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Wanda has been a Staff RN at BryanLGH for 21 years. While 
working on the Mother/Baby unit, she has found that not 
only is she a fit with her co-workers, she has also found a 
connection with the patients. 

Wanda shares these words of wisdom for those looking to 
get into nursing: “Look deep into your heart.” For Wanda, her 
position is about serving and helping others. She says, “You 
need a passion for people, and caring for and about them. 
All of the experiences you go through provide a learning 
opportunity. Some are good. Some are not. But you continue 
to learn each and every day.” 

BryanLGH has provided Wanda the opportunities to grow, 
learn and care for people. It is a match that has worked for 
over 20 years.

Teaching was in her family. 
But for Wanda, Nursing was in her Heart.
Wanda
RN – Mother/Baby

www.bryanlgh.com
For a complete listing of our career
opportunities, visit our website.

BryanLGH, located on two campuses in Lincoln, Nebraska, is a 
progressive health system which utilizes the experience and talents 
of the finest health professionals in the Midwest.
 
While each hospital site provides a full range of services, specialties 
include:  cardiac/vascular, orthopedic trauma, level II trauma, mental 
health services, and neuroscience.
 
If now is the time for a change in your nursing career, look deep in 
your heart. It may be telling you that BryanLGH is your future.
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Licensure renewal time is currently in full 
swing and will continue until October 31, 
2011, for the renewal of LPN and LPN-C 
licenses.  With the approaching deadline, 
the Licensure Unit is receiving multiple 
questions about continuing competency 
regarding practice and continuing education 
credits. The National Council’s definition of 
competence is the application of knowledge 
and the interpersonal, decision-making, and 
psychomotor skills expected for the nurse’s 
practice role, within the context of public 
health, welfare and safety.

Health care professionals have always 
been encouraged to update their knowledge 
and maintain clinical competence, and the 
philosophy of continuing education was 
developed to stimulate a desire for lifelong 
learning.  However, the rapid changes 
that are taking place in today’s healthcare 
systems have increased the requirements for 
continuing competency.  While working in 
one area of nursing specialty may keep the 
nurse up-to-date in that one area, other areas 
of nursing knowledge may be exploding 
with new and better care interventions.  No 
longer is nursing a “generalist” profession, 
and therefore continuing competency 
requirements focus on keeping pace with 
other areas of nursing, as well as the current 
practice site.

Licensure is the regulated activity that 
governs complex, specialized knowledge 
and skill for decision-making.  Therefore, 
license renewal time seems the best time 
to determine if the nurse has maintained a 
level of competency necessary to perform 
in a unique scope of practice.  This process 
attempts to determine if the nurse has the 
necessary skills to safely perform a specified 
scope of practice by determining the criteria 
needed to evaluate if nurses meet that 
criteria.

 In order to renew a nursing license in 
Nebraska, each nurse with a nursing license 

is required by Regulation in 172 NAC 
101-004.01 to maintain specific continuing 
competency criteria.  Depending on when 
you graduated from nursing school, you 
may be exempt from some of the continuing 
competency requirements.

1.	 For the nurse who has graduated from 
an approved nursing program within 
the past 2 years, no further continuing 
education is required.

2.	 For the nurse who has graduated from 
an approved nursing program more 
than 2 years but less than 5 years 
ago, an additional requirement is to 
obtain 20 contact hours of continuing 
education within the past 2 years.

3.	 For the nurse who has graduated five 
or more years ago, practice hours 
must be documented to consist of at 
least 500 hours of paid or volunteer 
nursing in the preceding 5 years and 
the 20 contact hours of continuing 
education must have been completed 
within the past 2 years.

4.	 Nurses who have not practiced for 
five or more years must take a Board 
approved refresher course.

Practice hours must be accumulated by 
doing nursing, but not specifically bedside 
care.  Nursing practice can be volunteer work 
or paid compensation.  Types of volunteer 
work could include nursing practice with 
parish nursing, the American Red Cross, 
immunizations clinics, etc.   However, the 
care of one’s family or friends is exempted 
and cannot be counted as nursing practice.

Continuing education serves as 
professional development activities that the 
nurse participates in to maintain continuing 
competency.  Of the required 20 contact 
hours (50 minutes = 1 contact hour) at least 
10 hours must be formally peer reviewed and 
approved.  “Peer reviewed” is often indicated 
on the certificate identifying the continuing 
education with a provider number and 
some sort of documentation that it has been 
approved by any state board of nursing, a 

certifying body such as the American Nurses 
Credentialing Center (ANCC), or the 
American Nurses Association.  Academic 
hours directly related to nursing will be 
awarded as one (1) semester hour equal to 
15 contact hours, and one (1) quarter hour 
equal to 10 contact hours.  

Additionally, all continuing education 
hours obtained by online sites, closed circuit 
television, webinars or computer assisted can 
be counted.  Basic Life Support (BLS) can 
be counted as a non-peer reviewed option as 
well as the other certifications such as PALS, 
ACLS, etc.  It is important to keep in mind 
that new hire orientation classes such as fire 
safety DO NOT count toward continuing 
education credits.

The renewal period ends on October 31, 
2011, and licenses will expire if renewal has 
not been completed.  Any renewal materials 
received or requested after that date will 
require that a reinstatement of licensure 
be done.  This requires an additional $35 
reinstatement fee and the submission of 
proof of practice hours from an employer 
and copies of continuing education 
certificates.  Any nurse working on an 
expired license may be fined $10 for every 
day of practice without a valid license.

Additionally, audit letters will be mailed 
on November 1, 2011.  Any nurse who is 
audited will have 30 days to return requested 
practice hours and continuing education 
certificates.  Make sure that addresses are 
up-to-date on our system so that audit letters 
are delivered.  If audit items are not returned 
to the Department within 30 days, licenses 
will expire.

For questions about renewal you may 
email to dhhs.nursingoffice@nebraska.gov 
or go to the FAQ page on the website at 
http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/crl/nursing/rn-lpn/
renewal.htm 

Executive Director’s Message

Executive Director’s Message
Diana Baker
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Executive Director’s Message
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One of “America’s  
Best Colleges”

U.S. News & World Report

TradiTion. academic excellence. online convenience.
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 Free Consultation! 
Talk one-on-one with a specialist 
about our life-changing programs!  
800-571-4934 | JacksonvilleU.com/online

 You realized your nursing dream.  

Now Realize Your
 pOteNtiAl.
earn Your BSN or MSN Online!
Your first day as an RN was filled with great excitement and 
even greater expectations. Renew that passion by graduating to 
the next level of nursing with an RN to BSN or MSN in Nursing 
Education or Leadership in Healthcare Systems from Jacksonville 
University! With our 100% online classroom, you’ll save time 
and money, while earning the same degree as our campus-
based students. Get started today, and be on your way to more 
leadership opportunities, less stress and better hours.

1/3 b ad to come
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NEBRASKA BOARD OF NURSING

Meeting Schedule 2011

Meetings of the Nebraska Board of Nursing convene at 8:30 a.m.; however, the Board immediately goes into closed session to review investigative 
reports.  Members of the public may not be present during closed session.  The Board typically returns to open session after 11:30 a.m.  The agendas 
for the meetings are posted on our website at  http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/crl/brdmtgs.htm, or you may obtain agendas by phoning (402) 471-4376 or 
e-mailing diana.baker@nebraska.gov. 

