
ATTACHMENT A 
Effective 12/1/2008 – revised 11/2013 

 

 
 
STATE OF NEBRASKA      
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES  
Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986 – 301 Centennial Mall South 
Lincoln, Nebraska  68509-4986 
402-471-2399   susan.chocholousek@nebraska.gov  
 
 
Print or Type 

 
SECTION A – PERSONAL INFORMATION  (All applicants must complete this section)  
All mailings will be sent to the address you indicate below – if you change your address, you must advise this office. 
 
1 Legal Name First: 

 
 

Middle/MI: Last: 

Maiden Name Name: Other Names you are known as (AKA): 
 
 

2 Mailing Address Street/PO/Route: 
 
 
City: 
 
 

State or Country: Zip: 
 

3 Date of Birth: 
Month/Day/Year 

 

 Place of Birth: 
City/State or Country 

 

4 Check the 
Appropriate 
Box(s):   

�  Social Security Number (SSN);  

�  Alien Registration Number (“A#”); or  

�  Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) number: 

SSN# 
 
 
A# 
 
 
I-94 # 
 
 

If you have both a SSN and an A# or I-94 number, you must report both.  Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-123 mandates disclosure of your 
social security number to DHHS.  Although your number is not public information, DHHSs may disclose it for child support 
enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of Revenue.  

5 Phone #: 
(optional) 

 
 
 

Fax #: (optional) 
 

  

6 E-Mail Address: 
(optional) 

 
 
 

 
 
SECTION B - LICENSE FEES   (See Chart Below) 
 
The fee charged is based on the month and year in which your license will be issued.   
 

YEAR Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec 
Even Number Year $95 $95 $95 $95 $95 $95 $95 $95 $95 $95 $95 $95

Odd Numbered Year $95 $25 $25 $25 $25 $25 $25 $95 $95 $95 $95 $95 
 

Make payable to:    Licensure Unit  
 

NOTE:  Licenses expire7-31 of odd-numbered years ($118 is the renewal fee) 

ELECTROLOGIST  
APPLICATION BY EXAMINATION
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SECTION C - EDUCATION (All applicants must complete this section) 
 

1.  High School, GED, or Equivalent: Check the appropriate box: 

�  High School    � GED     
� Equivalent – List type of education completed:  __________________________ 
 

2.  Name of School of Electrolysis where 
you completed your training: 

Name: 

 

 
 
SECTION D – CONVICTION AND LICENSURE INFORMATION  (All applicants must complete this section)   
Failure to disclose any such conviction or disciplinary action, regardless of when the action occurred, could result in 
issuance of a probationary license or other disciplinary action. 
 
You are required to list all misdemeanor/felony convictions, regardless of when they occurred.  If you are not sure if a ticket or 
arrest resulted in a misdemeanor or felony conviction, we suggest that you contact the court in the county where you were ticketed 
or arrested.  The following provides just a small sampling of some of the misdemeanor convictions; this is not an exclusive list 
(intended as examples), there are many more not listed here: 
 
 

 MIP 
 DUI / DWI 
 Controlled Substance 
 Open Container 
 Tobacco Use by Minor 
 Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary 
 Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction 
 Disturbing the Peace  
 Assault  
 Disorderly Conduct 
 Disorderly House 
 Reckless Driving 

 Driving under Suspension / Revocation  
 License Vehicle without Liability Insurance  
 Fail to Appear in Court 
 False Information or Reporting 
 Leave the Scene of an Accident 
 Operator not Carrying License 
 Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs  
 Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation 
 Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal 
 Littering  
 Bad Check  
 Fireworks 

 
Convictions are also 

delineated in  
Neb. Rev. Stat. 

Chapter 28 

 
NOTE:  If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that results in a conviction or license discipline, you 
are required to report such actions to the Investigative Unit  within 30 days of the decision at: 
http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/reg/investi.htm or by telephone at 402-471-0175. 
 
 
Conviction Information: 
Answer each of the following questions by placing a () in the appropriate box (yes or no) and completing the information 
requested.  All ‘yes’ responses MUST be explained in detail and you must submit the requested documentation (see page 5 of 
application). 
 
 

# Question Yes No Type of Crime  Date of Action Name of Court 
 
1 Have you 

EVER  
been convicted  
of a 
misdemeanor  
or felony? 
 
