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Applicant for Licensure as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse-Certified Nurse Midwife (APRN-CNM) 
 
We are pleased that you wish obtain licensure as a Nurse Midwife in Nebraska.  Authority to practice as a Certified Nurse 
Midwife in Nebraska is based upon two criteria: 

1. Requirements for Licensure as a Nurse Midwife; and 
2. Requirements Prior to Commencing Practice. 

 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE: To qualify for licensure as a Nurse Midwife in Nebraska you must: 
1. Have a current Registered Nurse license in Nebraska or a multi-state RN license from another compact state under 

the Nurse License Compact Act; 
2. Provide proof of age:  Evidence of at least 19 years of age  
3. Provide proof of lawful presence in the United States 
4. Have completed an approved nurse midwifery education program that has been accredited by the American College of 

Nurse Midwives 
5. Have taken and passed the national certification examination for nurse midwives given by the American College of 

Nurse Midwives; and 
6. Within the previous five years, have graduated or practiced as a nurse midwife. 
7. Complete a criminal background check by fingerprint.  
 

To apply for licensure, you must submit the following: 
1. APPLICATION 
2. FEE: See Schedule  
3. PROOF OF AGE: Evidence of at least 19 years of age (i.e.: driver’s license, birth certificate, marriage license, school 

transcript, US State ID card, Military ID, or similar documentation); 
4. PROOF OF LAWFUL PRESENCE IN THE UNITED STATES: You must submit a copy of at least one of the following 

documents:  
(a) A U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired); 
(b) A birth certificate issued by a state, county, municipal authority or outlying possession of the United States bearing an 

official seal; 
(c) An American Indian Card (I-872); 
(d) A Certificate of Naturalization (N-550 or N-570); 
(e) A Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561); 
(f) Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350); 
(g) A Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of America (FS-240); 
(h) Certification of Birth Abroad (FS-545 or DS-1350); 
(i) A United States Citizen Identification Card (I-197 or I-179); 
(j) A Northern Mariana Card (I-873); 
(k) An Alien Registration Receipt Card (Form I-551, otherwise known as a “Green Card”); 
(l) An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport; 
(m) A document showing an Alien Registration Number (“A#”)  
(n) A Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) 

5. OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPT.  Transcripts must be submitted directly from the institution where you completed your nurse 
midwifery course of study.  The institution may charge a fee for this service. 

6. NATIONAL CERTIFICATION.  Verification of having passed the certifying examination. Verification of current 
certification from the American College of Nurse Midwives must be submitted directly from the certifying body.  If you 
are a new graduate, please make arrangements for the examination results to be sent to our office. 

7. ACTIVE RN LICENSURE VERIFICATION. If active RN licensure is in Nebraska, no action is required to meet this 
requirement.  If your primary state of residence under the Nurse License Compact is Nebraska and your Nebraska RN 
license is inactive or lapsed, you must reinstate your Nebraska RN license.  If your primary state of residence is a 
compact state other than Nebraska and you have a multi-state RN license in that state, please purchase a verification 
report at www.nursys.com and include a copy of the receipt with your application.  If your primary state of residence is 
a non-compact state, you must apply for RN licensure in Nebraska. 
 
*****Other Licensing Information:  If you hold or have held a license/certificate/registration to provide health related services in a 

state/jurisdiction other than Nebraska (such as nurse, med aide, nurse aide, pharmacy tech, EMT, etc.), you must submit 
verification of the license.  The NURSYS verification would verify most RN/LPN licenses in other states.   

 
8.  ADVANCE PRACTICE LICENSURE VERIFICATION. Advance Practice licensure from the original state of licensure 

must be verified. Contact your original state of licensure for applicable fee. (form enclosed) 
9. COMPLETED CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK BY FINGERPRINT (instructions enclosed). It may be several 

weeks before your background check is complete and received by our department. 

 

http://www.nursys.com/
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Temporary permits.  A temporary permit, as part of the licensure process, may be issued to: 
1. Graduates, for 60 days or until the results of the examination are known, who have not previously taken an approved credentialing 

examination and who meet all of the requirements for licensure as an CNM except having passed an approved examination. 
2. Applicants, for 120 days, who are lawfully authorized to practice as a CNM in another state pending completion of the application 

process; or  
3. Applicants who meet all of the criteria for licensure as a CNM except the continued competency requirements and who require a 

reentry program or supervised practice. 
 

