Nebraska Medicaid Program

ICD-10 Implementation Project

Subscribe Click to subscribe 

ICD-10 implementation is still on schedule for October 1, 2015.  Providers are you ready?

Here are some suggested steps to prepare:
  • Contact your billing and EHR software vendor to ensure your system is ICD-10 ready for the ICD-10 implementation.
    • Note: Nebraska Medicaid claims can be submitted for up to 6 months from the date of service.
    • ICD-9 will only be accepted for processing if the dates of service are before 10-1-2015.
    • ICD-10 will only be accepted for processing if the dates of service (“to” date or discharge date) are on or after 10-1-2015.
  • Reach out to your Clearinghouse or Trading Partner to request they coordinate a test run with Medicaid to ensure that your claims submission can be accepted after October 1, 2015.
  • See Provider Bulletin 14-27 for details on testing with Nebraska Medicaid.
  • Efforts are underway to coordinate paper claims testing.  More information will be posted when available.
  • Questions?  Email us at:
PDF Notifications

Recent Developments

 Nebraska Medicaid will implement ICD-10 on 10-1-2015

  • On April 1, 2014, President Obama signed into law HR 4302 which, among other provisions, delays the implementation of ICD-10 from October 1, 2014, to no sooner than October 1, 2015.  CMS has subsequently announced a forthcoming interim final rule that would set the new compliance date for October 1, 2015, and require the use of ICD-9 through September 30, 2015.

REVISED ICD-10 Electronic Claims Testing Plan

  •     Provider Bulletin 14-27 details changes to ICD-10 testing plan.

FAQs have been updated

  • Revisions due to the extension of the implementation date from 10-1-2014 to 10-1-2015 are incorporated. 
Information about the International Classification of Diseases, 10th Revision

The United States Department of Health and Human Services requires that all HIPAA covered entities use ICD-10 codes beginning October 1, 2015.  This date is an extension from the original deadlines of October 1, 2013, and October 1, 2014.  The ICD-10 coding system will fully replace the current ICD-9 coding system and will have a substantial impact on the entire health care industry.

The ICD-10 final rule concurrently adopts the International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM) for diagnosis coding, and the International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Procedure Coding System (ICD-10-PCS) for inpatient hospital procedure coding. These code sets will replace the International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM) Volumes 1 and 2, and the International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision, Clinical Modification (CM) Volume 3 for diagnosis and procedure codes, respectively.

As a HIPAA covered entity, Nebraska Medicaid will be transitioning to ICD-10 for both electronic transactions and paper claims.  Other affected forms and processes will be announced as decisions are made.  We are currently in the process of remediating the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) to accept and process with ICD-10 codes beginning October 1, 2015, for dates of service on or after October 1, 2015.

Highlights of how claims will be impacted when ICD-10 is implemented on October 1, 2015

  • Reimbursements will be impacted if ICD-10 is not implemented timely and accurately by providers.
  • Providers must use either ICD-9 or ICD-10 depending on the date(s) of service:
    • Claims for dates of service prior to October 1, 2015, must be submitted with ICD-9 codes, regardless of the date submitted.
    • When the dates of service span the implementation date, for example, the discharge date and/or through date is on or after October 1, 2015, the claim should contain only ICD-10 codes.
  • Electronic and paper claims combining both ICD-9 and ICD-10 codes will be rejected, regardless of the date of service.
  • Nebraska Medicaid will not accept ICD-10 codes prior to the compliance date of October 1, 2015.
  • Dental Claims (paper and electronic 837D) will not require ICD-10 diagnosis codes.  Claims will not be rejected if a valid diagnosis code(s) is submitted.
  • Electronic and paper claims will be processed using the same rules for diagnosis coding.
  • On or after 10-1-2015, Providers must use either ICD-9 or ICD-10 based on the date(s) of services claimed, regardless of the billing date.
  • Providers must submit claims within180 days (6 months) after the date of service.

Test Plan

  • Nebraska Medicaid continues to accept ICD-10 electronic transaction testing with Trading Partners.  See the testing plan in Provider Bulletin #14-27 for detailed information on submitting electronic claims for testing.
  • Efforts are underway to also coordinate paper claims testing.  Details for paper claim testing will be published in a future provider bulletin when further information is available.


  • To assist in delivery of information, a dedicated email address has been created for questions and answers specific to the ICD-10 transition.  This email address is:
  • RECEIVE EMAILED UPDATES:  Please subscribe above to this ICD-10 webpage to receive notice of updates as further information is available.


  • Revisions due to the extension of the implementation date from 10-1-2014 to 10-1-2015 are incorporated.
  • For additional information on ICD-10, check out ICD-10 Frequently Asked Questions


The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid (CMS) provides extensive information, facts sheets, tools, and resources for providers, vendors and payers for implementing ICD-10.  We are providing select links to assist you with your ICD-10 efforts.  For more information, visit the CMS website at

CMS ICD-10 Code Sets:  The ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS code sets and the ICD-10-CM official guidelines are available free of charge.

45 CFR Part 162, Final Rule : Governing legislation for implementing the ICD-10 code sets.

CMS Provider Resources:  Resources to assist providers in the transition to ICD-10

CMS Vendor Resources:  Resources to assist vendors in the transition to ICD-10

CMS 2014 ICD-10-CM and GEMs and CMS 2014 ICD-10 PCS and GEMs:  GEMs are General Equivalence Mappings between ICD-10-CM and PCS and ICD-9-CM codes.  They are designed to assist converting applications and systems from ICD-9 and ICD-10 codes and are updated annually.

Check out the Nebraska Health Information Management Association website at: for some training opportunities in Nebraska.

Nebraska ICD-Collaborative is the website of Nebraska individuals and organizations working together to facilitate communication, collaboration and information sharing.  It includes resources and events. 

Documents in PDF PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader
which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.