Day/Date Time Meeting Location 

October

Thursday, October 13 8:30 a.m. Board meeting Gold’s Room 531

November 

Wednesday, November 9 3:00 – 5:00 pm Practice Committee 
Education Committee 

Gold’s Room 530 NSOB Room 1Y

Thursday, November 10 8:30 a.m. Board meeting
(Discipline case review-most of meet-
ing in closed session)

Gold’s Room 531

December

Thursday, December 8 8:30 a.m. Board meeting Gold’s Room 531

Gold’s Building, 1050 N Street, Lincoln Nebraska 68508

 Board meeting schedule

Due to an error in the Summer quarter edition of the Nebraska Nursing News, the article Is Social Media Use a 
Threat to Nursing Professionalism?  did not include the names of the authors, Annette Schnell MSN, APRN-PCNS-
BC, CPN; Joan Batenhorst BSN, RN, ACM, CPN; and Kay Ryan RN, Ph.D., CPN.  It is important that these nurses get 
the credit for this article as it has received many positive comments.

If you know of anyone who would like to submit articles for the Nebraska Nursing News, please email to dhhs.
nursingoffice@nebraska.gov or call Diana Baker at (402) 471-0317.
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Greetings, this has 
been a busy quarter 
with meetings and 
the NCSBN Annual 
Conference.

Six board members attended the Annual 
meeting of the National Council of State 
Boards of Nursing August 3 – 5 in Indianapolis. 
The theme of the conference was Transforming 
the Future of Regulatory Leadership. Those 
attending from Nebraska were Crystal Higgins 
(Practical Nurse Education representative), Janet 
Andrew (LPN representative), Kathryn Yost 
(Staff RN representative), Brenda Bergman- 
Evans (APRN representative), Karen Bowen 
(staff Practice Consultant) and Diana Baker 
(Executive Officer).

The mission of the NCSBN is to provide 
education, service and research through 
collaborative leadership to promote evidence-
based regulatory excellence for patient safety 
and public protection. These meetings are so 
important for the NE BON members to meet 
with other state’s board members and discuss 
issues that they are having in their jurisdictions. 
Nebraska needs to be in attendance and have 
a voice when decisions are being made about 
nursing practice in the country.

There are 50 states, the District of 
Columbia and four US territories – American 
Samoa, Guam, Northern Marianna Islands and 
the Virgin Islands that are members. There were 
56 member boards represented by delegates.

NE has 4 voting delegates, two for the 
Board of Nursing and two for the APRN 
Board. Nebraska is the only jurisdiction to have 
voting delegates for APRNs.  So, what do we 
vote on?  This year’s topic of discussion centered 
on the Uniform Licensure Requirements used 
to help promote future uniformity among 
member boards and facilitate nurse mobility.

The 1999 Uniform Core Licensure 
Requirements were reviewed for currency and 
relevance by a committee. They presented their 
recommendations with rationale for the changes 
to the delegate assembly. These requirements 
are recommended to be implemented by 
member boards by 2016. The areas focused 
on were licensure with or without graduation, 
criminal bars to licensure or case-by-case 
decision, and assessment of functional ability 
prior to licensure. There was discussion on all of 
these topics.

The licensure without graduation 
pertained to programs with direct entry 
generic master’s programs that do not award 
a degree prior to having the students take 
the NCLEX and obtain licensure. The 
delegates voted not to include this in the 
requirements.

Assessment of misdemeanor convictions 
and felonies are on a case-by-case basis. 
Denial of licensure is recommended if 
the individual is convicted of a sexual 
offense and has a psychological evaluation 
that reveals a diagnosis of behavior that is 
predatory in nature or for pedophilia. The 
Delegates voted in favor of this update.

Members attended break sessions called 
Knowledge Networks to discuss topics in 
smaller groups. There was a Regulatory 
group, Board Presidents group and 
Executive Officers group.

The Board Presidents discussed how 
Minnesota handled their state shut down, 
role delineation for the LPN, the APRN 

consensus model, entry into practice and 
how to operate with decreased funding.

The Regulation Network discussed the 
topics of discipline, medication aide survey data, 
role of LPNs, national accreditation of nursing 
programs, how the Federal Trade Commission 
could affect scopes of practice, and should there 
be two licensing exams for RNs, one for ADN 
and one for BSN. There was much discussion 
on all of the topics. 

This was just a small portion of what was 
discussed at this meeting. The networking with 
other members provided so much insight as 
to what other Boards are doing and the work 
they do. I am so glad I had the opportunity to 
represent Nebraska’s voice for nursing. We must 
continue to attend these meetings and share our 
views from the Nebraska perspective.

President’s Message

President’s Message
Crystal Higgins, RN MSN

Neb DHHS Women’s & Mens 1/3 b ad to come



 8  Nebraska Nursing News

Board Update

Q:  What is an advisory opinion?

A:  An advisory opinion is defined in the 
Nurse Practice Act as “defining acts which 
in the opinion of the board are or are 
not permitted in the practice of nursing 
(defined in the Nurse Practice Act). Such 
opinions shall be considered informational 
only and are nonbinding.”  An advisory 
opinion is also defined in the Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Nursing (172 
NAC 100), and “means a statement or 
judgment regarding nursing practice issues 
given by the Board based upon their belief 
and knowledge.” 

Q:  Who may request an advisory 
opinion?

A:  A request for an advisory opinion may 
be from nurses, employers, institutions, 
consumers or any other interested persons.

Q:  What is the process to request an 
advisory opinion?

A:  A person requesting an advisory opinion 
must submit the request in written form. The 
request may be accompanied by supporting 
documents such as national standards, 
literature review, research materials, etc.  
The Nursing Practice Consultant reviews 
all written requests for advisory opinions to 
determine completeness and clarity of the 
request.  It is then placed on the agenda for 
the practice committee.

Q:  What is the role of the Practice 
Committee?

A:  The Nursing Practice Committee reviews 
and studies the nursing practice issue, and 
drafts an advisory opinion recommendation 
for action by the Board.  In formulating 
a recommendation the Committee may, 

as appropriate, consult with and obtain 
input from the nursing population via 
individuals, agencies, regulatory bodies, 
associations and professional organizations 
representing health care professionals and 
institutions.  The Committee also reviews 
literature and research to determine state, 
regional, and national trends. 

Q:  What is the process for issuing an 
advisory opinion?

A:  Once the Practice Committee has 
drafted an advisory opinion, or revised 
an opinion, it goes before the Board of 
Nursing for final approval. 

Q:  How is information communicated 
regarding new or updated advisory 
opinions?

A:  All new and revised opinions are 
published in the Nursing News, and posted 
on the Board of Nursing’s web site.  The 
Nursing Practice Consultant maintains a 
file of advisory opinions for reference.

Advisory Opinions

INTO YOUR DNP

Nervous to take 
the plunge? 
Don’t Be!
The Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) 
program at Creighton University 
School of Nursing is specially designed 
so you can balance family, work and 
school. In 2008, Creighton established 
the first DNP program in Nebraska.

Creighton offers many different  
specialty tracks — in the DNP and the 
MSN programs. Available role options 
include:

 • Nurse Practitioner 
 • Clinical Nurse Specialist 
 •  Clinical Nurse Leader (MSN only)
 • Clinical Systems Administration 
 •  Advanced Public Health/Global 

Health Nurse

No GRE required.

New graduates are encouraged  
to apply.

Ranked in the top 100 graduate nursing programs 
in the nation by U.S. News and World Report.

To find out more, call (800) 544-5071 
or email nursing@creighton.edu.

http://nursing.creighton.edu
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The APRN Board revised the 
alternate method of competency 
assessment (point system) for Clinical 
Nurse Specialists at their July 29, 2011 
meeting.  The board emphasized that 
competency assessment, whether it be 
certification or an alternate method 
such as the point system, is separate 
from the CNS’ job description or 
expectations. It includes those things 
the APRN-CNS does to enhance their 
practice and competencies.

