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STATE OF NEBRASKA

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit

P.O. Box 94986 — 301 Centennial Mall South

Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986

402-471-2399 susan.chocholousek@nebraska.gov

Print or Type

ATTACHMENT A

Effective 12/1/2008 — revised 11/2013

COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR
APPLICATION BY EXAMINATION

SECTION A — PERSONAL INFORMATION (All applicants must complete this section)

All mailings will be sent to the address you indicate below — if you change your address, you must advise this office.

1 | Legal Name First: Middle/MI: Last:
Maiden Name Name: Other Names you are known as (AKA):
2 | Mailing Address | Street/PO/Route:
City: State or Country: Zip:

3 | Date of Birth:

Place of Birth:

Month/Day/Year City/State or Country
4 gheck thet I:l Social Security Number (SSN); SSN#
ropriate
ng(s)? |:| Alien Registration Number (“A#"); or

|:| Form 1-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) number:

A#

1-94 #

If you have both a SSN and an A# or I-94 number, you must report both. Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-123 mandates disclosure of
your social security number to DHHS. Although your number is not public information, DHHSs may disclose it for
child support enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of Revenue.

5 | Phone #:
(optional)

Fax #: (optional)

6 | E-Mail Address:
(optional)

SECTION B - LICENSE FEES (See Chart Below)

The fee charged is based on the month and year in which your license will be issued.

YEAR Jan Feb Mar Apr May June | July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Even Number Year $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $25 $25 $25 $25 $25 $25
Odd Numbered Year $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50

Make payable to:

Licensure Unit

NOTE: Licenses expire12-31 of even-numbered years ($50 is the renewal fee)
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SECTION C - EDUCATION (All applicants must complete this section)

Check the appropriate box:
I:l High School |:|GED
Equivalent — List type of education completed:

1. High School, GED, or Equivalent:

2. Name of School of Cosmetology where | Name:
you completed your training:

SECTION D — CONVICTION AND LICENSURE INFORMATION (All applicants must complete this section)
Failure to disclose any such conviction or disciplinary action, regardless of when the action occurred, could result in
issuance of a probationary license or other disciplinary action.

You are required to list all misdemeanor/felony convictions, regardless of when they occurred. If you are not sure if a ticket or
arrest resulted in a misdemeanor or felony conviction, we suggest that you contact the court in the county where you were ticketed
or arrested. The following provides just a small sampling of some of the misdemeanor convictions; this is not an exclusive list
(intended as examples), there are many more not listed here:

e MIP ¢ Driving under Suspension / Revocation

e DUI/DWI e License Vehicle without Liability Insurance Convictions are also
e Controlled Substance « Fail to Appear in Court delineated in
e Open Container e False Information or Reporting Neb. Rev. Stat.
« Tobacco Use by Minor e Leave the Scene of an Accident Chapter 28

e Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary e Operator not Carrying License

e Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction | ¢ Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs

¢ Disturbing the Peace ¢ Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation

o Assault e Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal

¢ Disorderly Conduct e Littering

¢ Disorderly House e Bad Check

e Reckless Driving e Fireworks

NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that results in a conviction or license discipline,
you are required to report such actions to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the decision at:
http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/reg/investi.htm or by telephone at 402-471-0175.

Conviction Information:

Answer each of the following questions by placing a (v') in the appropriate box (yes or no) and completing the information
requested. All ‘yes’ responses MUST be explained in detail and you must submit the requested documentation (see page 5 of
application).

# | Question Yes No Type of Crime Date of Action Name of Court

1 | Have you

ne 00O

been convicted
ofa

misdemeanor
or felony?



http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/reg/investi.htm
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Licensure Information: You must answer the following 2 questions

The following questions relate to a credential that you hold or have held in cosmetology, electrology, esthetics, nail technology,
body art, health services, health-related services or environmental services in another jurisdiction/state.

Yes | No

2 Do you hold an active or |:| |:| :;‘C)é?]s;ev(\j/r}ﬁgState(s) are you What type of license do you hold?

inactive (similar status)
license in any state?

If you are licensed, has Type of Licensure Action Date of Action Name of Entity taking
your license ever been |:| |:| Action

denied, refused renewal,
limited, suspended, revoked

or had other disciplinary

measures taken against it?

3 Have you ever been denied
the right to take a Please Explain:

credentialing (licensure) |:| |:|

examination?

| SECTION E — EXAMINATION

[]

|:| Computer-Based testing:

Before you can register for the examination, you must receive the Department’s examination authorization letter, then
you can schedule the test date/site with LaserGrade and pay the examination fee directly to LaserGrade. (Do not
send this fee to the Licensure Unit)

Special Accommodations: If you have a disability that requires any accommodations for taking the examination,
an "Accommodation Request" must be requested from our office and submitted with the application.

SECTION F — PRACTICE PRIOR TO CREDENTIAL
An individual who practices prior to issuance of a credential is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per
day up to $1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing the credential.

1 | I have practiced as a cosmetology instructor in Nebraska DYes |:| No
before submitting this application?

2 If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced
in Nebraska and what is the business name, location

and telephone number of the practice: # of days:

Name of Business:

City:

Telephone #:

38-1061. Licensure or registration; categories; use of titles prohibited; practice in licensed establishment or facility.
(1) All practitioners shall be licensed or registered by the department under the Cosmetology, Electrology, Esthetics, Nail
Technology, and Body Art Practice Act in a category or categories appropriate to their practice.

(2) Licensure shall be required before any person may engage in the full, unsupervised practice or teaching of cosmetology,
electrology, esthetics, nail technology, or body art, and no person may assume the title of cosmetologist, electrologist, esthetician,
instructor, nail technician, nail technology instructor, esthetics instructor, permanent color technician, tattoo artist, body piercer, or
body brander without first being licensed by the department.

