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T here are many exciting things 
that come with the teenage 
years. Teens become more 

independent, they move on to high  
school and they begin one of the most 
looked-forward-to life events, driving.  
This is an exciting time for teens. It is also 
a time for parents and teens to research 
and communicate what it means to be a  
safe and responsible driver. 

New teen drivers have higher rates of 
motor vehicle crash-related deaths and 
injuries compared to more experienced 
drivers. Factors that contribute to high 
crash rates are: 

ÂÂ driving inexperience 

ÂÂ brain development 

ÂÂ personality

ÂÂ exposure to high risk driving 	situations 	
	 such as driving at night 

ÂÂ driving distractions such as passengers 	
	 and the use of a cell phone

ÂÂ speeding

ÂÂ alcohol use 

There are many effective strategies 
including Graduated Driver Licensing 
(GDL) laws, peer-to-peer education,  
and parental involvement, which work 
together to help keep teens safe during 
this time of learning the very complex 
skill of driving. Through implementation 
of these evidence-based interventions, 
this can significantly help teens make it 
successfully through their most dangerous 
driving years. 

Nebraska Teen Drivers
From 2007-2011, Nebraska teens 
accounted for 7.6 percent of registered 
drivers but were involved in 16.5 percent 
of all reported motor vehicle crashes in 
Nebraska. Teens are overrepresented in 
motor vehicle crashes among licensed 
drivers. According to the Nebraska Health 
and Human Services Vital Records,  
motor vehicle crashes are the leading 
cause of death for Nebraska teens.   
From 2007-2011, there were 122 teens 
(ages14-19) killed in motor vehicle 
crashes in Nebraska.  



When comparing teens to other age groups, Nebraska’s teens are dying in motor vehicle 
crashes three times the rate of the average adult (figure 1). Although teenagers drive 
less than those in the oldest age groups, their number of crashes and crash deaths are 
disproportionately high, according to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. 

Figure 1: 
Teens (age 14-19) at Highest Risk for 

Motor Vehicle Crash Fatalities, Nebraska, 2007-2011
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Table 1 depicts the percent of non-seat belt use and alcohol use in fatal crashes by age, 
and the top contributing injury crash factors with overall number of crashes.

Table 1: 
	 Percent of Non-Seat Belt Use		  Nebraska Teen Driver  
	 and Alcohol Involvement in Fatal	 	 Crash Profile by Age, 
	 Crashes by Age, 2007-2011	 	 2007-2011

Driver’s 
Age

Fatal Crashes 
n = 122

Driver’s 
Age

Crashes Top Contributing Injury Crash 
Factors

% Non- 
Seat Belt 

Use

% Alcohol 
Involvement

14 67% 50% 14 371 Too fast for conditions/Speeding - 19%  
Over Corrected/steering - 18%

15 50% 17% 15 1323
Too fast for conditions/Speeding -16% 
Failed to yield - 10%  
Over-correcting/steering - 10%

16 59% 6% 16 9438 Failure to yield - 11% 
Too fast for conditions/Speeding - 10%

17 71% 26% 17 9820 Failure to yield - 12% 
Too fast for conditions/Speeding - 9%

18 77% 54% 18 9716 Failure to yield - 11% 
Too fast for conditions/Speeding - 9%

19 52% 27% 19 9091 Failure to yield - 11% 
Evasive Operating - 8%

Total 39,759
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Police crash reports indicated some kind of improper driving in 64 percent of teen driver 
crashes resulting in injury or death. The five leading driver contributing factors were 
failure to yield, too fast for conditions/speeding, followed by evasive operating (operating 
a vehicle in an erratic, reckless, careless, negligent or aggressive manner), inattention/
distracted-other/mobile phone distraction, and run off road/lane. Of the teens that were 
killed in vehicle crashes, 65 percent were not wearing a seat belt. Alcohol was involved 
in 30 percent of the crashes.

Figure 2 compares injury severity by restraint use for teens involved in a car crash in 
Nebraska from 2007-2011. Those teens that were unrestrained at the time of a crash 
were much more likely to be killed and injured compared to teens that were restrained. 