To apply for a temporary permit as a new graduate, you must submit the following: 
1. Application for licensure 
2. Application fee (this fee also covers the permanent license) 
3. Proof of age 
4. Provide proof of lawful presence in the United States 

5. In-state graduates: A completion letter from your advanced practice program OR Out-of-state graduates, an Official Transcript.  

In-state  graduates must have an Official Transcript submitted prior to licensure; 
6. Verification that you are authorized to take the certification examination (a notarized copy of your authorization will meet this 

requirement). 
7. If RN licensure is other than Nebraska, verification of active multi-state RN license from another compact state.  A notarized copy 

of your RN license will meet this requirement for purposes of obtaining a temporary permit. If your primary state of residence is a 
non-compact state, you must apply for licensure as an RN in Nebraska.   

8. Completed criminal background check by fingerprint. 
 

To apply for a temporary permit if you have current advanced practice licensure/recognition in another state, you must submit 

the following: 
1. Application for licensure 
2. Application fee (this fee also covers the permanent license) 
3. Proof of Age 
4. Provide proof of lawful presence in the United States 
5. A notarized copy of advanced practice licensure/recognition in another state; 
6. A notarized copy of proof of current national certification; and 
7. If RN licensure is other than Nebraska, verification of active multi-state license/temporary permit from the other compact state is 

required.  A notarized copy of your RN license/temporary permit will meet this requirement for purposes of a temporary permit. If 
your primary state of residence is a non-compact state, you must apply for licensure as an RN in Nebraska.   

8. Completed criminal background check by fingerprint that is currently being processed by the State Patrol.  
 

To apply for a temporary permit if you have not graduated or practiced within the past five years and need to take a reentry 

program or complete supervised practice, you must submit: 
1. Application for licensure; 
2. Application fee (this fee also covers the permanent license) 
3. Proof of Age 
4. Proof of lawful presence in the United States  
5. Verification that you are registered for a reentry program or have made arrangements for supervised practice and a letter from the 

program listing the beginning and ending clinical dates; and 
6. If RN licensure is other than Nebraska, verification of active RN multi-state license from another compact state.  A notarized copy 

of your RN license will meet this requirement for purposes of a temporary permit. 
7. Criminal Background Check by fingerprint. 
 

YOU MUST HAVE EITHER A LICENSE OR A TEMPORARY PERMIT PRIOR TO PRACTICING AND FULFILL THE FOLLOWING 

REQUIREMENTS: 
Prior to commencing practice in Nebraska, you must submit a Certified Nurse Midwifery Practice Agreement with a collaborating 
physician/substitute physician that has been approved by the APRN Board. 

1. Please read the Practice Agreement carefully. 
2. Any change in the Practice Agreement must be requested and approved by the Boards before the change can occur. 
3. All delegated medical functions require protocols. 

 
If you have any questions regarding your Practice Agreement, please contact Karen Bowen Department of Health and Human 
Services, Public Health 402-471-6443 
 

APPLICATION COMPLETION REMINDERS: 
 

 Have you completed your application? 

 Have you submitted the required fee? 

 Have you requested an official transcript?   

 Have you submitted proof of age and proof of lawful presence in the United States? 

 Have you requested verification from the American College of Nurse Midwives? 

 Have you submitted the appropriate requirements for a temporary permit if you are requesting one? 

 Have you had your fingerprints submitted according to our instructions?  
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If after carefully reading these instructions and the enclosed regulations you have questions regarding this process, or need assistance 
in completing the procedure, please call (402) 471-2666. 
  
Determine the month and year in which you plan to be licensed in Nebraska (keeping in mind application processing can take 8-10 

weeks).   If the month falls in the shaded area of the following chart, the fee for initial licensure is $68.00.  If the month falls in the 

unshaded area, the fee for initial licensure is $25.00 (license is issued within 180 days of the renewal). Make checks payable to 
“DHHS, Licensure Unit”. 
 

FEE SCHEDULE 
 

YEAR Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec 

Even Year 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 25.00 25.00 25.00 25.00 25.00 25.00 68.00 68.00 

Odd Year 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 68.00 

 

 

 

EXPIRATION OF LICENSES: 

All APRN-CNM licenses expire on October 31 of each even-numbered year. 

This means that your nursing license may be valid for varying lengths of time, anywhere from 1 day to 24 months, depending 

on when it is issued, and must be renewed on or before October 31.  
 
 
 
Any documents written in a language other than English must be accompanied by a complete translation into the English language.  The 
translation must be an original document and contain the notarized signature of the translator.  An individual may not translate his/her own 
documents. 
 
