
All physician and osteopathic physician
licenses will expire October 1, 2006.  Renewal
notices will be mailed the end of August to all
active licensees. It is recommended that you
submit your application for license renewal as
early as possible to facilitate the processing of
your renewal.  Please be aware that submission
of the renewal does not mean the license has
been renewed.  It is recommended that licensees
confirm the renewal of their license prior to
practicing after the expiration date.  Receipt of
a renewed license card will confirm your
renewal, or you may check the License
Information System (LIS) on the Credentialing
Division Website at:

to verify that the new expiration date is October
1, 2008.  

If your address has changed since the last
license renewal, make sure that you have noti-
fied the Credentialing Division. You may check
the LIS on the Credentialing Division Website
listed above to verify the address on record for
your license.  If your address is not correct,
please notify the Credentialing Division by e-
mail at

meegan.dyrland@hhss.ne.gov
or by telephone at 440022//447711--22111188..

Online renewal will be available this year
for physician licenses only. Osteopathic physi-
cian licenses must be renewed through the reg-
ular mail.  Physicians are encouraged to use
online renewal to expedite the renewal process.
The online renewal system requires payment of
a $77 renewal fee by credit card or debit card
that has either a Master Card or Visa logo.
Physicians who choose not to renew online can
download and print a paper renewal form at

medsur/physur/apps.htm
and renew their license through the regular
mail.

Fees for licenses renewed through the regu-   
lar mail may be paid by personal check,
cashier’s check or money order payable to the
Credentialing Division. Licensees employed by
State agencies are discouraged from using the
Intrastate Billing Transaction (IBT) document
for payment of the renewal fee.  Unfortunately,
the IBT process is rather extensive, and comple-
tion of the renewal process cannot be guaran-
teed within the 30-day renewal period.  It is pre-
ferred that the licensee pay the renewal fee and
request reimbursement through their employer.

Renewals submitted online or postmarked
on or before October 1, 2006, will not require a
late fee.  Licenses that have not been renewed
on or before October 1, 2006, will be expired.
A second renewal notice will be sent to all
licensees who have not renewed on or before
the expiration date.  The law provides an addi-
tional 30-day period in which you may still
renew your license upon payment of a $25 late
fee; however, you are not authorized to practice
after your license has expired.  If a license has
not been renewed and the licensee continues to
practice after the expiration date, an adminis-
trative penalty of $10 per day, up to a maximum
of $1,000, will be assessed, and the licensee
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This is the inaugural issue of the NBMS Connection, the first
newsletter from the Board of Medicine and Surgery, which will
appear on a regular basis.  As you will see from the contents, we are
hoping to cover pertinent issues to both the licensees and the public
pertaining to responsibilities of the Board of Medicine and Surgery in

the State of Nebraska.  We are excited about this opportunity for communication and
hope that you will provide us your feedback and suggestions for future topics.  

State of Nebraska are 1) licensing, to protect the public from unprofessional or improp-

medicine and the responsibilities of the Board to regulate medical doctors and physician
assistants.  

I hope you enjoy this edition and will find future topics to be relevant to your
understanding of the Board and your responsibilities as licensees in the State of
Nebraska.

Michael A. Sitorius, M.D.

The State of Nebraska statutes relating to professional and occupational licenses,
(uniform licensing) are found in 71-101 through 71-1343 of these statutes. This newslet-
ter highlights new and long-standing aspects of these laws and will continue to do so in
future editions. 

Each issue of the NBMS Connection will feature at least two major topics that relate
directly to your practice. This edition is focused on relicensure and the Licensee
Assistance Program.  Each edition lists websites and important resource phone numbers.
We trust you will find the material helpful in keeping current with licensure issues.  

Kathryn (Kay) L. Kahla
Joseph C. Scott, Jr., M.D.

