DH HS ,A Revised: 11/09/2012

Attachment A

Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit
P.O. Box 94986 - Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986

Telephone #: 402-471-2299 Please print or type application

APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT TO PRACTICE AS AN OCCUPATIONAL
THERAPIST/OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY ASSISTANT

(Revoked, Expired, Placed on Inactive Status, Lapsed, or Voluntary Surrender without Disciplinary Action)

Check the type of license that you are reinstating: [] Occupational Therapy
[1 Occupational Therapy Assistant

Reinstatement application fee

All licenses expire August 1st, of every even year. Prorated fee: If your license is reinstated within 180 days of
the expiration date August 1st of even-numbered years, the fee is prorated and is $65. Make your check payable
to Licensure Unit.

Year Jan Feb Mar Apr May | June | July | Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

Even $155 $65 $65 $65 $65 | $65 $65 | $155 | $155 | $155 | $155 $155

Odd $155 | $155 | $155 | $155 | $155 | $155 | $155 | $155 | $155 | $155 | $155 $155

SECTION A - Personal Information: (All applicants must complete this section.) This section is public
information and will be displayed on the INTERNET http://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cqi.

NOTE: All mailings from this office will be sent to the address you indicate below — If you change your address,
you must advise this office.

Legal First: Middle/Ml: Last:
1 Name:

Maiden Name: Other names you are known as (AKA)

Name

Present Street/Box/Route:
> Address

City: State: Zip:

3 License number:

Date of Birth: Month/Day/Year Place of Birth: City/State or Country
4

SECTION B - Additional information requested: This will NOT be displayed on the internet.

Check the [] social Security Number (SSN): SSN#
Appropriate
Box(s): [] Alien Registration Number (“A#"); or A#
4 .
[] Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) number [-04#
If you have both a SSN and an A# or 1-94 number, you must report both.
Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-123 mandates disclosure of your social security number to DHHS. Although your number is not public information,
DHHS may disclose it for child support enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of Revenue.
** E_ H
** Phone #: ** Fax # E MaH_
5 (optional) (optional) Address:
P P (optional)

** |f you provide us with this information, we can expedite your credential request if there is a problem with your application.



http://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi

SECTION C - Conviction and Licensure Information (all applicants must complete this section) Failure
to disclose any such conviction or disciplinary action, regardless of when the action occurred, could
result in disciplinary action, including, but not limited to, payment of a civil penalty.

Please answer each of the following questions with regard to the time period since your license was renewed.
Answer each of the following questions by placing a check mark in the appropriate box (yes or no) and completing the
information requested. All ‘yes’ responses MUST be explained in detail and you must submit the requested documentation

Type of Crime or Licensure Date of Action Name of Court/Entity

# | Question Yes No Action Taking action

Have you ever been
convicted of a

1 | misdemeanor or ] ]
felony in any
jurisdiction(s)?

If you answered YES to the question above, you must request the following documents be sent directly to this office:

e Alist of any misdemeanor or felony convictions;

e A copy of the Court Record, which includes charges and proof of completion:

o Explanation from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions
you have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions;

¢ All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol related
offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required;

o Aletter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on probation;

The following questions relate to a credential that you hold or have held in health services, health related
services or environmental services in Nebraska or another jurisdiction.

Yes No

If yes, what jurisdiction(s) are What type of credential do you hold?
Are you or ha_ve you you credentialed in?
been credentialed in

any state or I:l I:l

2 | jurisdiction?

(Current, inactive or
Expired credentials must
be listed)

Type of Credential Action Date of Action Name of Entity
Has any credential taking Action

ever been denied,
3 refused renewal, I:l I:l

limited, suspended,
revoked or had other

disciplinary measures
taken against it?

If you answered YES to any of the questions above, you must request the following documents be sent directly to this office:

e Certification of your credential in another jurisdiction(s)
o Official Documents from the State Board in which the disciplinary action was taken




SECTION D - Practice Prior to Reinstatement: An individual who practices prior to reinstatement of a

credential is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, or such other action
as provided in the statutes and regulations governing the credential.