The Department has up to 150 days to act upon a complete application. After this deadline, any incomplete applications will be 
destroyed and a refund will be issued following written notification to the applicant. 

 

Mail this application, the appropriate fee and required supporting documentation to the address below. All supporting 

documentation from outside sources should also be mailed to this address:  

Department of Health & Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln Nebraska 68509-4986 
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CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS 
Instructions – Revised 7/2015 

 

Criminal Background Check Notification:  Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-131 (provided below), an applicant for an initial license to practice as a registered 

nurse or a licensed practical nurse or to practice a profession which is authorized to prescribe controlled substances shall be subject to a criminal background 
check.  Applicants are able to receive any national criminal history record that may pertain to them directly from the FBI, pursuant to 28 CFR Sections 16.30-
16.34, and may then freely disclose any such information to whomever they choose.  Applicants must authorize the dissemination of any national criminal 
history record that may pertain to them to the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) when applying for licensure.  Applicants are entitled to 
challenge the accuracy and completeness of any information contained in any such report and will be provided a copy of the criminal history background report, 
if any, received if they appear at the DHHS in person and present proper identification.  Information on how to challenge an applicant’s federal report can be 
found at FBI.gov.  To challenge an applicant’s Nebraska state record, contact the Nebraska State Patrol-Criminal Identification Division.  Applicants may obtain 
a prompt determination as to the validity of their challenge before the DHHS makes a final decision about their application for licensure.   

 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-131 - Criminal background check; when required. (1) An applicant for an initial license to practice a 

profession which is authorized to prescribe controlled substances shall be subject to a criminal background check. Except as 
provided in subsection (3) of this section, the applicant shall submit with the application a full set of fingerprints which shall be 
forwarded to the Nebraska State Patrol to be submitted to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a national criminal history record 
information check. The applicant shall authorize release of the results of the national criminal history record information check to the 
department. The applicant shall pay the actual cost of the fingerprinting and criminal background check.  (2) This section shall not 
apply to a dentist who is an applicant for a dental locum tenens under section 38-1122, to a physician or osteopathic physician who is 
an applicant for a physician locum tenens under section 38-2036, or to a veterinarian who is an applicant for a veterinarian locum 
tenens under section 38-3335.  (3) An applicant for a temporary educational permit as defined in section 38-2019 shall have ninety 
days from the issuance of the permit to comply with subsection (1) of this section and shall have his or her permit suspended after 
such ninety-day period if the criminal background check is not complete or revoked if the criminal background check reveals that the 
applicant was not qualified for the permit.  Source: Laws 2005, LB 306, § 2; Laws 2005, LB 382, § 15; Laws 2006, LB 833, § 
1;R.S.Supp.,2006, § 71-104.01; Laws 2007, LB247, § 60; Laws 2007, LB463, § 31; Laws 2007, LB481, § 2; Laws 2011, LB687, § 1. 
Effective Date: May 19, 2011. 

 

FINGERPRINTING PROCEDURE – Please read and follow these instructions carefully to avoid delays in processing.   
 

Fingerprints must be obtained and submitted to the Department with your application for licensure.  The Department is 

required to verify to the Nebraska State Patrol that you have made application for licensure in Nebraska prior to the Nebraska 

State Patrol processing your request for a criminal background check.  The applicant must send the fee for the Criminal 

Background Check ($45.25) separately, directly to the Nebraska State Patrol as explained below.   

 

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2017 THE FEE FOR BACKGROUND CHECKS IS $45.25. 
 

Criminal background checks are NOT expedited for any reason.   
 
1. If you received a printed application from the Licensure Unit, two fingerprint cards were enclosed.  Take the fingerprint cards 

(2) to any State Patrol office or law enforcement agency.  Contact information for the Nebraska State Patrol offices is included 
with these instructions.  You must call ahead to schedule an appointment at the Nebraska State Patrol offices that have 
indicated appointments are required.  Please note that some offices have limited hours when fingerprinting will be conducted. 
  

2. If you obtained your application online, fingerprint cards can be obtained by contacting the Licensure Unit.  Fingerprint cards 
may also be available at any State Patrol office or law enforcement agency.  The fingerprint cards are the standard FBI 
Applicant format, form number FD 258, and are blue and white cards.   