 Figure 2: Better off Belted 
How Restrained and Unrestrained Teen Car Occupants (age 14-19) 

Fared in Nebraska Crashes, 2007-2011

*Data Source: Nebraska CODES 2007-2011

The “costs” of a teen being involved in a motor vehicle crash are many. Table 2 shows 
the average and median (middle cost) medical charges by seat belt use by emergency 
department (ED) and inpatient hospital charges.
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Table 2: 
Teen Crash Costs: Average & Median  

Medical Charges by Seatbelt Use, 2007-2011

Seatbelt Use	 ED Charge	 Inpatient Charge

Average Median Average Median

Yes $3,624.9 $969.22 $46,659.66 $24,386.01

No $8,184.89 $1,960.61 $51,929.09 $30,823.03

An unrestrained teen, had double the average emergency department charge compared 
to a restrained teen. On average, hospital inpatient charges for an unrestrained teen 
were $5,000 higher compared to a restrained teen. 

So, how do we manage these 
contributing risk factors to reduce a 
teen’s chance of becoming another 
statistic and keep families and 
communities from experiencing the 
“costs” of losing them?

Protective Factors for  
Teen Drivers
Graduated Driver Licensing provisions, 
parental involvement and peer-to-peer 
education all play a role in reducing a 
teen’s risk of being involved in a crash. 
Each of these strategies have shown 
to be effective in reducing teen risky 
driving and car crashes. The following 
discusses each of these strategies and 
how they work. 

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL)
GDL laws that are in place in every 
state have significantly reduced teen 
crash rates. These laws work because 
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they keep teen’s out of high risk driving 
situations such as night time driving, 
driving distracted (passengers and cell 
phones), drinking and driving as well as 
requiring the use of seat belts. They also 
require a minimum amount of driving 
hours with an adult in order to gain driving 
experience. GDL laws set a path to slowly 
introduce teens to increasingly complex 
driving tasks as they gain experience and 
mature before gaining full licensure. GDL 
laws work to reduce teen driver crashes 
and include the following elements:

Practice/Experience: Practice makes 
perfect, as the saying goes. That is 
especially true with new teen drivers.  
In order for a teen to gain driving 
experience, they must drive. Most GDL 
laws require a minimum number of driving 
hours with an adult and/or completion of 
driver’s education class to gain the driving 
experience they need. In Nebraska, a teen 
in the learners permit stage must either 
have documentation of 50 hours of driving 
or attend a driver’s education class before 
moving to the next stage.  
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Driver’s education can be an avenue 
used to provide teens with the opportunity 
to learn how to drive with a third party.  
Many teens have reported that parents 
are not patient enough, that they may 
not explain driving skills adequately 
and don’t stay calm. Driver’s education 
instructors can provide these things along 
with professional education with an 
independent eye. But it’s not only the 
driving hours that need to be considered; 
teens need to gain driving experience on 
various roadway types and in different 
environments while being supervised 
by an adult. These situations should 
include driving on rural and urban roads, 
during the day and nighttime and under 
different weather conditions such as 
snow, fog and rain. Parents need to 
continue to practice with their teen even 
after they get their license; getting a 
license should not be the only indicator 
that a teen has developed all the driving 
skills they need to be a safe driver. Other 
teen driver behavior to consider is good 
driving judgment, displaying safe driving 
behaviors (seat belt use, not answering 
or using the phone while driving) and 
their personality/mindset when driving. 

Seat belts: Teens have lower seat belt 
use than any other age group. Using a 
seat belt is the single most effective way 
to avoid injury or even death during a 
crash. Seat belts help prevent drivers and 
passengers from being ejected in a crash. 
They help the driver maintain control of 
their vehicle and keep occupants from 
hitting other occupants and the vehicle 
interior in the event of a crash. According 
to the National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration (NHTSA), seat belts reduce 
serious crash-related injuries and deaths 
by 50 percent. Research by CDC and 

