
  

  
               Department of Health and Human Services 

Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986 - Lincoln, Nebraska  68509-4986 

Telephone: 402-471-2299 
Email: matthew.hayden@nebraska.gov 

 

AUDIOLOGY/SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY RENEWAL NOTICE  

 
 Please review the RENEWAL NOTICE section below carefully 

Your Audiology/Speech-Language Pathology credential expires December 1, 2016.  
The renewal fee of $140 and this document must be postmarked on or before December 1, 
2016 to avoid expiration of your credential and removal of authorization to practice. 
An administrative penalty of $10 per day up to $1000 will be assessed for practicing after 
your credential expires.  
 

NAME & ADDRESS CHANGES:   

If your name or address has changed, check the appropriate box(s) below.  For name change, you 
must submit a photocopy of marriage certificate, court order, etc. to provide proof of legal name. If not 
submitted, the license will be issued in the name of record. 
   NAME CHANGE             CHANGE OF ADDRESS             LICENSE # ___________________ 
 

 INTERNET:  Nebraska Licensing Information is public information and is on the INTERNET 

at http://dhhs.ne.gov/lookup 
 

Name:  
 

Address:   

 

City:  

State/Zip:  

              

 

 

Fee: Check requested status 

below:  

Active                $140.00

 Inactive                No fee 

Active Military       No fee 

              
 
  

2-YEAR RENEWAL 

 
Make check payable to:  DHHS, 
Licensure Unit (you will NOT 
receive a receipt) 

 
 

INACTIVE STATUS: If you elect not to renew your credential, you may select inactive status.  Inactive means that you cannot practice 

but may represent yourself as having an inactive credential. You do not have to meet the continuing competency requirements to request 
inactive status.  To change from inactive to active status, you must complete the reinstatement application, pay the renewal fee in effect 
at the time and meet the continuing competency requirements.   

1 To renew your credential, you must have a valid Social Security Number, Alien Registration Number, and/or I-94 
Number. Enter your number below.  If you have both a SSN and an A# or I-94 number, you must report both. 
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-123 mandates disclosure of your social security number to DHHS. Although your number is not 
public information, DHHS may disclose it for child support enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of 
Revenue.  

 

     Social Security #   

     Alien Registration #   

     Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) #   

2 Were you convicted of a misdemeanor or felony in any jurisdiction between the dates of December 2, 2014 and 
December 1, 2016 that were not previously been reported?    

If you answer YES to this question, you must request the following documents be sent directly to this office: 

 A list of any misdemeanor or felony convictions;  

 A copy of the court record, which includes charges and disposition; 

 Explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions  you 
have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions; 

 All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol 
related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; and 

 A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if the applicant is 
currently on probation. 

NOTE:  If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in conviction or license 

discipline, you must report such actions to this department within 30 days of the conviction/action (Neb. Rev. Stat.  
§ 38-1,125). Failure to disclose any such convictions/credential discipline could result in disciplinary action. 

 Yes  No 

3a Have you held a credential that was issued between December 2, 2014 and December 1, 2016 by another 

jurisdiction to provide health services, health-related services, or environmental services?   
 Yes  No 

3b Has such credential been denied, refused renewal, or disciplined between the dates of December 2, 2014 and 
December 1, 2016?  If yes, please provide a list of any disciplinary actions taken against your credential and a copy 

of the disciplinary action(s), including charges and disposition. 

 Yes  No 
 

 
  I AM REQUESTING A WAIVER of _______ continuing education hours.  Check applicable reason(s) for waiver below: 

□ Military:  I have served full-time duty in the active military service of the United States, or a National Guard call to active service for 

more than 30 consecutive days, or active service as a commissioned officer of the Public Health Service or the National Oceanic and 
Atmospheric Administration during part of the 24 months immediately preceding the biennial licensure renewal dated (12/02/2014 to 
12/01/2016).  (You MUST provide official documentation of Armed Forces Service, such as Active Duty Orders to claim this 
exemption.  If you meet this exemption, you are not required to pay the renewal fee.) 

□ Initial License: I was first licensed within the twenty-four (24) months immediately preceding the license renewal date.   

 

http://dhhs.ne.gov/lookup


□ Illness/Disability: I have suffered a serious or disabling illness or physical disability during the credentialing period immediately 
preceding the renewal date, which prevented completion of the continuing competency requirements.  (Attach a statement from 
treating physician(s) stating that you were injured or ill, the duration of the illness or injury and of the recovery period, and 
that you were unable to attend continuing education programs during that period.) 

 

CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS: You must have completed at least 20 hours of continuing education during the time period of 
December 2, 2014 through December 1, 2016.  All 20 hours may be from Content Area I with no more than 5 hours from Content Area II.   

                                 CONTENT AREA I 
1.  Anatomic and physiologic bases for the normal development and use of speech, language, hearing, and balance; 
2.  Physical bases and processes of the production and perception of speech, language, and hearing; 
3.  Linguistic and psycho-linguistic variables related to normal development and use of speech, language, and hearing; 
4.  Technological, biomedical, engineering, and instrumentation information which would enable expansion of knowledge                                       
      in the basic communication processes; 
5.  Various types of disorders of communication, their manifestations, classification, and cause; 
6.  Evaluation skills, including procedures, techniques, and instrumentation for assessment; 
7.  Principles in habilitation and rehabilitation of communication disorders; and 
8.  Principles in evaluation and rehabilitation of balance and vestibular disorders. 

                             CONTENT AREA II (must relate to the practice of audiology and speech-language pathology) 
1.  Regulations and implementation of federal and/or state regulated programs; 
2.  Service delivery models; 
3.  Ethical practices; 
4.  Supervision issues related to the practice of audiology and speech-language pathology; 
5.  Related disciplines which interface with delivery of audiology and speech-language pathology services; and 
6.  Reimbursement issues. 

 

 

ATTESTATION:  All credential holders must complete this section and sign and date this form    

 

For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below): 

 

Please check only one of the boxes below: 

 
    I am a citizen of the United States; or 
    I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act; or 
    I am a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States; or 
    Check this box if you are NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and 

Nationality Act. 

 
Alien or Non-immigrant Status:  If you are a qualified alien lawfully admitted into the United States OR a non-immigrant lawfully present in 

the United States, you must submit evidence of lawful presence. 
 
Your credential will NOT be renewed until such proof is received by our office and your documents are verified by our office 
through the Department of Homeland Security. This process may take four to six weeks. 

  
Application Attestation:  I further attest that:       

   
1.   I have read the application or have had the application read to me;   
2.   All statements on the application are true and complete;  
3.   I am of good character; and 
4.   I have met or will meet the continuing competency requirements on or before December 1, 2016. 
 

 

Print Name:  _____________________________________ 

  

Signature:     _____________________________________          Date:  __________________________________________________ 

 
You may provide the following information if you wish to be contacted by these means: 
 
Phone (optional): _________________________________           E-mail(optional);   _________________________________________       
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