There are currently 23 APRN-
CNSs of the 95 licensed who have 
been approved to use the point system 
in place of certification for license 
renewal.  The revised point system has 
been mailed to each of the APRN-
CNSs that have been approved by the 
board to use the alternate method.  
If you have questions contact Karen 
Bowen MS, RN, karen.bowen@
nebraska.gov, or 402-471-6443.

In the last issue of the Nursing 
News (Summer, 2011) in the Ten Years 
Ago column it was reported that there 
were forty licensure actions taken.  In 

that same edition for the current 
issue there were 49 licensure actions 
taken—almost exactly a 25% increase.

APRN-CNS Alternate Method of 
Competency Assessment

Did you happen to notice?

Below is a summary of the Board 
of Nursing’s actions regarding advisory 
opinions.

At the June meeting of the Board of 
Nursing the board approved revisions 
in the following advisory opinions: 
Accountability for Professional Conduct 
of Nurses, Internal Fetal Scalp Electrodes, 
OB Patients Receiving Analgesia/Anesthesia 
by Catheter, and Wound Debridement.  
The following advisory opinions were 
reaffirmed; Umbilical Catheters and RN 
First Assistant.

The following revised advisory opinions 
were approved by the Board of Nursing at 

their August meeting; RNs and Airway 
Management, and “Extra Pair of Hands” 
Concept.  The advisory opinion, Unna 
Boot, was reaffirmed by the board.  Two 
advisory opinions were retired: LPN and 
Laboring Obstetrical Patients and LPN 
and Gynecological Services.

These advisory opinions and all of the 
advisory opinions can be found on our 
web site at, http://www.hhs.state.ne.us/
crl/nursing/rn-lpn/advisoryops.htm .  For 
more information contact Karen Bowen, 
MS, RN, Nursing Practice Consultant, 
karen.bowen@nebraska.gov or 402-471-
6443. 

Advisory Opinions Update Reach
Recruit
Retain

Arizona
Arkansas
The District
   of Columbia
Indiana
Kentucky
Mississippi
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Mexico

North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oregon
South Carolina
South Dakota
StuNurse/Nationwide
Tennessee
Washington
West Virginia
Wyoming

The Nebraska
Board of Nursing 

Journal
to reserve advertising space

contact Victor Horne
vhorne@pcipublishing.com

1-800-561-4686 ext.114
Our nursing journals are

mailed directly to over 1.5 million
nurses, healthcare professionals

and educators nationwide.

ThinkNurse.com
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bOard Of nursing 

Awards Dinner at NCSBN’s Annual Meeting
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evidence-based  
Practice for Nursing

Volume 28 • Number 2 / Summer 2011

Official PublicatiOn Of the nebraska  

bOard Of nursing 

Social Media:

A Threat to Nursing?

Mailed to every nurse
in Nebraska – over 29,000.

Board Update
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The NE LAP’s tag line at the end 
of each quarterly newsletter has always 
included the following invitation 
“If you are a licensed health service 
professional wanting more information 
about alcohol/drug abuse or addiction 
treatment…contact the NE LAP at 
(800) 851-2336 or (402) 354-8055 or 
visit our website at www.lapne.org.”  
We are hoping that the health service 
professionals who read the invitation 
and question, suspect or know they have 
alcohol or drug problems will be moved 
to reach out to us for help before they 
develop problems at home, at work or 
with their licensure status.  First and 
foremost, we want to help health service 
professionals prevent alcohol or drug-
related problems in their personal lives 
or professional work.

We know from our experience with 

the health service professionals who have 
utilized our services that they wished 
they had followed the little voice inside 
them that had responded when they 
read the invitation.  It told them “call 
them, you need help.”  Unfortunately, 
they used circumstances, such as “I can’t 
afford the cost” or “I can’t afford the 
time off from work” or “It would be too 
shameful to admit I have problems” or 
“I don’t have child care” to dismiss the 
little voice inside them.  Their alcohol/
drug problems worsened and eventually 
they were mandated, due to the serious 
consequences of their alcohol/drug use, 
to utilize the NE LAP services to address 
and resolve their abuse or addiction.  

Alcohol/drug counseling or treatment 
is do-able.  Every circumstance that 
seems like a daunting obstacle, even an 
insurmountable one, can be overcome.  

Low-cost treatment is available or funds 
can be found to pay for treatment.  
Treatment can be done after work hours 
or employers or practices can get along 
without everyone on a temporary basis.  
Spouses or extended families can care 
for children.  Finally, there need be no 
shame for getting help that is needed.  
As a matter of fact, family, friends and 
colleagues generally admire the health 
service professional who has admitted 
to his or her problems with alcohol or 
drugs and has gotten the help he or she 
needed to overcome these problems.  

Many counseling and treatment 
resources are available throughout 
Nebraska.  The NE LAP can help health 
service professionals identify the nature 
of their alcohol or drug problems and 
refer them to the treatment providers 
who have the services they need.

There are also many treatment 
programs available around the country 
for professionals who would be best 
served by a residential addiction 
treatment program designed specifically 
for health care professionals.  Well-
known national programs include 
Hazelden’s programs in Center City, 
Minnesota, and Newberg, Oregon; 
Talbott Recovery in Atlanta; and Rush 
University Medical Center in Chicago.  
The NE LAP can also assist a health 
service professional with admission 
into one of these specialized addiction 
treatment programs for professionals.

The NE LAP urges all health service 
professionals to listen for the little 
voice inside them when you read this 
newsletter.  If the little voice is saying 
“I should call the NE LAP,” please 
contact us.  We will help you find 
and utilize the alcohol/drug services 
you need to prevent or treat serious 
alcohol or drug-related problems.  To 
rework an old phrase from an oil 
filter commercial seen on TV many 
years ago, applied to alcohol and drug 
problems, “you can see us now or you 
can see us later.”  We urge you to make 
the call to the NE LAP now, not later.

License Assistance Program

Nebraska Licensee Assistance Program

1/3 b ad to come
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Madatory Reporting

In Nebraska, health care professionals 
are required to “self-report” to the 
Department of Health and Human 
Services (DHHS) in certain situations.  
These situations generally pertain 
to issues of competence and liability 
that have resulted from a health care 
professional’s conduct within his or 
her practice area.  Examples of such 
issues include termination from your 
job, unprofessional conduct, gross 
incompetency, a pattern of negligent 
conduct or practicing while impaired by 
alcohol or drugs, or a physical, mental or 
emotional disability.

However, a health care professional’s 
conduct outside of his or her practice 
area can also trigger self-reporting 
requirements.  Specifically, health care 
professionals must self-report when 
convicted of a misdemeanor or felony 
offense.  On its face, this seems straight 
forward.  If a health care professional 
is accused of a misdemeanor or felony, 
one expects a certain amount of formal 
process to ensue before a conviction 
occurs which triggers the self-reporting 
requirements.  The process may not 
be as dramatic as an episode of Law 
and Order, but at the very least the 
health care professional may expect 
to meet with a prosecutor and make 
an appearance in court.  In short, it 
would be fairly obvious to the health 
care professional that a conviction 
had occurred and the self-reporting 
requirement had been triggered.  Simple 
enough, right?  NO.  It is possible to 
be convicted of a misdemeanor offense 
without ever meeting a prosecutor or 
stepping foot inside a courtroom.  These 
offenses are commonly referred to as 
waiverable offenses.1

Under a waiverable offense, an 
accused individual has the option of 
either 1) contesting the accusation in 
court, or 2) waiving his or her rights, 

pleading guilty, and paying the fine 
established for the offense without 
appearing in court.  Perhaps the most 
common example of a waiverable offense 
is a speeding ticket.  If ticketed for 
speeding, the accused driver may contest 
the charge in court, or choose the more 
likely option of signing the ticket and 
paying the fine.  Usually, the fine is 
paid by writing a check and mailing the 
fine to the courthouse in the county 
where you were stopped.  The driver’s 
signature and payment constitute a 
guilty plea and, if accepted, result in a 
conviction.