Have you practiced Occupational Therapy in Nebraska since your

1 | license was expired, put on inactive status or following voluntary [JYes [JNo
surrender?
# of days:
2 If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced in Nebraska and Name of business:

what is the business name, location and telephone number of the practice.

City:

| SECTION E - CONTINUING COMPETENCY — OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY

CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS: You must have completed TWENTY (20) hours

(Occupational Therapists) or FIFTEEN (15) hours (Occupational Therapy Assistants) of continuing education,
within the previous 24 months, for reinstatement of your license. In order for a continuing education activity to be
accepted for reinstatement of a license, the continuing education activity must relate to occupational therapy and it
may focus on research, treatment, documentation, management, or education. Acceptable continuing education
activities include:

1.

2.

10.

Programs at State and National association meetings e.g., a meeting of the Nebraska or other state occupational
therapy associations and/or the American Occupational Therapy Association.

Workshops, seminars, and/or conferences where the content of the continuing education activity relates to
occupational therapy whether the subject is research, treatment, documentation, or education management,
which includes monitored videotapes, and in-service programs.

University or college sponsored courses where the content of the course relates to occupational therapy whether
the subject is research, treatment, documentation, education, or management.

Formal self study where the content of the self study activity relates to occupational therapy whether the subject
is research, treatment, documentation, education, or management, e.g. videotapes, internet courses,
correspondence courses and/or AOTA self studies. Licensees may complete a maximum of 12 hours of
continuing education by self-study each 24 month renewal period. The self-study program must have a testing
mechanism.

Management courses which pertain to the practice of occupational therapy. An occupational therapist may
complete a maximum of ten hours of continuing education utilizing management courses each 24 month renewal
period. An occupational therapy assistant may complete a maximum of seven and one half hours of continuing
education utilizing management courses each 24 month renewal period.

Student supervision by an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant. One contact hour is earned
for being a primary direct clinical supervisor for each student’s entire level |l fieldwork experience. Licensee may
receive a maximum of two contact hours of continuing education by supervising a student each 24 month
renewal period.

Participation in research or other scholarly activities that result in professional publication or acceptance for
publication that relate to occupational therapy. Four contact hours will be received for each publication.
Licensees may earn up to a maximum of ten contact hours of continuing education each 24 month renewal
period for authorship, editorship, co-authorship, co-editorship, or all of these, of a juried publication relating to
occupational therapy.

Informal self study: A licensee may earn up to a maximum of two contact hours of continuing education each 24
month renewal period for completion of the following activities or a combination of such activities: a. Reading
related to occupational therapy practice; b. Observing other occupational therapists; c. Viewing videotapes
without a supervisor; and d. Quality assurance or peer review studies.

Nationally recognized specialty certification examinations: A licensee will earn 20 contact hours. Of continuing
education each 24 month renewal period for successful completion of a nationally recognized specialty
certification examination related to an area of advanced practice in the field of occupational therapy.

One hour credit will be awarded for each hour of scientific presentation by a licensee at workshops, seminars, in-
service training, conferences, or guest lectures which relate to the practice of occupational therapy.




CONTINUING COMPETENCY WAIVER: If you have not completed the continuing competency requirement and wish to apply

for a waiver of the continuing competency requirement of continuing education, please submit the documentation required for the
waiver you check below.

] 1 AM REQUESTING A WAIVER of

continuing education hours. Check applicable reason(s) for waiver below:

I have served in the regular armed forces of the United States during part of the twenty-four (24) months preceding the
licensure renewal date and request both my continuing competency requirements and renewal fee be waived. (You
MUST provide official documentation of armed forces service, such as active duty orders or a letter from your

immediate superior officer.)

| was first licensed within the twenty-four (24) months immediately preceding the license renewal date.

| have suffered a serious or disabling illness or physical disability during the credentialing period immediately preceding
the renewal date, which prevented completion of the continuing competency requirements. (Attach a statement from
treating physician(s) stating that you were injured or ill, the duration of the illness or injury and of the recovery period,

and that you were unable to attend continuing education programs during that period.)