 

3. DO NOT FOLD THE FINGERPRINT CARDS.   
 
4. Live Scan fingerprinting refers to both the technique and the technology used by law enforcement agencies and private 

facilities to capture fingerprints electronically, without the need for the more traditional method of ink and paper.  Live Scan is 
available at all Nebraska State Patrol locations.  If Live Scan is used to capture your fingerprints, the Nebraska State Patrol 
will print one card to be submitted to the Department with your application.  Although other states may have Live Scan 
available, it is common that other states will not capture fingerprints using Live Scan for persons who are being fingerprinted 
for purposes outside of that state.  Applicants outside of Nebraska may have traditional ink and paper fingerprints done where 
they are located, or they may travel to a Nebraska State Patrol location to use Live Scan.   

 
5. The Nebraska State Patrol does not charge for the service of taking your fingerprints.  However, other law enforcement 

agencies in Nebraska or in other states may charge a fee.   
 
6. You must take one form of photo ID with you when obtaining your fingerprints.  Acceptable forms of ID include a driver’s 

license, visa or passport.  If you are from a foreign country and do not have one of these forms of photo identification, provide 
any documentation issued by your country, legal sovereign or consulate. 

 
7. Please print your full name, address with zip code, *Social Security Number, date and place of birth, and physical identifiers 

on the fingerprint cards. DO NOT sign the fingerprint cards until the law enforcement officer has verified your signature 

with the form of identification that you provide.  DO NOT write in the field labeled ORI.   
 
 *Social Security Number:  If you do not have a United States Social Security Number, you must provide in the 

“Miscellaneous No: MNU” section a Government issued identification number, a “consulate” number or a Passport 

Number.  Please indicate the type of number provided. 
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8. If you are one of the following professions: Dental, Physician, APRN*, Physician Assistant, Optometrist, Podiatrist, 
Veterinarian, Temporary Educational Permit or Wholesale Drug Distributor, put Controlled Substance License in the box 
labeled “Reason Fingerprinted”.  If you are applying for an RN or LPN license put Nursing License in the box labeled “Reason 
Fingerprinted”. 
 

*New APRN/RN applicants (individuals applying for both at the same time) will need to submit two different sets of 
cards and pay twice (one “Controlled Substance License” one “Nursing”).  Each license applied for requires an 
individual background check.* 

 

9. After the fingerprinting procedure is completed, the cards should NOT be given to you.   
 

 If you obtained the cards from the Licensure Unit, request the person who took your fingerprints to place the cards in 
the envelope provided by the Licensure Unit along with your completed application for licensure, and mail the 
envelope to the Department.   

 If you obtained the cards from a State Patrol office or other law enforcement agency, request the person who took 

your fingerprints to place the cards in an envelope provided by you (DO NOT FOLD THE FINGERPRINT CARDS) 

along with your completed application for licensure, and mail the envelope addressed to: Nebraska DHHS, Division 

of Public Health, Licensure Unit, 301 Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, NE  68509-4986 

 

The fee for Criminal Background Check is to be sent separately, directly to the Nebraska State Patrol.  The fee is 

$45.25 and may be paid by a personal check, money order, or cashier’s check made payable to the Nebraska State Patrol.  

When sending payment, it is important to include a note that clearly identifies the name of the person for whom the 

criminal background check is requested, and the type of license for which the person is applying.   
 

Payment must be mailed directly to: Nebraska State Patrol, ATTN: CID 3800 NW 12th Street STE A, Lincoln NE 68521. 

 

New payment method available at www.ne.gov/go/nsp. This is an internet pay site through PayPort. You can pay by 
echeck (additional fee of $1.75) or credit card (additional fee of $ .90). The website will ask you to select the type of payment 
you are making. You need to choose “Controlled Substance License” or “Nursing” depending on your profession (see #8). 
You will then need to put in the applicant’s name, date of birth and the last 4 digits of social security number (optional). If a 
company is paying for an applicant – the applicant’s information needs to be submitted on this page. The second page of the 
website will ask for information about the payer, which may or may not be the applicant. 
 

  EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2017 THE FEE FOR BACKGROUND CHECKS WILL BE $45.25 

 

10. **This process takes several weeks for the results of your criminal background check to be received by the 

Department.**  No licensing decision will be made until all information is received.   

