
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS – PHARMACY TECHNICIAN REGISTRATION 
 
Will pharmacy technician registrations renew?   
 

Yes.  Pharmacy technician registrations will renew biennially and will expire 
January 1 of odd-numbered years.  The biennial renewal fee will be established 
through rules and regulations.  Renewal notices will be sent at least 30 days prior 
to the expiration date.   

 
Do pharmacy technicians just have to apply for registration within 30 days after 
being hired, or must their registration be issued by the Department in order for 
them to work as a pharmacy technician?   
 

The law requires that pharmacy technicians must apply for registration within 30 
days after being hired by a pharmacy or facility.  The registration does not have 
to be issued, but the pharmacy technician must have applied.  If in doubt, the 
employing pharmacy or facility can contact the Department to verify that the 
pharmacy technician has submitted their application for registration.  The 
Department will process the applications for pharmacy technician registration in 
the order they are received.   

 
Will a pharmacy technician receive an official document from the State for their 
registration?   
 

Yes.  When pharmacy technicians are initially registered, they will receive a 5”x7” 
wall registration document and a wallet card that indicates the expiration date.  
When pharmacy technicians renew their registration, they will receive a new 
wallet card that includes the new expiration date.   

 
Will the Pharmacy Technician Registry track the employment location of 
registered pharmacy technicians?   
 

No.  The Pharmacy Technician Registry will initially contain only the information 
specifically required by the statute, i.e. the pharmacy technician’s full name, 
information necessary to identify the pharmacy technician, and any conviction of 
a non-alcohol, drug-related felony or misdemeanor reported to the Department.  
However, the statute also allows the registry to include “any other information as 
the Department may require by rule and regulation.”  As rules and regulations are 
developed for pharmacy technician registration, additional information such as 
employment history may be required for the registry.   

 
 
 
Does a pharmacy technician need to obtain separate registrations for each 
pharmacy or facility where they work?   
 



No.  One pharmacy technician registration is issued to an individual and will 
authorize the pharmacy technician to work in multiple settings.   

 
Can an application for pharmacy technician registration be submitted 
electronically or online?   
 

No.  Applicant information can be entered on the form that is available on the 
web site, but it must be printed and mailed to the Department with the fee, proof 
of age, and a copy of the high school diploma or GED.   

 
If a pharmacy technician is certified by the Pharmacy Technician Certification 
Board (PTCB), do they still need to be registered with the State as a pharmacy 
technician?   
 

Yes.  PTCB certification is not a substitute for pharmacy technician registration at 
the State level.  All pharmacy technicians working in Nebraska must obtain a 
registration issued by the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services.   

 
Is PTCB certification required for pharmacy technician registration in Nebraska?   
 

No.  PTCB certification is a separate certification that pharmacy technicians may 
obtain, but it is not required for registration as a pharmacy technician in 
Nebraska.   

 
Will a copy of a college diploma be accepted as proof of high school graduation?   
 
 Yes.   
 
What documents will be accepted as proof of high school graduation?   
 

• a copy of a high school diploma; 
• a copy of a GED certificate; 
• a copy of a high school transcript that includes a graduation date; 
• a copy of a college diploma; 
• a copy of a college transcript that includes a high school graduation date; or 
• an official letter from an educational institution that indicates the applicant is a 

high school graduate.   
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