
Alcohol and Drug Counseling Reinstatement Information: 
If your license was disciplined, please contact the Licensure Unit for the appropriate application. 
 
This application relates to a License which has: 

 Been Revoked for non-payment;  
 Expired; 
 Been placed on Inactive status; or  
 Lapsed 

   
To reinstate your license, you must: 

1. Complete the attached application for reinstatement. 
2. Have a valid Social Security #, or an Alien Registration # 
3. Be lawfully present in the U.S. 
4. Have completed at least 40 hours of continuing education within 24 months of this application. 

 At least 20 hours of continuing education per biennial renewal period must be alcohol and drug specific.  (All 40 hours may be 
alcohol and drug specific.)   

 A licensee may earn up to 20 hours of continuing education per biennial renewal period in activities that may not be alcohol and drug 
specific.  To count for renewal, these hours must be approved by one of the following organizations:  1) American Counselors Association 
(ACA) or National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC);  2) American Medical Association (AMA); Nebraska Medical Association (NMA);  
3) American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation;  4)  American Psychological Association (APA);  5) National 
Association of Social Workers (NASW);  6) American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists (AAMFT); or  7) Nebraska Nurses 
Association (NNA). 

5. Pay the renewal and reinstatement fees.  (see page 1 of the application). 
 
If you reinstate your license at this time, the expiration date will be September 1st of the even-numbered year; at least 30 
days prior to the expiration date, you will be sent a renewal notice notification of the need to submit a completed renewal 
application, the renewal fee payment and evidence of 40 hours of continuing competency on or before the expiration date. 
 
If you are NOT a U.S. Citizen, you must submit: 
 

1. Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card. 
2. Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa. 
3. Employment Authorization Document (EAD) (unexpired) AND Evidence of 1 of the following documents under the 

Federal REAL ID Act: 
 An approved deferred action status (DACA); 
 A pending application for asylum in the United States; 
 A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; 
 A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence; or in 

the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States. 

Notice: 

If you practiced after the expiration date of your license and prior to reinstatement, you are subject to an Administrative 
Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, or other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing alcohol and drug
counseling (such as probation, limitation, censure, etc).  
Additionally, if you committed any other violation of the statutes or regulations governing the practice, the Department may 
deny the application for reinstatement of the license or reinstate the license to active status and impose limitation(s) or other 
disciplinary actions on the license. 

 
Questions: 
If you have any questions regarding the procedure for reinstatement, please contact the Licensure Unit, at (402) 471-4900 or 
DHHS.licensure2117@nebraska.gov 
 
 
   



 
 

Department of Health and Human Services  
Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986 - Lincoln, Nebraska  68509-4986 
Telephone #:  402-471-4900  
Email  DHHS.licensure2117@nebraska.gov 

 
 
 
 

FEES: 
 

YEAR Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec 

Even Numbered 
Year 

$210 $175 $78.75 $78.75 $78.75 $78.75 $78.75 $78.75 $210 $210 $210 $210 

Odd Numbered Year 

 

$210 $210 $210 $210 $210 $210 $210 $210 $210 $210 $210 $210 

 

You must submit the fee for the month above.  Make payable by check or money order to “Licensure Unit.”   
 

Applicants must complete ALL sections of this application 

SECTION A – PERSONAL INFORMATION 
NOTE:  All mailings will be sent to the address you indicate below--if you change your address, you MUST advise this office. 

 
Lic #: 

  
Date of Birth: 

 

Legal 
Name: 

First: 
 

Middle/MI: Last: 

Other Names you are known as (AKA):Maiden  
 

 

Mailing 
Address: 

Street/PO/Route: 
 
City: 
 

State or Country: Zip: 

To reinstate your license, you must have a valid Social Security Number, Alien Registration Number, and/or I-94 Number. 
1 Enter your Social Security Number and Alien 

Registration Number.  If you have both a SSN and 
A#, you must report both. 
 

SSN# 
 
A# 
 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-123 mandates disclosure of your social security number to DHHS.  Although your number is not public information, DHHS may 
disclose it for child support enforcement purposes as well as to the Nebraska Department of Revenue, Department of Labor and for other 
Administrative purposes. 