 

Office of the Nebraska State Patrol   Days/Hours that Fingerprinting Conducted 
 
Troop A       Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
4441 S 108th ST      (no appointment necessary) 
Omaha, NE  68137 
Phone:  402-331-3333 
 
Troop B       Usually on Tuesdays 
1401 Eisenhower AVE     (appointment required) 
Norfolk NE  68701 
Phone:  402-370-3456 
 
Troop C       Mondays from 10:00 a.m. to noon 
3431 Potash      and from 1:00 p.m. to 2:45 p.m. 
Grand Island NE  68802     (appointment required) 
Phone:  308-385-6000 
 
Troop D       Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 
300 West South River Rd     from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 
North Platte NE  69101     Wednesday from 8:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. 
Phone:  308-535-8265 ext. 219    (appointment required) 
 
Troop E        Wednesdays after 1:00 p.m. 
4500 Avenue I      (appointment required) 
Scottsbluff NE  69361 
Phone:  308-632-1211 
 
Criminal Identification Division (CID)    Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. 
3800 NW 12th ST STE A     (appointment required) 
Lincoln NE  68521      Last person fingerprinted at 4:00 p.m. 
Phone: 402-479-4971 
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                                                                                    This form may be completed online and mailed to the address listed below. 

                                                                                                     

 Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit 
 P.O. Box 94986 - Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986     
 Telephone #:  402-471-4376 

 

Do you want a Temporary Permit?  YES □     NO □      _________________ Date Needed. 

(Please see requirements for issuance of a temporary permit.) 

 

SECTION A – PERSONAL INFORMATION  (All applicants must complete this section) This section is public information 
and will be displayed on the INTERNET http://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi 

NOTE:  All mailings will be sent to the address you indicate below– if you change your address, you must advise 
this office. 

 

1 Legal Name First: 

 

 

Middle: Maiden Name: Last Name: 

List any other 
names by 
which you 
have been 
known 

 

 

 

2 Mailing 
Address 

Street/PO/Route: 

 

 

City: 

 

 

State or Country: Zip: 

 

 
Additional information requested: (This information is not displayed on the internet) 
 

3 Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year): 

 

Place of Birth (City/State or Country): 

4 Phone #: 

 

Alternate Phone #: (optional) 

5 E-Mail Address: 

 

6 Social Security Number (SSN): 

 

 

SECTION  B – PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCE (All applicants must complete this section) 

 
I declare that my current primary state of residence is      . This state is referred to as my 
home state under the Nurse Licensure Compact and means that it is my declared fixed permanent and principal home 
for legal purposes and is my domicile. Indicators of a domicile include, but are not limited to, where real property is 
located, where the person pays state taxes, votes, is licensed to operate a motor vehicle, etc. If you indicated another 
compact state as your primary state of residence, will you be moving to Nebraska and declaring Nebraska as your 

primary state of residence?   YES □     NO □ If yes, date you plan to move   .  

 
If you have declared Nebraska as your primary state of residence, what date did Nebraska become your primary state of 
residence?__________________________________________ 

 

   Are you a military/federal employee?   YES □     NO □ 

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFED NURSE MIDWIFE 
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SECTION  C – NURSE MIDWIFERY EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM 

 

Name of School:  

Location: (city, state or country) 
 

Date 
Completed: 

 

Credential: □   Masters         □  Post Masters Certificate            □   Certificate 

To be eligible for certification in Nebraska, an official transcript must be submitted directly from your nurse midwifery program.  Ask the 
program to indicate your current name if transcripts are in a different name.  

 

SECTION D – CONVICTION AND LICENSURE INFORMATION  (All applicants must complete this section)  Failure to 
disclose any such conviction or disciplinary action, regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary action, 
including, but not limited to, payment of a civil penalty. 

 
Answer each of the following questions and complete the information requested.  All ‘yes’ responses MUST be explained in detail and 
you must submit the requested documentation. 
 

NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that results in conviction or license discipline, you are 
required to report such actions to the Investigative Unit within 30 days http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/reg_invest-p.aspx 
or by telephone at 402-471-0175. 
 

# Question Yes No Type of Crime or Licensure Action Date of Action 
Name of Court/Entity 

Taking action 
1 Have you ever 

been convicted of 
a misdemeanor or 
felony? 

 
 

□ 

 

 

□ 

 

 

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

  

2 Do you currently 
have any charges 
pending which may 
result in a felony or 
misdemeanor 
conviction? 

□ 

 

 

□ 

 

 

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
If you answered YES to the question above, you must request the following documents be sent directly to this office: 

 A list of any misdemeanor or felony convictions;  

 A CERTIFIED copy of the Court Record, which includes charges and disposition; 

 Explanation from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions you 
have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions; 

 All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol related offense and 
if treatment was obtained and/or required;  

 A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on probation;  

 

Not submitting all pertinent documentation can significantly delay issuance of your license 

http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/reg_invest-p.aspx
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The following questions relate to a license that you hold or have held in health services, health-related services or 

environmental services in Nebraska or another jurisdiction. 