Fortunately, for heavy-footed health 
care professionals, speed limit violations 
do not constitute misdemeanors, so 
citations for speeding will not trigger 
self-report requirements.  (Additionally, 
the form for reporting convictions 
provided by DHHS specifically instructs 
health care professionals not to report 
speeding or parking tickets).  However, 
if a speeding driver is pulled over by an 
officer, the stop may result in more than 
a mere citation for speeding.  Suppose 
the driver was operating the vehicle 
without a current registration.  The 
driver will receive a ticket from the 
officer for speeding, as well as operating 
a vehicle without a current registration.  
Both offenses are waiverable, but 
the second charge is defined as a 
misdemeanor.  If the driver is a health 
care professional, and he or she pays 
the ticket via a waiver, a conviction of a 
misdemeanor offense has occurred and 
self-reporting requirements would take 
effect.

Many misdemeanors that are also 
waiverable offenses pertain to the use 
and ownership of automobiles.  Some 
are classified as non-moving offenses, 
such as possessing a radar transmission 
device (aka a “fuzz buster”), operating a 
vehicle with improperly tinted windows, 

no proof of ownership, driving on an 
expired driver’s license or while on 
suspension, or your plates are not clear 
and visible.

Other waiverable misdemeanors have 
nothing to do with operating a vehicle.  
Littering, discharge of illegal fireworks, 
and public consumption of alcohol 
are a few.  Violations of certain Game 
and Park statutes may be waiverable 
misdemeanors.  Examples include 
shooting from the highway, possession 
of an open alcohol container, no fishing 
(or other appropriate) permit, loaded 
shotgun in the vehicle, and insufficient 
life jackets in a boat.

The important question to ask is 
“Even if this offense is waiverable, is 
it a misdemeanor?”  A simple ticket 
may detrimentally affect a health care 
professional’s standing, if he or she 
fails to realize the gravity of his or her 
actions in paying a ticket that carries 
a misdemeanor offense.  If he or she 
chooses to pay the fine, the health care 
professional must also realize that a 
conviction may have occurred and the 
conviction must be reported to DHHS.

If a licensee has a conviction he 
or she has not reported, the general 
recommendation is to report as soon as 
you become aware that you should have 
reported rather than wait until the next 
renewal period.  Generally, the sooner 
you report, the less likely it will be that 
adverse action is taken against your 
license for a failure to report.  Valuable 
information can be found by visiting the 
reporting website at: http://www.dhhs.
ne.gov/reg/INVEST-P.HTM#Forms 

•	 A list of waiverable offenses 
may be found at http://
supremecourt.ne.gov/rules/
pdf/CheArt14.pdf  (scroll 
to Appendix 6, waiver/fine 
schedule)

Repr in ted  by  permiss ion  o f  Abb ie  Widger ,  A t to rney

Do You Know What That Ticket 
Really Requires You To Do?
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This is the fifth article in the series 
about Nursing Education in Nebraska.  
The first article described all of the nursing 
education in the state, from PN to PhD.  
There were also articles about the practical 
nursing programs in the state, the 
baccalaureate programs in the state, 
and in the last issue, the associate 
degree programs.  This article will 
tell about the BSN completion 
programs in Nebraska.

All of the baccalaureate nursing 
programs in the state (BryanLGH 
College of Health Sciences, Clarkson 
College, Creighton University, 
Methodist College, Midland 
University, Union College and 
University of Nebraska Medical Center 
College of Nursing) have options for the 
Registered Nurse to attend and obtain a 
baccalaureate degree.  Most have a special tract 
developed just for this purpose.  Some offer 

transfer credit, others advanced placement and 
others “test out” opportunities or sometimes 
a combination of more than one of the above 
mentioned methods.  Some of the programs 
actually have “names” for the RN to BSN tract 

that they offer.  Many of the BSN programs 
also offer an LPN to BSN program of study. 

There are currently three programs that 
are designed specifically for the RN to BSN 
student.  The programs do not have a generic 

or basic BSN course of study, but offer the 
RN to BSN curriculum only, which means 
that the student must already be licensed as 
an RN—for those whose license was obtained 
following an associate degree education or a 
three year diploma education.  

The three RN to BSN programs are listed 
below with the location of the program, 
the  website of the program, the name of the 
nursing director and the accreditation status. 

In these programs, as much as is 

possible, the class schedules are arranged to 
accommodate the students, who are primarily 
working nurses thus making it possible for 
nurses to advance their nursing education 
while at the same time working as nurses.  

Feature Article

By She i la  Exs t rom,  Nurs ing  Educa t ion  Consu l tan t

RN to BSN programs—

Name of Program Location Website Address Nursing Director Accreditation

College of Saint Mary Omaha www.csm.edu Dr. Kathleen Zajic NLNAC

Doane College Lincoln and 
Grand Island

www.doane.edu Ms. Debra Savage New Program
1st grads-2012

Nebraska Wesleyan 
University

Lincoln and
Omaha

www.nebrwesleyan.edu Dr. Rita McGuire NLNAC

1/2 H ad to come
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Practice

Q:  I am a Director of Nursing 
and have recently hired an individual 
who has just graduated from a nursing 
program.  She has not taken NCLEX 
yet.  She is currently working in a 
tech position until she receives her 
RN license.  I have been told she 
can perform nursing functions, such 
as starting IVs, under the direct 
supervision of an RN since she has done 
these in school.  Is this correct?

A:  No.  Until they have passed 
NCLEX, and are licensed, a new 
graduate can only provide care that an 
unlicensed assistive person can provide. 
Even though they have the knowledge 
and ability, there is no exception for 
graduate nurses.  No one may practice 
nursing without a nursing license.  In 
fact, the Nurse Practice Act states that 
it is unlawful for a person to practice as 
a nurse or call themselves a nurse unless 
they hold a nursing license.   

A student can perform nursing 
services in their clinical experience 
without a nursing license because 
of a provision in the Nurse Practice 
Act.  The statutes state a student 
nurse enrolled in an approved nursing 
program may provide nursing services 
“when the services are a part of the 
student’s course of study.”  They are 
limited to only performing nursing 
services as part of their nursing courses.

The National Council of State Boards 
of Nursing (NCSBN) met in Indianapolis 
Aug. 3 - 5, 2011, to consider pertinent 
association business with its member 
boards of nursing. There were 56 member 
boards represented by delegates. 

 Highlights of some of the significant 
actions approved by the member boards of 
nursing include:

•	 Adoption of revisions to the 
Uniform Licensure Requirements; 

•	 Election of officers for the 
NCSBN Board of Directors and 
Leadership Succession Committee; 
and

•	 Acceptance of the Singapore 
Nursing Board and College of 

Registered Nurses of Nova Scotia 
as associate members of NCSBN.

NCSBN Board of Directors President 
Myra A. Broadway, JD, MS, RN, executive 
director, Maine State Board of Nursing, 
commented, “In addition to welcoming 
our two new associate members, we are 
pleased that the delegates had sufficient 
time to discuss and vote for the proposed 
Uniform Licensure Requirements to help 
promote future uniformity among member 
boards and facilitate nurse mobility.” 

NCSBN will meet Aug. 8 - 10, 2012, 
in Dallas for the 2012 Annual Meeting 
and Delegate Assembly.