Getting a license should  
not be the only indicator  

that a teen has developed all  
the driving skills they need  

to be a safe driver.
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NHTSA shows states that have primary 
enforcement of seat belt laws—states 
where a driver can be ticketed solely for 
not wearing a seat belt—tend to have 
higher seat belt usage than states that do 
not have primary enforcement. In those 
states with model GDL laws, seat belt use 
is enforced as a primary offense. Of the 
teens that were killed in Nebraska from 
2007-2011, 65 percent were not wearing 
their seat belt. Nationally, 58 percent of 
teens killed in crashes were not wearing  
a seat belt.1

Teen passengers: A teen driver with peer 
passengers is more likely to be distracted. 
They are also likely to drive more 
aggressively and perform illegal driving 
maneuvers compared to those driving with 
an adult or alone. The Children’s Hospital 
of Philadelphia found that when two or 
more peer passengers are riding with a 
teen driver it more than triples the risk of 
a fatal crash. Male teen drivers with peer 
passengers were almost six times more 
likely to perform an illegal maneuver 
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and twice as likely to act aggressively 
before crashing than when driving alone.2  
Effective GDL laws place passenger 
restrictions on new teen drivers to reduce 
this increased distraction and change in 
driving behavior. 

Cell phones/texting: The use of cell 
phones while driving creates risks for 
drivers of all ages. Teens are at a higher 
risk of crashing while using a phone to  
talk or text while driving because they 
are less-experienced and their driving 
judgment hasn’t matured. A crash risk is 
four times higher when a driver uses  

a cell phone, whether or not it’s hands 
free.3  Text messaging creates a crash 
risk 23 times more likely than driving 
while not distracted according to the 
Virginia Tech Transportation Institute.4  
According to the 2011 Nebraska Youth 
Risk Behavior Survey, 45 percent of all 
high school students reported texting or 
e-mailing while driving during the past 30 
days while 49 percent reported speaking 
on a cell phone while driving during the 
same time period. Nationally, 33 percent 
of high school students reported texting or 
e-mailing while driving in the past 30 days.

Nighttime driving: The fatal crash rate 
of 16-19 year-olds is nearly four times 
as high at night as it is during the day 
according to the Insurance Institute for 
Highway Safety (IIHS).5  According to 
NHTSA, states with nighttime restrictions 
on teen driving have reported up to a 60 
percent reduction in crashes during the 
restricted hours.6  The IIHS recommends 
nighttime driving restrictions begin at  
10 p.m. or earlier.  Nebraska’s GDL 
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nighttime driving restriction begins  
at midnight.  According to Nebraska  
CODES project, from 2007-2011,  
41 percent of fatal crashes involving a 
teen driver occurred during the hours  
of 9 p.m. to 6 a.m. 

Alcohol: One of the last parts of the 
teen brain to develop is the frontal lobe.  
This part of the brain is responsible for 
decision making, impulse control, ability 
to recognize future consequences, 
capacity to choose bad vs. good actions 
and suppressing unacceptable social 
responses. With those things in mind, 
teens are at a disadvantage when it comes 
to safer driving. Add alcohol to the mix and 
it is a deadly combination. The frontal lobe 
is the first part of the brain to be affected 
by alcohol.  Alcohol inhibits a teen’s ability 
to make good decisions. The Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) 

states that at all levels of blood alcohol 
concentration the risk of involvement in 
a motor vehicle crash is greater for teens 
than for older drivers.7  In Nebraska, 
anyone younger than 21 is prohibited from 
driving with any measureable amount of 
alcohol in their body. Of the fatal crashes 
among teen drivers from 2007-2011, 
alcohol was involved in 30 percent of 
those crashes, even though it is illegal 
for teens to drink. Also, according to the 

2011 Nebraska Youth 
Risk Behavioral Survey, 
one in four students in 
Nebraska reported either 
being a passenger in a 
vehicle that was driven 
by someone drinking, or 
driving a vehicle while or 
after drinking themselves 
during the past 30 days; 
and 6 percent reported 
both.  Preventing teen 
drinking and driving can 
be accomplished by 
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enhancing the enforcement of existing 
policies such as the minimum legal 
drinking age, zero tolerance, graduated 
driver licensing and parental involvement.8

Parental Involvement
Parents play an important role in keeping 
their teen safe at the wheel. Parents can 
instill safe driving behaviors in their novice 
teen driver as well as understand the 
Graduated Driver Licensing system.   
For at least two years after licensure,  
teen drivers are at an increased high risk 
for a crash. What can parents do?