 

# Question Yes No  

3 Do you hold or have 

you held a license that 
was issued by 
Nebraska, another 
State, or jurisdiction to 
provide health care 
services, health related 
services or 
environmental 
services? 
 
 

□ 

 

 

 

 

□ 

 

 

 

 

If yes, where are you licensed or 
have been licensed? 
 

What type of license do you hold or have 
held? 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

4 Have any of the 
licenses listed above 
ever been denied, 
refused renewal, 
limited, suspended, 
revoked or had other 
disciplinary measures 
taken against it? 

 

□ 

 

 

 

□ 

 

 

 

Type of Licensure Action 
 

Date of Action 
 

Name of Entity taking 
Action 

 
 

  

 
 

  

   

5 Are there any 
disciplinary charges 
pending against any 
health profession 
license? 

□ 

 

 

□ 

 

 

Please Explain: 

6 Have you ever been 
denied the right to take 
an examination? 

□ 

 

□ 

 

Please Explain: 

 
 

 
If you answered YES to #4, #5, or #6, you must request the following documents be sent directly to this office: 

 Certification of your license in each state that you hold or have held a license 

 Official Documents from the State Board in which the disciplinary action was taken 

 

SECTION E – LICENSE ELIGIBILITY INFORMATION.  You must hold a current license as a Registered Nurse in 
Nebraska or hold a multi-state RN license from another compact state under the Nurse Compact Act.   

 
State: 

  
RN License #: 

 

 
If your primary state of residence is a compact state other than Nebraska and you have a multi-state RN license in that state, please 
purchase a verification report at www.nursys.com and include a copy of the receipt with your application.  If your primary state of 
residence is a non-compact state, you must apply for RN licensure in Nebraska. 
 

 
SECTION F – NATIONAL CERTIFICATION.  You must have successfully passed or be scheduled to take the National 
Midwifery Certification Examination given by the American College of Nurse-Midwives Certification Council, Inc. or similar 
examination approved by the boards to qualify for certification in Nebraska. An official record from the American College of 
Nurse-Midwives Certification Council, Inc. attesting to having passed the National Midwifery Certification Examination must 
be submitted to qualify you for certification as a nurse midwife in the State of Nebraska.  Please contact the Council and ask 
them to send official notification of the date of examination you successfully completed.   
 

Date Scheduled/Year of 
Examination 

 

Certification No.  
 

If more than five years have elapsed since you completed the Midwifery educational program, have you 

practiced within the previous five years? If no, please contact this office for information regarding a 

reentry program. 

 
YES____  NO_____ 

 
 
 
 

http://www.nursys.com/
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SECTION G – PRACTICE PRIOR TO LICENSURE   

An individual who practices prior to issuance of a license is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per 
day up to $1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing the credential. 

 

1 □    I have not practiced as an APRN – Certified Nurse Midwife in Nebraska without a license before submitting the application.  

□   I have practiced as an APRN – Certified Nurse Midwife in Nebraska without a license prior to submitting the application. 

 

2 If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced in 
Nebraska without a license and what is the business name, 
location and telephone number of the practice:   

 
# of days:  _______________ 
 

Name of Business: 
 

City: 
 

Telephone #: 
 

 

SECTION H – CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES REGISTRATION.  (Check one that applies.)   
 

1 

□ 

 

I have enclosed a photocopy of my current Federal Controlled Substances Registration. 
 

Federal Controlled Substances Registration #: Expiration Date: 
 
 

2 

 

 
□ 

I am currently applying for a Federal Controlled Substances Registration, and will send a photocopy of such 
when I receive the registration. 

3 

 

 □ 

I do not have nor am I applying for a Federal Controlled Substances Registration and I will not be prescribing, 
administering or dispensing controlled substances in Nebraska.  I understand that at such time that I do 
intend to prescribe, administer or dispense controlled substances in Nebraska, I will first need to have a 
Federal Controlled Substances Registration issued to me.  At that time, I am to supply a photocopy of the 
registration to the State of Nebraska. 
 

 

SECTION I – ATTESTATION    
 

 

Attestation:  For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below): 
 

I attest that  

□  I am a citizen of the United States; or 

□  I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act. 

□  I am a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States 

□ Check this box if you are not a citizen of the United States nor a qualified alien or nonimmigrant under the Federal Immigration and 

Nationality Act.  
 