 The National Council of State Boards 

of Nursing (NCSBN) is a not-for-profit 
organization whose members include 
the boards of nursing in the 50 states, 
the District of Columbia and four U.S. 
territories — American Samoa, Guam, 
Northern Mariana Islands and the Virgin 
Islands. There are also nine associate 
members. 

Mission: NCSBN provides education, 
service and research through collaborative 
leadership to promote evidence-based 
regulatory excellence for patient safety and 
public protection.

 The statements and opinions 
expressed are those of NCSBN and not 
the individual member state or territorial 
boards of nursing.

NCSBN Corner

Practice Q & A:

Dawn M.  Kappe l ,  D i rec to r ,  Marke t ing  and  Communica t ions ,  NCSBN

Memorial to Susan James

Our Friend and Colleague, Susan James, passed away on June 2, 2011 in Kearney.  Susan graduated 
from Omaha Metropolitan Community College in 1980 and worked as an LPN at the Phelps Memorial 
Health Center in Holdrege and also at Good Samaritan Hospital in Kearney.  Susan was a valuable 
member of the Nebraska Board of Nursing since December 2008 and represented the LPNs in the state.  
Susan earned her LPN-Certification in 2002 and provided insight to that practice to the Board.  She also 
served on the Education Committee.  Susan always had a smile on her face and enjoyed her service on the 
Board.  She is missed by all of us.
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Practice

The following statements are for 
the purpose of clearly identifying what 
is acceptable nursing practice and 
continuing education for licensure 
renewal or reinstatement.

NURSING PRACTICE—at the time 
of each renewal every 2 years (or for 
reinstatement), the nurse must have 
completed 500 hours of nursing 
practice within the previous 5 years 
(November 1, 2006– October 31, 
2011). 

1.	 The practice of nursing is 
defined in the Neb. Rev. Stat. 
38-2210.  For the purpose of 
license requirements, the practice 
of nursing means those activities 
requiring judgment and skill 
based upon a systematized body 
of nursing knowledge. 

2.	 Nursing care provided for 
immediate family members does 
not qualify as nursing practice.  
Immediate family members are 
defined as spouse, father, mother, 
grandfather, grandmother, sister, 
brother, child, or grandchild of 
the licensee and the spouse of 
any of these or someone who 
bears this similar relationship 
to the spouse of the licensee.  
Step-persons bearing these 
relationships are also included.  

CONTINUING EDUCATION—at 
the time of renewal, the nurse must 
have completed 20 contact hours 
of continuing education within the 
previous 2 years (November 1, 2009 
through October 31, 2011) 

1 Contact Hour equals 50 minutes
1 Continuing Education Unit 
(C.E.U.) Equals 10 Contact Hours
1 Semester Hour Credit equals 15 
Contact Hours
1 Quarter Hour Credit equals 10 
Contact Hours

Basic Continuing Education 
Requirements:

1.	 Must be 20 hours within the last 
renewal period.

2.    Must be related to the practice of 
nursing.

3.    At least 10 of the 20 hours must 
be formally peer-reviewed and 
approved continuing education. 

4.    All 20 hours may be obtained 
through online continuing 
education.

5.    Up to 4 hours may be CPR/BLS.  
(this is non-peer related)

6.    A licensee shall be responsible to 
maintain in his or her personal file 
such proof of nursing practice for 7 
years and must submit such proof 
to the Board when requested.

7.	 A licensee must attend the 
complete continuing education 
offering in order to report it for 
credit.

Acceptable Continuing Education 
The Board of Nursing does not pre-

approve offerings, but may accept as 
continuing education for licensure the 
following learning experiences provided they 
are applicable to nursing practice.

1.	 Academic courses in an accredited 
post-secondary institution 
which are related to the specific 
knowledge and/or technical skills 
required for the practice of nursing.

2.	 Courses or offerings related to 
the scientific knowledge for the 
practice of nursing, including 
basic and advanced courses in the 
physical, social, and behavioral 
sciences.

3.	 Courses or offerings related to the 
application of scientific knowledge 
to patient/client care, including 
but not limited to, general nursing 
practice, specialty nursing practice, 
teaching/learning processes, 
therapeutic communication skills, 
case finding and case management.

4.	 Courses or offerings in nursing 
theories, health policy, nursing 
administration, management, 
quality assurance, ethics, 
professional issues, education, 

research, legal aspects, or other 
functional areas of nursing related 
to patient/client care.                 

6.	 A Board-approved refresher course 
or other review course of study.

7.	 Courses which are required as part 
of a formal nursing program. 

8.	 Courses or offerings that have been 
approved by other State Boards of 
Nursing and/or national nursing 
organizations except for those listed 
below as non-acceptable continuing 
education.

	
Non-acceptable Continuing Education.  

It is acknowledged that licensed nurses 
will be involved in many continuing 
education activities, but for purposes of 
licensure, continuing education that is not 
acceptable to be applied for licensure includes 
but is not limited to:

1.    Computer courses unless they are a 
part of a formal nursing program.

2.    Business communications.
3.    Medical terminology and language 

courses (this includes sign language 
and any foreign language).

4.    Courses or offerings which deal with 
personal self-improvement, financial 
gain, or career options.

5.    Offerings designed for lay persons 
other than CPR-related courses.  
The Basic EMS course may not be 
used.  

6.   Teaching, conducting research 
or writing publications, nor 
any preparation for it. These 
activities can be applied toward 
the practice hour requirement 
for license renewal. Such acts will 
count toward meeting renewal 
requirements only if they meet the 
definition of the practice of nursing.

7.    Offerings less than 30 minutes in 
duration. 

8.    On‑the‑job training.
11.  Orientation programs, including 

orientation to new policies, 
procedures, equipment, forms, 
responsibilities, services, etc.  CPT 
coding may not be used for license 
renewal.

Nursing Practice and Continuing Education Guidelines
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Renewal FAQ’s 

When does my license expire?  
LPN licenses will expire at midnight on 
October 31, 2011.

If my renewal application is 
postmarked October 31, will I be okay? 
Can I work November 1?
If your renewal application is postmarked 
on October 31, 2001, you will not have 
to pay a reinstatement penalty, but your 
license may not be processed on or before 
November 1, 2011; so you may not work 
until your license has officially been 
renewed.  If you mailed your application 
October 31, it will not be received in 
our office before November 1.  You must 
allow sufficient time for processing of 
your renewal application.  

Can I work after October 31 if my 
license has expired?
No, you may not practice on an expired 
license.  If your license expires you will 
be required to reinstate your license with 
all necessary supporting documentation 
(copies of CE and proof of practice 
hours), plus you will be assessed a $35 
reinstatement fee. 
Also, you must allow sufficient time for 
processing of your renewal application 
and it may be several days before 
your license is reinstated.  In 2009, 
we received over 1,400 LPN renewal 
applications during the last week of 
October.  Your application may not 
be processed by November 1 if you 
wait until the last minute to get your 
application to the Department.

If I bring my application in before 
5:00 p.m. Friday, can I wait and get my 
renewed license before I leave?
No.  Applications are processed in 
the order they are received, including 
applications received in the mail and 
online renewals.  In previous years, we 
have received hundreds of application 
the last work day of the renewal period.  

Please allow sufficient time for your 
renewal application to be processed.  You 
can not expect to mail your application 
the last day of the renewal period and 
have your license renewed by the next 
day.  Keep in mind that the Department 
is closed on Saturdays and Sundays.

If I renew online before midnight 
October 31, will my license be renewed 
for the next day?
Not necessarily.  Plan to allow 2-3 
business days for an online renewal to 
be completed.  Additional time will be 
needed to get the license to you in the 
mail.