 
Parents must be role models for safe 
driving behaviors by using a seat belt on 
every trip, obeying traffic laws and not 
using a cell phone while driving. Instilling 
safe driving behaviors should begin when 
children are in car seats, long before they 
start to drive. Parents should not assume 
that when their teen receives their license 
that they are now a safe driver. Teens still 
need parental oversight and practice to 

gain important driving skills. A teenager’s 
attitude and decision making also play an 
important role in safe driving. Education 
and training can’t change attitudes and  
decision-making but parents can influence 
them by staying involved after licensure.

According to the Children’s Hospital of 
Philadelphia Center for Injury Research 
and Prevention (CHOP), involved parents 
who set rules and monitor their teen’s 
driving behavior in a supportive way  
can lower their teens’ crash risk by half. 
The Center’s research has also found that 
teens whose parents act in this way are:

ÂÂ twice as likely to wear seat belts,

ÂÂ 70 percent less likely to drink  
	 and drive,

ÂÂ half as likely to speed,

ÂÂ 30 percent less likely to use a cell 		
	 phone while driving and,

ÂÂ significantly less likely to drive with 		
	 multiple passengers.9

Setting driving rules can be done with 
parent-teen driving agreements. These 
parent-teen agreements help parents 
set clear guidelines/rules and encourage 
parents to restrict teens from driving 
under the most dangerous conditions. 
These agreements allow for adjustments 
in driving privileges based on the teen’s 
driving experience, judgment and overall 
driving record. These agreements can 
complement and go beyond state GDL 
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CDC Parents Are The Key program

law provisions dependent upon a teen’s 
safe driving and compliance with the 
established rules. 

Another parenting tool is limiting primary 
access to a vehicle for their teen during 
the first six to 12 months of driving.  
Teens who are the main driver of a vehicle 
are more than twice as likely to report 
having been in a crash than teens who 
share a car with family members.9  They 
are also more likely to speed.10  If a family 
chooses to provide a teen with his or her 
own vehicle, choose one with safety in 
mind. The Insurance Institute for Highway  
Safety rates vehicles on their safety 
performance. This information can be 
found at iihs.org/.

Parent Education
According to the Governor’s Highway 
Safety Association report, Promoting 
Parent Involvement in Teen Driving,  
elements of a good parent education 

 
program should include discussion about 
why teens crash, how and why GDL 
works and the critical role parent’s play in 
teaching, supporting and managing their 
new driver. Depending on a state mandate 
and/or driver’s education instructor 
requirement, parents may be required to 
attend a parent orientation program. The 
state of Nebraska doesn’t require this, but 
individual driver’s education programs may. 

Parents can also receive educational 
information through social 
media and websites such 
as the Checkpoints program 
which addresses those 
key elements through 
a parent-teen driving 
agreement. The CDC 
campaign, Parents Are the 
Key, offers parents tools and 
proven steps for reducing 
teen driving injuries and 
deaths. Businesses, state 

http://iihs.org/
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and local health departments and other 
groups can use this campaign to spread 
the message through posters, facts 
sheets, social media tools, and more. 
Other points of educational outreach to 
parents include the Nebraska Department 
of Motor Vehicles, The Parents Supervised 
Driving Program, and pediatrician offices.

Peer-to-Peer Education
Peer-to-peer education is an intervention 
being deployed throughout many states, 
including Nebraska, to reach teen drivers.  
Teens develop and deliver safety messages  
to their peers in order to create awareness 
and behavior change within a school 
setting. States that have implemented 
such programs have seen decreases 
in teen crashes, increased knowledge 
about safe driving behaviors and changes 
in driving behavior. Research confirms 

that giving teens some 
of the responsibility for 
developing and delivering 
the message is essential 
for sparking greater 
interest, understanding 
and acceptance among 
this age group. Peer 
pressure, which is 
customarily viewed as a 
negative, has “practical” 
implications for prevention 
and intervention among 
young drivers.11    

Policies and Programs  
that Work in Keeping  
Teen Drivers Safer
When looking at policies and programs 
that keep teens safe during their early 
driving years, research has shown state 
GDL laws, parental involvement and 
peer-to-peer education to be effective in 
reducing teen driver crashes. Below are 
examples from Nebraska and other state 
programs that have had a positive impact 
in reducing teen driver crashes.