I Y [ | I

I have successfully completed two (2) or more semester hours of formal credit instruction offered by an accredited
school or college which contributes to meeting the requirements of an advanced degree in a post graduate program

relating to Occupational Therapy. (attach documentation of such hours; i.e. official transcript)

[]

| had other circumstances beyond my control that prevented me from obtaining the required continuing competency

requirements. (You must submit documentation verifying such circumstances.)

SECTION F - YOU MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS/INFORMATION: Please answer each

of the following questions with regard to the time period since your license was renewed.

If you answer YES to any of the following questions, you must provide an explanation.

1 Have you committed any immoral or dishonorable acts that would evidence unfitness to [JYes[INo
practice Occupational Therapy?
) Have you abused or become dependent on or actively addicted to alcohol, any controlled [ IYes[_INo
substance, or any mind-altering substance?
Have you practiced your . Fraudulgntly? . [lYes[INo
3 | profession: e Beyond its authorized scope? [JYes[INo
' e With gross incompetence or gross negligence? [JYes[INo
e In a pattern of incompetent or negligent conduct? |[]Yes[_INo
Have you practiced Occupational Therapy while your ability to do so was impaired by [1Yes[INo
4 | alcohol, controlled substances, drugs, mind-altering substances, physical disability, mental
disability, or emotional disability?
5 Have you permitted, aided, or abetted the practice of any profession by a person not [ IYes[INo
credentialed to do so0?
6 | Have you been denied the right to take a Credentialing Examination? [1Yes[INo
7 | Have you used untruthful, deceptive, or misleading advertising? [lYes[INo
8 Have you been convicted of fraudulent or misleading advertising, or of violating the Uniform |[]Yes[ ]No
Deceptive Trade Practices Act?
9 | Have you unlawfully distributed intoxicating liquors, controlled substances, or drugs? [JYes[ INo
10 | Have you invaded a field of practice for which you are not credentialed? [JYes[INo
e The Uniform Credentialing Act? [JYes[INo
11 | Have you violated: e Mandatory Reporting Regulations? [JYes[INo
e The Uniform Controlled Substances Act? [JYes[INo
12 Have you committed any acts of unprofessional conduct relating to the practice of [1Yes[INo

Occupational Therapy? (Refer to the Practice Act and Regulations for Occupational Therapy).




SECTION G- ATTESTATION (All applicants must complete this section)
Lawful Presence in the United States Attestation: For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§38-129
| attest as follows:

Please check the appropriate box(s) below:
[] 1am acitizen of the United States
] 1am an alien lawfully admitted into the United State who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform
Credentialing Act
] rama non-immigrant lawfully present in the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform
Credentialing Act

Alien or Non-immigrant Status: If you are NOT a citizen of the United States, you must submit evidence of lawful
presence which may include a copy of:

(1) A Green Card, otherwise known as An Alien Registration Receipt Card (Form 1-551), both front and back of card
(2) An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary 1-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport;
(3) A Form 1-94 (Arrival-Departure Record);

Application Attestation: | further attest that:

1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me;
2. All statements on the application are true and complete;
3. lam of good character; and
4. | have not committed any act that would be grounds for denial under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-178 and/or 38-179. If
you have committed an act(s), you must provide an explanation of all such act(s).
5. I have completed 20 hours (OT) or 15 hours (OTA) of acceptable continuing education within the preceding 24
months pursuant to 172 NAC 114-009 or requested a continued competency waiver.
Print Name:
(Signature of Applicant) (date)
NOTE:

If an applicant has practiced while his/her credential was expired, inactive, or voluntarily surrendered, the Department
may, with the recommendation of the Board, take one or more of the following actions:
1. Assess an administrative penalty, in which case a separate notice of opportunity for hearing will be sent to the
applicant;
2. Deny the application to reinstate the credential;
3. Reinstate the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other disciplinary actions on the credential;
and/or
4. Reinstate the credential.

If an applicant has committed any other violation of the statutes and regulations governing the credential, the

Department may:
1. Deny the application for reinstatement of the credential;
2. Reinstate the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other disciplinary actions on the credential;
and/or
3. Reinstate the credential.

The Department will act within 150 days on all completed applications. The Department’s decision may be appealed
to the Director by any party to the decision. The appeal must be in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.
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