Nebraska Medicaid Program

Current Initiatives

Children's Mental Health and Substance Abuse Statewide Infrastructure Grant (SIG)

Youth Subcommittee

The Youth Subcommittee focused on the state infrastructure areas to support community efforts to meet mental health and substance abuse needs of youth and their families in Nebraska.

PDF Meeting

January 1, 2006

December 12, 2005

November 21, 2005

October 18, 2005

October 3, 2005

The Surgeon General's National Action Agenda for Children's Mental Health issued in 1999 framed both the promotion of mental health in children and the treatment of mental disorders as major public health goals. Despite this emphasis, some families still have difficulty accessing appropriate care for their children. Families may even give up custody of their child because the intervention they need is beyond the financial reach of the family.

Youth across the United States are touched by multiple systems that are often uncoordinated. Consequently, children are falling through the cracks.

Nebraska has one of the nation’s highest per capita state ward populations. Nationally, children in foster care use mental health services at a rate up to 15 times higher other children in the Medicaid system. Nebraska has a number of systems that interface with youth and their families. Protection and Safety, education, juvenile justice, and children’s behavioral health systems can partner with youth and their families to enhance state infrastructure that supports coordinated community level interventions and programs.


  1. Developed strategies to decrease the number of children who are made wards of the state primarily to access mental health and substance abuse services

  2. Developed strategies to incorporate family-centered practice into individualized plans of care for youth across systems



August – February, 2006

State Infrastructure Grant


Committee Members Affiliation Location

State Agency

Todd Reckling



Lonnie Stark



Judy Vohland

Dept of Education Voc Rehab

Grand Island

Roxie Cillessen

DHHS Medicaid and Long Term Care


Barb Schliesser

Department of Education UNL


Adria Bace

Department of Education UNL


Karen Stevens

Safe Schools Department of


Sue Adams

DHHS Behavioral Health



Vicki Weisz

UNL Center, Families & Law


Reece Peterson

UNL Barkley Center


Deb Scholten

Local Health Directors

South Sioux City

Jose Soto

Southeast Community College


Marilyn McGary

Urban League of Nebraska


Kim Hawekotte

Omaha Juvenile Attorney


Local SOC
Harriet Lambrecht Families Care Kearney
Deb McCoy Region IV Behavioral Health Norfolk
Renee Dozier Region V Behavioral Health Lincoln
Doug Swanson Beatrice Safe Schools Healthy Students Beatrice
Mary Dean Harvey Omaha Safe Schools Healthy Students Omaha
John Street Grand Island Public Schools Grand Island
Joan Francis Panhandle Partnership Kimball
Dick Shea Sarpy County Detention Center Sarpy County
Debra Schorr Lancaster County Commissioner Lincoln
Rodale Emkin Supervisor - Phelps County Commissioner Phelps County
Jill Shubauer Region III Behavioral Health Kearney
Rudi Mitchell Carl T. Curtis Health Center Macy
Marcia Hovlan Director Winnebago Counseling Center Winnebago
Ruth Hendrichs President and CEO Lutheran Family Services Omaha
Katie McLeese Stephenson Cedars Youth Services Lincoln
Denis McCarville Uta Halee/CAFCAN Omaha
James White Provider Omaha
Jerry Easterday Medical Association Lincoln
Maria Prendes-Lintel FIRST Project Lincoln

Documents in PDF PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.