
Reinstatement Information – Medical Nutrition Therapy: 
If your license was disciplined, please contact the Licensure Unit for the appropriate application. 
 
This application relates to a License which has: 

 Been Revoked for non-payment;  

 Expired; 

 Been placed on Inactive status; or  

 Lapsed 
   

To reinstate your license, you must: 
1. Complete the attached application for reinstatement. 
2. Have a valid Social Security #, or an Alien Registration #. 
3. Be lawfully present in the U.S. 
4. Have completed at least 30 hours of continuing education within 24 months of this application. 
5. Pay the renewal and reinstatement fees.  (see page 1 of the application). 

 
If you reinstate your license at this time, the expiration date will be September 1st of the odd numbered year; at least 30 
days prior to the expiration date, you will be sent a renewal notice notification of the need to submit a completed renewal 
application, the renewal fee payment and evidence of 30 hours of continuing competency on or before the expiration date. 

 

Notice: 

If you practiced after the expiration date of your license and prior to reinstatement, you are subject to an Administrative 
Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, or other action as provided in the statutes and regulations medical nutrition therapy 
(such as probation, limitation, censure, etc). 

 
Additionally, if you committed any other violation of the statutes or regulations governing the practice, the Department may deny 
the application for reinstatement of the license or reinstate the license to active status and impose limitation(s) or other 
disciplinary actions on the license. 

 

Questions: 
If you have any questions regarding the procedure for reinstatement, please contact the Licensure Unit, at (402) 471-2117 
or dhhslicensure2117@nebraska.gov  
 



 
 

Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986 - Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 
Telephone #:  402-471-2117 
dhhslicensure2117@nebraska.gov  

 

FEES: You must submit the fee for the month above.  Make payable by check or money order to “Licensure Unit.”   

~~YEAR~~ Jan Feb March April May June July Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec 

 Even Numbered Year $149 $149 $149 $149 $149 $149 $149 $149 $149 $149 $149 $149 

Odd Numbered Year $149 $149 $63.50 $63.50 $63.50 $63.50 $63.50 $63.50 $149 $149 $149 $149 
 

SECTION A – PERSONAL INFORMATION  All applicants must complete this section  
NOTE:  All mailings will be sent to the address you indicate below--if you change your address, you MUST advise this office. 

Medical Nutrition 
Therapy Lic #: 

  

Date of Birth: 

 

 

Legal 
Name: 

First: 

 

Middle/MI: Last: 

Maiden 
Name: 

Name: Other Names you are known as (AKA): 

Mailing 
Address: 

 
Check 
this box 
if NEW 
address 

Street/PO/Route: 

 

City: 

 

State or Country: Zip: 

To reinstate your license, you must have a valid Social Security Number, Alien Registration Number, and/or I-94 Number. 

1 Enter your Social Security Number and Alien 
Registration Number.  If you have both a SSN and 
A#, you must report both. 
 
 

SSN# 

 

A# 
 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-123 mandates disclosure of your social security number to DHHS.  Although your number is not public information, DHHS may 
disclose it for child support enforcement purposes as well as to the Nebraska Department of Revenue, Department of Labor and for other Administrative 
purposes. 

 

SECTION B – CONVICTION AND LICENSURE INFORMATION 
Failure to disclose convictions or disciplinary action, could result in disciplinary action. 
Answer each of the following questions by placing a check mark in the appropriate box (yes or no) and completing the information 
requested. All ‘yes’ responses MUST be explained in detail and you must submit the requested documentation. 

2 Were you convicted of a misdemeanor or felony in any state/jurisdiction since your license was last renewed (or 

since your initial license if such was within the past 24 months).  If you answer YES to this question, you must submit 
the documents to the Licensure Unit: 

 A copy of the court record, which includes charges and disposition; 

 Explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions you have 
taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions;  

 All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol 
related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; and  

 A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on 
probation;  

 
List below any misdemeanor or felony convictions 

 

Type of Crime Date of Action Name of Court/Entity Taking action 

   

   
 

 
 Yes  No 

NOTE:  If you have any criminal charges or credential disciplinary actions pending that result in misdemeanor or felony conviction or 
credential discipline, you must report such actions to the Department’s Investigative Office within 30 days of the conviction/action (Neb. 

Rev. Stat. 38-1,125) http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/reg/investi.htm or you may request a reporting form by telephone at 402-471-0175.   

MEDICAL NUTRITION THERAPY 
APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT  

  
 

http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/reg/investi.htm
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Licensure Information: 
 

The following questions relate to a credential (license/certificate/registration) that you hold or have held in health services, health 
related services or environmental services in another jurisdiction. 

  Yes No    
2 Do you hold or have you 

held a license in any state? 
 
If you answer ‘yes’ to this 
question, you must 
respond to question 2a  
 

  If yes, what State(s) are you 
licensed in? 
 

What type of license do you hold? 

 
 

 

  

2a Has your license ever been 
denied, refused renewal, 
limited, suspended, 
revoked or had other 
disciplinary measures 
taken against it? 
 
 
 

  Type of Licensure Action 
 

Date of Action 
 

Name of Entity taking 
Action 

 
 

  

 
 

  

   

3 Have you ever been denied 
the right to take a 
credentialing examination? 

  Please Explain: 
 
 

 

If you answered YES to question #2a above, you must submit Official Documents from the State Board in which the disciplinary action 
was taken. 
 

SECTION B - CONTINUING COMPETENCY:  You must have completed 30 hours of continuing competency within 24 months of 

this application for reinstatement or qualify for a waiver.   
 