Did You Know?
Under the Uniform Licensing Law, 71-104.01 
“An applicant for an initial license to practice a profession which is authorized to prescribe
controlled substances shall be subject to a criminal background check. The applicant shall
submit with the application a full set of fingerprints which shall be forwarded to the Nebraska
State Patrol to be submitted to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a national criminal
history record information check. The applicant shall authorize release of the results of the
national criminal history record information check to the department. The applicant shall pay
the actual cost of the fingerprinting and criminal background check. This section shall not
apply to dentists who are applicants for temporary practice rights under subdivision (5) of
section 71-183.01 or to physicians and surgeons who are applicants for temporary practice
rights under subdivision (17) of section 71-1,103.”
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The two major functions performed by the Board of Medicine and Surgery in the

er and incompetent practices of medicine, and 2) regulation, to outline the practice of

Joseph C. Scott, Jr., M.D.



QQuueessttiioonn: Can I moonlight with a
Temporary Education Permit (TEP)?

AAnnsswweerr:: Questions relating to “moonlight-
ing” practices are detailed in the Nebraska
statutes on medical licensure.

Professionals with a TEP should NOT
practice outside their assigned training
program. A TEP authorizes the practice of
medicine and surgery only while serving
in a supervised education program or in an
approved graduate medical education pro-
gram conducted by an accredited hospital
in Nebraska or by an accredited Nebraska
school or college of medicine. Full licen-
sure is granted only after a detailed cre-
dential review, and the completion of one
year of post-doctoral training. These rules
apply to both allopathic and osteopathic
physicians. The practice of medicine and
surgery without a proper license may lead
to heavy penalties that could have serious
effects for the practitioner. 

The State of Nebraska has a licensee assistance program (LAP) that is stip-
ulated in detail in Health and Human Services regulations 172 NAC 5.
Following are excerpts from the statute that authorizes the Nebraska LAP. 

7711--117722..0011.. LLiicceennsseeee AAssssiissttaannccee PPrrooggrraamm;; aauutthhoorriizzeedd;; ppaarrttiicciippaattiioonn;; iimmmmuu--
nniittyy ffrroomm lliiaabbiilliittyy;; rreeffeerrrraall;; lliimmiittaattiioonn..

The Department of Health and Human Services Regulation and
Licensure may contract with the Department of Health and Human
Services to provide a Licensee Assistance Program to credential hold-
ers regulated by the Department of Health and Human Services
Regulation and Licensure. The program shall be limited to providing
education, referral assistance and monitoring of compliance with treat-
ment of habitual intoxication or dependence and shall be limited to vol-
untary participation by credential holders.

Participation in the program shall be confidential.

Participation in the program shall not preclude the investigation of
alleged statutory violations which could result in disciplinary action
against  the person’s credential or criminal action against the person.

NNEEBBRRAASSKKAA LLAAPP PPRROOGGRRAAMMSS

Programs designed to help health care professionals with health or sub-
stance abuse issues are available through the Licensee Assistance Program
or Employee Assistance Programs of major employers. Human Resource
departments may guide those in need to the proper group. 

The NE LAP provides professional alcohol/drug assessments, treatment
recommendations and referrals, education and case management or moni-
toring services. These services are designed to help health service profes-
sionals identify and obtain appropriate treatment for alcohol/drug abuse or
addiction.

The NE LAP offers health service professionals an opportunity to dis-
cuss alcohol/drug abuse issues openly and confidentially with the profes-
sionally trained NE LAP Coordinator. The NE LAP Coordinator is fully
qualified to provide alcohol/drug assessments and counseling, and guides
the professional toward a helpful understanding of the alcohol/ drug abuse
issues. Alcohol/drug abuse or addiction can be successfully resolved and
ensure the professional maintains or returns to a healthy personal, practice
and community life.  

HHOOWW TTOO AACCCCEESSSS SSEERRVVIICCEESS 

For more information or to arrange a convenient appointment, call the
NE LAP Coordinator at (402) 354-8055 or (800) 851-2336, Monday
through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Crisis and emergency services are avail-
able twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. You may also want to visit
the Website at www.lapne.org.
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Licensee Assistance Program It’s The Law –Rules & Regs

What Is the Federation of
State Medical Boards?

The Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB)
is a national not-for-profit organization representing
the 70 medical boards of the United States and its
territories, including 14 state boards of osteopathic
medicine. The mission is to continuously improve
the quality, safety and integrity of health care by
developing and promoting high standards for physi-
cian licensure and practice.

The FSMB helps the member boards serve the
public by continually updating and developing
guidelines for regulation that reflect new medical
knowledge, technological advances, and even
changing cultural attitudes toward medical practice.
Examples include guidelines for pain management,
standards for physician competence and the practice
of medicine via the Internet. FSMB conducts
research on these and other issues; analyzes and
develops policy; and serves as a resource for the
community, consumers and many others. 

The Nebraska Board of Medicine and Surgery is
a participating member of FSMB. The Federation
Website  is: www.fsmb.org
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may be subject to disciplinary action
for practicing on an expired license.  

In addition to the mandatory
reporting requirements that are
already in place, licensees are asked at
the time of license renewal about any
disciplinary action taken against their
licenses in any state and about misde-
meanor or felony convictions that may
have occurred since the last renewal.
If any discipline or convictions have
occurred, the licensee is required to
submit documentation before the
renewal can be processed.  

It is best for the licensee to per-
sonally complete the renewal process
so that these questions can be
answered truthfully. The Credential-
ing Division has found that when
licensees have delegated the comple-
tion of their renewal to their staff, the
staff may be unaware of the licensee’s
convictions or disciplinary actions.
The result is a fraudulent application
for renewal that could cause problems
for the licensee because submitting a
fraudulent application is considered as
grounds to discipline the licensee.  

Licensees will again be allowed
to attest that they have met the contin-
uing competency requirement.  A per-
centage of active licensees will be
selected randomly for audit of the
continuing competency requirement.
Licensees selected for audit will be
notified in writing and will be

required to provide documentation of
attendance for at least 50 hours of
Category 1 continuing medical educa-

tion or documentation of earning the
AMA Physician’s Recognition Award
or the AOA CME Certification within
the previous two years.  Hours are to
be earned within the 24 months imme-
diately preceding the date of expira-
tion, except that a licensee who has
earned more than the 50 hours
required for license renewal for one
24-month renewal period is allowed to
carry over up to 25 hours to the next
24-month renewal period.  The
Credentialing Division relies on the
AMA Physician’s Recognition Award
Booklet revision 2006 to determine
the types of continuing education
offerings that are considered to be
Category 1 continuing medical educa-
tion.  More information on Category 1
continuing medical education can be
found on the AMA Website at:

www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/
category/2922.html. 

It is recommended that licensees

retain documentation of their atten-
dance at continuing education pro-
grams for at least six months follow-
ing the expiration date. 

Licensees who carry over any
hours from the previous renewal peri-
od should retain the documentation
for six months after the following
renewal period.  

The Credentialing Division has
been notified by other state medical
boards that companies are soliciting
physicians to renew their licenses
online.  One such company offers to
complete all licensure forms for
renewal in all 50 states.

Unsuspecting physicians are pay-
ing fees to these companies, only to
find that their licenses have not been
renewed properly with the state regu-
latory authority.  The Federation of
State Medical Boards (FSMB) is not
connected with any of these online
companies and does not endorse any
of their services.  The FSMB urges
state boards to alert their licensees
about these companies and remind
licensees that they are ultimately
responsible for the renewal of their
professional license.  

Questions regarding license
renewal can be e-mailed to:

meegan.dyrland@hhss.ne.gov
or you may call the Credentialing
Division at 402/471-2118. 

License Renewal 2006 continues

Online renewal will be 

available this year for 

physician licenses only.

Osteopathic physician licenses

must be renewed through 
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