2 Were you convicted of a misdemeanor or felony in any state/jurisdiction since your license was last renewed (or 
since your initial license if such was within the past 24 months).  If you answer YES to this question, you must 
submit the documents to the Licensure Unit: 

 A copy of the court record, which includes charges and disposition; 
 Explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions you 

have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions;  
 All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or 

alcohol related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; and  
 A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently 

on probation;  
 

List below any misdemeanor or felony convictions 
 

Type of Crime Date of Action Name of Court/Entity Taking action 

   

   
 

 
 Yes  No 

3 Have you held a license that was issued by another jurisdiction(s)/state to provide health services, health-related 
services, or environmental services since your Nebraska license was last renewed?   Yes  No 

3a Has such license been denied, refused renewal, or disciplined since your Nebraska license was last renewed?  (If 
"YES", provide a copy of the disciplinary action(s) record.  Yes  No 

 

NOTE:  If you have any criminal charges or credential disciplinary actions pending that result in misdemeanor or felony conviction or 
credential discipline, you must report such actions to of Office of Investigation http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/reg_invest-p.aspx within 30 days of 
the conviction/action (Neb. Rev. Stat. 38-1,125). Failure to disclose any such convictions/credential discipline could result in disciplinary 
action. 

ALCOHOL AND DRUG COUNSELING 
APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT  

 

This section for Office Use Only 
 
Expiration Date: _______________________ 
Date of Status:    _______________________ 
Date of License: _______________________ 
DOB:                   ____________________ 

 

http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/reg_invest-p.aspx
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Licensure Information: 
 

The following questions relate to a credential (license/certificate/registration) that you hold or have held in health services, health related 
services or environmental services in another jurisdiction. 
  Yes No    
2 Do you hold or have you 

held a license in any state? 
 
If you answer ‘yes’ to this 
question, you must respond 
to question 2a  
 

  If yes, what State(s) are you 
licensed in? 
 

What type of license do you hold? 

 
 

 

  

2a Has your license ever been 
denied, refused renewal, 
limited, suspended, 
revoked or had other 
disciplinary measures taken 
against it? 
 
 
 

  Type of Licensure Action 
 

Date of Action 
 

Name of Entity taking 
Action 

 
   

 
   

   

3 Have you ever been denied 
the right to take a 
credentialing examination? 

  Please Explain: 
 
 

 

If you answered YES to question #2a above, you must submit Official Documents from the State Board in which the disciplinary action was 
taken. 
 

 
SECTION C - CONTINUING EDUCATION:  You must have completed 40 hours of continuing education credit within 24 months of 
this application for reinstatement.    

 
 
 

CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS:   
 

 Yes 
  No 

Have you met the continuing education requirements for your profession?  If no, you may apply for a waiver as indicated 
below. 

 

Continuing Education requirements are listed below: 
 

ALCOHOL AND DRUG SPECIFIC HOURS:  At least 20 hours of continuing education per biennial renewal period must be alcohol and drug 
specific.  (All 40 hours may be alcohol and drug specific.)  Continuing education hours approved by the Department or presented by or approved by 
one of the following organizations will be deemed alcohol and drug specific: 1) Addiction Technology Transfer Centers (ATTC); 2) American Society of 
Addiction Medicine (ASAM); or 3) National Association of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC).     
 
NON-ALCOHOL and DRUG SPECIFIC HOURS:  A licensee may earn up to 20 hours of continuing education per biennial renewal period in activities 
that may not be alcohol and drug specific.  To count for renewal, these hours must be approved by one of the following organizations:  1) American 
Counselors Association (ACA) or National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC);  2) American Medical Association (AMA); Nebraska Medical 
Association (NMA);  3) American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation;  4)  American Psychological Association (APA);  5) 
National Association of Social Workers (NASW);  6) American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists (AAMFT); or  7) Nebraska Nurses 
Association (NNA). 
 
Per biennial renewal period, a licensee may earn up to a total of: 
1. 15 hours of CE through home study programs.    
2. 10 hours of CE through research.  This must be a peer review environment by either poster session or publication.   
3. 15 hours of CE as the presenter.  Hours will not be granted for repeat presentations within the same biennial.   

 

 
WAIVER OF CONTINUING EDUCATION:  If you have not completed the continuing education requirement, and wish to apply for a waiver 
of the continuing education requirement, check the appropriate reason below: 
 
 Military:  I have served in the regular armed forces of the United States or am actively engaged in military service (active duty for 

at least 30 days) during part of the 24 months immediately preceding the biennial licensure renewal date.  If you meet this exemption, 
you are not required to pay the renewal fee. (Attach military orders) 

 Initial License:  I was first licensed within the 24 months immediately preceding the reinstatement date.  

 Illness/Disability:  I have suffered a serious or disabling illness or physical disability, which prevented completion of the required 
number of continuing education hours during the 24 months immediately preceding the licensure renewal date.  (Attach a statement 
from treating physician(s) stating that the licensee was injured or ill, the duration of the illness or injury and of the recovery period, 
and that the licensee was unable to attend continuing education programs during that period.) 