WAIVER OF CONTINUING COMPETENCY:  If you have not completed the continuing competency requirement, and wish to apply for 
a waiver of the continuing competency requirement, check the appropriate reason below: 
 

 Military:   
I have served full-time duty in the active military service of the United States, or a National Guard call to active service for more 
than 30 consecutive days, or active service as a commissioned officer of the Public Health Service or the National Oceanic and 

Atmospheric Administration during part of the 24 months immediately preceding the biennial licensure renewal date.  (You MUST 
provide official documentation of armed forces service, such as active duty orders or a letter from your immediate superior officer.) 
 

 Initial License:   
I was first licensed within the 24 months immediately prior to the date of this application for reinstatement. 
 

 

CONTINUING COMPETENCY HOURS:   
 

 Yes 
  No 

Have you met the continuing competency requirements for your profession?  If no, you may apply for a waiver as indicated 
below. 

 
Medical Nutrition Therapy Continuing Competency hours/credits are determined as follows:  
 

a. College/University Coursework: 
(1) 1 semester of academic credit equals 15 continuing competency credit hours.  One semester credit audited equals 8 

hours of continuing competency;  
(2) 1 quarter hour of academic credit equals 10 continuing competency credit hours.  One quarter credit audited equals 5 

hours of continuing competency; and 
(3) 1 trimester hour of academic credit equals 14 continuing competency credit hours.  One trimester credit audited equals 

7 hours of continuing competency. 
b. Exhibits:  25 exhibits equals 1 continuing competency hour; a limit of 3 continuing competency credit hours per biennium may 

be obtained through exhibits. 
c. Poster Sessions:  6 poster sessions equals 1 continuing competency hour; a limit of 5 continuing competency credit hours per 

biennium may be obtained through poster sessions. 
d. Homestudy Programs:  A licensee may accumulate up to 15 hours of continuing competency per biennial renewal period. 
e. Video/Audio Media and Journal Clubs:  A licensee may accumulate up to 15 hours of continuing competency per biennial 

renewal period. 
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f.   Board Certified/Certification/Certificate Programs:  20 hours (unless noted otherwise) will be granted for completing a certified  
 program, certification program or certificate program as follows: 
 (1) Certified Nutrition Support Clinician sponsored by the National Board of Nutrition Support Certification, Inc (NBNSC); 
 (2) Certified Diabetes Educator sponsored by the National Certification Board for Diabetes Educators (NCBDE);  
 (3) Certified Lifestyle and Weight Management Consultant sponsored by the American Council on Exercise (ACE);  
 (4) Board Certification as a Specialist in Pediatric Nutrition sponsored by the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR); 
 (5)  Board Certification as a Specialist in Renal Nutrition sponsored by the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR); 
 (6) Board Certification as a Specialist in Gerontological Nutrition sponsored by the Commission on Dietetic Registration 

(CDR); 
 (7) Board Certification as a Specialist in Oncology Nutrition sponsored by the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR); 
 (8) Board Certification as a Specialist in Sports Dietetics sponsored by the Commission; 
 (9) International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE); 
 (10) Certificate Programs approved through the American Dietetic Association (ADA): 
  (a) Certificate of Training in Childhood and Adolescent Weight Management sponsored by the Commission on 

Dietetic Registration (CDR) – 29 hours acceptable); and 
  (b) Certificate Training in Adult Weight Management sponsored by the Commission on Dietetic Registration 

(CDR) – 28 hours acceptable; and  
 (11) Board Certified/Certification/Certificate Programs approved by the ADA/CDR. 
g.   Continuing Education Programs (workshops, seminars, conferences, electronic interactive presentations):  60 minutes of 

participation equals 1 continuing competency hour. 
 

 Non-acceptable subject matter include, but are not limited to, the following: 
 

1. Menu planning; 
2. Dietetic association business meeting or delegate report; 
3. Cooking or baking demonstrations; 
4. Food service sanitation; 
5. Catering; 
6. Garnishing techniques; 

7. Publishing an employee training manual;  
8. Sales presentation on a company's new product; 
9. Marketing self as dietitian; 
10. Communication skills; or 
11. Language Training. 
 

 

SECTION D - ATTESTATION    

An individual who practices after the expiration date and prior to reinstatement of a credential is subject to assessment of an 
Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing 
the credential. 
 

1 Have you practiced medical nutrition therapy in 
Nebraska since  your license expired or was placed 
on inactive status.   

 
 

2 If yes, you must list the actual number of days you 
practiced in Nebraska and the business name, 
location and telephone number of the practice:   
 

 
# of days:  _______________ 

 
 
 

Name of Business: 
 
 

City:                                           Telephone #: 

Attestation:  For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check only ONE 

of the boxes below):  I attest that: 
 

 I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act (i.e.:  permanent resident (green) card, I-94 
document, asylum, etc.)  

 I am a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States.  (i.e.:  permanent resident (green) card, I-94 document, 
asylum, etc.)  

 Check this box if you are NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal 
Immigration and Nationality Act.    

NOTE:  You may still be eligible for a certificate if you provide a photocopy of your unexpired Employment 
Authorization Document (EAD) and evidence of meeting section 202(c)(2)(B)(i) through (ix) of the Federal REAL ID 
Act of 2005.  (i.e.: DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.) 

Signature and Application Attestation:  I attest that:          
1. I have read the reinstatement application or have had the renewal application read to me; and  
2. All statements on this renewal application are true and complete. 
 

Print Name:  _________________________________  Signature:  _________________________________   Date:  ____________ 
 
Phone/Fax (Optional): __________________________   E-mail (Optional): _____________________________________________ 
 
 

TO PRINT YOUR REINSTATED WALLET CARD GO TO:  http://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi 
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