
Child Passenger Safety in Nebraska
Nebraska’s child safety seat use has increased considerably over the years from 84% in 2005 to 97% in 2015 
for children ages 0 to age 6.1 These rates are significantly higher than the rate observed (56%) when these 
observations started in 1999. This is due to improvements to Nebraska’s child passenger safety laws and 
statewide car seat check events and fitting stations that provide education and seat distribution. 

Child Passenger Safety Statistics 
During 2015 on Nebraska roadways:

How Does It Affect Nebraska
In Nebraska, the risk of a motor vehicle crash injury increases as children get older.3 According to the 
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, as children age, the overall risk of injury in a crash rises. This is due, in 
part, to the different ways they are restrained at each age (including improper seat belt fit); where they sit in 
the vehicle (back vs front); and other crash characteristics. Another factor that plays a role is the type of laws a 
state has. 

In Nebraska, children ages 6 to 18 are covered by a secondary enforcement seat belt law in which children can 
ride without a car seat/booster seat after age 5. 

Strategies to Prevent Child Passenger Crash Deaths and Injuries
Education and Distribution Programs
Through the Safe Kids National Child Passenger Safety (CPS) Certification program, child passenger safety 
trainings are offered throughout the country, including Nebraska, to train individuals to become Child 
Passenger Safety Technicians (CPST). CPST and instructors use their considerable knowledge and expertise 
at a variety of community-based activities, such as child safety seat checks and advocacy activities. Parents 
and caregivers receive education about best practice guidelines for car seat use and hands-on assistance 
about proper use of car seats. CPS technicians and instructors must keep up-to-date on the latest technical 
information about child passenger safety through seminars and other continuing education opportunities to 
maintain their certification. Many of these CPS activities take place in conjunction with car seat distribution 
programming.  

Increasing the Age Requirement for Car Seat/Booster Seat Use and Rear-facing
In a study published in 2012 titled, “Effects of booster seat laws on injury risk among children in crashes,” 
Eichelberger AH et al, studied five states that increased the age requirements for car seat/booster seat use to 
ages 7 or 8. They found that the rate of children using car seats and booster seats increased nearly three times, 
and the rate of children who sustained fatal or incapacitation injuries decreased by 17%.4 Currently, Nebraska’s 
child passenger safety law requires children up to age 6 to be in a car seat/booster seat. Surrounding states 
such as Kansas, Missouri, Colorado and Wyoming require children through age 7 or older to be in booster 
seats.5

The American Academy of Pediatrics states that all infants and toddlers should ride in a rear-facing seat until 
they are at least 2 years of age or reach the highest weight or height allowed by their car seat manufacturer.6 
According to research studies, children up to 2 years of age who are placed in forward-facing child safety 
seats are significantly more likely to be seriously injured in a crash than same age children in rear-facing child 
safety seats.7 Currently, California, New Jersey, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania have passed legislation requiring 
children under 2 to ride in a rear-facing car seat.

	 A total of 253 children ages 0-4 were injured;
	 A total of 384 children ages 5-9 were injured;
	 A total of 590 children between the ages of 10-14 were injured.2

*Death numbers are suppressed due to the low numbers.



In a survey by Partners for Child Passenger Safety (Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia), participants said they 
depend mostly upon state laws and local law enforcement for reliable information about how best to protect 
their children when transporting them.

Short-Term High-Visibility Enforcement
Community-wide information and enhanced enforcement that focuses on the use and correct use of car seats 
and booster seats can be combined with seat belt enforcement activities in order to increase car seat use.
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