section. 

1 Name of Agency Issuing License:  

Address: Street/PO/Route: 
 

City: State: Zip: 
 

2 Date Issued:  

3 Name of Written Examination:  

4 A License in another jurisdiction (state) current practice or practice within the preceding three (3) years of application 

4A(1) 
Are you currently practicing or have you practiced in another jurisdiction (state) as a physical 
therapist within the preceding three (3) years of your application to Nebraska? 

 Yes  No 

If yes, provide the name of the facility, address and dates you are actively engaged in the practice of physical therapy.  (Use an 
additional sheet if space is inadequate.) 

Name of Facility Address Start Date End Date 

    

    

    

    

B License in another jurisdiction (state) – have not practiced within three years of your application 

 

4B(1) Are you or have you practiced in another jurisdiction (state) within three years of your 
application? 

 Yes   No  
 

Provide the date you passed the National Physical Therapist Examination (NPTE) 
with a scaled score that is greater than or equal to 600. 

NPTE Date                      
_____/_____/_____ 

If you passed the NPTE within three (3) years of your application to Nebraska, have FSBPT transfer your NPTE score report. 
If you passed the NPTE more than three (3) of your application to Nebraska, you must re-take and pass the NPTE. 

SECTION H:  UNLICENSED APPLICANTS WHO HAVE PASSED THE NPTE – All unlicensed applicants who have 

passed the National Physical Therapist Examination (NPTE) must complete this section. 
1 A Did you pass the NPTE with a scaled score that is greater than or equal to 600 within three (3) years 

of your application to Nebraska? 

 Yes  No 
 

If you passed the NPTE within three (3) years of your application to Nebraska, have FSBPT transfer your NPTE score report. 

B Did you pass the National Physical Therapist Examination (NPTE) with a scaled score that is greater 

than or equal to 600 more than three (3) years of your application to Nebraska? 

 Yes   No 
 

If you passed the NPTE more than three (3) years of your application to Nebraska, you must re-take and pass the NPTE. 

C Provide the name of the jurisdiction (state) you took the Physical Therapist Examination 
(NPTE) and passed with a scaled score that is greater than or equal to 600. 

Jurisdiction/State 
________________ 

 Provide the date you took and passed the NPTE _____/_____/_____ 

SECTION I:  ATTESTATION – All applicants must complete this section. 

Attestation:  For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below): 

I attest that  

□  I am a citizen of the United States; or 

□  I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act. 

□ Check this box if you are not a citizen of the United States nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.  

You may still be eligible for a credential if you provide a photocopy of your unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) 
and evidence of one of the following: 

a. Approved deferred action status (DACA); 
b. A pending application for asylum in the United States; 
c. A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or 
d. A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United 

             States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States.  

 Application Attestation:  I attest that:       

1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me; and  
2. All statements on this application are true and complete. 

 

Print Name:  _____________________________________   

 

Signature:  ______________________________________                                           Date:  ____________________ 
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NOTE:  The applicant must submit the following documentation:   

 
1. Age:  Evidence of at least 19 years of age (i.e.:  driver’s license, birth certificate, marriage license, school transcript, US State ID card, Military ID, or similar 

documentation); 
2. Other Credentialing Info:  If you hold or have held a credential to provide health services, health-related services, or environmental services in Nebraska or 

in another jurisdiction, you must have the licensing agency submit a certification of your credential; 
3. Disciplinary Action:  If you have had any disciplinary actions taken against your credential, you must submit a copy of the disciplinary action(s), including 

charges and disposition;  
4. Conviction Information: If you have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, you must submit:  
 (a)  A copy of the court record, which includes charges and disposition;  
 (b)  Explanation from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions you have taken to 

address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions;  
 (c)  If treatment was obtained and/or required, all addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment (if the conviction involved a drug 

and/or alcohol related offense); and  
 (d)  If you are currently on probation, a letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status.  