(3) All licensed practitioners shall practice in an appropriate licensed establishment or facility.
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SECTION G - ATTESTATION

Lawful Presence in the United States Attestation:

For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-129, | attest as follows:
Please check the appropriate box below:
I:' | am a citizen of the United States; or
|:| An alien lawfully admitted into the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act; or
I:l A nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act.

Alien or Non-immigrant Status: If you are a qualified alien lawfully admitted into the United States OR a non-immigrant lawfully
present in the United States, you must submit evidence of lawful presence which may include a copy of:

1. A“Green Card” otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form [-551), both front and back of the card; or

2. An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport; or

3. A document showing an Alien Registration Number (“A#”), an Employment Authorization Card/Document is NOT
acceptable; or

4. A Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record).

Your credential will NOT be issued until such proof is received by our office and your documents are verified by our office through
the Department of Homeland Security. This process may take four to six weeks.

Application Attestation: | further attest that:

1. | have read the application or have had the application read to me;
2. All statements on the application are true and complete;
3. | am of good character; and

Print Name:

Signature: Date:

38-1062. Licensure by examination; requirements. In order to be licensed by the department by examination, an individual
shall meet, and present to the department evidence of meeting, the following requirements:

(1) Has attained the age of seventeen years on or before the beginning date of the examination for which application is being
made;

(2) Has completed formal education equivalent to a United States high school education;

(3) Possesses a minimum competency in the knowledge and skills necessary to perform the practices for which licensure is
sought, as evidenced by successful completion of an examination in the appropriate practices approved by the board and
administered by the department;

(4) Possesses sufficient ability to read the English language to permit the applicant to practice in a safe manner, as evidenced
by successful completion of the written examination; and

(5) Has graduated from a school of cosmetology in or outside of Nebraska, upon completion of a program of studies
appropriate to the practices for which licensure is being sought, as evidenced by a diploma or certificate from the school or
apprentice salon to the effect that the applicant has complied with the following:

(c) For licensure as a cosmetology instructor, the program of studies shall consist of a minimum of nine hundred twenty-five
hours beyond the program of studies required for licensure as a cosmetologist earned in a period of not less than six months;

(d) For licensure as a cosmetology instructor, be currently licensed as a cosmetologist in Nebraska, as evidenced by
possession of a valid Nebraska cosmetology license;

38-129. Issuance of credential; qualifications. No individual shall be issued a credential under the Uniform Credentialing
Act until he or she has furnished satisfactory evidence to the department that he or she is of good character and has attained the age
of nineteen years except as otherwise specifically provided by statute, rule, or regulation. A credential may only be issued to a
citizen of the United States, an alien lawfully admitted into the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform
Credentialing Act, or a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform
Credentialing Act.






Cosmetology Instructor Application - ATTACHMENT A
Page 5

also submit a copy of the following documents:

Kw;“w‘ NOTE: In order for your application to be considered complete, all applicants MUST
=

1. [J Age: Evidence of at least 17 years of age on or before the examination (i.e.: driver’s license, birth certificate,
marriage license, school transcript, US State ID card, Military ID, or similar documentation);

2. [

Citizenship, lawful presence, and/or immigration status Information: You must submit a copy of at least one of the

following documents:

(a)
(b)

(©)
(d)
(e)
)
(9)
(h)
(i)
0)
(k)

()
(m)
(n)

3. U

A U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired);

A birth certificate issued by a state, county, municipal authority or outlying possession of the United States
bearing an official seal;

An American Indian Card (I-872);

A Certificate of Naturalization (N-550 or N-570);

A Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561);

Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350);

A Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of America (FS-240);

Certification of Birth Abroad (FS-545 or DS-1350);

A United States Citizen Identification Card (I-197 or 1-179);

A Northern Mariana Card (I-873);

A Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form |-551Green Card), both front and back of
the card;

An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary |-551 stamp bearing the same name as the
passport;

A document showing an Alien Registration Number (“A#”), an Employment Authorization Card is NOT
acceptable; or

A Form 1-94 (Arrival-Departure Record);

Education: You must submit:

[0 a copy of your diploma verifying completion of a cosmetology instructor program of studies, AND
[ Attachment 1 completed by the school of cosmetology or apprentice salon that you graduated from;

(a)
(b)

(©)
(d)

5 [

Conviction Information: If you have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, you must submit:

A copy of the court record, which includes charges and disposition;

Explanation from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of
actions you have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions;

All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol
related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; and

A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on
probation;

Other Credentialing Info: If you hold or have held a credential to provide health services, health-related services, or

environmental services in another jurisdiction, you must have the licensing agency submit to the Department a
certification of your credential;

6. L[] Disciplinary Action: If you have had any disciplinary actions taken against your credential, you must submit a copy

of the disciplinary action(s), including charges and disposition;

7. U

Fee: The required fee (see chart on page 1 of this application).

Any documents written in a language other than English must be accompanied by a complete translation into the English
language. The translation must be an original document and contain the notarized signature of the translator. An individual
may not translate his/her own documents.
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STATE OF NEBRASKA

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit

P.O. Box 94986,

Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986

402-471-2399 susan.chocholousek@nebraska.gov

THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED BY THE SCHOOL OF COSMETOLOGY

THIS IS TO VERIFY THAT:

The records of:

(Name of Cosmetology School/Apprentice Training Salon)

School Address:

(City and State)

Indicate that:

(Student's Name)

Complete the following information for the above named student:

Category of Training:

Hours of Training Earned:

Date Training Began: Date of School Diploma or
Certificate:

Date Training Completed:

Date of Practical Examination: Final Practical Score Received:

Date of Written Examination: Final Written Score Received:

| hereby state that | am the person completing this information and the statements are true and complete.

(Signature of School Representative)

date
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