You may still be eligible for a credential if you provide a photocopy of your unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) 
and evidence of one of the following: 
 

a. Approved deferred action status (DACA); 
b. A pending application for asylum in the United States; 
c. A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or 
d. A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United 

             States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States. 
 

Alien or Non-immigrant Status:  If you are a qualified alien lawfully admitted into the United States OR a non-immigrant lawfully 
present in the United States, you must submit evidence of lawful presence which may include a copy of: 

1.  A “Green Card” otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card; or 

2.  An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport; or 

3.  A document showing an Alien Registration Number (“A#”) -- an Employment Authorization Card/Document is NOT acceptable;  

4.  A Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record). 

 

If you are an Alien or Non-Immigrant, your credential will NOT be issued until such proof is received by our office and your documents 
are verified by our office through the Department of Homeland Security.  This process may take four to six weeks. 
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Criminal Background Check Notification:  Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-131, an applicant for an initial license to practice a profession 
which is authorized to prescribe controlled substances shall be subject to a criminal background check.  I understand that I am able to receive 
any national criminal history record that may pertain to me directly from the FBI, pursuant to 28 CFR Sections 16.30-16.34, and that I could 
then freely disclose any such information to whomever I choose.  By signing this application, it is my intent to authorize the dissemination of 
any national criminal history record that may pertain to me to the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) with whom I am applying 
for licensure. I understand that I am entitled to challenge the accuracy and completeness of any information contained in any such report, and 
that you will provide me a copy of the criminal history background report, if any, you receive on me if I appear at the DHHS in person and 
present proper identification.  Information on how to challenge your federal report can be found at FBI.gov.  To challenge your Nebraska state 
record, contact the Nebraska State Patrol-Criminal Identification Division.  I may obtain a prompt determination as to the validity of my 
challenge before you make a final decision about my application for licensure.   

 
 
Application Attestation:  I further attest that:    
       
1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me;   
2. All statements on the application are true and complete;  
3. I am of good character; and 
4. I have not committed any act that would be grounds for denial under 38-178 and/or 38-179.  If you have committed an  
           act(s), you must provide an explanation of all such act(s).  
 
 
 
 

_________________________________                  _______________________ 

(Signature of Applicant)                                                    (Date)  
 

 
The Department has up to 150 days to act upon an application. After this deadline, any incomplete applications will be destroyed and a 
refund will be issued following written notification to the applicant. 
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Health and Human Services Licensure Unit 

 PO Box 94986 

Lincoln NE 68509 

402/471-4376 or fax 402/742-2360 

NURSE MIDWIFE PRACTICE AGREEMENT 

Between: 

Name  Phone (H)  

Address  Phone (B)  

 APRN-CNM 
Lic No. 

 

 

Hereinafter referred to as a Nurse Midwife and legally defined as a Certified Nurse Midwife (APRN-CNM) 

who meets the requirements as defined in Neb Rev Stat §38-606 and who holds a current license as a 

APRN-CNM issued by the Department 

 
and the collaborating physician(s) named below: 
 

Physician 
Name 

 Physician 
Name 

 

Address  Address  

  

License #  License #  

Specialty  Specialty  

 

Physician 
Name 

 Physician 
Name 

 

Address  Address  

  

License #  License #  

Specialty  Specialty  

 

Hereinafter referred to as physician(s) and legally defined as a Nebraska licensed physician whose 

practice includes obstetrics. 

 
at the practice sites identified below: 

 

Office  Office  

Address  Address  

  

Hospital  Hospital  

Address  Address  

  

Public Health 
Agency 

 Public Health 
Agency 

 

Address  Address  

  

 

Whereas, the parties have developed this practice agreement provided for under Neb Rev Stat § 38-609 and 
38-613; and 
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Midwife Agreement Page 2 
 

Now therefore, it is agreed by and between the physician(s) and the nurse midwife hereto: 
 
This agreement shall not take effect until it has been completely executed and a copy has been filed in the 
office of the Department of Health & Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit.  
 
1. This agreement shall be continuous so long as conditions remain as agreed between parties on date of 

execution.  Any change in terms of this agreement renders this practice agreement void.  Any change in 
terms of practice agreement requires that an amendment to the agreement be filed with the Department of 
Health & Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit and approval granted by the APRN 
Board. The APRN-CNM and collaborating physician have a duty to notify the Department of the termination 
of this agreement. 