Comprehensive Graduated Driver 
Licensing Laws
The Nebraska GDL was implemented 
in 1998 and updated in 2008. Since the 
implementation of the law, teen crashes 
resulting in injury or death have dropped 
by 61 percent. Most states have a GDL 
law system but they vary greatly in the 
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driving restrictions and safety practices that teens must abide by. In order for states  
to be eligible for MAP-21 (Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act) Federal 
Highway Safety Funds through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration,  
states must have minimum qualifications in their GDL. 

ÂÂ A state’s GDL provisions must include a two-stage licensing process with restrictions 	
	 that apply through age 17. 

ÂÂ As required by MAP-21, the first stage of licensing, typically called the learner’s 		
	 permit stage, must be a least six months in duration and it may not expire until 		
	 the driver is at least 16 years old. 

ÂÂ Teens in the learner’s stage must be accompanied by and supervised by a licensed 	
	 driver 21 years and older. 

ÂÂ The intermediate stage can begin no earlier than age 16 and must be in effect for 	
	 at least six months but may not expire until age 18 years. 

ÂÂ A state’s GDL provisions must prohibit the use of cellular telephones and any other 	
	 electronic communications devices and be enforced as a primary offense. 

ÂÂ MAP-21 prohibits a teen in the intermediate stage from operating a motor vehicle		
	 with more than one non-family member younger than age 21as a passenger.
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In comparing Nebraska’s  
GDL provisions to 
the minimum federal 
requirements, Nebraska  
has a two-stage licensing 
system starting with a 
learners permit then 
advancing to a provisional 
operators permit (POP).  
Like the federal requirement, 
Nebraska requires that a teen 
driver be at least 16 years 
old before moving from a 
learner’s permit to a provisional  
operators permit. Nebraska GDL  
provisions place passenger restrictions 
during the POP stage. These restrictions 
are in place for the first six months of 
having the POP permit unlike the federal 
requirement where passenger restrictions 
are in effect until full licensure. Nebraska 
bans the use of any interactive wireless 
communication device while operating  
a motor vehicle. This prohibition is 
enforced as a secondary offense, unlike 
the primary enforcement requirement 
in MAP-21. MAP-21 requires that the 
intermediate stage be in effect until at  
least age 18 whereas in Nebraska a 
17-year- old may obtain an unrestricted 
driver license but they must have  
held a POP for at least one year. Only 
seven states across the country meet 
these requirements and qualify for this 
federal funding. 

 
Parent Programs
There are many effective tools that 
parents can use to help them help their 
teen become a skilled and safe driver.  
One effective tool mentioned earlier,  
is the Checkpoints program developed  
by the National Institutes of Health.  
This program uses an online parent- 
teen driving agreement that facilitates 
discussion about setting driving limits  
and rules. This program also educates 
parents on what the appropriate limits 
are and why. To learn more about the 
Checkpoints program and to use the 
parent-teen driving agreement, go to  
www.youngdriverparenting.org.

Many states have mandates that require 
parents to attend an educational session 
with their teen before they begin driver’s 
education class. In some cases, parents 
are required by the instructor to attend  

www.youngdriverparenting.org
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this session 
without 
a state 
mandate.  
In these 
sessions, 
parents are 
educated 
about a 
teen’s risk  

of being involved in a crash, informed 
about the state’s GDL and provided 
information about how to teach their 
teen to drive. In Nebraska, a teen can 
take either a driver’s education course or 
submit proof of 50 hours of driving to the 
Department of Motor Vehicles to secure a 
provisional operators permit. The Nebraska 
Department of Motor Vehicles provides the 
booklet, The Parents’ Supervised Driving 
Program (www.dmv.ne.gov), to all teens 
getting their learner’s permit. This booklet, 
gives parents guidance on how 
to teach their teen to drive and 
includes a driving log.

