
Division of Public Health 
Licensure Unit 
PO Box 94986 
Lincoln, NE  68509-4986 
402-471-4376            

Email: dhhs.nursingrenewals@nebraska.gov   Fax:  (402) 742-1163 
 

License Information:   

Your renewal application and fee (if applicable) must be POSTMARKED ON OR BEFORE  
10-31-2016 to avoid expiration of your license.  If you practice after the expiration date, an 
administrative penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000 will be assessed for each day of practice. 
 

License #:      
 

Legal Name:                 
 

Address:         

  Check if this is 

a NEW Address 

 

City/State/Zip: 
 

 

To renew your license, you must have a valid Social Security Number, Alien Registration Number, and/or  
I-94 Number.  Enter all numbers you hold below.   

Social Security Number  

Alien Registration Number  

Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record)  
 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-123 mandates disclosure of your social security number to DHHS.  Although your number is not public 
information, DHHS may disclose it for child support enforcement purposes as well as to the Nebraska Department of 
Revenue, Department of Labor and for other Administrative purposes. 

 

YOU MUST CHECK A 
BOX BELOW:  

 

 ACTIVE     $68.00    

 INACTIVE 

(no fee required) 

 
 MILITARY WAIVER 

(no fee required) 
 
 
 
 

Make payable to: 
 
DHHS 
Licensure Unit 
 
(You will not  
receive receipt) 

NAME CHANGES: If your name has changed, you must submit a photocopy of marriage certificate, court order, etc., to provide proof of 
legal name.  If not submitted, the license will be issued in the name currently listed on your license.    

 
ONLINE LICENSE RENEWAL:  You may renew your license online at https://nebraska.mylicense.com/. To register online you will need your 

license number, your social security number and a credit or debit card with a MasterCard or Visa logo. 
 

INACTIVE STATUS:  If you choose not to renew your license, you may select Inactive Status.  Inactive means that you may represent yourself 

as having an inactive license.  To change from Inactive to Active Status, you MUST contact this office for an application and meet the 
reinstatement requirements which are in effect at the time the status change is requested.   
 

Primary State of Residence:   
Nebraska is a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact for RN and LPN licensure.  As a condition of licensure in a compact state, you 

are required to declare your primary state of residence.   
 

You MUST declare your primary state of residence during EACH renewal.  This state is referred to as your home state under the Nurse 

Licensure Compact and means that it is your declared fixed permanent and principal home for legal purposes and is your domicile. 
Indicators of a domicile include, but are not limited to, where real property is located, where the person pays state taxes, votes, is licensed 
to operate a motor vehicle, etc. 
 

MY CURRENT PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCE IS:  _____________________________ (Name of State) 
 

____ I am employed exclusively in the US Military (Active Duty) or with the US Federal Government and am requesting a  
         single state license regardless of my primary state of residence. 

 

Conviction/Discipline Questions:   
1 Were you convicted of a misdemeanor or felony in any state/jurisdiction between 11/01/2014 and 10/31/2016? 

If you answer YES to this question, you must submit the following documents to the Licensure Unit: 

 A list of any misdemeanor or felony convictions;  

 A copy of the court record, which includes charges and disposition; 

 Explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions you have 
taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions;  

 All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol 
related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; and  

 A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on 
probation;  

 
 Yes  
 No 

2a Have you held a credential that was issued by another state/jurisdiction(s) to provide health-related services or 
environmental services?  (If you answer NO to 2a, answer NO to 2b) 

 Yes  
 No 

2b Has this license been denied, refused renewal, or disciplined between 11/01/2014 AND 10/31/2016?  (If "YES", please 

provide a list of any disciplinary actions taken against your license and a copy of the disciplinary action(s). 
 Yes 
 No 

 

mailto:dhhs.nursingrenewals@nebraska.gov
https://nebraska.mylicense.com/
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Questions:  
I currently hold an Active Registered Nurse License in the State of Nebraska or an active multi-state RN license in another  
compact state. 

 Yes  
 No 

I hold current national certification approved for licensure in Nebraska. 
 