 
 
 
 

� 
 
 
 
 
 
 

� 
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Licensure Information:  You must answer the following 2 questions 
 

The following questions relate to a credential that you hold or have held in cosmetology, electrology, esthetics, nail technology, 
body art, health services, health-related services or environmental services in another jurisdiction/state. 
 

  Yes No    
2 Do you hold an active or 

inactive (similar status) 
license in any state? 
 
 
 

� 
 
 
 

� 
 
 

 

If yes, what State(s) are you 
licensed in? 

What type of license do you hold? 

 
 

 

  

If you are licensed, has your 
license ever been denied, 
refused renewal, limited, 
suspended, revoked or had 
other disciplinary measures 
taken against it? 

� 
 
 

� 
 
 

Type of Licensure Action 
 

Date of Action 
 

Name of Entity taking 
Action 

 
 

  

 
 

  

3 Have you ever been denied 
the right to take a 
credentialing (licensure) 
examination? 

� � 
Please Explain: 
 

 

 
 

SECTION E – EXAMINATION 

 
�   Computer-Based testing:  
 Before you can register for the examination, you must receive the Department’s examination authorization letter, then you can 

schedule the test date/site with LaserGrade and pay the examination fee directly to LaserGrade.  (Do not send this fee to the 
Licensure Unit)  

  
Special Accommodations: If you have a disability that requires any accommodations for taking the examination,  
an "Accommodation Request" must be requested from our office and submitted with the application. 
 
 

SECTION F – PRACTICE PRIOR TO CREDENTIAL   
An individual who practices prior to issuance of a credential is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day 
up to $1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing the credential. 
 

1 I have practiced electrology in Nebraska before 
submitting this application? 
 

� Yes     � No 

2 If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced 
in Nebraska and what is the business name, location and 
telephone number of the practice:   

 
# of days:  _______________ 
 
 
Name of Business: 

 
 
City: 

 
 
Telephone #: 

 
 

38-1061.  Licensure or registration; categories; use of titles prohibited; practice in licensed establishment or facility. 
(1) All practitioners shall be licensed or registered by the department under the Cosmetology, Electrology, Esthetics, Nail 
Technology, and Body Art Practice Act in a category or categories appropriate to their practice. 

(2) Licensure shall be required before any person may engage in the full, unsupervised practice or teaching of cosmetology, 
electrology, esthetics, nail technology, or body art, and no person may assume the title of cosmetologist, electrologist, esthetician, 
instructor, nail technician, nail technology instructor, esthetics instructor, permanent color technician, tattoo artist, body piercer, or 
body brander without first being licensed by the department. 
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SECTION G - ATTESTATION    
Lawful Presence in the United States Attestation:   
 
For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-129, I attest as follows: 
 

Please check the appropriate box below: 

�   I am a citizen of the United States. 

�   An alien lawfully admitted into the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act; or 
�   A nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act.  

 
 
Alien or Non-immigrant Status:  If you are a qualified alien lawfully admitted into the United States OR a non-immigrant lawfully 
present in the United States, you must submit evidence of lawful presence which may include a copy of: 
 

1. A “Green Card” otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card; or 
2. An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport; or 
3. A document showing an Alien Registration Number (“A#”), an Employment Authorization Card/Document is NOT 

acceptable; or 
4. A Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record). 

Your credential will NOT be issued until such proof is received by our office and your documents are verified by our office through 
the Department of Homeland Security.  This process may take four to six weeks. 
 
 
Application Attestation:  I further attest that:    
       
1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me;   
2. All statements on the application are true and complete; and 
3. I am of good character. 
 
