
Reinstatement Information – Massage Therapy: 
If your license was disciplined, please contact the Licensure Unit for the appropriate application. 
 
This application relates to a License which has: 

 Expired; 

 Been placed on Inactive status; or  

 Lapsed 
   

To reinstate your license, you must: 
1. Complete the attached application for reinstatement. 
2. Have a valid Social Security #, or an Alien Registration #. 
3. Be lawfully present in the U.S. 
4. Have completed at least 24 hours of continuing education within 24 months of this application. 
5. Pay the renewal and reinstatement fees.  (see page 1 of the application). 

 
If you reinstate your license at this time, the expiration date will be November 1st of the odd numbered year; at least 30 days 
prior to the expiration date, you will be sent a renewal notice notification of the need to submit a completed renewal 
application, the renewal fee payment and evidence of 24 hours of continuing competency on or before the expiration date. 

 

Notice: 

If you practiced after the expiration date of your license and prior to reinstatement, you are subject to an Administrative 
Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, or other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing massage therapy 
(such as probation, limitation, censure, etc). 

 
Additionally, if you committed any other violation of the statutes or regulations governing the practice, the Department may 
deny the application for reinstatement of the license or reinstate the license to active status and impose limitation(s) or other 
disciplinary actions on the license. 

 
Questions: 
If you have any questions regarding the procedure for reinstatement, please contact the Licensure Unit, at (402) 471-2117 
or dhhslicensure2117@nebraska.gov  
 
  



 

Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986 - Lincoln, Nebraska  68509-4986 
Telephone #:  402-471-2117  
Dhhslicensure2117@nebraska.gov 

 

FEES: You must submit the fee for the month above.  Make payable by check or money order to “Licensure Unit.”   
 

YEAR 
 
Jan 

 
Feb 

 
Mar 

 
Apr 

 
May 

 
June 

 
July 

 
Aug 

 
Sep 

 
Oct 

 
Nov 

 
Dec 

 
Even Numbered Year 

 
$145 

 
$145 

 
$145 

 
$145 

 
$145 

 
$145 

 
$145 

 
$145 

 
$145 

 
$145 

 
$145 

 
$145 

 
Odd Numbered Year 

 
$145 

 
$145 

 
$145 

 
$145 

 
$62.50 

 
$62.50 

 
$62.50 

 
$62.50 

 
$62.50 

 
$62.50 

 
$145 

 
$145 

 

SECTION A – PERSONAL INFORMATION  All applicants must complete this section  
NOTE:  All mailings will be sent to the address you indicate below--if you change your address, you MUST advise this office. 

 

Massage Therapy Lic #: 

  

Date of Birth: 

 

Legal 
Name: 

First: 

 

Middle/MI: Last: 

Maiden 
Name: 

Name: Other Names you are known as (AKA): 

   

Mailing 
Address: 

 
Check 
this box 
if NEW 
address 

Street/PO/Route: 

 

City: 

 

State or Country: Zip: 

To reinstate your license, you must have a valid Social Security Number, Alien Registration Number, and/or I-94 Number. 

1 Enter your Social Security Number and Alien 
Registration Number.  If you have both a SSN and 
A#, you must report both. 
 
 

SSN# 

 

A# 
 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-123 mandates disclosure of your social security number to DHHS.  Although your number is not public information, DHHS may 
disclose it for child support enforcement purposes as well as to the Nebraska Department of Revenue, Department of Labor and for other 
Administrative purposes. 

 

 

SECTION B – CONVICTION AND LICENSURE INFORMATION  Failure to disclose convictions or disciplinary action, could 
result in disciplinary action.  Answer each of the following questions by placing a check mark in the appropriate box (yes or no) and 

completing the information requested. All ‘yes’ responses MUST be explained in detail and you must submit the requested documentation. 

2 Were you convicted of a misdemeanor or felony in any state/jurisdiction since your license was last renewed (or 
since your initial license if such was within the past 24 months).  If you answer YES to this question, you must 

submit the documents to the Licensure Unit: 

 A copy of the court record, which includes charges and disposition; 

 Explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions you 
have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions;  

 All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol 
related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; and  

 A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on 
probation;  

 
List below any misdemeanor or felony convictions 

Type of Crime Date of Action Name of Court/Entity Taking action 

   

   
 

 
 Yes  No 

NOTE:  If you have any criminal charges or credential disciplinary actions pending that result in misdemeanor or felony conviction or 

credential discipline, you must report such actions to the Department’s Investigative Office within 30 days of the conviction/action (Neb. 
Rev. Stat. 38-1,125) http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/reg/investi.htm or you may request a reporting form by telephone at 402-471-0175.   
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Licensure Information: 
 

The following questions relate to a license (license/certificate/registration) that you hold or have held in health services, health related 
services or environmental services in another jurisdiction. 

  Yes No    

2 Do you hold or have you 
held a license in any state? 
 
If you answer ‘yes’ to this 
question, you must 
respond to question 2a  
 

  If yes, what State(s) are you 
licensed in? 
 

What type of license do you hold? 

 
 

 

  

2a Has your license ever been 
denied, refused renewal, 
limited, suspended, 
revoked or had other 
disciplinary measures 
taken against it? 
 