If I renew online and I don’t get the 
confirmation screen, is my license still 
renewed?
No, the confirmation screen is your 
receipt that you completed all of the 
requirements for licensure.  If you 
provided insufficient or incorrect 
information, your license will not be 
renewed.  You may be required to 
follow-up with additional information 
before your license can be issued.  Be 
sure to turn off your Pop-Up Blocker on 
your computer because an online feature 
of our system will give you direction 
if you need to send in additional 
information, but only if your Pop-up 
Blocker is disabled.  Also, do not use 
the scroll bar when answering questions 
as this will change previously marked 
answers.

If I renew on line Saturday night 
can my employer verify my license 
Monday morning when I come in to 
work?
No.   There will not be sufficient time 
to process applications on Monday 
morning to show on the computer.  The 
License Look-up will not be updated 
until Tuesday after midnight.
In 2009, over 100 LPNs had to reinstate 
their licenses because they had not 
renewed before the expiration date of 
their license.  The following are reasons 

they had not renewed:
•	 I forgot
•	 I didn’t know it expired the end of the 

month
•	 I didn’t have the money
•	 I tried to renew online over the 

weekend, but had trouble
•	 I thought my employer was going to 

renew my license

Reasons applications held up:
•	Missing pages
•	No payment accompanying application
•	Not signed
•	Questions answered incorrectly

Your license is your responsibility.  
Without it, you cannot practice 
legally.  Be prepared and be ready when 
November 1, 2011 comes around.

License Renewal

LPNs – Are You Planning on Working After November 1? 
Important Information Regarding Renewal of Your License

1/6 v ad to come
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Disciplinary Actions

Additional information regarding the actions identified below is available on our website at www.nebraska.
gov/LISSearch/search.cgi.  To view a copy of the  disciplinary/non-disciplinary action click on “View Scanned 

Documents” once in the License Details Section of the search.  
  The information may also be requested by e-mail at diana.baker@nebraska.gov.

Licensee Date of 
Action

Action Violation

Steven Courson
RN 72288

5-5-11 License Issued on Probation Previous disciplinary action on privilege to practice 

Deanna Brown
LPN #20550

5-12-11 License Reinstated on 
Probation

Previous disciplinary action

Gena Gant
LPN 22815

5-12-11 Probation Alcohol Dependency
Practice of the profession while ability to practice is impaired by alcohol

Unprofessional Conduct-Departure from or failure to conform to the standards 
of acceptable and prevailing practice of the profession

Nikki Greenough
LPN #16718

5-12-11 Revocation Dishonorable Conduct-Theft of medication from place of nursing employment 
for personal use

Unprofessional Conduct-Departure from or failure to conform to standards of 
acceptable and prevailing practice or ethics of the profession

Violation of current license probationary conditions
Opioid Dependence

Adam Hinrikus
RN 59621

5-12-11 Censure Violation of current license probationary conditions  

Linda Vaux
RN 48098

5-20-11 Non-disciplinary Assurance of 
Compliance

Unprofessional Conduct-Committing any act which endangers patient safety 
and welfare  

Amber Sims
RN 63530

5-26-11 Censure Unprofessional Conduct-Failure to maintain an accurate patient record

Jessie Amen
LPN #20661

06-11-11 Non-disciplinary Assurance of 
Compliance

Failure to report misdemeanor conviction in accordance with the state man-
datory reporting law

Sandra McDowell
LPN #15516

6-16-11 Non-Disciplinary Assurance of 
Compliance

Unprofessional Conduct-Failure to follow policies or procedures implemented 
in the practice situation to safeguard patient care  

Delores Gangwish RN 
46436

6-16-11 Non-disciplinary Assurance of 
Compliance

Failure to report loss of nursing employment in accordance with state manda-
tory reporting law  

Shirley Lute
RN 63862

6-17-11 Non-disciplinary Assurance of 
Compliance

Unprofessional Conduct-Failure to follow policies or procedures implemented 
in the practice situation to safeguard patient care

Zola Braden
RN 58053

6-18-11 Non-disciplinary Assurance of 
Compliance

Failure to report loss of nursing employment in accordance with state manda-
tory reporting law  

Diana Dally
LPN 17949

6-20-11 License Reinstated on 
Probation

Previous disciplinary action

Tamara Gumm
LPN #19093

6-20-11 Censure
Suspension

Unprofessional Conduct-Departure or failure to conform to the standards of 
acceptable and prevailing practice or ethics of the profession

Failure to report termination of nursing employment in accordance with the 
state mandatory reporting law

Linda Hanway
LPN #8643

6-20-11 Censure 
Suspension

Unprofessional Conduct-Departure from or failure to conform to the standards 
of acceptable and prevailing practice or ethics of the profession

Heather Rutan
LPN #14137

6-20-11 Revocation Dishonorable Conduct-Violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act-
acquire or obtain or attempt to acquire or obtain possession of a controlled 

substance by . . . . misrepresentation, fraud, forgery, deception . . . . 

L i c e n s u r e  A c t i o n s
The following is a list of licensure actions taken between 
May 1, 2011 and July 31, 2011
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Licensee Date of 
Action

Action Violation

Dinah Turrentine-Sims
LPN #17079

6-20-11 Revocation Conviction of a felony which has a rational connection with the fitness or 
capacity to practice the profession  

Stephanie Waltemath
LPN #17784
LPN-C #683

6-20-11 Censure Unprofessional Conduct-Departure or failure to conform to the standards of 
acceptable and prevailing practice or ethics of the profession

Donna Woodworth
LPN #2675

6-20-11 Censure Unprofessional Conduct-Departure or failure to conform to the standards of 
acceptable and prevailing practice or ethics of the profession  

Robin Awalt
RN 47024

6-20-11 Probation Conviction of a misdemeanor which has a rational connection with fitness to 
practice the profession

Diagnosis of alcohol abuse

Cynthia Julian
RN 52483

6-20-11 Censure Unprofessional Conduct-Departure from or failure to conform to the standards 
of acceptable and prevailing practice or ethics of the profession  

Sabrina Reed
RN 62998

APRN 111014

6-20-11 Censure Unprofessional Conduct-Departure from or failure to conform to the standards 
of acceptable and prevailing practice of the profession

Jay Spilker
RN 38150

6-20-11 Censure Unprofessional Conduct-Failure to utilize appropriate judgment in adminis-
tering safe nursing practice based upon level of nursing for which licensed; 

committing any act which endangers patient safety or welfare

Christine Croissant-Smith
RN 47503

6-21-11 Probation Conviction of a felony which has a rational connection with fitness or capacity 
to practice the profession

LeAnn Remmers-Hamner
RN 63723

6-21-11 Suspension Dishonorable Conduct-Theft of controlled substances and supplies from nurs-
ing employer

Possession of multiple controlled substances and legend drugs without valid 
prescriptions

Diagnoses of Opioid Dependence and Alcohol Abuse rule out dependence
Violation of the Uniform Controlled substances Act

Unprofessional Conduct-Failure to conform to the standards of acceptable and 
prevailing practice or ethics of the profession  

Debra Grayson
LPN #9073

6-24-11 Non-disciplinary Assurance of 
Compliance

Unprofessional Conduct-Failure to follow policies or procedures implemented 
in the practice situation to safeguard patient care  

Jami Hodge
LPN #21143

7-1-11 Summary Suspension Non-Payment of Civil Penalty

Sha Ion
LPN #19513

7-1-11 Summary Suspension Non-Payment of Civil Penalty

Laquita Willis-Stewart
LPN #22604

7-7-11 Censure
$1000.00 Civil Penalty

Unprofessional Conduct-Failure to conform to the standards of acceptable and 
prevailing practice or ethics of the profession

Cynthia Daniels
RN 60111

7-7-11 Censure 
$500.00 Civil Penalty

Violation of current license probationary conditions

Amber Lubben
RN 72789

7-12-11 Probation Probation on LPN license 

Mandi Johnson
LPN #20886

7-13-11 Suspension Violation of previously imposed conditions of probation 

Sharon King
RN 43380

7-13-11 Non-disciplinary Voluntary 
Limitation

Courteney McKinley
RN 29219

7-13-11 Censure Misdemeanor conviction which has a rational connection to fitness to practice 
the profession

Unprofessional Conduct-Failure to follow policies and procedures implement-
ed to safeguard patient care

Elena Uram
RN 72836

7-20-11 Probation Misdemeanor convictions which have a rational connection to fitness to prac-
tice the profession

Abuse of, dependence on, or active addiction to alcohol . . . . 

