What is
Secondhand Smoke?

In a 2006 report, former U.S. Surgeon
General Richard Carmona said, “The
debate is over. The science is clear:
Secondhand smoke is not a mere annoy-
ance, but a serious health hazard that
causes premature death and disease in
children and nonsmoking adults.”

Secondhand smoke contains more than
4,000 chemicals, including at least 69
carcinogens. Secondhand smoke is a
proven cause of lung cancer, heart disease,
serious respiratory illnesses such as
bronchitis and asthma, low birth weight and
sudden infant death syndrome. It is respon-
sible for tens of thousands of deaths in the
United States each year.

There is no safe level of exposure, and only
smoke-free laws provide effective protection
from secondhand smoke.
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What does the amended law do?

Effective June 1, 2009, all Nebraska
restaurants, bars and most other indoor places
of employment including offices and stores will
be required to be entirely smoke-free to protect
employees and the public from secondhand
smoke. Businesses are free to institute voluntary
smoke-free policies before June 2009.

What happens if | don’t ask
customers to stop smoking?

If you fail to comply with the new law, an
employee, visitor or member of the public may
file a complaint with the local health department
or the Nebraska Department of Health and
Human Services (NDHHS). Ultimately, you may
be issued warnings, fines or violations.

Should | post signs?

Posting signs at each entrance and in prominent
locations inside your business can help educate
your customers about the law. Posting signs
before the effective date of the new law will help
make the transition to smoke-free air smooth

for both employees and patrons. Smoke-free
coasters and door decals are available free of
charge from NDHHS.

How do | deal with customers who
want to smoke?

Remind your customers of the law and politely
explain that they must step outside to smoke.
Train your staff about what to say to customers,
for example: “We’re now smoke-free, you'll have

to put out your cigarette,” or “The new smoke-
free law prohibits smoking indoors. Thanks for
your cooperation.”

What if a customer refuses to
comply?

If necessary, use your normal protocol for
removing a disruptive customer from your
premises.

Am | required to provide a
smoking break room for my
employees?

No. In fact, the smoke-free law prohibits
employers from providing a smoking room.
Businesses that currently have a separate room
for smoking can no longer allow smoking in
these rooms or anywhere else inside. Simply
inform your smoking employees that they must
go outside to smoke. Be sure to communicate
early and clearly with your employees to ensure
they understand how the new smoke-free
workplace law applies to both them and your
customers.

What are the penalties?

A person who smokes in a place of employment
or a public place in violation of the Nebraska
Clean Indoor Air Act is guilty of a Class V
misdemeanor (maximum $100 fine) for the first
offense and Class IV misdemeanor (minimum
$100, maximum $500 fine) for the second and
subsequent offense. Charges can be dismissed
upon successful completion of a smoking
cessation program. A proprietor that fails,
neglects or refuses to perform a duty under the
Act is guilty of a class V misdemeanor for the
first offense and class IV misdemeanor for the
second and subsequent offenses.

Where can | get more
information?

Go to smokefree.ne.gov, call toll-free: 1-877-
633-7331, e-mail: smoke.free@dhhs.ne.gov or
contact your local health department.