  Type of Licensure Action 
 

Date of Action 
 

Name of Entity taking 
Action 

 
 

  

 
 

  

3 Have you ever been denied 
the right to take a licensing 
examination? 

  Please Explain: 
 
 

If you answered YES to question #2a above, you must submit Official Documents from the State Board in which the disciplinary action 
was taken. 

 

SECTION C - CONTINUING COMPETENCY:  You must have completed 24 hours of continuing competency within 24 months of 

this application for reinstatement or qualify for a waiver.   
 

CONTINUING COMPETENCY HOURS:   
 

 Yes 
  No 

Have you met the continuing competency requirements for your profession?  If no, you may apply for a waiver if applicable 
as indicated below. 

 
1. Mandatory Hands-on Hours:  A licensee must complete at least 14 hours of approved hands-on continuing education through 

workshops each renewal period (1 hour of attendance = 1 credit).  A licensee may earn all 24 hours through hands-on workshops.  
These hours must meet the following: 
a. The content of the workshop(s) must include at least 75% HANDS-ON technique which is the physical, mechanical, or 

electrical manipulation of soft tissue for the therapeutic purposes of enhancing muscle relaxation, reducing stress, 
improving circulation, or instilling a greater sense of well-being and may include the use of oil, salt glows, heat lamps, 
and hydrotherapy; up to 25% may be theory related to hands-on technique; and 

b. The agenda must reflect a set period of time for class participation (hands-on practice). 
2.   Mandatory Ethics Hours:  Each licensee must obtain at least 3 hours in ethics; and 
3. Optional Hours:  A licensee may earn the remaining credits in one or a combination of the following continuing competency 

activities: 
a. National Examination.  7 credits will be granted for licensees who successfully pass the examination;  
b. Publication.  7 credits will be granted for an article published in a professional health related journal; a newsletter article 

or letter to the editor does not meet this requirement; 
Jurisprudence Examination on State Laws (50 question take home test).  3 credits will be granted for licensees who 
receive a score of 75% or above; 
Instructor at a Massage Therapy School.  1.5 credits will be granted for each hour of teaching up to a maximum of 7 
hours; 

c. Practical Examination (must be administered by a Nebraska Licensed Massage Therapy School).  3 credits will be 
granted; 
Massage School Training / College or University Coursework (resident/distance.   1 hour of training = 1 credit, 1 semester 
college credit hour = 15 credits, 1 quarter college credit = 10 credits, up to a maximum of 7 credits; 
Workshops and Lectures (Continuing Education Programs).  1 credit will be granted for each 50 minutes of participation 
up to a maximum of 7 credits;  

h.  Homestudy Programs:  Only homestudy programs relating to ethics will be acceptable for renewal. Up to a maximum of 
7 credits will be granted.   

4. Presenter Credit:  If the licensee is a presenter, s/he must maintain documentation of his/her presentation of continuing 
competency activity.  A presenter may receive credit for only the initial presentation during a renewal period.  

 
WAIVER OF CONTINUING COMPETENCY:  If you have not completed the continuing competency requirement, and wish to apply for a 

waiver of the continuing competency requirement, check the appropriate reason below: 
 

 Military:  I have served in the regular armed forces of the United States during part of the 24 months immediately preceding the 

application for reinstatement date.  (Attach official documentation stating dates of service)  If you meet this exemption, you are not 
required to pay the renewal fee. 

 Initial License:  I was first licensed within the 24 months immediately preceding the date of this application for reinstatement. 
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SECTION D - ATTESTATION    

An individual who practices after the expiration date and prior to reinstatement of a credential is subject to assessment of 
an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations 
governing the credential. 

 

1 Have you practiced massage therapy in Nebraska 
since  your license expired or was placed on 
inactive status.   

 
 

2 If yes, you must list the actual number of days you 
practiced in Nebraska and the business name, 
location and telephone number of the practice:   
 

 
# of days:  _______________ 

 
 
 

Name of Business: 
 
 

City:                                           Telephone #: 

Attestation:  For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check only ONE of the boxes 

below):  I attest that: 
 

  

OR 

I am a citizen of the United States.  
 

 I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act (i.e.:  permanent resident (green) card, I-94 document, 
asylum, etc.) YOU MUST SUBMIT A COPY OF THIS DOCUMENT WITH YOUR RENEWAL 

 I am a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States.  (i.e.:  permanent resident (green) card, I-94 document, asylum, etc.)  
YOU MUST SUBMIT A COPY OF THIS DOCUMENT WITH YOUR RENEWAL 

 Check this box if you are NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal         
Immigration and Nationality Act.   YOU MUST SUBMIT A COPY OF THIS DOCUMENT WITH YOUR RENEWAL 
NOTE:  You may still be eligible for a certificate if you provide a photocopy of your unexpired Employment Authorization 

Document (EAD) and evidence of meeting section 202(c)(2)(B)(i) through (ix) of the Federal REAL ID Act of 2005. 
(i.e.: DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.) 
 

Signature and Application Attestation:  I attest that:    
       

1. I have read the renewal application or have had the renewal application read to me; and  
2. All statements on this renewal application are true and complete. 
 

 
Print Name:   
 
Signature:      
 
Email 
(Optional):      

 

_________________________________________ 

 

_________________________________________                  Date:  _____________________ 

 

_________________________________________ 

 

TO PRINT YOUR RENEWED WALLET CARD GO TO:   
http://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi 

 

http://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi
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