Disciplinary Actions
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Disciplinary Actions

Licensee Date of 
Action

Action Violation

Michelle Dare
RN 51980

7-20-11 Denial of Reinstatement Misrepresentation of material facts in procuring or attempting to procure a 
credential

Abuse of, dependence on, or active addiction to alcohol, any controlled sub-
stance or any mind-altering substance

Misdemeanor and felony convictions which have a rational connection with 
fitness to practice the profession 

Diane McCoy
LPN #18128

7-21-11 Non-Disciplinary Assurance of 
Compliance

Unprofessional Conduct-Disruptive behavior, whether verbal or physical, 
which interferes with consumer care or could reasonably be expected to 

interfere with such care

Tierney Byers
RN 51897

7/21/11 Non-disciplinary Assurance of 
Compliance

Failure to report loss of nursing employment in accordance with the state 
mandatory reporting law  

Crystal Everett
LPN 23283

7/27/11 Probation Misdemeanor convictions which have a rational connection with fitness to 
practice the profession.  

Stacy Standage
LPN #13481

7-28-11 Non-disciplinary Assurance of 
Compliance

Failure to report misdemeanor convictions in accordance with the state man-
datory reporting law  

Katie Peterson
RN 58908

7-29-11 Non-disciplinary Assurance of 
Compliance

Failure to report loss of nursing employment in accordance with the state 
mandatory reporting law  

Donna Uhrenholdt RN
30205

7-30-11 Non-disciplinary Assurance of 
Compliance

Unprofessional Conduct-Committing any act which endangers patient safety 
or welfare

	
SAVE the Date!!

Nebraska Women’s Health Symposium
Wednesday, November 9, 2011
Cornhusker Marriott Hotel

Lincoln, NE

www.dhhs.ne.gov/womenshealth
will have more information about the

symposium by September 1.

Co-sponsored by:
NE Department of Health & Human Services
Office of Women’s Health &
Creighton University
with funds from the U.S. Health & Human
Services Office on Women’s Health

Featuring: 
      Presentations, exhibits, 
      and continuing education!

Bring JOY to your Work!
Joy Medical Group is recruiting 

RNs, LPNs and CNAs
 

Our relationships with the region’s best healthcare providers 
enable us to find just the right fit for you. 

 
•	 ICU/CCU

•	 ER

•	 Med/Surg

•	 Correctional/Psych

•	 Rehab

•	 LTC

•	 Clinic
 
Outstanding Benefits and 
Compensation
Flexible Work Assignments
Contract – Per Diem – Direct Hire 

Call (888) 564-7823 or apply online at 
w w w. J o y M e d i c a l G r o u p . c o m

Ask about 
our Hiring 

Bonus
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Day Port Arrive Depart

Sunday, April 22, 2012 New Orleans, Louisiana -- 04:00 PM

Monday, April 23, 2012 Fun Day At Sea -- --

Tuesday, April 24, 2012 Fun Day At Sea -- --

Wednesday, April 25, 2012 Montego Bay, Jamaica 09:00 AM 06:00 PM

Thursday, April 26, 2012 Georgetown, Grand Cayman 07:00 AM 04:00 PM

Friday, April 27, 2012 Cozumel, Mexico 10:00 AM 05:00 PM

Saturday, April 28, 2012 Fun Day At Sea -- --

Sunday, April 29, 2012 New Orleans, Louisiana 08:00 AM --

Nursing Continuing Education 

  CruiseApril 22-29, 2012

CRUISE

CECE

CRUISE

Th

inkNurse.com

ThinkNurse.co

m

Cruise your way to 

Nursing CE Credits 

on the Caribbean Sea aboard 

Carnival’s Conquest!

Who says Continuing Education can’t be fun?
Join ThinkNurse and Poe Travel for our 7th Annual CE Cruise. Cruise the Caribbean on Carnival’s Conquest while you earn your annual CE credits 
and write the trip off on your taxes! Prices for this cruise and conference are based on double occupancy (bring your spouse, significant other, 
or friend) and start at only $855 per person (not including airfare to New Orleans) A $250 non-refundable per-person deposit is required to 
secure your reservations. Please ask about our Cruise LayAway Plan!

There’s no better way to conquer the High Seas than with the ship Carnival Conquest! Beautiful destination spots, award-winning stage 
shows, swanky clubs and lounges plus Spa Carnival, a friendly casino, delicious dining options and the Carnival Seaside Theatre. Make your 
reservations today! 

For more information about the cruise and the curriculum, please 
log on to our Web site at ThinkNurse.com or call Teresa Grace at 
Poe Travel Toll-free at 800.727.1960.

ARUBA

Seventh 
Annual
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Nursing Networking
The “NEW” Classifieds (1.5” wide x 1” high)

Reach every nurse in Nebraska for as little as $225.
Contact Victor Horne 

vhorne@pcipublishing.com  • 1-800-561-4686 ext. 114

Nancy R. Wynner,
Attorney at Law

Expertise in administrative
license matters including: 

• Defense Against 
Disciplinary Action

• License Reinstatement

nwynner@demarsgordon.com

www.demarsgordon.com

Lincoln, NE • (402) 438-2500

Thrive in Alaska!
‑ New Hospital Opening 2012  ‑

RN and LPN Opportunities
in natural Northwest Alaska!

NORTON SOUND HEALTH CORPORATION
Rhonda Schneider, HR

(877) 538-3142 or rmschneider@nshcorp.org
Visit www.nortonsoundhealth.org

Supporting family 
after the death of a child

 
Compassionate Friends

Omaha Chapter

Offering support, friendship 
and understanding

Visit www.tcfomaha.org     
402-571-4011

Our RN to BSN Completion Option
offers you many advantages:
•	 New	hybrid	format	increases	flexibility	for	the	
	 working	nurse.

•	 Weekend	classes	on	campus	three	times	
	 per	semester.

•	 Credit	for	prior	learning	experience.

•	 High	quality	faculty	and	facilities.

As	an	RN,	you	receive	36	hours	toward	the	
required	64	nursing	credit	hours,	plus	the	
opportunity	to	use	your	clinical	experience	
in	the	workplace	toward	the	remaining	
28	nursing	hours.	

481-8697 or 1-800-742-7844, ext. 18697
www.bryanlghcollege.edu

BryanLGH College of Health Sciences

Take the next step in your career
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Dead Sea Salts:
Legendary

mineral rich
salts to relax and

ease muscles

Grape Seed Oil:
Antioxidant

Shea Butter:
Moisturizing

Citric Acid
Vitamin C:
Effervescent

Soak Away Stress And Muscle Tension!

Fizzing Mineral Bath soak added to a warm bath will make 
you feel like your home is a spa!

Become a Jordan Essentials consultant today by visiting
www.jordanrep.com/11668 or call toll-free 1-877-662-8669.

