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Department of Health and Human Services 
Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit 
PO Box 94986 
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509 
Telephone:  402-471-0371 
Fax:  (402) 471-3577  Attn: Tami 
Email:  tamitha.johns@nebraska.gov 
 

RENEWAL NOTICE 
 
Your Emergency Medical Technician license will expire 
on 12/31/2015.  This document must be postmarked on or 
before 12/31/2015 to avoid the expiration of your license 
and removal of authorization to practice.  An 
administrative penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000 will be 
assessed for practicing after your license expires. 

License #: ____________________ 

 
 

 Check here if you 
wish to place your 
license on inactive** 
status. 
 
 

 
 
 
 
TWO YEAR RENEWAL 

Name: ________________________________________ 

Address: ________________________________________ 

 ________________________________________ 
  

NAME & ADDRESS CHANGES:  If your name or address is incorrect, cross out incorrect 
information and print correction.  For name changes, you must submit a photocopy of marriage 
certificate, court order, etc., to provide proof of legal name.  If not submitted, the license will be 
issued in the name as printed above. 

 

**INACTIVE means that you cannot practice as an Emergency Medical Technician after the expiration date of your credential, but 
may represent yourself as having an inactive license. You do not have to meet the continuing competency requirements to request 
Inactive Status.  In order to change from Inactive to Active Status you MUST submit an application for reinstatement and meet the 
requirements which are in effect at the time you are requesting the change. 
 

To renew your license, you must have a valid Social Security Number, Alien Registration Number, and/or I-94 Number.  If you 
have a SSN and an A# or I-94 Number, you must report both.  Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-123 mandates disclosure of your Social 
Security Number to DHHS.  Although your number is not public information, DHHS may disclose it for child support enforcement 
purposes and to the Nebraska Department of Revenue. 

Check the 
Appropriate Box or 
Boxes 

Social Security Number (SSN) SSN: 

Alien Registration Number (A#) A#: 

Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) Number I-94#: 

Were you convicted of a misdemeanor or felony in any jurisdiction between January 1, 2014 and 
December 31, 2015? 

Yes No 

  
If you answer YES to this question, you must submit the following documentation to the Licensure Unit: 

 A list of any misdemeanor or felony convictions; 
 A copy of the court record, which includes charges and disposition; 
 A letter of explanation from you detailing the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, and why), and a 

summary of actions you have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions; 
 All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol related 

offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; 
 A letter from your probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on 

probation; and 
 Any other information as requested by the Board/Department after initial review of your renewal application. 

Are you currently licensed or certified to provide health services, health-related services, or 
environmental services in Nebraska or in any other jurisdiction or state? 

Yes No 

  
Has such license been denied, refused renewal, or disciplined between January 1, 2014 and 
December 31, 2015?  (If YES, provide a list of any disciplinary actions taken against your license 
and a copy of the disciplinary action(s), including charges and disposition.) 

Yes No 

  

NOTE:  If you have any criminal charges or credential disciplinary actions pending that result in a misdemeanor or felony 
conviction or license discipline, you must report such action(s) to this Department within thirty (30) days of the conviction/action 
per Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-1,125.  Failure to disclose any such conviction/license discipline could result in disciplinary action. 
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CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS:  You must have documentation showing that you have met the continuing 
competency requirements during the time period starting January 1, 2014 and ending December 31, 2015, unless you qualify for 
one of the waivers below.  If you have met the continuing competency requirements, DO NOT select a waiver.  DO NOT submit 
that documentation to this office unless requested.  Do retain all documentation of continuing competency activities that you have 
completed for renewal of your credential.  If you are randomly selected for an audit to provide that documentation, you will be 
notified by mail at a later date. 

 I have met or will meet the continuing competency requirements on or before December 31, 2015. 

 WAIVER - I was first licensed within the twenty-four (24) months immediately preceding December 31, 2015. 

 WAIVER - I have served full-time duty in the active military service of the United States, or a National Guard call to active 
service for more than 30 consecutive days, or active service as a commissioned officer of the Public Health Service or the 
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration during part of the twenty-four (24) months immediately preceding 
December 31, 2015.  (Attach military identification proving that you are in active service, military orders, or a letter 
from your Commanding Officer indicating that you are on active duty.)

 WAIVER - I suffered a serious or disabling illness or physical disability, which prevented completion of the required number 
of continuing education hours during the twenty-four (24) months immediately preceding December 31, 2015.  (Attach a 
statement from your treating physician(s) stating that you were injured or ill, the duration of the illness or injury 
and the recovery period, and that you were unable to attend continuing education programs during that period.)

 WAIVER - I had other circumstances beyond my control that prevented me from obtaining the required continuing 
competency requirements during the twenty-four (24) months immediately preceding December 31, 2015.  (You must 
submit documentation verifying such circumstances.)

 
For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-129, I attest as follows: 
 
Please check ONLY ONE of the boxes below: 
  I am a citizen of the United States; or 
  I am an alien lawfully admitted into the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act; or 
  I am a non-immigrant lawfully present in the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing 

Act. 
 
Alien or Non-Immigrant Status:  If you are NOT a citizen of the United States, you must submit evidence of lawful 
admittance/presence which may include a copy of: 

1. A “Green Card” otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card; or 
2. An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport; or 
3. A document showing an Alien Registration Number (“A#”), and Employment Authorization Card/Document is NOT 

acceptable; or 
4. A Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record). 

Your credential will NOT be renewed until such proof is received by our office and your documents are verified through the 
Department of Homeland Security.  This process may take four (4) to six (6) weeks. 
 
Application Attestation:  I further attest that:    

1. I am of good character; 
2. I have met the continuing competency requirements as specified in 172 NAC 11-007.01 or requested a waiver if I meet the 

requirements of 172 NAC 11-008.03 and 11-008.04; and 
3. I have not committed any act(s) since January 1, 2011 which would be grounds for action against my credential under 172 

NAC 11-010 or if an act(s) was committed I have provided an explanation of all such act(s). 

Print Name: __________________________________________________ 

Signature: __________________________________________________ Date:  ___________________ 

Phone Number:  _______________________ E-mail Address:  _________________________________________

In an emergency event, your skills and abilities could be in great demand.  The State of Nebraska Medical and Health Volunteer 
registry allows you to register as a healthcare volunteer before disaster strikes.  This secure system allows disaster response 
officials to quickly identify those healthcare professionals necessary to meet the needs of a disaster or emergency situation. 
Your professional skills can then best be put to use in a coordinated and efficient manner, while granting you additional legal 
protection under the Nebraska Emergency Management Act (see Neb. Rev. Stat. §81-829.36) 
Registration only takes a moment and does not obligate you to respond to any future disasters; instead, registration allows you  
to be contacted for your availability during a local, state, or national emergency.  Saving lives in an effective response to an 
emergency or disaster often depends on quickly identifying and contacting volunteer healthcare professionals such as yourself 
who have the specific skills necessary to care for people who are injured or ill.  Please take a moment to register at 
https://volunteers.ne.gov/ESAR-VHP/faces/jsp/login/jsp. 
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