2. The collaborating physician(s) shall be responsible for supervision through ready availability for consultation 
and direction to the APRN-CNM when any delegated medical functions are provided by the APRN-CNM; 
and 

3. The APRN-CNM and collaborating physician shall have jointly approved protocols for all delegated medical 
functions which shall guide the APRN-CNM’s practice.  The protocols shall be reviewed, updated, and 
reaffirmed by both parties on a regular basis and no less frequently than every two (2) years.  Protocols 
must be available at all work sites; and 

4. The specific medical functions delegated to the nurse midwife shall be based upon the educational 
preparation and continued experience of the nurse midwife.  Validation, including documentation, of 
education/training and assessment of competency shall be the responsibility of the nurse midwife and the 
physician.  Specific medical functions may include: 
a) attending cases of normal childbirth; 
b) providing prenatal, intra-partum, and postpartum care; 
c) providing normal obstetrical and gynecological services for women; 
d) providing care for the newborn immediately following birth; and  
e) prescribing legend drugs, Schedule II controlled substances for up to 72 hours and for pain control, and 

Schedule III, IV, and V controlled substances.  
f) An APRN-CNM may assist with cesarean sections 

 
STATE OF      COUNTY OF       
 

I,            confirm that I am the person 
referred to in this Practice Agreement as a nurse practitioner in the State of Nebraska; that the statements 
herein contained are true to the best of my knowledge and belief; and that I have read and understand the 
affidavit. 
 
Legal Signature of Applicant          
 
Date       
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STATE OF      COUNTY OF       
 

I,            confirm that I am the person 
referred to in this Practice Agreement as a physician in the State of Nebraska; that the statements herein 
contained are true to the best of my knowledge and belief; and that I have read and understand the affidavit. 
 
Legal Signature of Applicant          
 
Date       
 
 

 
STATE OF      COUNTY OF       
 

I,            confirm that I am the person 
referred to in this Practice Agreement as a physician in the State of Nebraska; that the statements herein 
contained are true to the best of my knowledge and belief; and that I have read and understand the affidavit. 
 
Legal Signature of Applicant          
 
Date       

 
 

STATE OF      COUNTY OF       
 

I,            confirm that I am the person 
referred to in this Practice Agreement as a physician in the State of Nebraska; that the statements herein 
contained are true to the best of my knowledge and belief; and that I have read and understand the affidavit. 
 
Legal Signature of Applicant          
 
Date       
 
 
 
STATE OF      COUNTY OF       
 

I,            confirm that I am the person 
referred to in this Practice Agreement as a physician in the State of Nebraska; that the statements herein 
contained are true to the best of my knowledge and belief; and that I have read and understand the affidavit. 
 
Legal Signature of Applicant          
 
Date       
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 Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services System 
Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit 

PO Box 94986,  Lincoln, NE  68509-4986 
402-471-4376 or fax 402-471-1066 

 

Advance Practice Licensure verification: Please use this form to contact the state where you were originally licensed as a Nurse 

Midwife for official verification of your license. THIS FORM ONLY APPLIES TO APPLICANTS WHO ARE ALREADY LICENSED AS A 

NURSE MIDWIFE IN ANOTHER STATE. THIS DOES NOT APPLY TO NEW GRADUATES. 
 

PART 1: Complete Part 1 of form and forward to the ORIGINAL board of licensure DO NOT SEND TO NEBRASKA ADVANCED 

PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSING BOARD 

 

 
 

Name (Last, First, Middle, Maiden)   Previous Name (s) 
 
 

Current Address     City, State, Zip 
 
 

Date of Birth  (mo/day/yr)      Social Security Number  APRN License #  Date Issued  State   
 
 

Nursing Education Program Completed   Location  (state) Graduation Date 
 
 
I hereby authorize ___________________ Board of Nursing to release my licensure data to the Nebraska APRN Board.      
 
 
Signature       Date      
 
 

 

PART 2: To be completed by ORIGINAL state of licensure and forwarded to NEBRASKA ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED 

NURSING BOARD 
 
This is to certify that the above named individual was issued license number    Date issued    
 
To practice as: ____Nurse Practitioner                   ____ Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist  
 
                             ____Certified Nurse Midwife          _____Clinical Nurse Specialist      
  
Current Licensure Status:  ___ Active          ___Inactive          ___Lapsed     _________ Expiration Date 
      
                
Has this license ever been encumbered (denied, revoked, suspended, limited, placed on probation)? 
 
If yes please explain               
 
 
Signature________________________________________________ 
 
Title ____________________________________________________                                  seal 
 
State______________________   Date____________________ 
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