 
On the application you are required to list all misdemeanor/felony convictions, regardless of when they occurred. If you are not sure if a ticket or arrest 
resulted in a misdemeanor or felony conviction, we suggest that you contact the court in the county where you were ticketed or arrested. The following 

provides just a small sampling of some of the misdemeanor convictions; this is not an exclusive list and is only intended as examples of convictions: 

 

 MIP  
 DUI / DWI  
 Controlled Substance  
 Open Container  
 Tobacco Use by Minor  
 Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary  
 Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction  
 Disturbing the Peace  
 Assault  
 Disorderly Conduct  
 Disorderly House  
 Reckless Driving  

 Driving under Suspension / Revocation  
 License Vehicle without Liability Insurance  
 Fail to Appear in Court  
 False Information or Reporting  
 Leave the Scene of an Accident  
 Operator not Carrying License  
 Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs  
 Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation  
 Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal  
 Littering  
 Bad Check  
 Fireworks  

 

 5. Citizenship/non-citizenship information: You must submit a copy of at least one of the following documents: 

If you are a U.S. Citizen, provide one of the following documents as proof of U.S. Citizenship: 

- A U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired); 
- A birth certificate issued by a state, county, municipal authority or outlying possession of the United States bearing an official seal; 
- An American Indian Card (I-872); 
- A Certificate of Naturalization (N-550 or N-570); 
- A Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561); 
- Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350); 
- A Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of America (FS-240); 
- Certification of Birth Abroad (FS-545 or DS-1350); 
- A United States Citizen Identification Card (I-197 or I-179); 
- A Northern Mariana Card (I-873). 

If you are NOT a U.S. Citizen, you must submit a copy of one of the following:   

If you are a Qualified Alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act: 
- Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card;  
- An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport; or 
- Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa. 

If you are not a U.S. Citizen nor a Qualified Alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act and are lawfully present in the United States, you may 
still be eligible for a license if you provide a photocopy of your unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and evidence of one of the following 
documents under the Federal REAL ID Act: 
- Employment Authorization Card  

AND 

- An approved deferred action status (DACA); 
- A pending application for asylum in the United States; 
- A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; 
- A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence; or in the United States or 

conditional permanent resident status in the United States. 
Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of Homeland Security. This process may take 4-6 
weeks. 
6.     Education:  An official college/university transcript must be mailed to our office. E-mailed or faxed transcripts are not acceptable; 
7.  Fee:  The required fee. 

 
Any documents written in a language other than English must be accompanied by a complete translation into the English language.  The translation must be 
an original document and contain the notarized signature of the translator.  An individual may not translate his/her own documents. 



 
               Attachment A 

STATE OF NEBRASKA 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
LICENSURE UNIT 

PHYSICAL THERAPY 
 

CERTIFICATION OF CREDENTIAL 

IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION 
 

All applicants applying for a Nebraska Physical Therapist credential who are or have been credentialed to provide health 

services, health-related services, or environmental services in other jurisdiction(s) (state), must have those jurisdiction(s)  

complete and submit this form directly to our office.   Section A must be filled out by the applicant and forwarded to the 

appropriate jurisdiction(s) to complete Sections B, C and D.  

SECTION A – Section A must be filled out by the applicant. 

Applicant’s 
Name: 

 

Credential 
Type: 

 Credential Number:  Credential 
Status: 

 Active 
 Inactive 
  Other ________________ 

Date of Issue:  Date of Expiration:  

SECTION B – This section must be completed only if it is a certification of a Physical Therapist Credential.   

Credential was issued on the basis of: 
 
   National Physical Therapist Examination (NPTE)         Date of Examination: ____________________ Score: _______________ 
 
   State Examination                                                          Date of Examination: ____________________ Score:_______________ 
 
   Other.  Please explain:__________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Graduation from an accredited Physical Therapist  Program: 
 
Name of Physical Therapy School: ____________________________________________________________________________   
Degree:  _________________________________  Date of graduation: _________________ 
 

SECTION C – This section must be completed 

Based on the records of this Department, the applicant’s credential: 
     Is in good standing. 
     Has been disciplined. 
        Please explain any disciplinary action: ______________________________________________________________________   
        Submit supporting document of disciplinary action. 