To order Fizzing Mineral Bath and other high quality home spa products from Jordan Essentials, go 
to www.myjestore.com/stunursing and choose consultant #11668 for purchase.  Portions of the 
proceeds go the ThinkNurse Scholarship Fund. All products are made in America!

hinkNurse
Scholarship Fund

Nurses – Earn Extra Income!

•	 The delegation process was described 
•	 The board reinstated several nursing licenses 

on a limited and/or probationary status due to 
evidence they had practiced on expired licenses 
(failed to renew their licenses, and continued to 
practice)
o	Employers were encouraged to have some 

mechanism in place to verify current licensure
o	It was recommended that licenses be verified 

immediately after the license expiration date, at 
the end of the renewal period

•	 The board actions included:
o	Discussion of the role of the LPN in IV 

therapy and NG tube insertion for the purpose 
of developing regulations

o	Discussed the issue of appropriate delegation 
by the RN in a dialysis unit for the purpose of 
developing a board opinion

o	Approved holding a public hearing to propose 
increased licensure fees for LPNs and RNs

	Increase initial license fee from $50 to $75 for 
RNs and from $35 to $60 for LPNs

	Increase licensure renewal fee from $30 to $40 
for RNs and LPNs

•	 Nursing program summary:
o	There were 7 LPN programs, 7 associate degree 

programs, 1 diploma program, 7 baccalaureate 
programs that had been approved by the board 
(22 total)

o	These programs utilized 168 clinical sites
o	There were 2,982 students enrolled in these 

programs
o	In addition to the 22 programs leading to 

initial licensure, there were 2 baccalaureate 
programs for RNs only, 4 master’s programs, 
one doctoral program and one school of nurse 
anesthesia

•	 The NCLEX-RN exam was administered 
February 5 & 6, 1991.  There were 133 first 
time candidates, 123 of whom passed the exam.  
Nebraska’s passing percentage was 92.5% 
compared to the national passing percentage of 
91.1%.

•	 Total numbers of licensed nurses:
o	16,165 Registered Nurses
o	  6,646 Licensed Practical Nurses
o	       30 Certified Nurse Practitioners
o	     249 Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists

Years Ago 
in Nursing News

Twenty
1991 Registry Action on 

Nurse Aides 
 &  Medication 

Aides

Actions against nurse aides and medication aides will no longer be 

reported in the Nursing News. Current information regarding nurse 

aides and medication aides can be found by accessing the License 

Information System at www.dhhs.ne.gov/lis/lisindex.htm. Click on 

License Search and follow the directions. You may contact the Nurse 

Aide Registry by e-mail at nancy.stava@nebraska.gov or telephone at 

402-471-0537. The Medication Aide Registry may be contacted by 

e-mail at teresa.luse@nebraska.gov or by telephone at 402-471-4364 

for additional information. 
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Nursing and Nursing 
Support 

General Issues
Diana Baker, RN, MSN
Office Administrator
(402) 471-0317
diana.baker@nebraska.gov

Advanced Practice Nursing

(APRN-NP, APRN-CRNA, APRN-CNM, APRN-CNS)

Initial Licensure
Licensure by Endorsement
Reinstatement of Licensure 
License Renewal/Audit Questions
Jennifer VanEperen
(402) 471-2666
jennifer.vaneperen@nebraska.gov

Nursing Practice Issues
Karen Bowen, RN, MS
(402) 471-6443
karen.bowen@nebraska.gov

Registered Nurse

Licensure Based on Examination (NCLEX®)
Licensure Based on Endorsement
Renewal/Audit Questions

Karen McGann

(402) 471-4375

karen.mcgann@nebraska.gov

Licensed Practical Nurse

Licensure Based on Examination (NCLEX®)
Licensure Based on Endorsement
Renewal/Audit Questions
Mary Ann Moore
(402) 471-4925
maryann.moore@nebraska.gov

Licensed Practical Nurse 
Certified
Certification by Examination
Certification Renewal/Audit Questions
Mary Ann Moore
(402) 471-4925
maryann.moore@nebraska.gov

Nursing

Foreign Educated Nurses
Sheila Exstrom, RN, Ph.D.
(402) 471-4917
sheila.exstrom@nebraska.gov

Nursing Statutes 
Rules and Regulations
Diana Baker, RN, MSN
 (402) 471-0317
diana.baker@nebraska.gov

Scope of Practice and Practice Standards
Karen Bowen, RN, MS
(402) 471-6443
karen.bowen@nebraska.gov 

Education Issues, Curriculum Revisions and 
Nursing Program Surveys
Sheila Exstrom, RN, Ph.D.
(402) 471-4917
sheila.exstrom@nebraska.gov

Refresher Course/Designing Own Review 
Course of Study
Sheila Exstrom, RN, Ph.D.
(402) 471-4917
sheila.exstrom@nebraska.gov

Name and/or Address Change
(Please provide your name and Social Security number)
Jennifer VanEperen
(402) 471-2666
jennifer.vaneperen@nebraska.gov

Nursing Student Loan Program
Shirley Nave
(402) 471-0136

Probation Compliance Monitoring
Ruth Schuldt, RN, B.S.
(402) 471-0313
ruth.schuldt@nebraska.gov

Complaint Filing
Investigations Division
(402) 471-0175

Medication Aide

Medication Aide Role and Practice Standards
Marletta Stark, RN, BSN, Program Manager
(402) 471-4969
marletta.stark@nebraska.gov

Name and/or Address Change
(Please provide your name and Social Security number)
Teresa Luse
(402) 471-4376
teresa.luse@nebraska.gov

Medication Aide Renewals and Applications
Teresa Luse
(402) 471-4910
teresa.luse@nebraska.gov

Medication Aide Registry
Shane Bailey
(402) 471-4364
shane.bailey@nebraska.gov

Nurse Aide
Nurse Aide and Paid Dining Assistant Role and 
Practice Standards
Marletta Stark, RN, BSN
(402) 471-4969  
marletta.stark@nebraska.gov

Nurse Aide and Paid Dining Assistant Registry
Nancy Stava
(402) 471-0537
nancy.stava@nebraska.gov

Name and/or Address Change
(Please provide your name and Social Security number)
Nancy Stava
(402) 471-0537
nancy.stava@nebraska.gov

Questions Related to: Interstate Endorsements, 
Nursing Students, Military Training, Foreign 
Trained Nurses
Wanda Vodehnal
(402) 471-4971
wanda.vodehnal@nebraska.gov

General
Mailing Labels
Available online at: 
http://www.nebraska.gov/crl/orders.htm

Information on  
Disciplinary Actions
Diane Pearson
(402) 471-4923
Diane.Pearson@nebraska.gov

For More Information...Visit our website at: http://www.hhs.state.ne.us/crl/nursing/nursingindex.htm

I f  you  do  not  have  access  to  the  In ternet ,  p lease  contact  the  L icensure  Un i t  fo r  in format ion  or  quest ions  concern ing :
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we know quality care by heart  ::  nebraskaheart.com

teamwork
(team•work) /tēm wûrk/)

1. n. efforts contributed by a group
of people with each doing a part to

maximize the pro ciency of the whole.

Join the highest rated organization in Nebraska 
for all areas of cardiac and vascular care. 

Visit www.neheart.com/careers to learn more 
about rewarding nursing opportunities

with our #1 ranked team.

RN Licensure required. 

one
(we’re number one)

Achieving a #1 ranking in Nebraska for
all areas of cardiac and vascular care doesn’t 

result from the contributions of 
one person — it takes a team. 

This makes our team #1 in the state.

Thank you to all who contribute to our
outstanding patient care.


