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CMS issued a memorandum on the Medicaid hospice payment rates for the Federal
Fiscal Year 2011. This provider bulletin is intended to update providers on these
changes. These new payment rates are effective October 1, 2010.

Hospice Payment Rates

The Medicaid Hospice payment rates are adjusted annually based on the hospice rates
established by section 1814(i)(1)(C)(ii)) of the Social Security Act. New rates are
effective for care and services furnished on or after October 1, 2010 through September
30, 2011. The national payment rates for procedure codes T2042, T2043, T2044, and
T2045 for October 1, 2010 through September 30, 2011, can be found at:
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/Hospice/downloads/hospicerates10.pdf.

Nebraska Medicaid Allowable Rates

The Medicaid Allowable Rates listed below are based on the federal Hospice Wage
Index weights, effective October 1, 2010 through September 30, 2011, which reflect
local differences in wages and are based on the Core Based Statistical Areas (CBSA)
code associated with each geographic area. The CBSA codes and the Hospice Wage
Index weights may be found in Notice CMS-1420-F on the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS) website at http://www.cms.hhs.gov/center/hospice.asp.

CBSA Hospice Wage Index
30700 Lincoln, NE 0.9997

Code Description Medicaid Allowable Rate
T2042 Hospice Routine Home Care $146.79 per diem

T2043 Hospice Continuous Care $ 35.66 per hour

T2044 Hospice Inpatient Respite Care $159.62 per diem
T2045 Hospice General Inpatient Care $652.14 per diem
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CBSA Hospice Wage Index

36540 Omaha, Council Bluffs, NE-IA 1.0044

Code Description Medicaid Allowable Rate
T2042 Hospice Routine Home Care $147.26 per diem

T2043 Hospice Continuous Care $ 35.78 per hour

T2044 Hospice Inpatient Respite Care $160.03 per diem

T2045 Hospice General Inpatient Care $654.11 per diem

CBSA Hospice Wage Index
43580 Sioux City, IA-NE-SD 0.9507

Code Description Medicaid Allowable Rate
T2042 Hospice Routine Home Care $141.85 per diem

T2043 Hospice Continuous Care $ 34.46 per hour

T2044 Hospice Inpatient Respite Care $155.39 per diem

T2045 Hospice General Inpatient Care $631.69 per diem

CBSA Hospice Wage Index
99928 Nebraska - Rest of State 0.9100

Code Description Medicaid Allowable Rate
T2042 Hospice Routine Home Care $137.74 per diem

T2043 Hospice Continuous Care $ 33.47 per hour

T2044 Hospice Inpatient Respite Care $151.87 per diem

T2045 Hospice General Inpatient Care $614.69 per diem

Additional Billing Instructions

e Submit the CBSA code corresponding to the state and county of the beneficiary’s
home in value code 61 on claims that include routine home care or continuous home
care;

e Hospice providers should split claims if services begin in September and continue
into October.

The Hospice Provider Handbook may be found at:
http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/med/phhspc.htm

Prior Authorization Requests
Prior Authorization Requests must be faxed to the Hospice Program Specialist at (402)-
742-8300.

If you have any questions on the Prior Authorization process or any other information in
this bulletin, please contact Elaine Westergren, Hospice Program Specialist, at 402-
471-9289 or elaine.westergren@nebraska.gov
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