Does the applicant have any pending complaints? 
    No 
    Yes.  If yes, please explain:  
  ______________________________________________________________________________________________________  
  ______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

SECTION D – This section must be completed 

SIGNATURE:  
 
 
 
 

AGENCY  

SEAL 

DATE: 

NAME (PRINT) 

TITLE: 

LICENSING AGENCY NAME AND ADDRESS: 
 
 
 

RETURN THIS FORM TO: 
LICENSURE UNIT 
ATTN:  PHYSICAL THERAPY 
P.O. BOX 94986 
LINCOLN, NE 68509-4986 
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

Division of Public Health 

Licensure Unit 

ATTN: Physical Therapy 

P.O. Box 94986 

Lincoln, Nebraska  68509-4986 

Special Accommodations Request Form 

 

 

Section I – Applicant Information 
 

Applicant 

Name 

 

Last First Middle 

ADDRESS Street/PO/Route: 

 

City: 

 

State: Zip: 

Home Phone #: Alternate Phone #: Email Address: 

 

Date of Birth: 

________/________/_______ 

    Month/     Day     / Year 

Gender: 

_________ Male         ________ Female 

 

Section II – Information about Your Disability and Requested Accommodations 
Describe the nature of your disability?   Please indicate the specific diagnosis. 

__________________________________________________________________________________  

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________  

__________________________________________________________________________________  

 
When was your disability first diagnosed?  _____________________________________________ 

 

How does your disability affect your daily life? __________________________________________  

___________________________________________________________________________________  

___________________________________________________________________________________  

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________________  

 
How does your disability affect your ability to take the examination? ________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________________  

___________________________________________________________________________________  

___________________________________________________________________________________  
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What accommodations are you requesting during the examination? 

  Additional Time – Time and a half 

  Additional Time – Double Time 

  Zoom Text (software that enlarges the print on the computer screen) 

  Screen magnifier 

  Reader 

  Individual who enters the examinee’s responses 

  Separate Room 

  Other (Non-Standard) – Please Describe 

__________________________________________________________________________________  

__________________________________________________________________________________  

 

What accommodations have you received in the past for the following exams? 

 

National Physical Therapy Exam  ______________________________________________________ 

 

PT/PTA School Exams  ______________________________________________________________ 

 

Undergraduate College Exams  ________________________________________________________ 

 

Standardized Exams (e.g., SAT, GRE, etc.)  ______________________________________________  

 

Section III - Documentation Requirements 
A comprehensive and current report (no more than three years old) from a professional qualified for 

evaluating your disability must accompany this request form.  The report must include the following: 

 

 Name, title, credentials and area of specialization of the professional making the diagnosis and 

accommodation recommendation. 

 A diagnosis of the disability pursuant to the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and 

Related Health Problems (ICD), the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM 

IV:  revised) or other applicable and recognized professional standard with copies of all 

evaluations and reported scores from professionally recognized diagnostic tests, where applicable. 

 Recommendation for specific accommodations. 

 Rationale for requesting specific accommodations. 

 

Section IV – Candidate Affirmation 
My signature on this form affirms that the information I have provided on this request is true and 

accurate.  I have truthfully represented my disability and the impact it has on my daily life and 

computerized examinations. 

 

__________________________________________ _________________________________ 

Applicant Signature      Date 

 

 



 
ATTACHMENT B 

Page 3 of 7 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

Division of Public Health 

Licensure Unit 

P.O. Box 94986 

Lincoln, Nebraska  68509-4986 

ATTN: Physical Therapy 

Professional Documentation of Disability Form 

 

If you have a learning disability, a psychological disability, or other hidden disability that requires an 

accommodation in testing, please have this section completed by an appropriate professional (education 

professional, doctor, psychologist, psychiatrist, etc.) to certify that your disabling condition requires the 

requested test accommodation. 

 

Section I – Applicant Information 
 

Applicant 

Name 

 

Last First Middle 

ADDRESS Street/PO/Route: 

 

City: 

 

State: Zip: 

Date of Birth: 

                ________/________/_______ 

                  Month  /      Day    / Year 

SSN: 

 

Exam Type:        Physical Therapist (PT) Exam            Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA) Exam 

 

Section II – About the Exam 
The examination for which this candidate is requesting special accommodations consists of objective 

multiple choice questions which are administered by computer at a testing center.  Minimal computer 

skills are required. 