 Yes  
 No 

 

Continuing Education (CE):   Do NOT submit CE Certificates to this office unless they are requested  
 

You MUST have completed education, between 11/01/2014 AND 10/31/2016 in order for your license to be renewed to ACTIVE status (not 
required if you request inactive status) or be eligible for a waiver.  Please check ONE of the following: 
 

   WAIVER:  I received my Nebraska license within the past 24 months (first issued after 11/1/2014). If you first received your license 

less than 24 months ago, you are not required to meet the continuing education requirement.  

   I hold a letter of reference from a licensed practitioner or an APRN-CNM stating that I am currently competent to practice as an APRN-
CNM and that they base this statement on observance of my having at least 850 hours of practice as an APRN-CNM within the last 
two years (between 11/01/2014 and 10/31/16). 

   I hold a letter of reference from a licensed practitioner or an APRN-CNM stating that I am currently competent to practice as an APRN-
CNM and that they base this statement on observance of my having at least 2080 hours of practice as an APRN-CNM within the last 
five years (between 11/01/2011 and 10/31/2016). 

 
 
 
 

MILITARY WAIVER:  After 10/31/2014 I have served full-time duty in the active military service of the United States, a National Guard 

call to active service for more than 30 consecutive days, or active service as a commissioned officer of the Public Health Service or 
the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Military service may also include any period during which a service member is 
absent from duty on account of sickness, wounds, leave, or other lawful cause. If you meet this waiver, you are not required to pay 
the renewal fee or meet the continuing education requirements.  You must submit copies of your active service papers. 

 

Attestation:  For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below): 

I attest that: 

□  I am a citizen of the United States. 

 
OR 

□  I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act. 

□  I am a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States. 

□   Check this box if you are NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and  

      Nationality Act.    
      NOTE:  You may still be eligible for a certificate if you provide a photocopy of your unexpired Employment Authorization Document     

      (EAD) and evidence of meeting section 202(c)(2)(B)(i) through (ix) of the Federal REAL ID Act of 2005.  
 

If you are NOT a citizen of the United States, you must submit proof of lawful presence in the U.S.  Your certificate will NOT be renewed 

until such proof is received by our office and verified through the Department of Homeland Security (may take 4-6 weeks). 
 

Signature and Application Attestation:  I attest that:    
       

1. I have read the renewal application or have had the renewal application read to me; and  
2. All statements on this renewal application are true and complete. 
 

Print Name:  _____________________________________  Signature:  _________________________________   Date:  _____________ 
 
Phone/Fax (Optional): _____________________________ E-mail (Optional): ________________________________________________ 
 

 

NOTE:  If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a misdemeanor or felony conviction or license 

discipline, you must report these to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction/action (Neb. Rev. Stat. 38-1,125). Failure to disclose 
any such convictions/license discipline could result in disciplinary action.  Report to: www.dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/reg_investi.aspx 
 

 

Disaster Response Volunteers Needed:   In an emergency event, your skills and abilities could be in great demand.  The State of Nebraska 

Medical and Health Volunteer registry allows you to register as a healthcare volunteer before disaster strikes.  This secure system allows 
disaster response officials to quickly identify those healthcare professionals necessary to meet the needs of a disaster or emergency situation.  
Your professional skills can then best be put to use in a coordinated and efficient manner, while granting you additional legal protection under 
the Nebraska Emergency Management Act (see Neb. Rev. Statute 81-829.36). 
 

Registration only takes a moment and does not obligate you to respond to any future disasters; instead, registration allows you to be contacted 
for your availability during a local, state, or national emergency.  Saving lives in an effective response to an emergency or disaster often 
depends on quickly identifying and contacting volunteer healthcare professionals such as yourself who have the specific skills necessary to care 
for people who are injured or ill.  Please take a moment to register at:  https://volunteers.ne.gov/ESAR-VHP/faces/jsp/login.jsp 

http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/reg_investi.aspx
https://volunteers.ne.gov/ESAR-VHP/faces/jsp/login.jsp
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