Parents can gain access to many 
teen driver resources on the web. 
These parent websites include 
but are not limited to State Farm 
Road Trips, The National Safety 
Council’s Drive it Home, AAA 
Keys2Drive, Children’s Hospital 
of Philadelphia Teen Driver 
Source, Allstate Foundation Teen 
Driving/Under Your Influence, 

CDC Parents Are the Key, NHTSA Parents 
Central From Car Seats to Car Keys.

Teen Programs
Peer-to-peer education programs are 
showing promise in reducing teen driver 
crashes across the country. One such 
program is Teens in the Driver Seat (TDS). 
This school-based program is the nation’s 
first widespread, grassroots, peer-to-peer 
program focused exclusively on teen driver 
safety. The TDS program is designed to 
address both awareness and behavior by 
turning peer pressure in a positive and 
productive direction. TDS addresses the 
five top risks for teen drivers: nighttime 
driving, speeding, distractions, low seat 
belt use and alcohol. Since the inception  
of this program in Texas in 2002, they have 
experienced an average crash reduction  
of 14.6 percent in those counties where 
TDS was implemented. This program 

www.dmv.ne.gov
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was developed by the Texas A&M Texas 
Transportation Institute. Nebraska is 
implementing this program in select high 
schools across the state for the first time 
starting in the 2013-2014 school year.  
For more information about the program, 
go to t-driver.com. 

AAA’s TeenDriving.AAA.com website  
has a full range of tools to help parents 
and teens throughout the whole new  
driver process. The site’s tools include  
quizzes, parent-teen driving agreements 
and Nebraska licensing process.  
In Nebraska, AAA works with law 
enforcement agencies and safety 
advocates across the state. The Friday 
Night Lights “Buckle-Up” program is 
conducted by the Nebraska State Patrol 
with support, including T-shirts and 
wrist-bands from the Cornhusker Motor 
Club Foundation, a non-profit organization 
funded largely by AAA and members.  
AAA’s Foundation also supports the AT&T 
IT CAN WAIT education program to bring 
attention to the dangers associated with 
texting and driving. AAA provides free  
DNT TXT &DRV pledge banners, wrist 
bands, tattoos and thumbnail decals 
to schools hosting distracted driving 
education events. As a primary provider 
of driver education material, AAA helps 
to ensure that high schools have the 
latest DVDs and other training material 
by donating new film releases to the 
Nebraska Office of Highway Safety where 

they are available to Nebraska high 
schools on a free-loan basis. 

Celebrate My Drive® was created by  
State Farm® in 2012 to share the belief 
that safe driving is a lifelong commitment. 
Celebrate My Drive® is a community 
celebration of safe driving habits, not 
scare tactics, emphasizing the positives 
of safe choices behind the wheel as 
teens celebrate the freedom that comes 
with getting a drivers’ license.  During 
National Teen Driver Safety Week, in 
October, communities across the country 
are encouraged to make safe driving 
commitments on behalf of their high 
school. The more commitments made, the 
better the chances of winning grants for  

http://t-driver.com
http://TeenDriving.AAA.com


18

the school. Communities rally both online and at State Farm agent hosted events. The 
100 high schools with the most votes from their students and community will win grants 
of $100,000 (10 schools) or $25,000 (90 schools). Ten percent of grant awards must be 
invested in teen driver safety.

There are many organizations across Nebraska that conduct and support teen driver 
safety activities. These organizations include, but are not limited to, the Nebraska State 
Patrol, Nebraska Safety Council, National Safety Council-Nebraska, Nebraska Office 
of Highway Safety, Nebraska Health and Human Services-Division of Public Health, 
Project Extra Mile, Nebraska Safety Center, Nebraska Safe Kids, local/district health 
departments, schools and the Drive Smart Nebraska Coalition.

In Summary
Teen driver safety requires a multi-faceted approach to make a difference. It takes 
parents, teens, community partnerships, law enforcement, schools and policy makers 
using evidence-base policies, education and programs. The impact of these combined 
efforts will be the prevention of teen crashes and related deaths and injuries.
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