 

Standard testing conditions: 

Exam Number of 

Questions 

Time  

Allowed 

Scheduled Break Unscheduled Breaks 

PT 

 

 

250 (delivered in 5 

sections of 50 

questions each) 

5 hours 15 minute break after 

Section 2 

Breaks can be taken after 

sections 1, 3, and 4; however, the 

exam timer will continue to 

elapse 

PTA 

 

200 (delivered in 4 

sections of 50 

questions each) 

4 hours 15 minute break after 

Section 2 

Breaks can be taken after 

sections 1 and 3; however, the 

exam timer will continue to 

elapse 
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Section III – Professional Contact and Background Information 

 

Name: _______________________________     Title:__________________________________ 

 

 

License Number (if applicable): ____________     Expiration Date: ________________________ 

 

 

Address: __________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Phone: ______________________________     Fax: __________________________________ 

  

Email: _______________________________ 

 

Please describe your credentials and experience which qualify you to make this diagnosis and 

recommendations for testing.  You may also attach your CV to show this information. 

__________________________________________________________________________________  

__________________________________________________________________________________  

 

Section IV – Disability and Requested Accommodations 
 

1. Describe the diagnosed disability and date of diagnosis.  Attach all written evaluations supporting the 

diagnosis, including the scores and interpretive data for all administered diagnostic tests. 

_________________________________________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________________________________  

_________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

2.  Date of your last consultation with the candidate________________________________________ 

 

3. Please describe: (1) the nature, history, and extent of the disability; (2) how it limits one or more of the 

candidate’s major life activities; (3) if the disability will change in any way over time.  In case of a 

learning disability, include specifics as to the type of disability (e.g., visual or auditory reception or 

perception, processing, memory, comprehension, verbal or written expression, etc.) 

_________________________________________________________________________________  

_________________________________________________________________________________  

_________________________________________________________________________________  

_________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

4. What effect does the disability have on the candidate’s ability to perform on the test as described 

above? 

_________________________________________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________________________________  

_________________________________________________________________________________  
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5. What are your specific recommendations for accommodations for this candidate?  Please include an 

explanation of why these accommodations are required. 

 

  Additional Time – Time and a half 

  Additional Time – Double Time 

  Zoom Text (software that enlarges the print on the computer screen) 

  Screen magnifier  

  Reader 

  Individual who enters the examinee’s responses 

  Separate Room 

 Other  (Non-Standard) – Please Describe 

_________________________________________________________________________________  

_________________________________________________________________________________  

  

 

I certify that I have the necessary specialized training to make the above diagnosis, that I personally 

examined the candidate named above, and that the diagnosis and assessment of accommodations 

requested are based on my professional judgment.  I understand that the candidate has authorized me to 

provide the information on this form, and to provide further information if necessary. 

 

_____________________________________  ______________________________ 

Signature                   Date 

 

 

______________________________________ 

Name (Printed) 
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

Division of Public Health 

Licensure Unit 

P.O. Box 94986 

Lincoln, Nebraska  68509-4986 

ATTN: Physical Therapy 

 

The following sections are to be completed by the person responsible for disability services at your Physical 

Therapist/Physical Therapist Assistant Program. 

School ADA Accommodation History Form 

 

Section I – Applicant Information 
 

Applicant Name 

 

Last First Middle 

ADDRESS Street/PO/Route: 

 

City: 

 

State: Zip: 

Date of Birth: 

   ________/________/_______ 

      Month /    Day     / Year 

SSN: 

__________________ 

Phone: 

____________________ 

 

Section II – School Contact Information  

 

Name: ________________________________Title:_______________________________________ 

 

School Name and Address: ___________________________________________________________ 

 

_________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Phone: ___________________  Fax:  __________________  Email:__________________________ 

 

 

Section III – Disability and Accommodations History 

 
1. Specify the type of disability for which the candidate received accommodations (e.g., visual, 

learning/cognitive, psychological, etc.) 

 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________  

_____________________________________________________________________________  
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2. What accommodations were provided to this candidate while he or she was a student at your 

institution?  (Check all that apply.) 

 

  Additional Time – Time and a half 

  Additional Time – Double Time 

  Zoom Text (software that enlarges the print on the computer screen) 

  Screen magnifier  

  Reader 

  Individual who enters the examinee’s responses 

  Separate Room 

  Other  (Non-Standard) – Please Describe  

_________________________________________________________________________________  

_________________________________________________________________________________  

  

 

I certify that the information provided by me on this form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 

 I understand that the candidate has authorized me to provide the information on this form, and to provide 

further information if necessary. 

 

_________________________________  ______________________________________ 

Signature                   Date 

 

_________________________________ 

Name (Printed) 
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