 

Documentation (if requested above) must be provided to support your request for waiver of continuing education.  If the specified 
documentation is not submitted, review and processing of your license reinstatement cannot occur. 
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SECTION D – ATTESTATION:   An individual who practices after the expiration date and prior to reinstatement of a license is 
subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and 
regulations governing alcohol and drug counseling. 
 
1 Have you practiced alcohol and drug counseling in Nebraska 

since your license expired/was placed on inactive status?   
 
 Yes      No 

2 If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced in 
Nebraska and what is the business name, location and 
telephone number of the practice:   
 

# of days:  _______________ 
 

 
 
Name of Business: 
 
 
City:                                           Telephone #: 
 

For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check only ONE of the boxes 
below):  I attest that: 
 
  
 

OR 

I am a citizen of the United States.  
 
 

 I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act (i.e.:  permanent resident (green) card, I-94 document, 
asylum, etc.)  

 I am a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States.  (i.e.:  permanent resident (green) card, I-94 document, asylum, etc.)  

 Check this box if you are NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal      Immigration 
and Nationality Act.    
NOTE:  You may still be eligible for a certificate if you provide a photocopy of your unexpired Employment Authorization 
Document (EAD) and evidence of meeting section 202(c)(2)(B)(i) through (ix) of the Federal REAL ID Act of 2005. 
(i.e.: DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.) 
 

Signature and Application Attestation:  I attest that:           

1. I have read the renewal application or have had the renewal application read to me; and  
2. All statements on this renewal application are true and complete. 

 
Print Name:  _____________________________________  Signature:  ________________________________   Date:  _________ 
 
Phone/Fax (Optional): ___________________________   E-mail (Optional): ____________________________________________ 
 
 
TO PRINT YOUR WALLET CARD GO TO:  http://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi 
 

 
 
 
 


	Lic: 
	Date of Birth: 
	First: 
	MiddleMI: 
	Last: 
	Other Names you are known as AKAMaiden: 
	StreetPORoute: 
	State or Country: 
	Zip: 
	SSN: 
	A: 
	Type of CrimeRow1: 
	Date of ActionRow1: 
	Name of CourtEntity Taking actionRow1: 
	Type of CrimeRow2: 
	Date of ActionRow2: 
	Name of CourtEntity Taking actionRow2: 
	If yes what States are you licensed inDo you hold or have you held a license in any state If you answer yes to this question you must respond to question 2a: 
	What type of license do you holdDo you hold or have you held a license in any state If you answer yes to this question you must respond to question 2a: 
	If yes what States are you licensed inDo you hold or have you held a license in any state If you answer yes to this question you must respond to question 2a_2: 
	What type of license do you holdDo you hold or have you held a license in any state If you answer yes to this question you must respond to question 2a_2: 
	Type of Licensure ActionHas your license ever been denied refused renewal limited suspended revoked or had other disciplinary measures taken against it: 
	Date of ActionHas your license ever been denied refused renewal limited suspended revoked or had other disciplinary measures taken against it: 
	Name of Entity taking ActionHas your license ever been denied refused renewal limited suspended revoked or had other disciplinary measures taken against it: 
	Type of Licensure ActionHas your license ever been denied refused renewal limited suspended revoked or had other disciplinary measures taken against it_2: 
	Date of ActionHas your license ever been denied refused renewal limited suspended revoked or had other disciplinary measures taken against it_2: 
	Name of Entity taking ActionHas your license ever been denied refused renewal limited suspended revoked or had other disciplinary measures taken against it_2: 
	Type of Licensure ActionHas your license ever been denied refused renewal limited suspended revoked or had other disciplinary measures taken against it_3: 
	Date of ActionHas your license ever been denied refused renewal limited suspended revoked or had other disciplinary measures taken against it_3: 
	Name of Entity taking ActionHas your license ever been denied refused renewal limited suspended revoked or had other disciplinary measures taken against it_3: 
	Please Explain: 
	of days: 
	Name of Business: 
	Print Name: 
	Date: 
	PhoneFax Optional: 
	Email Optional: 
	Check Box1: 
	0: 
	0: Off
	1: Off
	2: Off

	1: 
	0: Off
	1: Off
	2: Off


	Check Box2: 
	0: 
	0: Off
	1: Off

	1: 
	0: Off
	1: Off

	2: 
	0: Off
	1: Off


	Check Box3: 
	0: 
	0: Off
	1: Off


	Check Box4: 
	0: Off
	1: Off
	2: Off

	Check Box5: 
	1: Off
	0: 
	0: Off
	1: 
	0: Off
	1: Off
	2: Off
	3: Off



	City: 
	Telephone: 


