What is
Secondhand Smoke?

Is the law really necessary?

In issuing a groundbreaking report on
secondhand smoke in 2006, former U.S.
Surgeon General Richard Carmona said, “The
debate is over. The science is clear: Second-
hand smoke is not a mere annoyance, but a
serious health hazard that causes premature
death and disease in children and nonsmok-
ing adults.”

Secondhand smoke contains more than 4,000
chemicals, including at least 69 carcinogens.
The Surgeon General found that secondhand
smoke is a proven cause of lung cancer, heart
disease, serious respiratory illnesses such as
bronchitis and asthma, low birth weight and
sudden infant death syndrome. The Surgeon
General also found that secondhand smoke is
responsible for tens of thousands of deaths in
the United States each year.

There is no safe level of exposure, and only
smoke-free laws provide effective protection
from secondhand smoke.
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What You
Need to Know



Where is smoking prohibited?

The law states that smoking shall not be per-
mitted and that no person shall smoke in the
following areas:

® Enclosed indoor workspaces and indoor
public places. This includes, but is not
limited to, any work area, employee break-
room, restroom, conference room, meeting
room, classroom, employee cafeteria, and
hallway.

® Most guest rooms in lodging facilities.
These facilities may designate up to 20
percent of guest rooms as smoking. The
remainder of indoor areas at lodging facili-
ties must be smoke-free.

Where does the law permit
smoking?

Smoking is permitted in the following:
® Up to 20 percent of hotel rooms;

® Tobacco-only retailers defined as a “store
that sells only tobacco and products di-
rectly related to tobacco. Products directly

related to tobacco do not include
alcohol, coffee, soft drinks, candy,
groceries or gasoline.”;

Facilities researching the health ef-
fects of smoking and

Private residences, except when a
residence is being used as a licensed
child care program.

How can I file a complaint?

Employees and the public may report any
suspected violation of the smoke-free law to
the Nebraska Department of Health and
Human Services by e-mailing: smoke.free@
dhhs.ne.gov. Complaints may also be re-
ported to a local health department. Anyone
reporting a suspected violation has the option
of remaining anonymous. The phone numbers
of local health departments may be found in
the government section of your telephone
book.

What are the penalties?

A person who smokes in a place of employ-
ment or a public place in violation of the
Nebraska Clean Indoor Air Act is guilty of

a Class V misdemeanor (maximum $100

fine) for the first offense and Class IV mis-
demeanor (minimum $100, maximum $500
fine) for the second and subsequent offenses.
Charges can be dismissed upon successful
completion of a smoking cessation program. A
proprietor that fails, neglects or refuses to per-
form a duty under the Act is guilty of a class V
misdemeanor for the first offense and class IV
misdemeanor for the second and subsequent
offenses.