 
Print Name:  _____________________________________ 
 
Signature:     _____________________________________           Date:  _____________________ 
 

          
 38-1062.  Licensure by examination; requirements. In order to be licensed by the department by examination, an 

individual shall meet, and present to the department evidence of meeting, the following requirements: 
(1) Has attained the age of seventeen years on or before the beginning date of the examination for which application is being 

made; 
(2) Has completed formal education equivalent to a United States high school education; 
(3) Possesses a minimum competency in the knowledge and skills necessary to perform the practices for which licensure is 

sought, as evidenced by successful completion of an examination in the appropriate practices approved by the board and 
administered by the department; 

(4) Possesses sufficient ability to read the English language to permit the applicant to practice in a safe manner, as evidenced 
by successful completion of the written examination; and 

(5) Has graduated from a school of electrolysis upon completion of a program of studies appropriate to the practices for which 
licensure is being sought, as evidenced by a diploma or certificate from the school or apprentice salon to the effect that the 
applicant has complied with the following: 

(e) For licensure as an electrologist, the program of studies shall consist of a minimum of six hundred hours and six hundred 
credits; 
 

38-129. Issuance of credential; qualifications. No individual shall be issued a credential under the Uniform Credentialing 
Act until he or she has furnished satisfactory evidence to the department that he or she is of good character and has attained the 
age of nineteen years except as otherwise specifically provided by statute, rule, or regulation. A credential may only be issued to a 
citizen of the United States, an alien lawfully admitted into the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform 
Credentialing Act, or a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform 
Credentialing Act. 
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NOTE:  In order for your application to be considered complete, all applicants MUST also submit a 
copy of the following documents:   
 

 
1. �   Age:  Evidence of at least 17 years of age on or before the examination (i.e.: driver’s license, birth certificate, 

marriage license, school transcript, US State ID card, Military ID, or similar documentation); 
 
2. �   Citizenship, Lawful Presence Information:  You must submit a copy of at least one of the following documents: 

(a) A U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired); 
(b) A birth certificate issued by a state, county, municipal authority or outlying possession of the United States 

bearing an official seal; 
(c) An American Indian Card (I-872); 
(d) A Certificate of Naturalization (N-550 or N-570); 
(e) A Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561); 
(f) Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350); 
(g) A Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of America (FS-240); 
(h) Certification of Birth Abroad (FS-545 or DS-1350); 
(i) A United States Citizen Identification Card (I-197 or I-179); 
(j) A Northern Mariana Card (I-873); 
(k) A Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card; 
(l) An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the 

passport; 
(m) A document showing an Alien Registration Number (“A), an Employment Authorization Card/Document is NOT 

acceptable; or 
(n) A Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record); 

 
3. �   Education:  You must submit:  
  �  a copy of your High School diploma, GED or Equivalent Educational document,  
  �  a copy of your diploma verifying completion of an electrolysis program of studies, and  
  �  Attachment 1 completed by the school of electrolysis that you graduated from; 
 
4. �   Conviction Information:  If you have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, you must submit:  

(a) A copy of the court record, which includes charges and disposition; 
(b) Explanation from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of 

actions you have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions; 
(c) All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol 

related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; and 
(d) A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on 

probation;  
 
5.  � Other Credentialing Info:  If you hold or have held a credential to provide health services, health-related services, or 

environmental services in another jurisdiction, you must have the licensing agency submit to the Department a 
certification of your credential; 

 
6. �  Disciplinary Action:  If you have had any disciplinary actions taken against your credential, you must submit a copy 

of the disciplinary action(s), including charges and disposition;  
 
7. �   Fee:  The required fee (see chart on page 1 of this application). 

 
 
Any documents written in a language other than English must be accompanied by a complete translation into the English 
language.  The translation must be an original document and contain the notarized signature of the translator.  An individual 
may not translate his/her own documents. 
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STATE OF NEBRASKA      
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES  
Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986,  
Lincoln, Nebraska  68509-4986 
402-471-4399  susan.chocholousek@nebraska.gov 

 
 

THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED BY THE SCHOOL OF ELECTROLYSIS 
 

 
 
 
THIS IS TO VERIFY THAT: 
 
 
The records of:                         

 (Name of School of Electrolysis) 
 
 
School Address:                       

     (City and State) 
 
 
Indicate that:                         

     (Student's Name) 
 
 
Complete the following information for the above named student: 

  

 
Category of Training: 

 
 

 
 
Hours of Training Earned: 

 
 
 
 

Credits Earned: 
 

 
Date Enrolled: 

 

Date Training Completed: 

 
 
 
 

Date of School Diploma or 
Certificate: 

 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
I hereby state that I am the person completing this information and the statements are true and complete.   
 

 
                      
             ____________________________________ 

     (Signature of School Representative) 
 
 

             ____________________ date    
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